Rating:
8.2
Marduk - Rom 5:12
24 April 2007


01. The Levelling Dust
02. Cold Mouth Prayer [feat. Joakim Göthberg]
03. Imago Mortis
04. Through The Belly Of Damnation
05. 1651
06. Limbs Of Worship
07. Accuser/Opposer [feat. A.A. Nemtheanga]
08. Vanity Of Vanities
09. Womb Of Perishableness
10. Voices From Avignon


Holy shit this is the best Black Metal album this year!!! I don't even want to hear anything else I don't need it, Dimmu Borgir and Rotting Christ? I don't care about their poor albums, who wants a Naglfar CD when you can play Marduk until the moon turns black; nobody will be able to top this incredible record, come on I want to see any band trying, compared to "Rom 5:12" they'll just sound like amateurs at best.

Let's not talk about how "Plague Angel" was soft and kind, let's talk about the crushing facts instead. Finally Mortuus decided to make people forget about Legion's shadow, now the true Marduk comes with a more powerful brain, Mortuus just grew enormously in 3 years time, an amazing task if you consider the eagerness which involved the fans when Legion left the band, now they sound stronger than ever and with an outstanding technical approach.

Versatility is what truly marks this album, the songs come heavy as only hell can be and mild like a machine-gun with a silencer. "Rom 5:12" has both sides sharpened, while some structures fit only with mid-paced riffs there are other tunes that unleash speedy execution and bleeding patterns; the album is incredibly balanced, the songwriting becomes so tight and intensely carved that every song sounds fresher than the previous one, the whole album will keep you ear stamped in the speakers until black blood comes out from them.

The length is somehow annoying though, it's hard to replay one straight hour of music don't you think? Most times you'll find yourself skipping through tracks after the first listen, many of us can't afford "time to spare", and if we can we prefer to have sex while Barry White sings in the background right? Anyway, I also would have loved to see the lyrics, but as I only received a promo I can't say much about the booklet or the lyrical content or whatever...

This is a great album and I don't want to discuss anything else, a total and undeniable must for Black Metal fans...good for any other metal collection. TRY IT WITH HEADPHONES!!!

Best Tracks: "The Levelling Dust", "Imago Mortis"




Just in case people is wondering what "Rom 5:12" is about:

A Quote From The Bible "Romans, chapter 5 verse 12"

"Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death entered through sin, death came to all men, because they all sinned"

...Nice!...

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Marduk
Album: Rom 5:12


 


written by Herzebeth | 11.04.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 43  
Users visited: 204  
Search this topic:  


Krankheit - 11.04.2007 at 19:37  
Sounds interesting, looking forward to it.
Martinikuss - 11.04.2007 at 19:57  
Written by Krankheit on 11.04.2007 at 19:37

Sounds interesting, looking forward to it.

"sounds interesting" ?!
Ive heard this album. Its awesome! True Black Metal, not pussy like Dimmu. I 100% agree with the author of that review.
Dangerboner - 11.04.2007 at 20:17  
How does this album compare to Panzer Division Marduk?
DerRozzengarten - 11.04.2007 at 20:42  
Don't "bunny" too much Rotting Christ's new album ;p


Edited by Jeff
Herzebeth - 11.04.2007 at 20:55  
Written by Dangerboner on 11.04.2007 at 20:17

How does this album compare to Panzer Division Marduk?


to tell you the truth...this one is not as extreme as Panzer Division Marduk, but that's what I like about it, it's more technical and this album knows when to slow things down you know? for me, Panzer Division Marduk is just loud noise .

so, if your favorite marduk album is "Panzer Division Marduk" you won't be blown away by "Rom 5:12" I think.
Dangerboner - 11.04.2007 at 22:14  
Well, Marduk tries to be constantly brutal, and since I don't think they are that extreme or heavy, I might like the slight change. It's almost like they're insecure about their evilness, so they try to overdo things. I dunno...I'll probably download it or something.
dancingdecember - 11.04.2007 at 22:44  
what an inspiring review.i'll absouletly listen it with much anticipation now.and to think that they will probably play here live soon..i'd better listen to it good !! btw i totally agree with the rotting album..dimmu?pff
White Winter Sun - 12.04.2007 at 02:23  
I have heard this album and the first impression: some good mid tempo titles on this album. A good one.


and @Herzebeth: good review
Lokomotiv - 12.04.2007 at 02:23  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 11.04.2007 at 20:42

Don't fuck too much Rotting Christ's new album ;p


Thegonia deserves to be "bunnified" even deeper...


Edited by Jeff
Doc Godin - 12.04.2007 at 03:40  
havnt heard a bad thing about this album yet, I tried to download it but it screwed up, oh well, Ill definitly be buying it when it comes out.
Mental_Orgasm - 12.04.2007 at 03:43  
can't wait to get this, sounds great
DerRozzengarten - 12.04.2007 at 07:53  
Written by Lokomotiv on 12.04.2007 at 02:23

Written by DerRozzengarten on 11.04.2007 at 20:42

Don't fuck too much Rotting Christ's new album ;p


Thegonia deserves to be "bunnified" even deeper...

And i know someone that deserves to be"bunnifiedy" even deeper by any "carrots", but i won't lose my temper and unfold my thoughts on the subject


Edited by Jeff
Hembrom - 12.04.2007 at 15:51  
Hezerbeth dude , please dont fuck Rotting Christ ... i like them all n yeah Dimmu SUCKSSSSS

n yes as always , kickass review
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.04.2007 at 17:45  
First off it is impossible to compare Rotting Vhrst, Naglfar, Dimmu with this one since they are all musically miles apart. But IMO Roting Christ and Watain (also not related) blow Marduk's latest effort right out of the water and into orbit around earth

Okay, seriously now, nah, this one doesn't do it for me either. I would have rated it 7, proficiently played and all, but that's it, like all other Marduk releases it is devout of any feeling.
I agree with you that an hour's worth of music is way too long for a release such as this one.
Herzebeth - 12.04.2007 at 18:33  
well there's more people agreeing that this is a good album than people saying it sucks, that means something, I've never been a fan of this band, but I can surely notice when an album is great you know? IMO this is one of their best efforts

Rotting Christ is out of the question people, ok they were great..I was a fan of Dead Poem and Khronos, but now they just sound mild, bland and very poor in execution, the guy just lost his voice dudes
Marcel Hubregtse - 12.04.2007 at 18:46  
I didn't say this album sucked. I would have given it a 7 and that doesn't mean it sucks

Sorry to burst your bubble concerning Rotting Christ but at least to me and a lot of people I know Theogonia is superior to the way too much gothic inspired Dead Poem, as for the execution the songs on Theogonia are executed in an excellent way, played as tight as a duck's ass and with loads of memorable riffs. This effort is so much more inspired than most of their other stuff. This is acutally the first one I truly like

But back on the Marduk track, average to slightly above average at best this album. More of the same from them, only some very slight differences with earlier material. And wayyyyyy toooooooooooo long.
Jeff - 12.04.2007 at 19:03  
Message to everybody:

If you could try to do your orgy somewhere else and avoid to "fuck" everybody here... it could be great.

Thx you.

Jeff
Damnated - 12.04.2007 at 19:34  
it's defenetly better than the previous works, but it fails to deliver something original and new. shure the songs are somewhat diverse, but it's 2007 for christ's sake, that's not enough. a guitar solo is not enough. clean singing is not enough. it has been done countless times, and it sounded better too. i dunno what's so hard in releasing a good album in every 14 years ...

if they can't bring anything new, then they should die. simply die.

edit: die already!
Herzebeth - 12.04.2007 at 20:23  
Written by Damnated on 12.04.2007 at 19:34

it's defenetly better than the previous works, but it fails to deliver something original and new. shure the songs are somewhat diverse, but it's 2007 for christ's sake, that's not enough. a guitar solo is not enough. clean singing is not enough. it has been done countless times, and it sounded better too. i dunno what's so hard in releasing a good album in every 14 years ...

if they can't bring anything new, then they should die. simply die.

edit: die already!

oh come on dude! you can't say Marduk isn't fresh, they are a band that transformed their music since the begining...they used to be death metal for crying out loud...this album is versatile as a lettuce man, hear it again you'll see.

clean vocals are gay by the way..
APOHAKC - 12.04.2007 at 22:53  
Good review dude but:
Clean vocals are gay?!?
any particular reason for statment like that?
Damnated - 13.04.2007 at 00:18  
Written by Herzebeth on 12.04.2007 at 20:23

you can't say Marduk isn't fresh, they are a band that transformed their music since the begining...they used to be death metal for crying out loud...


clean vocals are gay by the way..


i can and Marduk was never fresh. never. They had put out a couple of good releases at the begining, but that's all. and those weren't diverse either, but repetitve as fuck. i'm not saying that the album is bad, it just gets old very quick. it gets old after 10 minutes.

also, i just want to point out how cheap the church choir and the latin chant sound. as if they were recording and watching some catholic show at the same time. those passages are not cohering with the music at all. i bet they were pleased and felt like young pioneers. newsflash: other bands already did this. and did it with style. (ie deathspell omega, rex mundi, kriegsmaschine etcetera)

i like the way this thread is going though now i will go to the other one and post the same thing.
Lokomotiv - 13.04.2007 at 03:04  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 12.04.2007 at 07:53

Written by Lokomotiv on 12.04.2007 at 02:23

Written by DerRozzengarten on 11.04.2007 at 20:42

Don't fuck too much Rotting Christ's new album ;p


Thegonia deserves to be "bunnified" even deeper...

And i know someone that deserves to be"bunnifiedy" even deeper by any "carrots", but i won't lose my temper and unfold my thoughts on the subject


Edited by Jeff


This rules agains offenfing behaviour are working on my nerves... come on, metal is meant to be offensive!

And it's not my intention to bunnify your national pride DerRozzer, early RT are awesome and so are Varathron, but Thegonia is boring as shit (oh! I said the word with "s"!)
epip - 13.04.2007 at 15:58  
How would this album fare if it's compared to nightwing? Nightwing is my fav marduk album after all. haha.
Kataplexi - 13.04.2007 at 19:55  
to me, it's nothing surprising about the album, it sounds marduk, but it didn't get to me at all. they've done too many similar albums, and now it's getting boring.
Herzebeth - 13.04.2007 at 20:01  
Written by Guest on 13.04.2007 at 15:58

How would this album fare if it's compared to nightwing? Nightwing is my fav marduk album after all. haha.



uhm..damn good question, Nightwing is also my favorite marduk album...uhm...uhm...this one sounds...different, it's less brutal for sure, but it's more technical at least, uhm...let's see, the bottomline is, I love Nightwing for its agression and hostility, I love Rom 5:12 for its mid paced parts and the complex songwriting
epip - 14.04.2007 at 10:35  
Haha. sounds like a good enough answer to my question. I'll try it out either way. haha. Thanks. |m|
Bitch Boy - 16.04.2007 at 06:09  
A slower and more technical Marduk album?? Sounds very interesting, for sure I will give this one a try.


Written by Jeff on 12.04.2007 at 19:03

Message to everybody:

If you could try to do your orgy somewhere else and avoid to "fuck" everybody here... it could be great.

Thx you.

Jeff



-MeTaLlIc-OwL- - 18.04.2007 at 00:39  
Gotta get this. if it's that good, i got to get this, rly haha, Kvlt Rly! xD Well indeed sounds interesting.
Mystic Ice - 18.04.2007 at 02:10  
It's actually a surprisingly good album. Mind you I didn't expect utter shit, I was thinking perhaps a high 6 before hearing it. It's more like a mid 7 to low 8. Nothing that is going to change music as we know it or join my personal top 20 albums of all time list, but those are few and far between. People can be too quick to rate overly high or low on impulse but the bottom line is that Rom 5:12 is a very good, enjoyable and well done album that is worth your time and attention... And if you like extreme metal this release will probably get a few regular spins once added to your collection.

Accuser / Opposer was a really unexpected sort of track. In a good way.
666SETH666 - 24.04.2007 at 09:13  
This album is fuckin awesome
Danse Macabre - 28.04.2007 at 19:33  
Nice album! I really like it,it's still on repeat ^^

22nd of September -> MARDUK IN ROMANIA ^^
Northlight - 28.04.2007 at 20:32  
Rom 5:12 represents a drastic and in my eyes a very positive change of their selfcreated soundscape.

This album really confused me with his diversity and style change about nearly two decades of brutal
black metal from this group. It seems to be that Morgan and Co. wants everybody to know that Marduk
is more present than ever... well done - Valour to variances gets nearly always rewards. ...great!
ChristianMetaler - 30.04.2007 at 02:49  
Great review. Not better than the Naglfar album though.
Throne of Rats - 30.04.2007 at 12:51  
Man this album is sooooooooo good!!!!
__Az__ - 05.06.2007 at 19:39  
After this review, I had to get my hands on a copy... And I can safely say, you were not lying and I was not dissapointed. This album is truely amazing, a Brilliant black metal album...

Along with Rotting Christ, the best of the year...
Herzebeth - 06.06.2007 at 03:49  
Written by __Az__ on 05.06.2007 at 19:39

After this review, I had to get my hands on a copy... And I can safely say, you were notlying and I was not dissapointed. This album is truely amazing, a Brilliant black metal album...

Along with Rotting Christ, the best of the year...


I'm so glad that you liked the review tried the album and liked it too...

thanks man
Nemesis-Divina - 09.06.2007 at 17:17  
Well after "Panzer..." I thought that, that was it and they were going downhill big time, but this album took me by surprise, fucking amazing, "Imago Mortis" is my favourite track.
"Holy shit this is the best Black Metal album this year!!! I don't even want to hear anything else I don't need it, Dimmu Borgir and Rotting Christ? I don't care about their poor albums, who wants a Naglfar CD when you can play Marduk until the moon turns black;" HELL YEAH, totally agree!
Very well written review, great work!
dismaleuphony - 17.06.2007 at 08:04  
Hmm, the CD is decent, though nothing groundbreaking. I agree the "Imago Mortis" is one of the standouts; I also prefer "Womb of Perishableness" (though the title sounds lame, no one would ever say "perishableness" that I know of, though perhaps it's referring to something!). My favorite disc is still "World Funeral," without question, and this CD does nothing to change that. It does add a few songs they could play live, but it's just more Marduk IMO. 7 or so from me, because certainly doesn't fail, but it's no BM album of the year, sorry
Doc Godin - 01.09.2007 at 10:59  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.04.2007 at 03:40

havnt heard a bad thing about this album yet, I tried to download it but it screwed up, oh well, Ill definitly be buying it when it comes out.

good choice. This review rules, almost as much as the album itself, everything this guy says is true! I cant quite put my finger on what makes this so....unique sounding.
Dangerboner - 10.01.2008 at 03:25  
When I first bought this not too long after it came out, I listened to it on my old car stereo and for some reason my speakers didn't agree with the album and I didn't feel like listening to it clearly until the other day. I'm not really a Marduk fan, but I agree with most of the people here that said how much of an improvement Rom 5:12 is from the all too linear previous releases, and while I'm still unsure if it's better than Opus Nocturne or not, I still think it's awesome. I especially love the chamber choir at the end of Accuser/Opposer, and then hearing the following track blast my eardrums into pulp. There does seem to be some filler on it, however.
Pétur - 10.01.2008 at 15:43  
this album is a strong improvement form the very overated and boring legion years, I hope they keep this path.
Ph0eNiX - 29.04.2009 at 13:30  
I'm sorry but I miss Legion in vocals. This album is good but Legion carried the vocals really well in this band.
Sonic MrSumo - 21.10.2010 at 01:13  
This album gets better and better with every listen!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Marduk - Rom 5:12 6 26.05.2014 by Ilham
Reviews Marduk - Heaven Shall Burn 6 21.07.2007 by Joey Jo Jo
Reviews Marduk - Opus Nocturne 6 09.06.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Marduk - Warschau 6 29.07.2007 by Passenger
Reviews Marduk - Those Of The Unlight 6 09.06.2007 by Katatronik



Hits total: 5735 | This month: 33