Kreator - Enemy Of God review



Reviewer:
6.5

783 users:
8.68
Band: Kreator
Album: Enemy Of God
Release date: January 2005


Disc I
01. Enemy Of God
02. Impossible Brutality
03. Suicide Terrorist
04. World Anarchy
05. Dystopia
06. Voices Of The Dead
07. Murder Fantasies
08. When Death Takes Its Dominion
09. One Evil Comes (A Million Follow)
10. Dying Race Apocalypse
11. Under A Total Blackened Sky
12. The Ancient Plague

[Bonus tracks]
13. Toxic Trace [Live in Busan, Korea]
14. Coma Of Souls [Live in Busan, Korea]
15. Impossible Brutality [Video] [Regular edition bonus]

Disc II [Re-issue digipack DVD]
[Live at Wacken 2005]
01. The Patriarch
02. Enemy Of God
03. Impossible Brutality
04. Pleasure To Kill
05. Phobia
06. Violent Revolution
07. Suicide Terrorist
08. Extreme Aggression
09. People Of The Lie
10. Voices Of The Dead
11. Terrible Certainty
12. Betrayer
13. Flag Of Hate
14. Tormentor

[Live At The Rockpalast]
01. Reconquering The Throne
02. Renewal
03. Servant In Heaven - King In Hell

[Videos]
+ Enemy Of God
+ Dystopia
+ Impossible Brutality
+ Dying Race Apocalypse
+ Making Of Enemy Of God


I'm a fan of Kreator's work, but their recent stuff has been bothering me. Before I bought the album, the title track from "Enemy Of God" sounded pretty awesome. Unfortunately, after buying "Enemy Of God Revisited" (which was a great buy simply because of the live footage) and listening to Enemy Of God in full, I felt let down. Allow me to elaborate:

Enemy Of God is definitely a little more fast paced than "Violent Revolution", and a little more melodic as well. However, we all know Kreator can play ten times heavier than how they're playing nowadays. I'm not saying that Kreator's recent material is sub-par, but if anything I'd like to see them play more aggressively. The band may be putting out solid stuff, but it lacks a certain vigour that the band once had. There are a few notable tracks here, particularly Enemy Of God, One Evil Comes - A Million Follow, and Dying Race Apocalypse. Still, these are worth mentioning almost only for their melodies, riffs, and solos, which brings me to my next point...

The album's lowest point is the lyrics. Being Thrash veterans, one would think that Kreator would know better than to write on such clichéd topics. I mean, come on Petrozza, just because you read 1984 doesn't mean you have to go write a song called "Dystopia" (no matter how "good" the idea may sound for a metal song). Aside from the unoriginal subject matter, the quality of the lyrics is just despicable. Go read the lyrics for "Suicide Terrorist" or "Murder Fantasies" and you'll see what I mean.

Overall, "Enemy of God" could've been much better. It's a solid release, no doubt about that, but incomparable to what Kreator once was.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 4
Production: 10

Written by TombstoneHighway | 14.08.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Staff review by
Jeff
Rating:
9.0
They are back !!! The great Thrash combo from Germany Kreator is back !!! And for sure with this new album "Enemy Of God", Mr Mille Petrozza and his band mates will show one more time, 20 years after their first release "Endless Pain", that the band is always one of the greatest of the entire Metal History. After Exodus, Death Angel and etc, last year, 2005 will do a great start with this great album of Thrash, a must have for all the fans of this excellent music. If you are a fan of Thrash, of Kreator or simply a real fan of Metal… "Enemy Of God" is made for you…

Read more ››
published 03.01.2005 | Comments (15)


Comments

Comments: 27   Visited by: 164 users
14.08.2007 - 17:50
Joey Jo Jo
Piece of shit
10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.

Violent Revolution is a lot better IMHO. Overall I agree with your review though.
----
"If there hadn't been women we'd still be squatting in a cave eating raw meat, because we made civilization in order to impress our girl friends. And they tolerated it and let us go ahead and play with our toys."
- Orson Welles
Loading...
14.08.2007 - 18:16
TombstoneHighway
Account deleted
Written by Joey Jo Jo on 14.08.2007 at 17:50

10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.


Hmm...yeah, you're right. Then again, at least it doesn't sound like a black metal album
Loading...
14.08.2007 - 18:31
Syk
myspace/bonerama
Whoa, those are some extremist scores. Congratulations on your first, interesting review
----
deaththrashdeath/doom/prog ‡ Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
14.08.2007 - 19:29
Kincaid
Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!
Loading...
15.08.2007 - 15:11
matthioso
Written by Kincaid on 14.08.2007 at 19:29

Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!


I agree with you. This is a great album. The best of Kreator I've heard.
----
www.seedofrock.be
Loading...
28.08.2007 - 14:43
Desertman
Account deleted
what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it
Loading...
28.08.2007 - 17:26
TombstoneHighway
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 14:43

what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it


You must be joking. I mean, you're actually calling Enemy of God one of the best heavy metal albums of all time? I can name at least 20 albums that surpass this uninspiring effort in almost every aspect!

And don't even get me started on the lyrics. Those things lacked creativity. I'm not saying they weren't "extreme". No, god forbid metal lyrics are about anything but the brutal harshness of war, gore, suicide, and dystopian societies (if that's what "extreme" is). Almost no other bands have ever touched upon MORE INTERESTING matters. That's just practically unheard of (or so your "statistics" say).

By the way, can you tell me what the fuck is "extreme"? I must hear it from a pro like yourself.
Loading...
29.08.2007 - 16:32
Desertman
Account deleted
then hear it from a pro like me

before i say why its a classic

tell you this.. enemy of god reach the golden era of slayer and metallica and testament!!!
its one of heavy metal best all the time!!! proudly i say this again

and folks you must... you need... to invest in this record


now why the album is a classic (musically)

1- a blind would notes a fuckin excellent guitars and drum works in this album (provide a real thrash work out)

2-a blind can see the excellent musicianship and the (really) tight rhythmically ((((despite))))
the fact that only mille and ventor remain from the original line-up!!!!

3-Heavy subject material makes for heavy music even a million metalheads said that before but again
(no dragon lyrics over here)!!

4-kreator and the production of andy sneap on this album is a top creativity


since you agree with me about metal = extreme lyrics there is no need for me to keep blah over here
but i assume you dont like slayer also cos there lyrics encourage killing (other races!) well thats disgusting
but its heavy metal you know!!

if you said you like slayer lyrics but not kreator's then this really strange!

now i'm feeling really dizzy!
Loading...
29.08.2007 - 23:36
TombstoneHighway
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 29.08.2007 at 16:32

then hear it from a pro like me

before i say why its a classic

tell you this.. enemy of god reach the golden era of slayer and metallica and testament!!!
its one of heavy metal best all the time!!! proudly i say this again

and folks you must... you need... to invest in this record


now why the album is a classic (musically)

1- a blind would notes a fuckin excellent guitars and drum works in this album (provide a real thrash work out)

2-a blind can see the excellent musicianship and the (really) tight rhythmically ((((despite))))
the fact that only mille and ventor remain from the original line-up!!!!

3-Heavy subject material makes for heavy music even a million metalheads said that before but again
(no dragon lyrics over here)!!

4-kreator and the production of andy sneap on this album is a top creativity


since you agree with me about metal = extreme lyrics there is no need for me to keep blah over here
but i assume you dont like slayer also cos there lyrics encourage killing (other races!) well thats disgusting
but its heavy metal you know!!

if you said you like slayer lyrics but not kreator's then this really strange!

now i'm feeling really dizzy!


While Enemy of God is far from a classic, I'll agree with you on 1, 2, and 4. However, 3 is just ridiculous. It's like saying all hip-hop lyrics are about chicks, dope, and money. You're stereotyping metal, and of all places on a metal website.

Now I understand that a large amount of metal bands do sing about what you consider "extreme", but stating that 99.9% of all metal lyrics are about stupid shit like that is just blowing the whole thing waaaay out of proportion. I think you should listen to some more metal before you make a statement like that, let alone calling Enemy of God a classic.

Also, you never explained the meaning of "extreme", and I can tell you right now that your definition and mine differ tremendously.
Loading...
30.08.2007 - 15:34
Desertman
Account deleted
oh..stereotyping metal i forget to mention ...a million metalhead use this to!

anyway..since you agree in 1'2'3'4'5'6'7'8'9..but not 10!
then your only problem with the (classic) album is only the lyrics?

come on thats not fair!

even i dont see how hip hop involved here!

yet you the one who advice me to listen to more metal! lol
sure your definition of extreme 100% will be diff than most metalheads ..opes..i mean diff than mine

so a pro like you might tell me whats extreme on your definition?


note: didnt you notes lot of heavy metal (classic songs) got some really stupid lyrics?
yet they are classics ..!!
Loading...
31.08.2007 - 10:25
TombstoneHighway
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 30.08.2007 at 15:34

oh..stereotyping metal i forget to mention ...a million metalhead use this to!

anyway..since you agree in 1'2'3'4'5'6'7'8'9..but not 10!
then your only problem with the (classic) album is only the lyrics?

come on thats not fair!

even i dont see how hip hop involved here!

yet you the one who advice me to listen to more metal! lol
sure your definition of extreme 100% will be diff than most metalheads ..opes..i mean diff than mine

so a pro like you might tell me whats extreme on your definition?


note: didnt you notes lot of heavy metal (classic songs) got some really stupid lyrics?
yet they are classics ..!!


You're not making sense anymore.
Loading...
31.08.2007 - 12:49
Desertman
Account deleted
Quote:
You're not making sense anymore.



lol no problem ...least anymore..you did not make sense at all!
Loading...
31.08.2007 - 13:16
Sunioj
Prefer Coma of Souls over this album anyday...still not a bad album.
Loading...
31.08.2007 - 15:42
TombstoneHighway
Account deleted
Quote:
Written by Guest on 31.08.2007 at 12:49

You're not making sense anymore.



lol no problem ...least anymore..you did not make sense at all!


Oh come on...
Loading...
23.09.2007 - 15:18
DigitalGrind
Account deleted
It's one of the albums that changed my life,because i started to listen a trash a german trash fuckin metal yeah....trash till death ;]:banger:
Loading...
13.01.2008 - 15:13
trapedINaCORNER
Account deleted
The guy must be joking. There are no words to describe this album. AMAZING..
Loading...
29.08.2008 - 17:38
Derelict Earth
Written by Guest on 23.09.2007 at 15:18

It's one of the albums that changed my life,because i started to listen a trash a german trash fuckin metal yeah....trash till death ;]:banger:


Please ... "thrash" not "trash", this typo just bug me everytime!
Loading...
31.08.2008 - 02:35
Dangerboner
:D
People, he gave it a good rating, but the originality portion is why the overall number is so low. This was published before they fixed it.

But, it's about time someone gave an intelligent rating to the originality attribute. I'd still rate it higher though because the melodic factor took me by surprise. This album really is a grower, but I always say that.
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 09:22
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Written by Joey Jo Jo on 14.08.2007 at 17:50

10 on production? There's like no bass! One of the thinnist sounding albums I have ever heard.

Violent Revolution is a lot better IMHO. Overall I agree with your review though.

maybe because they didn't want the bass to sound loud. btw this is one of the few albums with so "wide" sound! Listen also to ...and justice for all. Great production, no bass...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
07.02.2009 - 09:26
Kuurslight
Account deleted
This is a classic thrash album. It was abused for to long by the band. Thank the chaos gods for a new Kreator album.
Loading...
12.06.2009 - 10:33
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
And what about the lyrics??? Suicide Terrorist has EXCELENT lyrics. it was exectly on the time when it happened and it's lyrics are great. also murder fantasies??? what's rong with those lyrics man??? really...
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
17.06.2009 - 07:46
terrorist
Excelent album!!!!!!!!The best song including Violent Revolution and Hordes of Chaos from Kreator ever made.ANd please don't start now that their older stuff is better.This is better ,after all those years of playing the made unique album realy!
----
Will the ones who live after our end
Worship the goddamn cross again?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hnlG0h7YN_8&feature=related
Loading...
04.08.2009 - 07:15
Nicko's Nose
Metal doesn't need to be extremely heavy and agressive to be good.
Loading...
16.10.2009 - 14:58
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
That's very lame.
Loading...
16.10.2009 - 15:00
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
Written by Kincaid on 14.08.2007 at 19:29

Enemy of God is one of my all time favorites. it is not just because of its melodic background but also its heavy riffs and well written lyrics. Thus I am totally disagree with the review!!!

i agree with you.everything about it is good.
Loading...
16.10.2009 - 15:03
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 17:26

Written by Guest on 28.08.2007 at 14:43

what is this ? are we talking about backstreet boys? enemy of god one of (((heavy metal))) best all the time!

i feel like i want to puke!

and whats wrong the lyrics of Suicide Terrorist & Murder Fantasies?
in case you didnt notes 99.9% of heavy metal lyrics are extreme!

i just feel a shamed now to even mention that ! cos just after this read i was thinknig that brutality is (common sense)
with metalheads!

this is really one bad review i really dont get the point of it


You must be joking. I mean, you're actually calling Enemy of God one of the best heavy metal albums of all time? I can name at least 20 albums that surpass this uninspiring effort in almost every aspect!

And don't even get me started on the lyrics. Those things lacked creativity. I'm not saying they weren't "extreme". No, god forbid metal lyrics are about anything but the brutal harshness of war, gore, suicide, and dystopian societies (if that's what "extreme" is). Almost no other bands have ever touched upon MORE INTERESTING matters. That's just practically unheard of (or so your "statistics" say).

By the way, can you tell me what the fuck is "extreme"? I must hear it from a pro like yourself.

don't you say that.
Loading...
19.10.2009 - 22:23
Maxx666
Meshuggahian
Awesome album in its own right. But i wish it were faster in the veins of pleasure to kill.
That Album still rules and no album can claim its throne.This album can be rightfully said as a modern thrash masterpiece
Loading...

Hits total: 5462 | This month: 32