Rating:
7.5
Nightwish - Dark Passion Play
26 September 2007


Disc I
01. The Poet And The Pendulum
02. Bye Bye Beautiful
03. Amaranth
04. Cadence Of Her Last Breath
05. Master Passion Greed
06. Eva
07. Sahara
08. Whoever Brings The Night
09. For The Heart I Once Had
10. The Islander
11. Last Of The Wilds
12. 7 Days To The Wolves
13. Meadows Of Heaven
14. Reach [Amaranth demo] [bonus]

Disc II [limited edition]
01. The Poet And The Pendulum [Instrumental]
02. Bye Bye Beautiful [Instrumental]
03. Amaranth [Instrumental]
04. Cadence Of Her Last Breath [Instrumental]
05. Master Passion Greed [Instrumental]
06. Eva [Instrumental]
07. Sahara [Instrumental]
08. Whoever Brings The Night [Instrumental]
09. For The Heart I Once Had [Instrumental]
10. The Islander [Instrumental]
11. Last Of The Wilds [Instrumental]
12. 7 Days To The Wolves [Instrumental]
13. Meadows Of Heaven [Instrumental]

Disc III [Limited 3CD Box Edition]
01. Escapist
02. Meadows Of Heaven [orchestral version]
03. The Poet And The Pendulum [demo]


All eyes have been on Nightwish over the last three years following the huge commercial success of previous album "Once" and of course also the dramatic letting go of previous vocal powerhouse Tarja. Now more than ever Tuomas and company have immense pressure placed upon them to deliver the goods with the sixth full length edition to the Nightwish catalogue.

As bombastic and grand as they have ever sounded, the fourteen minute monster of an opening track "The Poet And The Pendulum" is not just a statement to anyone who may have questioned the future of the band, but is also if you will, the title track with the pendulum on the front cover of the album and is also the epitome of the whole album to come. The band sound as heavy as they have ever been before - full of sound, many layers, the backbone of the music is still the same but of course the slightly different line-up brings with it some slight changes. One of the unique selling points of Nightwish was Tarja and her strong, classical, operatic voice booming over the metallic symphonies, but Anette has more of a rock type of singing that just does not project as Tarja's did, it isn't as powerful and has nothing really unique about it at all, but this still doesn't mean she doesn't have a sweet voice.

"Dark Passion Play" although still very much a Nightwish album is one of the most adventurous outings of the band's history. The album is more diverse than anything we have heard before and must be the bravest as well opening with a near quarter of an hour epic. "Amaranth" sounds very commercial and appealing to the wider audience, "Master Passion Greed" must be the heaviest thing this band have ever put onto CD with furious guitaring, double bass drumming and Marco taking to the lead vocal position, and to another far out tangent of the musical spectrum of the album we even have strong folk elements with "The Islander" and "Last Of The Wilds" that seem to work surprisingly well. The band clearly show with this album that they are not just a typical, simple one-track female fronted symphonic metal band that many people may pass them off for these days.

This is a long album running in at just over seventy-five minutes and so almost inevitably we have some forgetful and morbidly bland tracks, "Eva" being the worst culprit here, I am sure this track must have some deep value in it somewhere but you just can't hear it. It is the slow track of the album that is neither stirring or emotional, nothing special here at all. "Sahara" and "7 Days To The Wolves" also slip way below the radar as well as a couple of other average tracks on the album that unfortunately fail to capture your imagination.

It is difficult to say the least to simultaneously arouse the attention of the two worlds of popular commercial success and the more underground true heavy metal listeners, but this album is one that will please both camps. This still has that Nightwish charm about it, but if you purchase this album hoping it will be just like the others you may be a little let down - not because this is of a lesser quality, but has just adopted a slightly different style which may in fact introduce new fans to the band. "Dark Passion Play" will understandably split the listening audience as most things would after such a change, but this is probably the best album the band could have made given their circumstances and the pressure, and they certainly deserve a thumbs up for the brave effort.


Band profile: Nightwish
Album: Dark Passion Play


 



Written on 28.09.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3
Comments: 101  
Users visited: 414  
Search this topic:  


Deadsoulman - 28.09.2007 at 18:12  
I was really expecting a sordid piece of dump for this album. Once had already let me down big time, and the poppish single Amaranth and its Avril Lavigne-esque video didn't do anything to appease my fears.

BUT, I must say this album is surprisingly not bad. The Poet And The Pendulum is a splendid epic opening track. Bye Bye Beautiful, Master Passion Greed clearly belong to the Nightwish I used to like, while The Islander and Last Of The Wilds show a new, folkish direction that I really enjoyed as well. Some of the songs here sound like old Dark Moor to me. Alos, I really like the use of the orchestral parts (which was the strongest point on Once as well).

Unfortunately I think it is too long, as you pointed out in the review, and about half of the songs serve as fillers. One last thing, I'm definitely not a fan of the new vocalist. Oh yeah, she can sing, I just don't like her voice. Anyway, it fits here.

Altogether, this is a fair review, I'd give this album around 6.5 or 7. Good but not outstanding, except for the first song.
GT - 28.09.2007 at 18:15  
Nice review Baz...I'm really looking forward to getting the album myself and your review only made me want it more
Spyroid - 28.09.2007 at 18:22  
I have only listened to the album twice, but I think it's brilliant. Totally outstanding. And I love it already. Most albums need to grow on me, but this didn't as well as Symphony X's Paradise Lost. This has not happend to me with a new metal release since 2005 so I am really pleased.
Maybe I will like it less after some weeks? I'm really in a "Nightwish-period" now so you never know. Still, today I'd give it at least a strong 8.5.
And besides - I love Anette! She's totally different but as I use to say - Nightwish has released five great albums with Tarja, and since the new album is great aswell - why complain?

Good review though Baz, I'd really like to see your ratings on production, performance e.tc. aswell but otherwise nice work, and great that you got it finished the same day as the release!

Peace
Spyroid - 28.09.2007 at 18:24  
Haha and one more thing - an instrumental bonus CD! What more can you want from a symphonic metal band? Cradka loves cheeesy soundtrack metal!
Ivan - 28.09.2007 at 18:37  
Great review, Baz! I must admit that I love the new album like some teenage fanboy, from the first song to the last, with all my criticism sound asleep - so it's good that I decided not to take on this review myself

Amazing stuff really - after all high expectations it still manages to impress, especially with it's diversity - it's not often that a band releases an album with such variety of tracks, and each one has something unique to itself...
annodomini - 28.09.2007 at 18:54  
At last Nightwish did something Outstanding and A real masterpiece, there was some albums near to it but DPP is absolutely briliant, unusual melodies, briliant orchestration and superb vocals...something really incredible
Der Meister - 28.09.2007 at 18:57  
This album drives me nuts! I think the music is by far the best they have ever made... BUT... I just can't like the new singer's voice! I'm trying, and theres like two songs where she fits (Amaranth and Eva), but I'm just not able to enjoy some of her performances. Sometimes she sounds like such an Evanescence-clone that it hurts my ears. I'm being harsh, it's just that this makes me go crazy because I really like the music! And Marco's vocals are godly, they could do well with just him singing if you ask me!
Metal Maiden - 28.09.2007 at 19:02  
I'll keep it short - being a huge sympho-fan, i was always attracted by Nightwish...Sure, they were cheesy, commercial, an so on, BUT, they had something in them, something that hypnotyzed me - and that thing was Tarja...And, that thing is no more...I just don't like the kind of singing Anette has to offer...I never did...It's nothing personal...And given the fact most of the instrumentals are AWESOME, i can only imagine what could have happened if Tarja was behind the microphone...I agree with Meister, i would have probably enjoyed it more with only Marco on the vocals...Sorry, Nightwish, i'm sure you did your best, but it's just not enough for me...For now, Epica's Divine Conspiracy is still the best damn album with female vocals ever made IMO...
Angel-Dust - 28.09.2007 at 19:38  
Well, I really think this is a great review, it goes deeply in details and it hits the good and the bad.
All I have to say is that their music is still good, they just lack a good, strong, up to the challenge vocalist.
annodomini - 28.09.2007 at 19:39  
metal maiden - i think AF - Decipher is the best...Epicas new have some really weak songs like Never Enough and it pushing the level down of this album...
Ernis - 28.09.2007 at 19:45  
It's a nice review....and I like the album.....well I'd say that for instance Eva is actually a beautiful song....but you have to be in the mood in order to listen to it...otherwise it is a bit boring....but in live it's a nice song for catching breath between the violent pogo sessions during the heavier tracks.....
Metal Maiden - 28.09.2007 at 19:49  
Written by annodomini on 28.09.2007 at 19:39

metal maiden - i think AF - Decipher is the best...Epicas new have some really weak songs like Never Enough and it pushing the level down of this album...


Here's not the place for this discussion, so let me just say it has NO weak songs IMO, and Never Enough is just as amazing as every other song in it...
NortheRnmost - 28.09.2007 at 19:57  
I agree with cradka that this album hit me right from the first listen, not like two previous albums which grew on me track by track. And I must also agree with Baz that "Dark Passion Play" is very varied. It has something for everyone. But "Sahara" and "7 Days to the Wolves" are my very favourite songs here. "Sahara" is very enchanting and "Wolves" sounds great with its progressive elements reminding me more of Tarot than Nightwish. On the other hand the playing in "Master Passion Greed" sounds like rather typical hard hitting new age metal what doesn't impress an old school metal fan like me.
Bararey - 28.09.2007 at 19:57  
Interesting review, seems not biased,, the problem is I cannot digest Anette's vocals, but I guess that's only me being closed minded,, I still did not hear the entire album, only the two released ones and the beginning of Bye Bye Beautiful and Master Passion Greed,, I am still hesitant if it is worth buying or not
annodomini - 28.09.2007 at 20:03  
You can download it , listen and decide buy or not
Demonic Tutor - 28.09.2007 at 20:03  
Yep, totally agree with your review Baz. Lots of fillers but overall this new album comes as a good surprise. I like Annette's voice, however, if it were up to me, Marco Hietala would just be the lead singer.
annodomini - 28.09.2007 at 20:18  
Agnette for me is more sincere and her voice is somehow closer to heart than Tarjas. I cant imagine Tarja singing these songs.
Jonathan Tweet - 28.09.2007 at 21:16  
anette's head bobbing is very obnoxious
iaberis - 28.09.2007 at 21:17  
Probably their best album so far. I like more songs in this than in all their other releases together!
Ellrohir - 28.09.2007 at 21:21  
well - Bye Bye Beautiful, Amaranth, Islander, Poet And The Pendulum are great, Eva, Last of the Wilds and 7 Days to the Wolves somewhere above average, Master Passion Greed, Whoever Brings the Night average and the rest - especially Meadows of Heaven i dont like much...but it is on every album - something you like, something you dislike...i think 8 will be my rating...
Lupas - 28.09.2007 at 23:13  
Nice Review Bas . I had to wait until my order will arrive and then i give my point of view onto this album
Piro - 28.09.2007 at 23:41  
Bah, I liked the album, but it took too much into the mainstream with it. Personally, I really liked their earlier stuff better.
Angellorus - 29.09.2007 at 00:36  
Irregular album. Extremely varied, which isn't a good idea. I like very much The Poet and The Pendulum, Bye Bye Beautiful, Master Passion Greed, Whoever Brings The Night and Last of The Wilds. But there are another songs that I really HATE: Cadence of Her Last Breath, For The Heart I Once Had, 7 Days To The Wolves and Meadows Of Heaven.

And most of the time, Anette's voice sounds weaker than it should. Decent voice, but Nightwish deserves a better one.
insanity.peppers - 29.09.2007 at 01:08  
Still has quite a mainstream sound, but I'm enjoying it quite a lot. Like Once, there are definitely enough keepers in this album to keep me listening to it. I miss Tarja's voice but I think on a personality level Anette seems to fit the band which can only help the music in the long run. Bye bye Beautiful should be LONGER!!!
I don't know if they should have had Marco singing the whole thing, but it would be cool if they started making their vocal roles more 50/50 (they're getting there).
Raziel X - 29.09.2007 at 02:10  
I like the album and in few days I will have the 2CD version at home. Yes, there are some fillers, but if all metal albums had such a fillers, the life would be easier. And the other ones, like Poet and the pendulum (which can even match the power of mighty Ghost Love Score), Sahara, 7 days to the wolves and Last of the wilds (which reminds me a bit of SuidAkrA´s Dead man´s reel in a positive way) are wow. Also, For the heart I once had, even though it has some more pop-like heartbreaking groove, I like it, esp.Anette´s sweet voice. I think here she showed maybe for the only time her real capabilities.
Of course she hasn´t that "soars high in the sky, above you, impudent mortals"-type of voice, but now the female voice is more a part of the music, of the overall sound.
And the album is IMO one of the smoothest I have ever heard. Those 76 or so minutes pass as fast as a short death metal CD
art_is_war - 29.09.2007 at 03:38  
A really enjoyable album, but Nightwish fall into a bad trap of of running over 50 minutes. Music like this gets tiresome after that limit. If they trimmed a few of the weaker songs like, say, Eva, the album would have been truly amazing. I haven't heard it quite yet enough to pick out the other weaker tracks. I like the dabbling in folk towards the end of the record, it's neat. Annete is a good singer, and when she hits the high register (not nearly often enough) like in the first slow bridge on track 1, I nearly came. All that said, on Poet and the Pendulum, at about 7:30 the band launches into one of the most intense symphonic metal sequences I've possibly ever heard. This alone makes this record worth it. I get chills down my spine every time, and it's pure headbanging bliss.
art_is_war - 29.09.2007 at 03:39  
Oh yeah, Meadows Of Heaven is pretty damn queer.
Graveheart - 29.09.2007 at 04:03  
Interesting, there's an instrumental bonus disc. To which one should I listen first?
annodomini - 29.09.2007 at 10:47  
I think the problem why so many people Hate this album is that they were expecting an old Nightwish... I was ready for a new band and i am rate it like a new era (like they say) and Its a really superb album if we forget what was in the past.
Ellrohir - 29.09.2007 at 10:53  
well...i got what i need in half of the tracks and looking forward to see The Poet And The Pendulum performed live i really dont need old NW - i need good quality power metal
insanity.peppers - 29.09.2007 at 11:49  
Written by Raziel X on 29.09.2007 at 02:10

And the album is IMO one of the smoothest I have ever heard. Those 76 or so minutes pass as fast as a short death metal CD


My thoughts exactly. You know they've done something right then.
Locke - 29.09.2007 at 12:16  
It's certainly different. Not bad, just different. Marco steals every song he sings in (bye bye beautiful, MPG, etc.) Annete lacks that operatic flair that first attracted me to Nightwish, but she's by no means a bad vocalist. She brings a new sound to the band which will either throw off die-hard fans, or attract new ones. There were a few bland filler tracks that could've been dropped (WTF is up with the end of MoH when it starts sounding like a gospel/soul song?)but the majority of the album is solid. A fair review. Worth picking up just for the first 2 tracks.
Katatronik - 29.09.2007 at 14:27  
I love the new album, though I miss the great operatic Tarja vocals... New vocalist is good anyway, she seems a bit Sharon from Within Temptation...
Good review Baz!
Spyroid - 29.09.2007 at 14:45  
Written by annodomini on 29.09.2007 at 10:47

I think the problem why so many people Hate this album is that they were expecting an old Nightwish... I was ready for a new band and i am rate it like a new era (like they say) and Its a really superb album if we forget what was in the past.


That's IMO how you should look at every new release by any band (maybe unless it's a sequel), as I wrote in my comment earlier.
Why demand a copy of the old sound when a progression can be just as good?
Elegy - 29.09.2007 at 15:21  
Bought the album yesterday and it really is fucking great ^^ & Anette is a very good singer so just live with it now she is in the band :p
PowerMetal - 29.09.2007 at 17:28  
A very good, thorough review. I'll probably get the album, an instrumental cd puts it over the top for me.
Warman - 29.09.2007 at 18:15  
I expected so much more!!! Many songs are boring and that's something Nightwish NEVER used to be!
priit - 29.09.2007 at 18:18  
Good review, I was fearing for something of a thumbs down style. Ordered the double cd last night, I think the instrumental tracks will be the best of value.
Lackesse - 30.09.2007 at 03:11  
I really dont like this album,not because its new,or because of Anette(she have sweet voice)or something.Just because its kinda commercial,guitars are heavy but without any smashing solo or astonishing riff lick or something.Its like a machinery.I heard it like a month ago three times and i dont want it.I think people like it just because it is new.But the joy subside.The production is great and the sound is great ,but the guitar dissapoints me.....IMO
CrimsonSoaked - 30.09.2007 at 09:34  
Videos concerning this album's tracks (bye bye Beautiful and Amarath) have made obvious to me ,That only Nightwish excluding Anette is Metal. Anette herself is pretty much POP.

And well, that's not good

Judas - 30.09.2007 at 11:03  
I'll download this before buying, I think. Something tells me that I won't love this as instantly as I did the earlier stuff, but all the same this news of an instrumental CD is really good, I'd probably pay the money just for that one.
EquilibriuMTR - 30.09.2007 at 12:30  
Ceratinly NOT a good review, Eva and Sahara fall way below the radar???!!!
Nightwish may or may not be a metal band you can't deny they are a above the average good band.
And btw, this album should be rated AT LEAST 8.5/10.

Well, here are my comments on the tracks.

1)The Poet and the Pendulum: Clearly a masterpiece. A new concept in symphonic rock/metal.
2)Bye bye beautiful: A meaningful song as it is written directly for Tarja, the music is between average and good.
3)Amaranth: The worst song on this album(you heard me right all MTV lovers), the only song that let me down on this album.
4)Cadence of her last breath: Same like Bye Bye Beautiful, a little bit better music but the breath sounds put a real good emphasis on the song.
5)Master Passion Greed: Here's a good song. While being well above the average, it gives the people who want force and violence all they want. The song makes you understand whatt greed really is, you feel the emotion throughout the song. The song is written to Tarja's husband and the lyrics are directly spoken to him; what makes this song VERY meaningful.
6)Eva: One of the best slow songs from Nightwish. The person who wrote this review said that Eva doesn't make you feel anything. Surely you won't feel anything if you are "Emo", but you will feel a lot if you are an "Emotional Person"; it is not depressive as it should be. The only thing that let my down that the lyrics makes the listener feel that whoever wrote the lyrics is not British nor American; they could have been better.
7)Sahara: This is also a masterpiece for me. The review writer said this track fails to capture your imagination. Well, excuse me if your imagination is blunt; but Sahara did a lot more than capturing my imagination. You feel the sand below your feet and the desert wind at your face while listening to it, and Sahara also smashed the usual pop/rock track flow with the furious opening partition and the immediate changing of ambiance. You may or may not like Sahara, but if you say that this track is of below quality, you should listen to music no more.
8)Whoever Brings the Night: This track is very different than others, because it was written entirely by the guitarist Emppu. It can never reach the quality of Tuomas' songwriting but it surely is an over average song.
9)For the Heart I Once Had: It is a childish song, more like a teenager song, but as far as I can remember, Nightwish have already proven that they could make beautiful childish music with the track "White Night Fantasy". It is an average song.
10)The Islander: A VERY good song written bye the bassist Marco. He almost teaches us how an acoustic song should be. Very captivating concept and ambiance.
11)Last of the Wilds: Here we are. The best song of the album. This absolute perfection shatters the usual pop concept and track flow while having an inescapable spirit. One of the best songs Tuomas ever wrote.
12)7 Days to the Wolves: the review writer said that this song falls below the radar and fails to captivate your imagination. You should say that if you haven't understand anything from the song, who the word "Wolf" represents. I cannot speak what the song tries to tell as I could get banned for saying it, know only that the track tells something big with the word wolf. But you do not have the right to criticise something you did not understand Mr. Review Writer.
13)Meadows of Heaven: A radio style slow song, a really good one indeed. I did not think that Tuomas could write something which belongs to that style, but here he is, standing before us with his perfect slow track. Hail Tuomas.
14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.

Conclusion: The people who want the usual predetermined order of the popular pop songs will not like this album. But people who want meaning and deep emotions in albums they listen will like it.

My Rating: 8.8
Carrion - 30.09.2007 at 15:14  
I actually like it far more than Century Child for ex.. There's that something that makes you listen all the tracks instead of skipping them.. As for Eva being a boring song, well I like it, but I think it should have been the ending song of the record.

Anyways, surprisingly good stuff.
Ellrohir - 30.09.2007 at 16:33  
Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.


how come this song isnt on any tracklist i have seen so far?

and btw i dont agree with your opinion on Amaranth ;-)
Judas - 30.09.2007 at 17:15  
Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2007 at 16:33

Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.


how come this song isnt on any tracklist i have seen so far?

and btw i dont agree with your opinion on Amaranth ;-)

It's a Japanese bonus track, as far as I know.
EquilibriuMTR - 30.09.2007 at 17:30  
Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2007 at 16:33

Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.


how come this song isnt on any tracklist i have seen so far?

and btw i dont agree with your opinion on Amaranth ;-)



You may not agree with my opinion but saying that Sahara is a low quality song, well that is blasphemy.
X-FrEaK - 30.09.2007 at 17:41  
This got to be one of 2007's and Nightwish's best albuns

yes it is very varied and i like that way, it sure hasnt the operatic voice from Tarja, but how many power metal bands with a female singer do you have?

great work nightwish
Ellrohir - 30.09.2007 at 18:50  
Written by Judas on 30.09.2007 at 17:15

It's a Japanese bonus track, as far as I know.


why Japanese always have advantages?
Hyvaarin - 30.09.2007 at 19:24  
Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

12)7 Days to the Wolves: the review writer said that this song falls below the radar and fails to captivate your imagination. You should say that if you haven't understand anything from the song, who the word "Wolf" represents. I cannot speak what the song tries to tell as I could get banned for saying it, know only that the track tells something big with the word wolf. But you do not have the right to criticise something you did not understand Mr. Review Writer.

What the fuck are you talking about?
Deadsoulman - 30.09.2007 at 19:41  
Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

Ceratinly NOT a good review, Eva and Sahara fall way below the radar???!!!
Nightwish may or may not be a metal band you can't deny they are a above the average good band.
And btw, this album should be rated AT LEAST 8.5/10.

Well, here are my comments on the tracks.

1)The Poet and the Pendulum: Clearly a masterpiece. A new concept in symphonic rock/metal.
2)Bye bye beautiful: A meaningful song as it is written directly for Tarja, the music is between average and good.
3)Amaranth: The worst song on this album(you heard me right all MTV lovers), the only song that let me down on this album.
4)Cadence of her last breath: Same like Bye Bye Beautiful, a little bit better music but the breath sounds put a real good emphasis on the song.
5)Master Passion Greed: Here's a good song. While being well above the average, it gives the people who want force and violence all they want. The song makes you understand whatt greed really is, you feel the emotion throughout the song. The song is written to Tarja's husband and the lyrics are directly spoken to him; what makes this song VERY meaningful.
6)Eva: One of the best slow songs from Nightwish. The person who wrote this review said that Eva doesn't make you feel anything. Surely you won't feel anything if you are "Emo", but you will feel a lot if you are an "Emotional Person"; it is not depressive as it should be. The only thing that let my down that the lyrics makes the listener feel that whoever wrote the lyrics is not British nor American; they could have been better.
7)Sahara: This is also a masterpiece for me. The review writer said this track fails to capture your imagination. Well, excuse me if your imagination is blunt; but Sahara did a lot more than capturing my imagination. You feel the sand below your feet and the desert wind at your face while listening to it, and Sahara also smashed the usual pop/rock track flow with the furious opening partition and the immediate changing of ambiance. You may or may not like Sahara, but if you say that this track is of below quality, you should listen to music no more.
8)Whoever Brings the Night: This track is very different than others, because it was written entirely by the guitarist Emppu. It can never reach the quality of Tuomas' songwriting but it surely is an over average song.
9)For the Heart I Once Had: It is a childish song, more like a teenager song, but as far as I can remember, Nightwish have already proven that they could make beautiful childish music with the track "White Night Fantasy". It is an average song.
10)The Islander: A VERY good song written bye the bassist Marco. He almost teaches us how an acoustic song should be. Very captivating concept and ambiance.
11)Last of the Wilds: Here we are. The best song of the album. This absolute perfection shatters the usual pop concept and track flow while having an inescapable spirit. One of the best songs Tuomas ever wrote.
12)7 Days to the Wolves: the review writer said that this song falls below the radar and fails to captivate your imagination. You should say that if you haven't understand anything from the song, who the word "Wolf" represents. I cannot speak what the song tries to tell as I could get banned for saying it, know only that the track tells something big with the word wolf. But you do not have the right to criticise something you did not understand Mr. Review Writer.
13)Meadows of Heaven: A radio style slow song, a really good one indeed. I did not think that Tuomas could write something which belongs to that style, but here he is, standing before us with his perfect slow track. Hail Tuomas.
14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.

Conclusion: The people who want the usual predetermined order of the popular pop songs will not like this album. But people who want meaning and deep emotions in albums they listen will like it.

My Rating: 8.8


My God, have you ever heard about "different opinions"? So not enjoying an album as you did proves that the reviewer didn't understand the album? Excuse me, but it's not like Nightwish has EVER written an album with 1,000 layers... Nightwish's music is more or less immediately understandable, it's quite easy listening music, you know? They've never pushed back the boundaries of music. That doesn't mean it's bad, just that masturbating on hidden meanings inside their albums is... well, only masturbation.

I think this kind of post is the reason why a lot of people despise blinded fans.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nightwish - Dark Passion Play 7.5 15.02.2011 by Obaida
Articles Nightwish - End Of Dark Passion Play Tour 7.5 24.09.2009 by Ellrohir
News Nightwish - Dark Passion Play On Pre-Sale Now 7.5 08.07.2007 by iaberis
Reviews Rhapsody Of Fire - The Cold Embrace Of Fear - A Dark Romantic Symphony 6 28.09.2010 by csiga
Reviews Nuclear Blast Allstars - Out Of The Dark - 20 Years Nuclear Blast 6 23.10.2007 by Bararey



Hits total: 19696 | This month: 90