Rating:
7.5
Nightwish - Dark Passion Play
26 September 2007


Disc I
01. The Poet And The Pendulum
02. Bye Bye Beautiful
03. Amaranth
04. Cadence Of Her Last Breath
05. Master Passion Greed
06. Eva
07. Sahara
08. Whoever Brings The Night
09. For The Heart I Once Had
10. The Islander
11. Last Of The Wilds
12. 7 Days To The Wolves
13. Meadows Of Heaven
14. Reach [Amaranth demo] [bonus]

Disc II [limited edition]
01. The Poet And The Pendulum [Instrumental]
02. Bye Bye Beautiful [Instrumental]
03. Amaranth [Instrumental]
04. Cadence Of Her Last Breath [Instrumental]
05. Master Passion Greed [Instrumental]
06. Eva [Instrumental]
07. Sahara [Instrumental]
08. Whoever Brings The Night [Instrumental]
09. For The Heart I Once Had [Instrumental]
10. The Islander [Instrumental]
11. Last Of The Wilds [Instrumental]
12. 7 Days To The Wolves [Instrumental]
13. Meadows Of Heaven [Instrumental]

Disc III [Limited 3CD Box Edition]
01. Escapist
02. Meadows Of Heaven [orchestral version]
03. The Poet And The Pendulum [demo]


All eyes have been on Nightwish over the last three years following the huge commercial success of previous album "Once" and of course also the dramatic letting go of previous vocal powerhouse Tarja. Now more than ever Tuomas and company have immense pressure placed upon them to deliver the goods with the sixth full length edition to the Nightwish catalogue.

As bombastic and grand as they have ever sounded, the fourteen minute monster of an opening track "The Poet And The Pendulum" is not just a statement to anyone who may have questioned the future of the band, but is also if you will, the title track with the pendulum on the front cover of the album and is also the epitome of the whole album to come. The band sound as heavy as they have ever been before - full of sound, many layers, the backbone of the music is still the same but of course the slightly different line-up brings with it some slight changes. One of the unique selling points of Nightwish was Tarja and her strong, classical, operatic voice booming over the metallic symphonies, but Anette has more of a rock type of singing that just does not project as Tarja's did, it isn't as powerful and has nothing really unique about it at all, but this still doesn't mean she doesn't have a sweet voice.

"Dark Passion Play" although still very much a Nightwish album is one of the most adventurous outings of the band's history. The album is more diverse than anything we have heard before and must be the bravest as well opening with a near quarter of an hour epic. "Amaranth" sounds very commercial and appealing to the wider audience, "Master Passion Greed" must be the heaviest thing this band have ever put onto CD with furious guitaring, double bass drumming and Marco taking to the lead vocal position, and to another far out tangent of the musical spectrum of the album we even have strong folk elements with "The Islander" and "Last Of The Wilds" that seem to work surprisingly well. The band clearly show with this album that they are not just a typical, simple one-track female fronted symphonic metal band that many people may pass them off for these days.

This is a long album running in at just over seventy-five minutes and so almost inevitably we have some forgetful and morbidly bland tracks, "Eva" being the worst culprit here, I am sure this track must have some deep value in it somewhere but you just can't hear it. It is the slow track of the album that is neither stirring or emotional, nothing special here at all. "Sahara" and "7 Days To The Wolves" also slip way below the radar as well as a couple of other average tracks on the album that unfortunately fail to capture your imagination.

It is difficult to say the least to simultaneously arouse the attention of the two worlds of popular commercial success and the more underground true heavy metal listeners, but this album is one that will please both camps. This still has that Nightwish charm about it, but if you purchase this album hoping it will be just like the others you may be a little let down - not because this is of a lesser quality, but has just adopted a slightly different style which may in fact introduce new fans to the band. "Dark Passion Play" will understandably split the listening audience as most things would after such a change, but this is probably the best album the band could have made given their circumstances and the pressure, and they certainly deserve a thumbs up for the brave effort.


Band profile: Nightwish
Album: Dark Passion Play


 



Written on 28.09.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments page 2 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2] 3
Comments: 101  
Users visited: 410  
Search this topic:  


Jeff - 30.09.2007 at 19:49  
Written by Collin on 30.09.2007 at 19:41

Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

Ceratinly NOT a good review, Eva and Sahara fall way below the radar???!!!
Nightwish may or may not be a metal band you can't deny they are a above the average good band.
And btw, this album should be rated AT LEAST 8.5/10.

Well, here are my comments on the tracks.

1)The Poet and the Pendulum: Clearly a masterpiece. A new concept in symphonic rock/metal.
2)Bye bye beautiful: A meaningful song as it is written directly for Tarja, the music is between average and good.
3)Amaranth: The worst song on this album(you heard me right all MTV lovers), the only song that let me down on this album.
4)Cadence of her last breath: Same like Bye Bye Beautiful, a little bit better music but the breath sounds put a real good emphasis on the song.
5)Master Passion Greed: Here's a good song. While being well above the average, it gives the people who want force and violence all they want. The song makes you understand whatt greed really is, you feel the emotion throughout the song. The song is written to Tarja's husband and the lyrics are directly spoken to him; what makes this song VERY meaningful.
6)Eva: One of the best slow songs from Nightwish. The person who wrote this review said that Eva doesn't make you feel anything. Surely you won't feel anything if you are "Emo", but you will feel a lot if you are an "Emotional Person"; it is not depressive as it should be. The only thing that let my down that the lyrics makes the listener feel that whoever wrote the lyrics is not British nor American; they could have been better.
7)Sahara: This is also a masterpiece for me. The review writer said this track fails to capture your imagination. Well, excuse me if your imagination is blunt; but Sahara did a lot more than capturing my imagination. You feel the sand below your feet and the desert wind at your face while listening to it, and Sahara also smashed the usual pop/rock track flow with the furious opening partition and the immediate changing of ambiance. You may or may not like Sahara, but if you say that this track is of below quality, you should listen to music no more.
8)Whoever Brings the Night: This track is very different than others, because it was written entirely by the guitarist Emppu. It can never reach the quality of Tuomas' songwriting but it surely is an over average song.
9)For the Heart I Once Had: It is a childish song, more like a teenager song, but as far as I can remember, Nightwish have already proven that they could make beautiful childish music with the track "White Night Fantasy". It is an average song.
10)The Islander: A VERY good song written bye the bassist Marco. He almost teaches us how an acoustic song should be. Very captivating concept and ambiance.
11)Last of the Wilds: Here we are. The best song of the album. This absolute perfection shatters the usual pop concept and track flow while having an inescapable spirit. One of the best songs Tuomas ever wrote.
12)7 Days to the Wolves: the review writer said that this song falls below the radar and fails to captivate your imagination. You should say that if you haven't understand anything from the song, who the word "Wolf" represents. I cannot speak what the song tries to tell as I could get banned for saying it, know only that the track tells something big with the word wolf. But you do not have the right to criticise something you did not understand Mr. Review Writer.
13)Meadows of Heaven: A radio style slow song, a really good one indeed. I did not think that Tuomas could write something which belongs to that style, but here he is, standing before us with his perfect slow track. Hail Tuomas.
14)Escapist: I couldn't listen to this a lot but it sounds a bit like Amaranth. Cannot comment on this.

Conclusion: The people who want the usual predetermined order of the popular pop songs will not like this album. But people who want meaning and deep emotions in albums they listen will like it.

My Rating: 8.8


My God, have you ever heard about "different opinions"? So not enjoying an album as you did proves that the reviewer didn't understand the album? Excuse me, but it's not like Nightwish has EVER written an album with 1,000 layers... Nightwish's music is more or less immediately understandable, it's quite easy listening music, you know? They've never pushed back the boundaries of music. That doesn't mean it's bad, just that masturbating on hidden meanings inside their albums is... well, only masturbation.

I think this kind of post is the reason why a lot of people despise blinded fans.



Damn, I agree with you too... I HATE when people come here and say that the reviews are BAD only because they disagree with the statement of the reviewer.

Come on! WAKE UP Baz's review is REALLY good, with a lot of objectivity and honesty.

If you disagree with him, that your problem (and you're maybe even not wrong after all) but don't say that it's a bad review...

(Sorry if my message seems to be a bit agressive but I'm bored by such comments... really...).
Baz Anderson - 30.09.2007 at 19:49  
yes, thank you, and thanks to everyone who appreciated the reivew
he is acting like I gave it a bad review. I gave it a good review, I just don't think it is so ultra, super fantastic like this obviously too over enthusiastic individual does
hahaha, I've never been attacked so much for giving a good review. hahaha
dismaleuphony - 01.10.2007 at 01:16  
A definite thumbs-up for this review. A few tracks I probably like more (or less) than the ones you've listed here, but other than that, your overall reaction to the album is right on. It's really diverse - to the point where it makes it a mystery as to where Nightwish would go next on a future studio album! Another CD that has great songs on it that will find their way to MP3 playlists, but I doubt I'll listen to the full CD much after this initial phase of getting to know the album passes.
Devil Aion - 02.10.2007 at 03:26  
i did like the album a lot maybe jeff have some points about it but its just an opinion by one person many of us have different oppinions so we have to respect others opinions, hope you understand
caffeinehead - 02.10.2007 at 07:44  
Baz did give a good review. Good enough that I went and listened to the album samples online- and decided that I probably won't be buying this album. I do NOT like the Anna Olzon's voice- it is far too pop-ish for my tastes. Tarja's voice fit the drama and the scope of the "old" Nightwish. Perhaps Olzon will fit in better for the future, but not while Nightwish is playing music even remotely similar to what they used to.
Promonex - 02.10.2007 at 12:40  
This album definitely suffers from having more fillers than killers. "Bye Bye Beautiful", "Master Passion Greed" and "The Last of the Wilds" are all very good while "The Poet and the Pendulum" deserves no less than a 10. The rest though is of pretty low quality - "Sahara" might still be slightly above average, but that's it. And "For the Heart I Once Had" made my ears bleed even more than Prostitute Disfigurement and drags the album down A LOT. No use in buying a 13 track CD if I keep skipping between only 4 songs with one of the skipped tracks being the worst song I've heard this year (and yep, that includes anything Tokio Hotel has released this year).
Carrion - 02.10.2007 at 19:21  
Written by Ellrohir on 30.09.2007 at 18:50

Written by Judas on 30.09.2007 at 17:15

It's a Japanese bonus track, as far as I know.


why Japanese always have advantages?

Because records in Japan cost so f*cking much.
enumaelis - 02.10.2007 at 19:58  
The review is quite ok, I agree in almost everything, but I have to say that For the love I once had is the worst song Nightwish ever made... and after that so so boring Eva.
Dandelion - 03.10.2007 at 14:46  
A very good album but not as the previous ones...the new singer is nothing special!i miss Tarja s voice!By the way i like much For the love i once had....
Fierce Deity - 03.10.2007 at 19:13  
Written by Guest on 30.09.2007 at 12:30

Ceratinly NOT a good review...


"A review is an opinion but make sure you explain yourself succinctly."
How come this is not a good review?

Btw, I really need to liste to this album. There's a lot of different opinions out there, I'm curious now.
Nice review.
Rusher - 05.10.2007 at 00:38  
I liked this album a lot but "Last of the Wilds" makes this worth buying, what an amazing instrumental.
brclmu - 06.10.2007 at 14:37  
i like Bye Bye Beautiful. it's got a very powerful chorus. the male vocalist is very good, and i prefer him to annette olzon. tarja was more unique than her. she's ok though.
Pianoman - 13.10.2007 at 23:54  
Why all women dont like anette olzon?
Luros - 18.10.2007 at 12:25  
I didn't like this album much, except for the 1st song.
Without Tarja it just doesn't seem right.
PowerMetal - 20.10.2007 at 23:29  
I bought this album not sure what I was hoping for, but I have to be honost, I really like it. Anette's voice, while obviously completely different from Tarja sounded very good, Marco was still in on a ton of songs and the music was damn good. I was happily, very impressed and think this is the bands best album since Wishmaster. I hope they can continue to produce music of his high a quality.
abysss - 21.10.2007 at 23:07  
I must say I was very disappointed when I first heard Eva as a single, but after a while I begun to like the tunes... Then I heard Amaranth, I thought, omg, this song is pure pop crap.
Then I heard the whole album, and after listening to it about 10 times I can really say that Amaranth is the worst song on the album. Eva is not bad at all. 7 Days To The Wolves is great and The islander and The Last Of The Wilds along with Sahara are simply superb, The Poet And The Pendulum is amazing, Master Passion Greed and Bye Bye Beautiful are so angry, direct and good, the second is a little in the vain of WIHAA while the first is way better IMO... Cadence Of Her Last Breath and For The Heart I Once Had are also very enjoyable. Meadows of heaven is a good ballad... what else? Oh the japanese bonus track is also interesting.

I miss Tarja a little bit, cause this album is much like Once, It could be easily called Once pt. II But can you imagine Tarja singing Bye By Beautiful
in the end I must say that over all I'm pleasantly surprised about what the band came out with.
I was expecting a lot worse album...
Rhapsodyhabs - 23.10.2007 at 03:15  
I like Anette MUCH MUCH better than Tarja.

This album is a masterpiece, best tracks are the poet and the pendulum and meadows of heaven IMO
Dandelion - 03.11.2007 at 11:26  
As more i m listening to it as more i like it-beyond my expectations...finally i can say its a really great music work
enumaelis - 04.12.2007 at 21:54  
Now that I remember, I did a review long long time ago of the Nightwish album, if you want check it. It's just at the end of the post.
http://enumaelis.blogspot.com/2007/08/review-of-nightwish-dark-passion-play.html
4look4rd - 13.12.2007 at 05:50  
I really like this album with the exception of some crappy filler songs, like eva and amaranth (although I do like the chorus)
Karel CV - 05.02.2008 at 20:07  
This work is one of the best that nightiwish made but it would the best nightwish album with a soprano or mezzo-soprano voice.
If wanna enjoy the album listen to the instrumental songs.

Best song:
1-Islander
2-Last of the Wild
3-The Poet and the Pendulum (This one with the right voice would be even better than ghost love score)
Thrashette - 12.02.2008 at 02:45  
At first, I wasn't planning on buying this album. I'm glad I changed my mind. There were only a few songs that I didn't like and I'm sure you can guess which ones I'm refering to *cough*Eva*cough*
Of course Annette isn't Tarja, but I think her voice actually works better with Nightwish's new sound. I've tried to imagine Tarja singing some of the songs on this album, and I honestly think it wouldn't sound better.
Pale Enchantress - 17.02.2008 at 11:22  
It would have been better if Vibeke stene was on it
Uirapuru - 16.03.2008 at 10:53  
Wow.. whats with that song The Poet and the Pendulum??? Its simply an epic of gorgeous proportions, the best nightwish song ive ever heard.
ANGEL REAPER - 16.03.2008 at 21:48  
THEY ARE NOT THE SAME WITHOUT TARJA,TARJA IS NOT THE SAME WITHOUT NIGHTWISH!!!
God I hope that they gona finaly change the singer,couse this one sucks!
by the way music was not bad as I expected in first place,
Shadowcross - 20.04.2008 at 05:12  
Okay sorry guys I disagree with most of you! Sahara is the best track on this album!!
To me I don't even notice Tarja is gone. It is still the same sound.. And I think Tarja didn't suit Once as well as this vocalist could have. Olzon is better for the 'new' Nightwish style IMO. What I do notice is it is missing the same flair and pomposity that was on the previous album. It is darker.
This is one of my favourite bands but i'd give the album an 8/8.5 ... some of the tracks namely For The Heart I Once Had, Whoever Brings The Night just seem like filler to me.
juanopereira - 29.05.2008 at 03:30  
I don't understand how this album has a 7.9. I gave it a 5. It's not good at all. This is not the new Nightwish, this is a different band with the same name. I don't lke the voice of Anette and onn the stage she sings awful. They are comming to my country but I'm not interested at all.
4look4rd - 10.07.2008 at 17:43  
Written by Shadowcross on 20.04.2008 at 05:12

Okay sorry guys I disagree with most of you! Sahara is the best track on this album!!
To me I don't even notice Tarja is gone. It is still the same sound.. And I think Tarja didn't suit Once as well as this vocalist could have. Olzon is better for the 'new' Nightwish style IMO. What I do notice is it is missing the same flair and pomposity that was on the previous album. It is darker.
This is one of my favourite bands but i'd give the album an 8/8.5 ... some of the tracks namely For The Heart I Once Had, Whoever Brings The Night just seem like filler to me.


That is exactly how I feel, Annatte is a good vocalist, and IMO way better for the post-Century Child Nightwish that I hate... Once was pretty decent, and the samething applies to this album. It gets boring after the first listen, and I just hate how they overuse an orchestral....

I dont agree with the "much darker" part, perhaps this is darker than Once, but early Nightwish albums had way more gothic touches on both the music and the lyrics. Darkpassion Play is really dull lyric wise (hmmm our lead singer left us, lets title our song "Bye Bye Beautiful" and claim its just a coincidence!) but musically its awesome, but boring.
Angel_Lament - 28.07.2008 at 23:38  
Well, I have to say that this review is fair, and the reviewer did a fine job (Unlike as the first review on Once!!)
But I disagree with u on somethings:
1. Sahara one of the greatest songs in the album, it gives an Egyptian Atmosphere (Very Nice)
2. 7 Days to the the Wolves also a nice song
3. I dont know why People Dislike Amaranth, Its a Very Good song with its Orchestrations & Sweet LYrics
4. U didnt Mention For The Heart I once Had, very meaningful song in my opininon with its melody!
But i must say that i agree with u in a lot of things: Like TPATP is an Epic Piece, BBB a very Meaning song, and Master PAssion Greed too is a Progressive Piece, But Eva is not that bad!!!
but that is just an opinion, Everyone has one thats for sure
My Rate is 9, one of the Finest albums of the year
MétalNoir - 02.08.2008 at 17:20  
At first, Annette's voice disappointed me, then I grew used to it as I listened to "Bye Bye Beautiful". Then I bought the entire album... And I was disppointed by Annette's voice.
The Poet and the Pendulum is good enough, but atrociously long for its lack of depth... Those who think it is great symphony don't know symphonic metal. It is very average.
Bye Bye Beautiful... the title scared me at first, it's so poppy. And the song is poppy. But it's really catchy and Annette doesn't sing much on it. Marco's voice is as wonderful as ever (for Marco's fans, try Tarot, Annette isn't trying to sing on it...).
Amaranth is a good Nightwish-esque song, though the chorus is horribly mainstrem, it sounds like The Cranberries or something... I was really missing Tarja, here.
The next four songs, well... You'd better skip that part of the album, in my opinion, except for Master Passion Greed. Cadence of Her Last Breath is ridiculous, Eva is boring and Sahara is... I just hate it, ok? I can understand Annette is a rock singer, then why is she trying to "sing" arabic "ayayah's"? Painful.
Master Passion Greed is killer and you could put deathgrunt on it and it would fit. I love that song, you don't hear Annette a single time
Whoever Brings the Night is good in that it features a shy-sounding Annette who doesn't struggle to be Tarja, while For the Heart I Once Had is one of the worst of the album, the ultimate filler.
The Islander and Last of the Wild are great folkish songs, I like them both. I expected Seven Days to the Wolves to be good, since the title appeals to me, but I was let down, really, it is pale and boring.
Meadows of Heaven is bearable until the last part. Damn, I really was traumatized by that ending, with the blues-like gospell. Pathetic ending to an average album.
On the whole, a pale album with highs here and there, but in the end Nightwish's worst album. The music is good at times, but Annette is bad all the way, in my opinion. I can't possibly understand why the band chose her. I guess Tuomas really was scared of opera singers after what happened with Tarja...
One last point: I can't stand the "Tarja was so mean with us, please take our side " attitude the band (and especially songwriter Tuomas) exploit all along the album. I pity the new Nightwish, not for Tarja's behavior, but for the bad choices they are making. I hope next release will be better than this.
I give a generous 5,5 to Dark Passion Play, major let down of 2007.
face_your_demons - 02.03.2009 at 21:47  
I like the album. Really different from what i was used to but really not bad! Love the songs; The Poet And The Pendulum, Sahara and The Islander
Ragana - 02.03.2009 at 22:00  
Written by Feng on 06.11.2008 at 11:05

Bye Bye Beautiful is a different song. It is poppy yes, but it is catchy and Marco's voice is great. Just avoid the music video, it is VERY odd. Either way, this is one of the ok, above average songs.

...I thought all of them are poppy.
Meh, I'm not a big fan of Nightwish anyway. Yeah, I've listened to this album few times, found "Bye, Bye Beutiful" and "Whoever Brings The Night" very catchy and that's all. Now they're like Epica, Sirenia, Lacuna Coil, Delain, Delight and other gothic (?) metal (?) bands which simply sound cheap and - oh, yeah - very poppy.
tuerda - 27.03.2009 at 11:20  
I have never been a Nightwish fan. I have always thought of them as just a bunch of really good production, achieving a beautiful sound but no musical depth. Nonetheless, this review is simply fantastic. It has managed to capture my imagination and I am beginning to wonder if it might be worth my time to borrow this album from one of the infinitely many people around me who are drowning in Nightwish related junk.
Hrothdane - 13.04.2009 at 07:19  
If it weren't for the few forgettable filler songs this album would have been perfect for me. I love that Marco finally has more singing to do, and his vocal style meshes with Anette's much better than it ever did with Tarja.
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 07:41  
I think Anette makes this band sound pop-ish. She sounds like a bad version of Dolores O'Riordan.
vikingman369 - 21.08.2009 at 04:58  
I heard Anette sing one of Tarja's songs and I have to confess, she did VERY well. In short, no matter how "open-minded" people say they are, they don't like nor do they want change. And that's exactly what Anette represents: a change from moody operatic to meaningful power.

For those people who think that Nightwish (and Anette Olzon) are pop...are you even LISTENING to this music or are you just judging them because tarja isn't there? If you compared Dark Passion Play to any of today's TRUE pop artists (like anyone of those wannabe singers from the disney channel), you'll notice that the new Nightwish is NOTHING like them.

In short, this has to do with the other posts in that all people are doing is bashing a very good band, which is quite unfair. Tarja left Nightwish because she wanted more money and fame (which, in my opinion, makes her truly pop, since pop-artists don't hold to anything; they do whatever is popular, trendy or gets them money), and now that she's gone, you can either hound after her, or give Anette a second chance.

Its like with Metallica. They changed their sound because THEY WANTED TO, NOT FOR FAME, and everyone leaves them (gee, if they were selling out for fame and it didn't work, I guess we can just get over ourselves on that issue and just listen to Metallica). Hopefully there will be more Nightwish-fans who are TRUE fans and not poseurs who will forsake this awesome band just because tarja left.
Dark†SymphonY - 16.12.2009 at 12:29  
I dont agree with the score being 7.5, i think it should be alot higher. Its only that anette is not as powerful as tarja. But the songs are more agressive and powerful. Even though i prefer tarja more, anette voice doesnt bring anything in a symphonic power metal band, her voice would suit a rock band. Thats my own view.

Music wise, the songs are some of the best ive heard in Nightwish, espcially the folk/celtic like The Islander influenced ones and the mighty Poet and the Pendulum.

When i first heard the Amaranth, i immediatly thought *what is this shit?* and *her voice sucks* but Dark Passion Play now has become one of my favorite Nightwish albums. I understood the album being a huge surprise but not a letdown.
Ellrohir - 16.12.2009 at 14:22  
Well "more aggressive and powerful" songs started already on Once album, so it is only a continuous trend...also most of the songs were written by Tuomas earlier than Anette assigned (then obviously she was chosen to fit into those songs)...but still i like it, no doubt...

only i am now quite pissed off with all those singles and dvds released to recycle the same song material for more than 2 years...hope the new album will treat my disappointment again
His Eminence - 07.01.2010 at 06:10  
Nice review, but I probably would have rated it a point higher. I actually prefer Anette's voice over Tarja's, so Dark Passion Play is a step up in my opinion. There were a lot of songs on here that I enjoyed.
Thor arise - 23.02.2010 at 12:57  
A very good album..probably an 8 rate...bur Anette sounds like a pop girl not like a metal chick...that's what i miss A LOT!!
Zhao - 11.04.2010 at 12:42  
Exellent review, never like nightwish much, but bought the album after I heard The Islander. I can only agree on every point here.
Nappo - 12.07.2010 at 01:19  
I really like this album, the best alongside Once and Oceanborn.. but I think it is a little more, coz it's more diverse and obviously Poet and the Pendulum is their best song to date, it's a sort of evolution...
I don't agree at all with those who say now Nightwish is poppish or those who dislike Anette voice coz is poppish..... the first are completely deaf, as Nightwish has never been more "complex" and multilayered, at least since their evolution in style.. and I wonder why a metal singer must be a soprano, it's just a question of trend!! I don't see any tenore metal singer, so why female singers must be classical?? Be open minded!! Nihgtwish were between the first metal bands to have a female singer, and now I foresee they will be the first of many metal bands with a rock singer..
anyway Nightwish rulez!!!
ErnilEnNaur - 15.07.2010 at 02:00  
Written by Thor arise on 23.02.2010 at 12:57

A very good album..probably an 8 rate...bur Anette sounds like a pop girl not like a metal chick...that's what i miss A LOT!!


Why is it, that everything non-Tarja is pop to the ears of Nightwish fans?
deikuzutsu - 18.07.2010 at 02:51  
Written by Guest on 15.07.2010 at 02:00

Written by Thor arise on 23.02.2010 at 12:57

A very good album..probably an 8 rate...bur Anette sounds like a pop girl not like a metal chick...that's what i miss A LOT!!


Why is it, that everything non-Tarja is pop to the ears of Nightwish fans?


Hit the nail on the head there, buddy.
deikuzutsu - 18.07.2010 at 02:54  
Am I the only one who liked all the songs on here?

It's due to me and not being picky when a band grows on me. Nightwish is one of my favorite bands, so it's become hard for them to sound bad to me.
Milena - 15.03.2011 at 10:45  
The review is awesomely written, it's not too harsh on the album, but it's not a fanboy drooling, it's an objective as it can be, and I actually disagree with some of the points stated, so f you fanboys, leave the guy alone because his opinion doesn't match yours.
Troy Killjoy - 15.03.2011 at 17:04  
Written by Milena on 15.03.2011 at 10:45

...so f you fanboys, leave the guy alone because his opinion doesn't match yours.

I don't think Baz lost any sleep over these comments.
Milena - 16.03.2011 at 09:28  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.03.2011 at 17:04

Written by Milena on 15.03.2011 at 10:45

...so f you fanboys, leave the guy alone because his opinion doesn't match yours.

I don't think Baz lost any sleep over these comments.

Well I did, it annoys me whenever I write something (not only on this forum), I usually see a bunch of posts from people who only see one side of the story, or are just plain subjective, or don't know shit about what they're talking about but decide to go on and play smart anyway. So, yeah, the sight of such comments anywhere, in the so-called online 'life' or the real thing, pretty much flips me off. But I'll learn to laugh at them within a couple of years, I'm too young to be indifferent about everything right now
Cuca Beludo - 01.12.2011 at 17:07  
Tarja was awesome, no one can replace her. Nightwish will never be the same again.
Oh well, this album isn't bad at all.
ErnilEnNaur - 02.12.2011 at 17:28  
Oh how I love this album, despite it's many boring songs. Real emotions, awesome heavy riffs, majestic melodies and the crowning achievement in their career - "The Poet And The Pendulum". I must listen to this album repeatedly to recover from "Imaginaerum".

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2] 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Nightwish - Dark Passion Play 7.5 15.02.2011 by Obaida
Reviews Nightwish - Imaginaerum 7.5 01.12.2011 by Milena
Articles Nightwish - End Of Dark Passion Play Tour 7.5 24.09.2009 by Ellrohir
News Nightwish - Dark Passion Play On Pre-Sale Now 7.5 08.07.2007 by iaberis
Reviews Nuclear Blast Allstars - Out Of The Dark - 20 Years Nuclear Blast 6 23.10.2007 by Bararey



Hits total: 19052 | This month: 104