Judas Priest - Angel Of Retribution review



Reviewer:
9.4

669 users:
8.15
Band: Judas Priest
Album: Angel Of Retribution
Release date: February 2005


01. Judas Rising
02. Deal With The Devil
03. Revolution
04. Worth Fighting For
05. Demonizer
06. Wheels Of Fire
07. Angel
08. Hellrider
09. Eulogy
10. Lochness


Angel of Retribution is a gem to behold in the metal world. Judas Priest returns with their original vocalist Rob Halford and you could not ask for more. Halford gives his finest, and the confidence of the rest of the band radiates out of the CD. You will be grabbed by this CD the moment it fades into "Judas Rising". "Judas Rising" is a perfect compass to the album. The heavy beats and classic high-pitched Halford are reminiscent of the days of "Jugulator"; especially "Cathedral Spires". If this song appeals to you, you will certainly not be disappointed by the remaining songs. The sounds are similar but not repetitive and that is important. They keep an identity throughout the album; a sort of cohesive creativity. These attributes hold true for all songs with the exception of the final three.

"Angel" is melancholic love ballad. Halford speaks of someone who has left him; a classic heartbreak situation. The music is very powerful and the song drags the listener in. It makes mention of emotions without being overly descriptive. No matter who you are, you will be affected by this song. "Eulogy" is the slowest, softest song. This is not a negative. This song is great. The melody and lyrics will kick you around for awhile and if you like these types of songs; you most certainly will return to this track time and time again. "Lochness" mixes both feels on this album and yet again "Priest" cannot fail. It is the longest song on the album as it clocks in just under 13.5 minutes, but in many ways it is also the most impressive.

Which songs should you look forward to? Well in all honesty; I cannot tell you. This is because I believe each song is important in its own way. In order to fully appreciate the album, you must listen to it in its entirety. This album is phenomenal and if you have loved the "Metal Gods" in the past, rediscover them. It is well worth your time and I am sure you can expect more of the same in the future.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by un4givendemon | 09.09.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 9   Visited by: 164 users
02.05.2008 - 21:42
IronBlackZepp
This album is already a classic in my mind. It is the best Priest album since Painkiller. Halford belongs in Priest like Dickinson belongs in Maiden, he can never be replaced.
Loading...
26.02.2009 - 17:09
lord artan
Its a good allbum
Loading...
20.03.2009 - 17:53
BloodTears
ANA-thema
I find it this album very special. Apart from the return of Halford, it's filled with good songs, Priest songs. The songwriting is top notch from men that know what they are doing. Certain songs have more of an edge like "Judas is Rising" and "Hellrider". I quite like "Demonizer" and "Lochness". Those four would be my favourite songs. And "Lochness" is so dramatically powerful, something different that hinted for what they were gona do next.

And the cover is so great
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
25.06.2009 - 16:34
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
I actually found this album overall mediocre. I went in thinking it was going to be good but what we get here is just a bunch of bland heavy metal-chest-pounding songs. The lyrics sometimes feel uninspired ("Wheels of Fire" and "lochness" come to mind mostly) or just outright don't make sense (the chorus of "Lochness" again). The one song which is anything is "Angel" perhaps one of the best acoustic songs I've ever heard and is the only highlight though. Perhaps if I was a fan of prior to Painkiller and just watched as Halford was replaced by Owens woulds I be able to appreciate this.
Loading...
24.07.2009 - 15:50
AiwiAstwihad
AiryanaKhvarenah
Written by Paradox0 on 25.06.2009 at 16:34

The lyrics sometimes feel uninspired ("Wheels of Fire" and "lochness" come to mind mostly) or just outright don't make sense (the chorus of "Lochness" again).

Lochness....Considering it's about the Loch Ness Monster, won't seem that senseless. Yet if you think writing a song about a hoax(?) is meaningless, it's another matter.
----
You who will come to the surface
From the flood that's overwhelmed us and drowned us all
Must think, when you speak of our weakness in times of darkness
That you've not had to face
Loading...
18.10.2009 - 15:51
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
WHAT AN IMPACT IT HAD ON ME.
Loading...
18.10.2009 - 15:53
Hermann Langke
Brahmastra Corps
Written by IronBlackZepp on 02.05.2008 at 21:42

This album is already a classic in my mind. It is the best Priest album since Painkiller. Halford belongs in Priest like Dickinson belongs in Maiden, he can never be replaced.

agreed with you.
Loading...
03.03.2012 - 00:20
thehondo
"classic high-pitched Halford..reminiscent of Jugulator?", you know that was Owens right?
----
No time like the present
Loading...
27.03.2014 - 21:21
pkillerjp
Probably Priest's worst album with Halford involved, yes I'd put this under Turbo, Point of Entry, and Ram it Down easily.
Loading...

Hits total: 6373 | This month: 2