Rating:
6.9
Nile - Ithyphallic
17 July 2007


01. What Can Be Safely Written
02. As He Creates So He Destroys
03. Ithyphallic
04. Papyrus Containing The Spell To Preserve Its Possessor Against Attacks From He Who Is In The Water
05. Eat Of The Dead
06. Laying Fire Upon Apep
07. The Essential Salts
08. The Infinity Of Stone
09. The Language Of The Shadows
10. Even The Gods Must Die
11. As He Creates So He Destroys [instrumental version] [Digipak bonus]
12. Papyrus Containing The Spell To Preserve Its Possessor Against Attacks From He Who Is In The Water [instrumental version] [Digipak bonus]


It seems everyone is praising this new Nile release, am I hearing a different album? "Ithyphallic" is far from being good, on the contrary it lacks the aggressive personality that the band used to have in their older days, it just seems that "someone" told the band -Ok dudes, if you don't do what WE say we won't sign you, now start writing for us or else your album won't be released…oh yeah, you're no longer with Relapse so make it more melodic, now write cheesy riffs, uh I like it now, YES!!! This is what we were looking for exactly.

So it's more o less like that, some flat riffs, a lot of melodious fruity loops and incredibly good vocals (they still got that one at least). The rest of the album becomes a little boring because of its repetitiveness, the songwriting seems like it's copying itself over and over again and even though the brutal leftovers are amazing it seems like the band jammed all the hostility in those small spaces of music, pressure bleeds all over the place to be honest.

The musicianship however is brilliant, Nile has insane musicians indeed and they do their best to show it off, I just wish they had a better structure to execute but life's a bitch. Another good thing is the production, it's a little dry and you'll have to be orginizing your volume each time you toss this album to your player, but the clarity of the instruments and vocals is just amazing to say the least.

So anyway, the album is not THAT bad I guess…it's just that Nile was ten times better than this, their last album had at least 4 epic songs and this one has none; Ithyphallic it's just a collection of what we could see as either leftovers of past albums or as something the label desperately wanted to achieve not caring for the band at all…just like what happened with Malevolent Creation

For fans and collectors only!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Nile
Album: Ithyphallic


 


written by Herzebeth | 09.08.2007



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 64  
Users visited: 253  
Search this topic:  


HiF - 25.06.2009 at 22:39  
Written by Uirapuru on 06.06.2009 at 22:01

Good review. This album was indeed a little dissapointing, but that doesn't take out the quality of some tracks like ''As he creates so he destroy'' and ''Essential Salts''.


shit fuck kill yeah
HiF - 25.06.2009 at 22:48  
On this album Nile is bringing thei songwriting nearer to Behemoth's one
wormdrink414 - 06.08.2009 at 07:45  
I think Ithyphallic is great. No Annihilation of the Wicked perhaps, but certainly a solid album. In my opinion, post-In Their Darkened Shrines Nile is much better than the pre-In Their Darkened Shrines.
HATHOR - 30.08.2009 at 17:40  
Great album:) Great Song Names and great artwork!
blackwreath - 12.09.2009 at 11:51  
A solid 8 imo, there's no bad track on this album although I do usually skip Eat Of The Dead, the opening riff just makes me feel nauseous...

I don't know why ppl are saying it's more melodic than past albums, I didn't get that listening to it at all. A decent album though I wish it sounded clearer.
Dangerboner - 16.11.2009 at 13:39  
Itchyphallus... damn what a disappointment. My favorite songs are the two instrumentals :/
Deadmeat - 13.01.2010 at 11:27  
I am not that much into nile (but i will), only heard annihilation of the wicked and this one. but i dont find this album that bad. it's a nice DM album. it doesnt have many great songs (As he creates so he destroys and The Essentil Salts are the best IMO) but it doesnt have also many bad ones. 8 may be the best rating for me..
I_Die_Often - 26.03.2010 at 16:02  
Still one of my favorites!
Love this album!
INÆRIS - 03.08.2010 at 06:28  
I think it's a solid album. The musicianship is unreal. George Kollias is my hero.
BreadGod - 03.10.2010 at 06:49  
Written by ArcesseEum on 04.01.2009 at 20:22

Needs more "CAAAASTTTT DOOOOWWWNNNN THEEEE HERETIIIICCCC"

This. A thousand times this.

I listened to this album recently, and it got boring real quick. It's nowhere near as brutal as their early work.
Sword_Chant - 14.12.2010 at 19:59  
For me the first song is the best on the whole album.
Yasmine - 20.03.2011 at 00:04  
I think song 4's opening riff is awesome, and the solo and drumming in LAnguage of the Shadows is nice. Good album I like Those the Gods Detest and In Their Darkened Shrines the best, my fav songs are 4th arra and Burning Pits of Duat though
Mørket Keisar - 26.06.2012 at 01:35  
Best Nile's Album Eveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer
Mørket Keisar - 26.06.2012 at 01:35  
This is The Fucking Best Nile Album So Far..

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Nile - In Their Darkened Shrines 6 01.08.2006 by Lucas
News Nile - Ithyphallic Europe Tour Dates 4.5 25.02.2008 by CyGuy6587
Reviews Yacopsae - Tanz, Grosny, Tanz... 3.5 11.10.2007 by Syk
Reviews Exhumed - Anatomy Is Destiny 3 17.12.2007 by Clintagram
Reviews El Chupa Cobras - El Chupa Cobras 3 31.05.2008 by Zeh



Hits total: 7262 | This month: 43