Advertise on Metal Storm
Sonata Arctica - Unia review



Reviewer:
6.8

528 users:
7.15
Band: Sonata Arctica
Album: Unia
Release date: May 2007


01. In Black And White
02. Paid In Full
03. For The Sake Of Revenge
04. It Won't Fade
05. Under Your Tree
06. Caleb
07. The Vice
08. My Dream's But A Drop Of Fuel For A Nightmare
09. The Harvest
10. To Create A Warlike Feel [digipack bonus]
11. The Worlds Forgotten, The Words Forbidden
12. Fly With The Black Swan
13. Good Enough Is Good Enough
14. They Follow [Japanese bonus]
15. Out In The Fields [Japanese bonus] [Gary Moore cover]
16. My Dream's But A Drop Of Fuel For A Nightmare [Japanese bonus] [instrumental version]


After a career of releasing similar albums, Sonata Arctica's fifth studio effort - "Unia" - goes away from their usual style to offer something slightly more progressive. As a warning, "Unia" will have some fans and some detractors, and I belong to the latter category, despite loving progressive metal and liking the band.

The biggest surprise comes from guitarist Jani Liimatainen being relegated to playing rhythm guitars most of the time, occasionally displaying his soloing abilities on a couple of songs. If the guitar solos have been toned down, Henrik Klingenberg is filling in with solid keyboards all the way through. Tony Kakko's voice hasn't really improved since "Ecliptica", so no change in this department. Tommy Portimo is experimenting more than usual on drums, which should be a good thing.

The attempt is noble but unfortunately, the result comes up quite stale. Maybe a couple of songs are fine, such as the opening track 'Black and White' and 'Caleb', but overall, this album is just plain average. From sounding like an average Edguy album, or a Helloween album for that matter, to an insipid Vanden Plas album, "Unia" is sure to divide Sonata Arctica fans. The ballads are cheesy as ever, some tracks are limit laughable. Despite hosting 12 songs, "Unia" comes up really short in terms of valuable points.

If you loved everything about Sonata Arctica's sound, "Unia" will have you wondering or even shaking your head in disbelief. If you were tired of the same formula, give it a try. Otherwise, go look somewhere else, this album is not for you. Now, I'm awaiting the hate mail… Just remember, this is just my opinion. As I said, some people will love this album. My piece of advice is to listen to a couple of samples before buying "Unia".


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 11.07.2007 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.

Guest review by
Milena
Rating:
8.9
This is one of the bands that may be a perfect example of how heavy metal fans are often ungrateful and don't know what they want. Reckoning Night, their previous album, was very well received, but there were some complaints about some generic and repetitive songs - people thought that the band should add some more variations to their style. Then came Unia, the album that totally redefined Sonata Arctica's music; people, of course, complained that they should basically repeat Silence a thousand times over in order for the fans to be satisfied. Well, you can't please everyone, and Sonata Arctica gave a big middle finger to the latter ones.

Read more ››
published 23.03.2011 | Comments (22)


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 46   Visited by: 235 users
14.09.2007 - 10:44
Ivan
Admin
I absolutely loved this album - somehow it touched me in a way few albums do nowdays. I've been a SA fan basically from day 1, and I'm glad to see the band evolving and reinventing themselves, rather than cashing in on their 'trademark', already explored in full on the first two albums. Songs like Caleb and It Won't Fade are amazing examples of this new complex and multi-layered sound.
Loading...
02.10.2007 - 16:48
Destryphior
I really love the song "Fly with the black swan"... Overall the album is one of the best ever, nothing bad with oldie SA(it rocks too), but Unia was like Beer, Ice Cream and Sweaty Men all at the same time....
Loading...
11.02.2008 - 23:29
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
What the hell Happened with Sonata Arctic ain this album? It's a mystery for me. This is by far their worst album, it's boring... I didin't even finish listening to it.
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
17.03.2008 - 00:02
WhiteWolfWish
Account deleted
I have to disagree with most people. I love this album from the first time I listened it(though I like the older stuff from sonata too) and I could listen it forever. I can only say good things about unia. My favourite track from the album is "Under Your Tree" or "The worlds Forgotten the words Forbidden". I can't decide! I like all songs from unia. Well, almost all songs cause I don't like "the caleb"(mostly because of the lady at the beginning) and "in black and white" that much.
Loading...
07.06.2008 - 06:47
Shadowcross
The Summoner
i agree with this review..
it starts with some great tracks but mixed feelings about the rest.
8/10
Loading...
19.11.2008 - 04:38
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
I won't waste too much words. This album is booooring. Well the first 3 or 4 songs are ok, but the rest... no comments.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
01.06.2009 - 21:11
Italics
I think it is a very large misconception that "Unia" is the "disappointment" of most SA fans.
Anyone who is very familiar with the band and still follows them know that at least half (probably more) of the people who didn't like this album when it came out now absolutely love it - and for many it is now their favorite Sonata Arctica album of all time.

Sure, this isn't as immediately accessible as their past works, but to say that this album is boring or lacks melody is just a display of ignorance. There are more melodies on this album than any other SA album, it's just that they don't repeat so many times that they are drilled into your head on the first few listens.

For me, it is a large large disappointment that this genius of an album has gotten so little attention. I hope that more people will give this a second chance and let it grow on them, it is a great cd, and those of us who have been patient with it, it has paid off big time!
----
But I Justify My Desire to No One
Loading...
16.06.2009 - 21:28
Balls of Jericho
Demonic Tutor can go suck my cock, Unia is by far one of Sonata Arcticas best albums
Loading...
12.07.2009 - 00:15
Sonyfreak
You have to listen to this album at least 20 times before you will be able to understand it. I think its one of their best albums until now.

I'm really looking forward to "The Days of Grays". :-)
Loading...
10.08.2009 - 11:19
SexyCat_1113
Jani's crazy solo is my best love, but this album has none of that......:-[:-[:-[
Loading...
27.03.2010 - 01:17
ravendeath
Some songs are realy laughable, like the review says. I don't like this album.
Loading...
22.08.2010 - 14:40
Keo
I consider this album stronger than the four put out before it. I'm guessing the ones who liked the more traditional power metal sound are disappointed and those who are into progressive are in general still not that interested in power prog or simply shun away due to SA's previous reputation giving this one its bad reputation. It's a bastard child that isn't given a chance and ends up falling inbetween.
Loading...
17.10.2010 - 17:06
Luneth
Written by DreamWeaver on 11.07.2007 at 03:39

Am I the only one who actually enjoys this album??


No, I like it quite a bit too. Some really beautiful ballads on it, the over the top ballad, 'Under Your Tree' is so moving, then there's a healthy blend of fast melodic [perhaps not as fast as we're accustomed to with SA] tracks like Pain in Full; In Black and White and The Harvest. My Dream is but a Drop of Fuel for a Nightmare is icon in the same way 'The Boy who Wanted to be a Real Puppet' on Recknoning Night was.
----
Evil? I am not Malevolent, I simply am!
Apocalypse, X-Men
Loading...
15.03.2011 - 08:59
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Luneth on 17.10.2010 at 17:06

Written by DreamWeaver on 11.07.2007 at 03:39

Am I the only one who actually enjoys this album??


No, I like it quite a bit too. Some really beautiful ballads on it, the over the top ballad, 'Under Your Tree' is so moving, then there's a healthy blend of fast melodic [perhaps not as fast as we're accustomed to with SA] tracks like Pain in Full; In Black and White and The Harvest. My Dream is but a Drop of Fuel for a Nightmare is icon in the same way 'The Boy who Wanted to be a Real Puppet' on Recknoning Night was.

Agreed, this album contains the best elements from Reckoning Night (the proggy ones) but in a darker and more twisted sense than ever. Weird album for weird peeps like myself
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
16.03.2011 - 19:27
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
A boring and uninspired album indeed. Every song has the feeling of "We don't know what the hell we're doing" about it.
Loading...
23.03.2011 - 19:19
Zenzero
Zenzero
Written by Guest on 16.03.2011 at 19:27

A boring and uninspired album indeed. Every song has the feeling of "We don't know what the hell we're doing" about it.

+1
----
Things will be ok in the end!
Loading...

Hits total: 8412 | This month: 31