Rating:
7.9
Korpiklaani - Tales Along This Road
21 April 2006


01. Happy Little Boozer
02. Vakirauta
03. Midsummer Night
04. Tuli Kokko
05. Spring Dance
06. Under The Sun
07. Korpiklaani
08. Rise
09. Kirki
10. Hide Your Riches
11. Free Like An Eagle [Japanese bonus]


Well here it is, another Korpiklaani album "Tales Of The Forest"...erm...I mean "Tales Along This Road," and let's just say it's nothing new from these guys.

Don't let the above statement fool you; this is a very good album, it just doesn't stray very far from anything they've done before. The great thing about Korpiklaani that first struck my interest is unlike most folk metal bands, the music does not revolve around battle or much folklore but instead is more about drinking and dancing. This album is just as fun-filled as any other Korpiklaani album, and very, very, very cheesey. The album begins with "Happy Little Boozer," a bouncy drinking tune that breaks into a fast charging chant-along type song. The entire album consists of mostly drinking songs that are great fun to sing along with, and just as usual Jonne has that goofy drunkard sounding voice.

As previously said this album is not very different from "Spirit Of The Forest" or "Voice Of Wilderness," in fact, one of the only ways I can tell the difference between the 3 is the fact that I'm already aware of which songs are from which albums. But unlike a lot of bands the sound was not unique to this album. A good side about not changing the sound is the subtle thrash influences were not lost; they are still noticable (to the trained ear) in songs like "Rise" and "Hide Your Riches."

This being a very decent album it's also definitly for a specified mood, you can't listen to Korpiklaani if you're angry or pissed off for some reason or else the music will come off as just plain irritating; but on the flipside if you're in an upbeat silly type mood this album will be pure heaven to the ears and will be a good outlet for your energy. Fun filled and energetic are the only words for this album. It's definitly worth picking up if you have any other Korpiklaani albums and you would like to hear the same type of songs again, otherwise you might be disapointed in the lack of progression this band has made since the last album.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Korpiklaani
Album: Tales Along This Road


 


written by Doc Godin | 30.06.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 89  
Search this topic:  


Katatronik - 30.06.2007 at 22:40  
Agree with you man, I prefer the older albums, though this one is not bad IMO... Good review!
Ellrohir - 01.07.2007 at 13:03  
Happy Little Boozer rocks
__Az__ - 11.07.2007 at 14:16  
Yeah, this album isnt bad par se....

However, I definately prefer the older albums, IMO, nothing beats 'Voice Of Wilderness' for pure folk brilliance.
Spyroid - 09.11.2007 at 14:48  
Well, certainly NOT a 9 in production imo
Ellrohir - 09.11.2007 at 16:01  
i enjoy the first three tracks, the rest i somehow dont like that much...
Uirapuru - 15.11.2008 at 07:24  
Absolute awesome An album to have fun, to listen while drinkin Can't find any bad points in this album.. if Korpiklaani pledged to play a catchy and funny kind of folk metal, they are sure complying with their duty.. just listening Happy Little Boozer or Spring Dance makes a day better than what it could be.
I can consider this album a masterpiece, only by the ''sincerity'' of their sound, sometimes fancy riffs and complex lyrics are just an obstacle for the real fun that is make music.
Ellrohir - 22.11.2008 at 22:42  
I would say this album is simply the best by Korpiklaani ever...every single song from this album is just brilliant

edit : i changed my mind a bit during the year from my last comment
DanielViking - 23.11.2008 at 14:57  
I would say that this critic is very bad and the guy didn't listen the album very well... this album is so full of great melodies, lots of work, the guitars sound more powerful than ever for a folk band, and happy little boozer is probably the fastest and hardest song korpiklaani ever recorded. beside all of this the album really completes anyone who likes folk music and like to party! 10!!!

ps: please, re-listen the album.
Doc Godin - 24.11.2008 at 01:46  
Written by DanielViking on 23.11.2008 at 14:57

I would say that this critic is very bad and the guy didn't listen the album very well... this album is so full of great melodies, lots of work, the guitars sound more powerful than ever for a folk band, and happy little boozer is probably the fastest and hardest song korpiklaani ever recorded. beside all of this the album really completes anyone who likes folk music and like to party! 10!!!

ps: please, re-listen the album.

Your arguments seem really aimless, 7.9 is not a bad rating at all. Rating something a 10 should be something thats absolutely flawless, this band is not very dynamic, nor do they any variation in their songs. In fact, I would even go as far as saying I went a little too easy on the album.

Ps: Please re-read the review. Also, YOU re-listen to the album please.
DanielViking - 24.11.2008 at 22:05  
Written by Doc Godin on 24.11.2008 at 01:46

Written by DanielViking on 23.11.2008 at 14:57

I would say that this critic is very bad and the guy didn't listen the album very well... this album is so full of great melodies, lots of work, the guitars sound more powerful than ever for a folk band, and happy little boozer is probably the fastest and hardest song korpiklaani ever recorded. beside all of this the album really completes anyone who likes folk music and like to party! 10!!!

ps: please, re-listen the album.


Your arguments seem really aimless, 7.9 is not a bad rating at all. Rating something a 10 should be something thats absolutely flawless, this band is not very dynamic, nor do they any variation in their songs. In fact, I would even go as far as saying I went a little too easy on the album.

Ps: Please re-read the review. Also, YOU re-listen to the album please.


i did and i consider this one of the best albuns of 2006 and maybe one of the best of folk metal albuns EVER!!! but that just me, i'm a fan of folk, pagan and viking metal bands. well there's not too say when a guy say that this is flawless and not very dynamic. life goes on...
Ellrohir - 25.11.2008 at 00:34  
The thing is, that there is no need for some "progress" in Korpiklaani's music - this band is simply good in what they are doing...whoever wants something "special", listen to progressive metal, humppa-folk metal will stay humppa-folk metal

who visits Korpiklaani gig or buying their album, imho expects exactly the music, that is served on Tales Along This Road
DanielViking - 25.11.2008 at 22:25  
Written by Ellrohir on 25.11.2008 at 00:34

The thing is, that there is no need for some "progress" in Korpiklaani's music - this band is simply good in what they are doing...whoever wants something "special", listen to progressive metal, humppa-folk metal will stay humppa-folk metal

who visits Korpiklaani gig or buying their album, imho expects exactly the music, that is served on Tales Along This Road


hell yeah
Ellrohir - 26.11.2008 at 11:38  
Btw on their last gig during Finnish Fire tour 10 days ago, thay play 4 songs from this album (Happy Little Boozer, Midsummer Nights, Tulli Kokko and Korpiklaani) and they really knew why they added them - the crowds reaction on each of them was perfect (as well as on any other of their songs, of course )
wormdrink414 - 23.08.2009 at 00:15  
This is my favorite Korpiklaani album. Midsummer Night is a masterpiece in itself.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Korpiklaani - Tales Along This Road 9 19.12.2010 by Adam
Reviews High On Fire - Death Is This Communion 4.5 19.12.2007 by Collin
Reviews High On Fire - Live From The Contamination Festival 3 04.09.2009 by BitterCOld
News Korpiklaani - New Album Tracklisting And Samples 3 19.02.2007 by GodCrAsH
Reviews W.A.S.P. - Inside The Electric Circus 3 10.09.2008 by JohnDoe



Hits total: 4820 | This month: 43