Rating:
8.8
Rebellion - Miklagard: The History Of Vikings Part II
23 February 2007


01. Vi Seglar Mot Miklagard
02. Sweden
03. Free
04. On The Edge Of Life
05. Ulfberth
06. The Rus
07. Kiew
08. Aifur
09. Taste Of Steel
10. God Of Thunder
11. Our Backs To The Wind
12. Miklagard
13. The Uprising


The second part of "History Of Vikings" story and let me tell you, this is a cracker of an album. When you hear a band so heavy and true you know that they will have fallen out of the seemingly copious nest of emerging German bands. Rebellion give us their taste of steel in the form of a very heavy style of power metal much in the same style of the Iced Earth of past years.

After an almost folkish style introduction track "Vi Seglar Mot Miklagard", we are lead into the meat of the album with "Sweden", a great stomping introduction to the main meat of the album but we are not at the best material yet. "On The Edge Of Life" is, besides the last track, the longest on the album and is by far one of the most epic as well. "Ulfberth" picks up the pace once more, a more frantic song about an Ulfberth sword, one of the supposed first all steel swords made. I could go along and name something good about each track but I will try and restrain, this does however confirm that this is a great album that has nearly everything you would want to hear in a heavy metal album.

We have songs to sing or chant along with like "Taste Of Steel" which is probably the best track on the album with thundering drums and great air punching material, faster songs for example "Aifur" and "Back To The Wind", epic songs as well as good thumping stompers of songs like "The Rus" and "Kiew", we also have a lovely memorable slower track, the title track "Miklagard" and of course also this a good history lesson in a way as the title suggests.

This is an all round fantastic album, it is produced very well to enhance the thundering drums, heavy guitars and the noble, gritty singing of Michael Seifert. It is of good, healthy length clocking in at just over an hour of grand material. The earlier Iced Earth material will always come to mind when you listen to this album, the band don't seem to make any drastic leaps towards any crazy new original ideas, but that is not so much of an issue if you like your heavy metal powerful, strong and to the point.

If the band carry on like this they may just, deservedly so, catch the attention of vast numbers of people and gain the allegiance of all the old school Iced Earth fans and just generally thumping heavy maniacs alike. With an album like this you can't ask for anything more than what we already have. It is that simple, if anything I have written caught your attention then you must listen to this album, you will love it.


Band profile: Rebellion
Album: Miklagard: The History Of Vikings Part II


 



Written on 28.07.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 83  
Search this topic:  


Opium - 29.07.2007 at 05:00  
It better be as good as you say it is, otherwise you're gonna hear about this one on chat, Baz

It did catch my attention, but the name made me expect a Viking/Folk Metal album, not a Heavy Metal one
Promonex - 09.08.2007 at 22:03  
Sounds like I'm ought to give them a try after all. They are from my area, but I've only seen them live once and the only song that caught my attention was their cover of Grave Digger's "Rebellion"; ever since I've regarded them as a poor man's Grave Digger. But if this album sounds like old Iced Earth I might give them another chance.
Susan - 09.08.2007 at 23:05  
Of course with an album name like that I had to read this review

I've gotta say Baz, you sold me! I am ordering this one today, if I can find it. Thank you sir!
YoreLore - 14.08.2007 at 19:57  
I preferred part I to part II, but this is still a great album. Sweden is my favourite on this album
Susan - 14.08.2007 at 22:45  
I was able to find it at The End Records and it arrived rather quickly. Wow, this IS a great album!! I was surprised how quickly it grabbed a hold of me The music is more aggressive at times than I had expected but it works so well. The lyrics are applied in a way that is slightly cheesier than I might like but whatever, can't complain really.

And a lovely female shredder, too! Nice surprise that was
Baz Anderson - 15.08.2007 at 14:33  
yeh, I am glad you liked the album!! I did intend on mentioning they had a female guitar player but I must have just forgotten. hahaha. oh well

mr Junglemanchild, I prefer part II to the first part, but then I didn't really give the first part as much attention as I did this one.. maybe I will go back and give it another listen but on first listen I definitely prefered this one
Promonex - 05.12.2007 at 22:55  
Written by Promonex on 09.08.2007 at 22:03

Sounds like I'm ought to give them a try after all. They are from my area, but I've only seen them live once and the only song that caught my attention was their cover of Grave Digger's "Rebellion"; ever since I've regarded them as a poor man's Grave Digger. But if this album sounds like old Iced Earth I might give them another chance.

So I did give it a try by now and it sounds indeed like a Grave Digger ripoff, especially in the vocal department. Unlike GD they don't seem to have run out of ideas yet though. I might take a closer look at the band's other material, so far they look like a rather enjoyable alternative to Grave Digger who have turned quite stale after their brilliant middle age trilogy.
Metalbound7 - 15.11.2008 at 09:48  
Amazing band they are just like Amon Amarth but whit clear voices, i love them!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Rebellion - Arise: From Ginnungagap To Ragnarök - The History Of The Vikings Volume III 7.5 28.08.2012 by Ellrohir
Reviews Krisiun - The Great Execution 6 28.10.2011 by JD
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - The Frozen Tears Of Angels 6 08.05.2010 by wrathchild
Reviews Nile - At The Gate Of Sethu 6 29.06.2012 by J. N.
Reviews Arsis - We Are The Nightmare 6 19.04.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 6241 | This month: 35