Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.7
Dark Tranquillity - Fiction
20 April 2007


Disc I
01. Nothing To No One
02. The Lesser Faith
03. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive)
04. Blind At Heart
05. Icipher
06. Inside The Particle Storm
07. Empty Me
08. Misery's Crown
09. Focus Shift
10. The Mundane And The Magic [feat. Nell Sigland]
11. A Closer End [Japanese bonus]
12. Winter Triangle [Australian bonus]
13. Below The Radiance [expanded edition bonus]
14. Silence In The House Of Tongues [instrumental version] [expanded edition bonus]
15. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) [expanded edition bonus]
16. The Lesser Faith [Live at Summer Breeze 2007] [expanded edition bonus]

Limited Edition Special Features:
+ The New Build [video]
+ Focus Shift [video]
+ Focus Shift [Live in rehearsal room]
+ Wallpapers, AIM buddy icons

Disc II [Expanded Edition bonus DVD]
01. Focus Shift [video]
02. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) (brick-movie) [video]
03. Focus Shift [Live in rehearsal room]
04. Blind At Heart [Live at Bang Your Head Festival 2007]
05. Final Resistance [Live at Bang Your Head Festival 2007]
06. Misery's Crown [Live at Bang Your Head Festival 2007]
07. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive) [Live at Summer Breeze 2007]
08. The Lesser Faith [Live at Summer Breeze 2007]
09. The New Build [Live at Summer Breeze 2007]
10. The Endless Feed [Live at Summer Breeze 2007]


Ever since 2002's "Damage Done", the pioneers of the Gothenburg sound [alongside fellow musicians from In Flames] have mastered their newer sound with "Character" [2005] and now "Fiction" [2007]. In a way, their newest release can be considered as the twin album of "Character". The same formula was once again brought into daylight, resulting to a great album but with as many surprises as a Manowar album.

The band once more relied heavily on Martin Brändström keyboards ability to boost every track. By now, Dark Tranquillity does not need any further praise, as everybody knows what these guys are about. This is simultaneously their strength and their weakness. An element of novelty would have been welcome even though I totally dig this album. Okay, the last song ("The Mundane and the Magic") is a step towards something different. I'll grant you that. Flawless production is another trait of the Swedish band, and once again that's what you get with "Fiction".

As expected, Dark Tranquillity released another imposing album of polished newer Gothenburg Metal. Problem is, even though it is still working somehow, there is a lack of progression in their last two albums that might start to bore the heck out of some people. Not counting the nostalgic listeners who wish the band would take a step back towards their "The Gallery" era sound (Sorry but ain't gonna happen!). Regardless, "Fiction" will be amongst the best releases of the year.


Highlights: 'The Lesser Faith', 'Icipher' and 'The Mundane and the Magic'

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Dark Tranquillity
Album: Fiction


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 15.07.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 35  
Users visited: 253  
Search this topic:  


Torelli - 15.07.2007 at 12:16  
I couldn't agree more! For me, it was a very boring album but get I can't see any flaws in it. I quess this band need a little more progression if they want to keep the fans intrested. Best song is without a doubt "The mundane and the Magic".
X-FrEaK - 15.07.2007 at 13:41  
agree 100%, its a very interesting album like a good Dark Tranquillity album can be, nevertheless it looks like they used leftovers from Character..i hope they make some changes for the next album

favorite music: Inside the Particle Storm
HELLilac - 15.07.2007 at 14:58  
Very good review. I think this album is flawless but not outstanding. As much as I can not find fault with any of their later albums including this one, I'm too hoping for more aggression and freshness of their earlier releases.

Still, the band deserve 2 thumps up from me for staying true to their root and being so consistent. They've never released a bad album and never been taken over by the temptation of US market like their fellow Gothenburg pioneer name In Flames.
Metal Maiden - 15.07.2007 at 21:18  
I don't think "Fiction" sounds like "Character", quite the opposite - I find it totally different, and in a good way too...I absolutely adore this album, it's my favourite release from 2007 so far, and "Inside The Particle Storm" has to be one of my fav DT songs ever!!!And I agree with HELLiac - DT deserve respect for still being one of the few bands, which remained true to their Gothenburg sound, unlike posers like In Flames and Soilwork...They have NEVER released a weak album (nor a weak song btw, the only track of theirs i don't like is an instrumental, called "Archetype", and it's actually techno) and have NEVER dissapointed their fans (or me atleast )!!!
Passenger - 15.07.2007 at 23:27  
DT has got to be one of the most consistent Metal bands ever. Fiction is brilliant, once again, it sure will be featured in my top10 of this year.
Talvi - 16.07.2007 at 02:44  
One of their best, probably second to Gallery
Fhuesc - 16.07.2007 at 04:59  
For me, this album is the best in 2007 so far, and i think that isnt a copy of Character, i think that this album its an improvement of Character
dismaleuphony - 16.07.2007 at 09:19  
Well you're right in that it's a great disc... but unfortunately this CD has had little if any staying power in my mind, as I also feel it's deeply similar to Character. I miss the experimentation this band was doing in their Projector era, because I found much more depth in that period. I think the production is good, but there are much better produced / sounding albums out there this year, so that's what would make my rating lower, alongside of the originally being nonexistent (this CD is downright predictable IMO). Well written review, D.T.
Darkside Momo - 16.07.2007 at 14:03  
Another good album by Dark Tranquillity (but did they ever release a bad one?). But I don't think it's their best, even if there are really good songs (particularly The Lesser Faith and Inside The Particle Storm), because don't evolve that much now... At least this means that they stay at their very high level, but...
And about comparing Character and Fiction, I'd say that Character is more complex, while fiction is more catchy. But the main difference for me is that Character is much more emotional...
tulkas - 16.07.2007 at 23:51  
this is one of the albums i'm begging to regret i didn't buy on my trip to canada. i had it in my hand but then i put it back and bought instead amon amarth's 'with oden on our side' (which i don't regret at all!!) anyway, i guess i'll look it up here and buy it if i can
Danny Thomas - 17.07.2007 at 10:01  
Written by Metal Maiden on 15.07.2007 at 21:18

I don't think "Fiction" sounds like "Character", quite the opposite - I find it totally different, and in a good way too...I absolutely adore this album, it's my favourite release from 2007 so far, and "Inside The Particle Storm" has to be one of my fav DT songs ever!!!And I agree with HELLiac - DT deserve respect for still being one of the few bands, which remained true to their Gothenburg sound, unlike posers like In Flames and Soilwork...They have NEVER released a weak album (nor a weak song btw, the only track of theirs i don't like is an instrumental, called "Archetype", and it's actually techno) and have NEVER dissapointed their fans (or me atleast )!!!


i was thinking the same thing (i listen to dark tranquillity every day, they are probably my favorite band.) fiction has an entirely different feel than character. i love it though, not as much as character, but its still amazing.
Infurnace - 18.07.2007 at 18:23  
DT has never disappointed me. Not with an single album, and once again, they released another masterpiece. "Fiction" is one of their best albums. I really enjoy the new, modern Dark Tranquillity sound.
Desecrator - 19.07.2007 at 13:45  
I think Fiction is what you would get if you combined all of the Dark Tranquillity albums together, which is a difficult statement to put forward given that every one of their albums (with the exception of this one) have each sounded different from one another. I do love this album though, some of their best work. Favourite track - 'Misery's Crown'
Bleeding_Rainbow - 20.07.2007 at 22:03  
Just couldn't get into this album.
Ereinion' - 21.07.2007 at 17:49  
I love this album one of the best cds this year but DT will have to make some changes in their sound if they want to make more interesting albums.Lets hope they will go more in the Inside The Particle Storm style.
Abattoir - 22.07.2007 at 15:41  
I think that this is very good album...it sounds great. Maybe they should change something in their music, but for me if they will continue like this it will be just fine...
Reizenstein - 05.08.2007 at 02:20  
As this is the first Dark Tranquility album I've ever listened to, I can say that this album is nothing but a masterpiece. The great melodies, vocals and drumming makes this a beutiful release, and I'm planning to buy some of the older albums as well.
BloodTears - 13.08.2007 at 13:25  
I like Fiction, it is a good album. But I wanted to see more from them somehow. I guess I was looking for something a bit different. The formula seems to be used excessively to the point that some of the songs are very alike in their guitar riffs and that doesnt make me want to listen to the album again. "the lesser faith" is my favourite track.
Jeeers - 01.10.2007 at 12:51  
Superb!
-DC-002- - 14.11.2007 at 04:46  
I love this album without any bias. I thought it was kinda boring the first listen but after the second it was an instant classic for me.
BloodTears - 27.12.2007 at 21:49  
Written by BloodTears on 13.08.2007 at 13:25

I like Fiction, it is a good album. But I wanted to see more from them somehow. I guess I was looking for something a bit different. The formula seems to be used excessively to the point that some of the songs are very alike in their guitar riffs and that doesnt make me want to listen to the album again. "the lesser faith" is my favourite track.


You are silly. This album is great and you love it. Too bad you only realised that quite recently.
deadngone - 13.01.2008 at 06:32  
What about an 8,7? This is by far the best Dark Tranquillity album. We know tha DT never had amazing productions but thia album sounds great. The songs are full of melody and there are also 3 full speed songs which make the album sound really hard. Every song deserves a 10 and also the album.
Darkmember - 15.01.2008 at 20:53  
absolutely album of the year
cruel pain - 27.01.2008 at 18:22  
very good album...but they need 2 add new elements 2 their sound
Ernis - 09.02.2008 at 21:17  
I like the strong melodies of this album...it has been very well done....
BloodEagle - 13.02.2008 at 03:22  
This is probably the best album I've ever heard come out of Sweden (that's saying a lot, considering Amon Amarth, In Flames and Arch Enemy are from Sweden). All the songs are amazing, but the best songs are deffinetly Terminus, Icipher and Misery's Crown. This album was so well done because compared to their last album, it seemed only slightly different but completly different at the same time.:metal:
Taktsekte - 01.03.2008 at 03:02  
Congratulations for yet another MS Award. My favourite song from this album is The Mundane and the Magic, yet, as BloodEagle said, the whole album is a masterpiece. There is not a single filler, not a single flaw throughout Fiction! The best album of 2007 overall, without a doubt.
Manhelm - 03.06.2008 at 12:16  
I wouldn't call it a masterpiece - it certainly is a quality album but it is very safe and unadventurous. I'd like to see more songs like The Mundane and the Magic and Inside the Particle Storm in future releases, something to break the monotony of this very good band. But hey, they might be releasing unadventurous music but thats a shitload better then following the path down to commercial success and watered down pop-metal crap like some of their colleagues. all in all a big HAIL to DT for a good release, would just love to see something new coming soon
Deadmeat - 20.10.2008 at 16:09  
Surely this is the best release by DT! This album is a complete masterpiece. Great melodies, nice riffs, fast songs (we had many years to hear blast beats), feeling songs, great hits, new growling style by Stanne. This is a great work! 10!
ms68 - 26.02.2009 at 16:17  
Dark tranquillity is my favorite band but IMO this album is little boring and has not similarity to quite aggresive album like charecter. but in this album terminus, icipher, The Mundane And The Magic are something different.
Uirapuru - 23.04.2009 at 08:00  
Finally a moderate and fair Dark Tranquillity review.. without the exaggerated 9.9, 9.8 rates.
The lack of progression of the band was well pointed, and they will probably remain this way until the end of the days. If they were going to change, it should be a time ago. We can expect a similar next album.
Solstafir! - 18.08.2009 at 15:36  
Great album! Took it's time but definitely another worthy release..."Blind At Heart" is a killer song!
treptolemus - 05.02.2010 at 16:37  
Wow- i listen this album so often... I consider it almost a part of me lately. It is very good. And the lyrics are ripping... great performance from a mature great band.

Dark Tranquillity at their best!
serega25 - 24.01.2011 at 21:20  
This is my first DT album and ... !!!
m3ta1he4d - 01.06.2011 at 06:56  
The Lesser Faith is my current fave song.. \,,/

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Dark Tranquillity - Damage Done 9 16.05.2007 by iaberis
Reviews Dark Tranquillity - The Gallery 9 04.02.2010 by Array
Albums Dark Tranquillity - Fiction 6 27.10.2011 by serega25
Albums Dark Tranquillity - The Gallery 4.5 30.07.2010 by JÄY
Reviews In Flames - Clayman 4.5 13.02.2007 by



Hits total: 9225 | This month: 69