After Forever - After Forever review



Reviewer:
9.0

355 users:
8.28
Band: After Forever
Album: After Forever
Release date: April 2007


01. Discord
02. Evoke
03. Transitory
04. Energize Me
05. Equally Destructive
06. Withering Time
07. De-Energized [feat. Jeff Waters]
08. Cry With A Smile
09. Envision
10. Who I Am [feat. Doro Pesch]
11. Dreamflight
12. Empty Memories
13. Lonely [thinbox and digipack bonus]
14. Sweet Enclosure [bonus]


After Forever calls this album their "past, present, and future" and they're not kidding. You'll find classical symphonic elements like on their debut, bombastic Decipher-era rhythms, straight up metal Invisible Circles-style, and most importantly a continuation of the dominating progressive step forward they took with Remagine. As was evident on Remagine, the addition of Joost van den Broek on keyboards has been invaluable to this band. His compositions seem to take them to the breaking point of their talent and what an incredible ride it is!

This is a very cohesive collection of songs; a true album with focus and direction, yet, each song is individual and memorable. Immediately catchy hooks like in "Evoke" and "Equally Destructive" will draw you further into this very visual experience while the guitars in "De-Energized" will simply whip through your body (no doubt due to the incredible performance of Annihilator's Jeff Waters who lends his talent to the tune). Their chosen single, "Energize Me," took longer for me to appreciate, possibly due to it's placement in the track listing: compared to the bullet ride of the album so far it sticks out as a rather bland moment in it's beginning. I believe they meant it as a chance to breathe, a respite, but on the first few listens it feels more like a dead stop. Despite that, it works up to quite a powerful climax and over time you'll recognize the intended respite and look forward to the beautiful song that follows.

Vocalist Floor Jansen's immense talent and versatility has been obvious since the beginning yet she continues to surpass herself with each release; this album is no exception. If you don't already consider her one of the best voices in heavy metal then maybe this album will convince you. Speaking of vocals, we're in for a real treat with the song "Who I Am" which features the great Doro Pesch on lead vocals. Floor backs her up and the two powerhouses completely lay waste to this track, all the while showing off After Forever's "heavy" metal side of their personality.

I just can't capture with words the sheer energy and joy that this band has bottled up and recorded for us. They clearly love making music and their passion makes this incredible album that much more memorable and exhilarating than just the great compositions alone. I might say this is After Forever's finest release yet.


 



Written on 29.04.2007 by Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of sub-genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.

Twitter: @HeavyMetalSusan


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 168 users
29.04.2007 - 04:55
Danigar
Excelent review, I loved this album so so much, maybe it took time to grow on me, but after a few listens I think it became my favorite, up there with Decipher. I liked Remagine a lot too, but I think as you very well put it this one surpasess. Way to go After Forever!
Loading...
29.04.2007 - 11:19
Ivor
Staff
Should've preordered the album a while ago. That should be corrected, I will order it soon. Seems like it should prove to be a worthy listen. Great review Susan!

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
30.04.2007 - 21:29
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
No way this is a 9, at least not to my eyes. It's actually a pretty enjoyable and positive album in many aspects, but ultimately without bland and true originality. In any case, a good review.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
01.05.2007 - 02:44
Bitch Boy
XD
Excellent review Lyrinan I was expecting this and I knew it was you who would write it down For me this album was excellent, I actually would give it more than 9. The most notable is Floor's vocals, she's perfect. I hope they continue like this: improving their sound and surpassing themselves with each release.
Loading...
06.05.2007 - 11:01
AnGina--
Dark Phoenix
Indeed. Up till this album I loved Remagine and Decipher the best, but this new album took the 1st place immediately. Great review Lyrinan, I agree, this album has fragments of Decipher, Invisible Circles and Remagine and then again it has something new, innovative, original. AF keep getting better and better musicians and composers so all I can say is way to go AF! As I said many times, AF is actually the only band who make prog music or at least semi-prog that I love, because they're just so... so... after-foreverish
----
Loading...
06.05.2007 - 16:50
The Shape 1973
Brilliant album, maybe this is the album that Within Tempttion should have released,goth metal at its best.Made me think of early Nightwish,maybe Nightwish should be knocking on Floor's door as shes a match for Tarja.
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...
11.05.2007 - 20:01
__Az__
Definately worthy of a listen, completely typical of After Forver... Gothic metal at its best...
Loading...
20.07.2007 - 20:05
HELLilac
Great review and I agree 100%. This album is such a great return to form of a great band.
----
AS SOON AS YOU'RE BORN, YOU'RE DYING..
Loading...
28.07.2007 - 14:21
KodrutZ
I hate this album, although I like the previous ones a lot.
Loading...
04.08.2007 - 12:58
annodomini
thank you god that show them the way... Remagine was absolute3ly peace of shit... AF is my favorite band and i am listening everything that they have created, except remagine, it is absolutely shit, so i am happy with this superb album...my respect... Very good music, i wish you was never released Remagine...
----
there is nothing left to die for...
Loading...
21.09.2007 - 22:08
Angel-Dust
Account deleted
Simply a wonderful album!
Loading...
23.10.2008 - 02:53
Land Of Doom
After Forever The Best Symphonic Gothic Band And This Album Is The Best From The Best
----
We Only Fear What Comes
And Smell Death Every Day
Search For The Answers That Lie Beyond
Loading...
27.11.2008 - 12:30
Powerslavex
Alexskywalker
Waste of my money
Loading...
20.10.2009 - 07:19
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
"They clearly love making music" That's exactly what I thought

I've been listening to this album on the past days and I think I'm getting deeper and deeper in it, It's very touching, I like almost every song in it, but the best in my opinion is "Dreamflight", holy shit! That song is surely one of the greatest they made in their entire career. It saddens me the idea that they won't keep on making this great music and the path they started with this release.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
20.10.2009 - 10:20
Zedd
Good album. Yeah, Dreamflight is nice Interesting structure of composition. Transitory is fast and slashing
We can listen to classic vocals at the end of Empty Memories.
Loading...
02.03.2011 - 11:35
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Great album indeed and a very good review. I like that After Forever decided to call it a day when they were still making excellent music, I will always remember them as a band who never released a bad album, which is something I cannot say of most of my other favorite bands. Also, let's not say Floor is a match for Tarja, let's call it as it is: she wipes the floor with Tarja.
Loading...
11.03.2011 - 04:24
SimbelmynëAshes
The first AF album I've ever listened. Immediately fell in love with them and especially with Floor's voice. Since then she's my favorite female singer of all time and no one can beat her, no one. Amazing band! Amazing voice!
Loading...
28.07.2011 - 18:53
mohammedMG
First of all when I watched the single of the album (energize me) i was impressed because of two reasons the first one was floor's powerful voice which is very memorable to me , secondly the harmony of the playing for the song ,after that i decided to buy an album for the band ,the shop's owner gave me this one (AF) then i listened to it but i never thought that it would be so magnificent ,since that day i became a fan of AF and even if they call it a quit they'll always be my number one band though i listen to many kinds of genres and bands
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 9534 | This month: 50