Rating:
7.8
Sepia Dreamer - The Sublime
26 February 2007


01. Gateway
02. The Exposition
03. Development
04. Capitulation


Formed and manned by a Swedish man and a Welsh man, Sepia Dreamer unleash upon the world their musical version of what could be interpreted as the tranquil, but often dangerous natural world - all in forty-four minutes of elegant progressive metal. Recorded in both the members home studios in Stockholm and Cardiff, this is neither unprofessional nor uninspired, but something that has quite clearly had large portions of its creators time.

Four tracks complete "The Sublime", the second and third track covering significantly the most time. The first track covering just over two minutes acts as an introduction track, or a "Gateway" as it is entitled, to the grandiose, symphonic and epic contents of the album. This introduction track builds up quite some ambience itself but unfortunately is cut off when you are just getting into the mood instead of leading or blending into the next track and main meat of the album as they kick in.

"The Exposition" soon picks the ambience back up though, everything moving at an epic pace, guest drummer Leon Macey's cymbals clashing and leading into seemingly controlled progressive spasms, that in turn lead into new parts and more new parts yet it all seems to keep the same tone. Transition between the two tracks is a little peculiar, as after quarter of an hour of constant music you seem to have forgotten what nothing sounds like. "Development" starts off sounding more like some kind of ominous presence with lower down, deeper sounds creeping their way to your ears. A guitar solo that catches you off guard and piano piece later, and we are once again taken into a world where music categories and genres don't seem to exist, where the music paints a picture in our mind's eye for us. A short section with double bass drumming leaking out at us, and the scene builds and builds to an enormous, grand, epic crescendo - the highest point of the album.

The album is made very well, the music is written with good intelligence. This instrumental album never sounds like it lacks a singer, there is so much music, so many changes going on to keep you interested, there is no abyss yearning for a singer. This album cannot be listened to and appreciated to its full potential by just a casual listen. A large portion of your attention needs to be on the album, else it will very easily run the risk of blurring into one long song with no memorable parts at all, even if your attention is on the album it may take a few times round for you to fully appreciate what is going on here.

"Capitulation" has a beautiful melody in places and seems to be a bit of a goodbye - the theatre is closing. It leaves the impression of an album with some magnificence about it, and that has certainly been a long time in the works. This is most definitely an inspired album with some ambition and hopefully will be appreciated by many fans of epic, grand, progressive music. One of the most adventurous albums I have heard in a long time.


Band profile: Sepia Dreamer
Album: The Sublime


 



Written on 05.07.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 54  
Search this topic:  


..HumanError.. - 05.07.2007 at 17:03  
I'm sorry for this, but the first comment for this review will be stupid:

I haven't read the review, although I'm sure it is balanced and well written as usual. I don't have time. I'll post a more interesting comment after reading it . Sorry .
Bas - 05.07.2007 at 18:55  
i've heard sound samples from sepia dreamer before and i know that those guys are absolutely brilliant, and with god sitting behind the drumkit...

i already knew that i need to get this album, but your review was able to remind me again that i have to do it as soon as possible
4look4rd - 05.07.2007 at 19:08  
After I read the review I thought you would give a better rating, because you didnt state any downsides of the album =P

For what I have seen so far (myspace) they are a really good band, and cant wait to get this album ;-D
Baz Anderson - 05.07.2007 at 19:39  
Written by 4look4rd on 05.07.2007 at 19:08

After I read the review I thought you would give a better rating, because you didnt state any downsides of the album =P

For what I have seen so far (myspace) they are a really good band, and cant wait to get this album ;-D

yeh, you're probably right. I did say:

"This album cannot be listened to and appreciated to its full potential by just a casual listen. A large portion of your attention needs to be on the album, else it will very easily run the risk of blurring into one long song with no memorable parts at all, even if your attention is on the album it may take a few times round for you to fully appreciate what is going on here."

and sometimes it is nice to have something casual..
also maybe once you have listened to it a few times and understood it.. maybe it lacks something that pops out at you when pondering what to listen to..
but it is a good good album.. well worth looking into
7.8 is still a great rating!
Bas - 08.07.2007 at 23:22  
wow this cd is absolutely brilliant!!!

for me personally also for a casual listen
i'd give it a 8.6 or higher i suppose

but well, your review, your rating
Baz Anderson - 08.07.2007 at 23:32  
I'm beginning to understand why Jerry doesn't use ratings any more.. just because it isn't over 85% doesn't mean it isn't a good album.. 7.8 is a good rating..
pay more attention to the review than the number that accompanies it
Bas - 09.07.2007 at 00:18  
i know that it's a good rating, i never said it wasnt!
it's just that i think it deserves a very good rating

but like i said, your review means your rating, so i'm not complaining about how you rated it, i'm just saying that i personally would rate it higher
Darkside Momo - 31.08.2007 at 19:07  
A relaxing listen... And, inspired and elegant.
My personnal rating (just that and nothing more ) is 7.5, but I voted 8 (can't vote for halves...)
ylside - 22.12.2007 at 18:05  
Just heard it. A good release, it's very refined and also even.."romantic" to my ears.
Yarkhan - 31.05.2008 at 05:59  
Hell, just heard this album... cant stop hear it! Its awesome!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Twinspirits - The Music That Will Heal The World 6 07.06.2007 by Undercraft
Reviews Avantasia - The Scarecrow 6 24.01.2008 by Bas
Reviews Success Will Write Apocalypse Across The Sky - The Grand Partition And The Abrogation Of Idolatry 6 09.04.2009 by munson
Reviews The Crown - Doomsday King 6 18.08.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Freedom Call - Legend Of The Shadowking 6 04.02.2010 by Zenzero



Hits total: 4859 | This month: 36