Shining - IV - The Eerie Cold review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
9.4

170 users:
8.48
Band: Shining
Album: IV - The Eerie Cold
Release date: February 2005


01. I Och Med Insikt Skall Du Förgå
02. Vemodets Arkitektur
03. Någonting Är Jävligt Fel
04. Eradication Of The Condition
05. The Eerie Cold (Samvetskvalens Ridå Öppnades)
06. The Claws Of Perdition


In my hands I am holding the fourth album of one of the most controversial bands of the underground Black Metal scene: Shining. I guess this band doesn't need an introduction, since it is one of the more known bands in the Black Metal underground. They've earned that fame and their reputation with some outstanding albums and their controversy.

They surely deserve a place in every Black Metal collection with their album The Eerie Cold. This album is a mix of Burzum-esque riffing and vocals (without being an obvious clone) and slow-paced, utter black moments of despair. It has the blessing of good production, which puts all the instruments in the right place and most important of all: they are all audible. Yes, even the bass is audible and quite enjoyable as well. There are some awesome melodies to be found if one listens carefully (intro of the second track, for example.) The album starts off with 'I Och Med Insikt Skall Du Förgå' (translated as 'Because of Insight You Shall Vanish'). It has a slow intro with a slow-paced guitar solo lingering over easy-going drums. This shows how versatile this band has become, they mix rock and roll influences with the darkest of black metal. After that, a vicious guitar riff takes the lead. Combined with the catchy drum work and haunting keyboards this setts the perfect mood for a misanthropic adventure. Then Kvarforth's ripping vocals enter the mutilation chamber. He has the perfect hateful and tortured voice for this type of music. After a while the piano takes the song over and the acoustic guitar comes around again. This is the greatest strength of Shining, the very natural way of combining dark black metal with acoustic passages. The rest of the songs are just as good as the first one, except for one: The Eerie Cold (Samvetskvalens Ridå Öppnades). The Swedish part can be translated, so I've been told, to "The Curtains Of Remorse Were Opened".

This particular song is so beautiful that it deserves a special mention. The entire track consists of slow-paced guitar strumming and a good rhythm section. It sounds so simple, yet it grabs you by your depressed balls and doesn't let you go. The length and repetition makes it extremely available for getting into a 'trance', until you are disturbed by some spoken vocals. The speech that you will hear is so incredibly sad and painful; it is a hard burden to bear. Even though Kvarforth has good English pronunciation, the vocals are so close to breaking down into crying it is hard to understand some particular words. The effect of it is ever so convincing though! Every time I hear this particular part I feel like ending my own life on the spot with a rusty knife.

So what is there left to say about this album? If you are a fan of black metal, this band is definitely one you must check out, if you haven't heard them already.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 17.04.2007 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.

Staff review by
DerRozzengarten
Rating:
8.5
Despite the fact that the Swedish suicidal black metallers Shining had announced during 2004 that they had achieved what they wanted through their music and broke up, they return during 2005 with a new line up and their long-awaited fourth full length release, "IV The Eerie Cold". The basic figure and very soul of the band remains Kvarforth and, of course, the band keeps on supporting the ideology they had since their very beginning, "suicide, self-abuse and the abuse of the human mind and flesh", with the "eerie cold" being present in every single second of the album.

Read more ››
published 27.11.2005 | Comments (5)


Comments

Comments: 16   Visited by: 133 users
17.04.2007 - 18:22
Basso
Account deleted
Brilliant album, definitly a must have
Loading...
17.04.2007 - 19:59
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Definitely!
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
17.04.2007 - 21:25
Bad English
Masterchief
Good job man, good rewiew even I dont like this band but nice rewiew brother
----
Life is to short for LOVE, there is many great things to do online !!!

Stormtroopers of Death - ''Speak English or Die''

I better die, because I never will learn speek english, so I choose dieing
Loading...
17.04.2007 - 21:29
Lucas
Mr. Noise
You don't like them? Why not?
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
18.04.2007 - 16:26
Damnated
Churchburner
good review you praised it alot, but still kept your distance. it is indeed a very good album, their best imo
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
18.04.2007 - 16:39
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Thanks Damnated.

Yeah, I think it is their best one as well. I've received Halmstad yesterday and it is very good, but not as great as this one is.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
20.09.2008 - 21:33
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
The speech on the 5th track brilliant. So disturbing and depressing.

This is overall an awesome album. But I disagree with the fact that this is the best one.
Halmstad did it for me much better than this one.
But hey... they are good on every album
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.03.2009 - 17:48
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Between The Eerie Cold and Halmstad, The Eerie Cold WOULD be my favorite if my copy didn't have Kvarforths speeach that adds an extra two minutes of time on, I Och Med Insikt Skall Du Förgå. It even cuts a bit into the song I need to hunt down a better copy.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
10.03.2009 - 18:02
Elio
Red Nightmare
Written by -DC-002- on 10.03.2009 at 17:48

Between The Eerie Cold and Halmstad, The Eerie Cold WOULD be my favorite if my copy didn't have Kvarforths speeach that adds an extra two minutes of time on, I Och Med Insikt Skall Du Förgå. It even cuts a bit into the song I need to hunt down a better copy.


true I have that fucking annoying speech too, at first I was like "wtf is this shit??"
----
IntoPlighT said: "Slipknot is 15 years old how the fuck is that Nu metal?"

BEST. QUOTE. EVER.
Loading...
14.06.2009 - 06:22
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Dear lord! ''(Samvetskvalens Ridå Öppnades)'' is so extremly depress that is almost creepy. Excellent
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
13.09.2009 - 00:59
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Elio on 10.03.2009 at 18:02

Written by -DC-002- on 10.03.2009 at 17:48

Between The Eerie Cold and Halmstad, The Eerie Cold WOULD be my favorite if my copy didn't have Kvarforths speeach that adds an extra two minutes of time on, I Och Med Insikt Skall Du Förgå. It even cuts a bit into the song I need to hunt down a better copy.


true I have that fucking annoying speech too, at first I was like "wtf is this shit??"


Hehehehe, Now I feel lucky to have a normal version of that song. I hate that special intro as well.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
14.10.2009 - 14:54
InnerSelf
proofread free
The last 2 minutes of "The Eerie Cold" as he utters those painfull words brings me to tears every time
"And then you are a baby and yo don't no that your life is ending , you just suck on your mothers tit and then you die"
Cruel
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 23:06
Evil Chip
Nice review and very good album. My second favourite of them.
Loading...
14.07.2014 - 10:25
Dr. Strawberry
Written by Evil Chip on 26.09.2012 at 23:06

Nice review and very good album. My second favourite of them.

This's also my No.2 Shining's.
Which is your Best Shining's ?
Loading...
15.07.2014 - 21:57
Evil Chip
Written by Dr. Strawberry on 14.07.2014 at 10:25

Written by Evil Chip on 26.09.2012 at 23:06

Nice review and very good album. My second favourite of them.

This's also my No.2 Shining's.
Which is your Best Shining's ?

Actually it's a very predictable choice: Halmstad. What about yours?
Loading...
15.07.2014 - 22:11
Dr. Strawberry
Written by Evil Chip on 15.07.2014 at 21:57

Actually it's a very predictable choice: Halmstad. What about yours?

Then mine is very different from yours...
No.1 - II, Livets Andhallplats
No.2 - IV, The Eerie Cold
No.3 - III, Angst
No.4 - V, Halmstad
Loading...

Hits total: 6945 | This month: 36