Antimatter - Leaving Eden review



Reviewer:
9.0

154 users:
8.81
Band: Antimatter
Album: Leaving Eden
Release date: April 2007


01. Redemption
02. Another Face In A Window
03. Ghosts
04. The Freak Show
05. Landlocked
06. Conspire
07. Leaving Eden
08. The Immaculate Misconception
09. Fighting For A Lost Cause


If you still don't know Antimatter, you'll have to know that the band was founded by Mick Moss a really good compositor/musician from Great Britain and Duncan Patterson that you probably already know for his work with Anathema. After three albums and "Planetary Confinement" (2005), Duncan decided to leave the band to release his own personal album. The fans of the combo, me the first, wondered if Antimatter was dead or if Mick still wanted to follow his road with his band, and we learned lately that a new album "Leaving Eden" was in writing and then recording process. The new album is out now, and you know what? Mick simply managed to write the best album of the band. For sure if you like Antimatter and the best Anathema releases, "Leaving Eden" will be a must for you.

No doubt, "Leaving Eden" is the best release of Antimatter for me. The three first albums are all really cool that's right but they are not fantastic too. "Leaving Eden" is fantastic. Always with this really sad atmosphere, the really dark Progressive Rock of the British maestro is one more time extremely convincing. The album is composed of some sad ballads, a bit like with some songs like "Forgotten Hopes" or "Make It Right" of "Judgment" (Anathema) if you see what I mean. With a lot of acoustic guitars, piano, but also with cello, and electric guitars, "Leaving Eden" is really emotive and I'm quite sure that you'll have shiver when you'll listen to the songs. Also, note that we don't have any female vocalists here, this is Mick who sings on all the tracks and his beautiful bluesy voice fits perfectly to his music. All in all, it's a matter of atmosphere with "Leaving Eden" and trust me, Mick managed to write songs that have a heart, a spirit. It's maybe sad but it's touching and if you like Antimatter's previous CDs or the best Anathema releases you'll simply love this album.

Talking about Anathema, I have to add that the lead guitarist on the album (among other guests) is Mr Danny Cavanagh. The two musicians are good friends and Danny (as always) accepted without any problems to play the guitars soli that you'll be able to find on the majority of the songs. One more time, his guitar play is wonderful and yes, it adds something more to the music of Antimatter. With a perfect production "Leaving Eden" is one of the best releases of the beginning of the year, especially if you like slow melancholic Prog Rock of course.

"Leaving Eden is a must. I say it one more time but this is the best release of Antimatter and I don't even understand how you could miss this album. This is beautiful, sad on a side right but so emotive and with a such perfect music that it's simply perfect. A must for the fans of the British dark Progressive(ex: Doom) Metal scene…


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by Jeff | 12.04.2007


 


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 186 users
12.04.2007 - 14:42
Jeff
Freaky Admin
AMAZING album!

Don't miss it if you like Anathema and bands with the same spirit!
----
Come with us to Hellfest 2011!
Loading...
12.04.2007 - 17:07
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Have to get it! I have one song with Antimatter, and it's awesome!
Is there any theme or story in the album?
Loading...
12.04.2007 - 17:49
blackthor
Great albumm indeed
Loading...
12.04.2007 - 21:23
Bitch Boy
XD
I was waiting for this album, they've been announcing it from a long time in their Myspace page, and this review gives me the feeling that this album will be great. I'll be back as soon as I get it.
Loading...
12.04.2007 - 23:02
Anathemani@c
Did it get out on stores ?
----
Trapped in time
A miracle of hope and change
A swirling mass, no mercy now
If the truth hurts prepare for pain
......Do you think we 're forever???
Loading...
13.04.2007 - 14:45
Merchant of Doom
With Danny on guitar, sounds a lot like a forgotten Anathema album... which is great, obviously...
Loading...
14.04.2007 - 13:46
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
Definitely sounds like a forgotten Anathema album indeed. This one's way better than their previous stuff which I tend to find extremely boring, unlike most people it seems.
Loading...
18.04.2007 - 21:32
GT
Coffee!!
I've only listened to the album once and is not convinced...maybe because I expeted something else, I don't know, but I found it a bit boring. Might have to give it a second or even a third chance
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
25.05.2008 - 08:01
Jason W.
Razorbliss
I have to apologize ... to myself for not listening to this album earlier! Everything that Antimatter had done up to this release bored me (not bad music, though...), but this release is masterful! So much gloominess, sadness, and it feels genuine finally.

It's strange, I don't know how much the Anathema influence is either - because except for "Judgement," I haven't liked anything by them since 1995. In fact, I rarely even like music of this subgenre ("dark progressive") because I so often hate the vocals; but obviously not this time! And I think the mix here has a lot to do with why I like this Antimatter disc, too, because I noticed it immediately and knew it was going to be something interesting to hear. Great disc
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
13.08.2008 - 12:37
blackjudas
thoughtfull lyrics, perfect dark music, nice sad nostalgic atmosphere and finally clear mistakeless sound performance. would be so pitty to miss this album...
Loading...
09.11.2008 - 19:23
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
This isn't Metal... but it's fucking amazing
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
29.01.2009 - 19:49
Rice Kierkegaard
Definitavemente el mejor album de estos últimos años!!! SUBLIME
A master piece!!!!!
Leaving Eden RULEZ
Loading...
30.01.2009 - 14:35
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Antimatter is a force to be reckon with. Great album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
17.08.2010 - 01:41
sheepz
One of the best albums of all time. Extremely emotional. Nothing better than listening to this album with the lights off.
Loading...
21.08.2011 - 14:42
Milena
Learning To "X"
It's really beautiful, damn.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
21.08.2011 - 17:30
Abattoir
Very praised and by far the best release out of the whole discography.
Loading...

Hits total: 8395 | This month: 35