Rating:
9.0
Mayhem - Ordo Ad Chao
23 April 2007


01. A Wise Birthgiver
02. Wall Of Water
03. Great Work Of Ages
04. Deconsecrate
05. Illuminate Eliminate
06. Psychic Horns
07. Key To The Storms
08. Anti


There is no need for a lengthy introduction here, since everyone that enjoys Black Metal should know the legendary and widely renowned Mayhem. In a few words: 'The True Mayhem' embodied by Euronymous died and left us "De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas" as musical legacy. When the world needed a new hero, 'The New Mayhem' arose. This 'New Mayhem' took their time to find the right path as could be heard on the experimental releases "A Grand Declaration Of War" and "Chimera". Opinions on these albums varied a lot and it cost Mayhem a lot of fans.

After many years, Blasphemer and co (as Blasphemer is the bandleader right now, responsible for all the music) did the only right thing to do: kick out Maniac and bring back Attila. And the result is once again innovative, groundbreaking and breathtaking as was also the case with the eternally evil début album.

A Wise Birthgiver reveals what we're in for. A thick, mudlike-produced, disorientating intro coming right out of the darkest corners of a schizophrenics mind. Those who hope the rest of the album will have more chorus-refrain based songs, should see this as the ultimate warning and get the hell out of. Instead, you are presented the ultimate journey through the mind of an evil genious. The seemingly random drums, the experimental riffing and the painful silences that sometimes rip the breathtaking thick air apart all play their part in this psychotic release of madness, but stand all in favor of personification of insanity.

And that is Attila. He already proved to be an amazing vocalist on the début album, where he sadly wasn't appreciated by everyone, but on this album he managed to surpass every Black Metal vocalist out there. From high-pitched screams to low and brutal vocals, he does it all. His dynamic vocals create highlights such as the incredibly powerful scream on Wall Of Waters. Or the ending of Great Work Of Ages, followed by the chaotic screaming on Deconsecrate. There is wailing, moaning, crying and despair. Combined with his achievement on "De Mysteriis..." he is one of the greatest Black Metal vocalist since the scene saw the unholy light.

As a final conclusion it should be clear that "Ordo Ad Chao" is definitely not an easy listening album and will need a lot of spins to be appreciated to it's fullest. However, it is worth all the effort as it will reveal to be an absolute masterpiece. Hail The New Mayhem!

enter another sphere / complete the emptiness / desperately alone / fuck the race

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Mayhem
Album: Ordo Ad Chao


 



Written on 04.10.2007 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 39  
Users visited: 301  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 05.10.2007 at 21:35  
Actually, I think this album could rival De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas as being their best effort.
Sunioj - 05.10.2007 at 23:08  
Nice review, I agree with you about Attila, he is one of the greatest if not the greatest voice in BM. I never like Maniac as well...drums are savage as hell, and the guitars are perfectly in sync with the atmosphere, it is indeed a journey listening to this album...but a very memorable journey. I could say that I prefer this over DMDS right now, this album is just an awesome comeback.
Doc Godin - 08.10.2007 at 02:38  
what an overrated album. Seriously.
Sunioj - 08.10.2007 at 02:46  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.


Maybe it was the production? I know quite a few people who weren't able to click with it. Loss for them I guess. I honestly don't think its overrated. Just look at this review, only a few comments and look at the mayhem thread, not alot of people are really going on about it. If anything, new Mayhem is vastly unnappreciated.
Lucas - 08.10.2007 at 09:28  
Written by Sunioj on 08.10.2007 at 02:46

Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.


Maybe it was the production? I know quite a few people who weren't able to click with it. Loss for them I guess. I honestly don't think its overrated. Just look at this review, only a few comments and look at the mayhem thread, not alot of people are really going on about it. If anything, new Mayhem is vastly unnappreciated.


I remember a certain argument between Dr. Rock and Damnated.

Anyway, I'd also say this album is really underappreciated. Plus, it's definitely not for everyone.
Hyvaarin - 15.10.2007 at 16:24  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.

You just don't get black metal .
Doc Godin - 16.10.2007 at 08:21  
Written by Hyvaarin on 15.10.2007 at 16:24

Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.

You just don't get black metal .

Dont scare me like that man, i thought id have to brace myself for another onslaught of childish name calling.
Desertman - 24.10.2007 at 16:55  
this is truly in a very (disgusting way) an overrated album
really enuff laughing at us!
rageing atheist - 02.11.2007 at 01:30  
There has to be something wrong with me as I always find myself enjoying the albums that are said to be non-easy listening and require time to grow, from the first time I hear them. Got it today and I was hooked immediately, also I don't understand the complaints about the production, the production is one of the best I've heard.
OminousDeath - 07.11.2007 at 06:48  
Looks Interesting
Warman - 02.01.2008 at 20:01  
A very original album!
Lucas - 02.01.2008 at 21:05  
Written by Warman on 02.01.2008 at 20:01

A very original album!


Ah yes you just bought this. So did you like it as well, besides finding it original?
Warman - 02.01.2008 at 21:07  
Written by Lucas on 02.01.2008 at 21:05

Written by Warman on 02.01.2008 at 20:01

A very original album!


Ah yes you just bought this. So did you like it as well, besides finding it original?

Yes, I really enjoyed it. Haunting and without doubt one of Mayhem's better works... or dare I say... maybe even their fucking best work?
Lucas - 02.01.2008 at 21:09  
Written by Warman on 02.01.2008 at 21:07

Written by Lucas on 02.01.2008 at 21:05

Written by Warman on 02.01.2008 at 20:01

A very original album!


Ah yes you just bought this. So did you like it as well, besides finding it original?

Yes, I really enjoyed it. Haunting and without doubt one of Mayhem's better works... or dare I say... maybe even their fucking best work?


Hmm I wouldn't know. It is a close call with De Mysteriis for me, that's for sure.
Warman - 02.01.2008 at 21:10  
Written by Lucas on 02.01.2008 at 21:09

Hmm I wouldn't know. It is a close call with De Mysteriis for me, that's for sure.

Yeah, you're right.
W-Lash - 04.01.2008 at 01:32  
You can shoot me or rape me or do whatever but i can't understand what do you find in this album and in this band...
Why do i hate Mayhem so much? Hm...mystery.
Visioneerie - 05.01.2008 at 19:49  
Great review, it describes this album perfectly. I just bought 7 records yesterday and Ordo Ad Chao was among them. I've listenned to it twice until now, the first listen was'nt easy, but i still found it really awesome. The 2nd listen, the songs were sinking in easier. I think this album is fucking killer, and the reasons why is that it's unconventional, Attila's vox are absolutely amazing, very dark, and the song structures are just WoW, crazy but interesting. It must be a little hard to play these songs live
Dangerboner - 02.02.2008 at 01:50  
This album keeps growing on me, and it's very likely that it'll creep up into my top 10 of 2007. Attila is a fucking monster, and his vocals at the beginning of either track 4 or 5 (can't remember atm) make him sound like a screeching dinosaur.
Marcus - 10.02.2008 at 23:20  
I prefer the things they did with maniac over this, Ordo Ad Chao sort of just sounds like mediocre doom metal more than anything else, but perhaps I have to let it grow on me like most of you say. Who knows...
Sunioj - 11.02.2008 at 01:01  
This album didn't really need that much time to sink in with me. It really just knocked me off my ass and was as straightforward as raw BM should be. I find this album kind of catchy.
Damnated - 11.02.2008 at 02:11  
why is this still labeled as a guest review?
Baz Anderson - 11.02.2008 at 02:20  
Written by Damnated on 11.02.2008 at 02:11

why is this still labeled as a guest review?

he wrote and published it when he wasn't a staff member - the first two or so of mine are the same
Damnated - 11.02.2008 at 02:24  
Written by Baz Anderson on 11.02.2008 at 02:20

Written by Damnated on 11.02.2008 at 02:11

why is this still labeled as a guest review?

he wrote and published it when he wasn't a staff member - the first two or so of mine are the same

i see that, but it should be removed. you are staff members now, and you got promoted based on your reviews , well sorta. so these reviews reflect the opinions of the MS staff.
Baz Anderson - 11.02.2008 at 02:45  
Written by Damnated on 11.02.2008 at 02:24

i see that, but it should be removed. you are staff members now, and you got promoted based on your reviews , well sorta. so these reviews reflect the opinions of the MS staff.

yeh, that is right - I will bring it up with Ivan
Rimfrost - 07.05.2008 at 16:12  
Great album, was not expecting that at all. The only Mayhem album I liked before was DMDS, but this one is even better. Great vocals!
Hamird - 23.06.2008 at 09:22  
Lucas rated this album in the best way. and explaining Attila's role in Mayhem was really great too. I like this review because I'm totally agree with this review. And it can be a bit unfair to De Mysteriies Dom Sathanes but I think this album is better than DMDS!

A special thanks to God/Satan or anyone else who has sent back Atilla to Mayhem, to release another great album again.
Cocacolacowboy - 23.06.2008 at 09:39  
this album > De Mysteriis

very different...vicious,experimental,noisy

its obvious Attila hanging out with sunno))) and being apart of southern lord has rubbed off on Mayhem.
Lucas - 24.06.2008 at 15:24  
After a long time, I have finally decided that Ordo Ad Chao is way better than DMDS. And Attila is really a cool guy. (have to brag about interviewing him with Jerry =D). And live... even in daylight they were great.
Warman - 24.06.2008 at 15:56  
Written by Lucas on 24.06.2008 at 15:24

After a long time, I have finally decided that Ordo Ad Chao is way better than DMDS. And Attila is really a cool guy. (have to brag about interviewing him with Jerry =D). And live... even in daylight they were great.

It's hard for me to choose. While "Ordo Ad Chao" blew me away as soon as I pressed play (and still does actually) I feel that "De Mysteriis dom Sathanas" has more replay value. I guess I want to say that "Ordo Ad Chao" is the better one, just to be a little different. But I really don't know. But the "Ordo Ad Chao" vocals are insane, those can't be beaten. I was shocked when I heard stuff like "Deconsecrate"!
Bitter Peace - 13.08.2008 at 23:17  
To me, this album perfectly captures the atmosphere that every other black metal band always wished they could achieve. Totally insane.
TheBigRossowski - 27.11.2008 at 23:05  
Written by Doc Godin on 16.10.2007 at 08:21

Written by Hyvaarin on 15.10.2007 at 16:24

Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.

You just don't get black metal .

Dont scare me like that man, i thought id have to brace myself for another onslaught of childish name calling.


Sorry, this is way old, but I had to quote you. You dirty-know nothing about black metal-hooker-poser, you!

Seriously, Lucas this review is great man, one of your best! That drumming really tied the album together, lol. Before I had been nagged to listen to this I had only heard "Deathcrush", "De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas" and "Live in Leipzig". DMDS destroyed my world, it was so powerful! The first time I heard it, I hated this sound and it became one of my classic favorites! After hearing Grand Declaration.. I was skeptical. But people persistently said I should listen to it.

Now I've had it for quite some time, I still don't own it, BUT SOON! This album is a must-have, a masterpiece and truly disgusting. I fucking love it! I really do not understand how people couldn't enjoy this album?!

I'm finally voting on the album and I'm giving it a ten. M-A-S-T-E-R-P-I-E-C-E!
Doc Godin - 28.11.2008 at 06:49  
Written by TheBigRossowski on 27.11.2008 at 23:05

Written by Doc Godin on 16.10.2007 at 08:21

Written by Hyvaarin on 15.10.2007 at 16:24

Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2007 at 02:38

what an overrated album. Seriously.

You just don't get black metal .

Dont scare me like that man, i thought id have to brace myself for another onslaught of childish name calling.


Sorry, this is way old, but I had to quote you. You dirty-know nothing about black metal-hooker-poser, you!

Seriously, Lucas this review is great man, one of your best! That drumming really tied the album together, lol. Before I had been nagged to listen to this I had only heard "Deathcrush", "De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas" and "Live in Leipzig". DMDS destroyed my world, it was so powerful! The first time I heard it, I hated this sound and it became one of my classic favorites! After hearing Grand Declaration.. I was skeptical. But people persistently said I should listen to it.

Now I've had it for quite some time, I still don't own it, BUT SOON! This album is a must-have, a masterpiece and truly disgusting. I fucking love it! I really do not understand how people couldn't enjoy this album?!

I'm finally voting on the album and I'm giving it a ten. M-A-S-T-E-R-P-I-E-C-E!

Well, as I've repeated many times by now, I've learned to enjoy it a little bit. I wouldn't go as far as calling it a masterpiece or anything, but I find it ok.
Uirapuru - 31.05.2009 at 20:37  
Man, this review is as excellent as the album. Really good. Perfect score also, this album is almost perfect. We can put it side by side with De Mysteriis, even thou this one is not as brutal as De Mysteriis, the quality and the atmosphere balance the equation.
''Wall of Water'' and ''Great work of ages'' are the highlights.
Array - 08.08.2009 at 20:51  
One of the best BM records.
BudDa - 13.10.2009 at 13:13  
Written by Lucas on 05.10.2007 at 21:35

Actually, I think this album could rival De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas as being their best effort.


My thoughts exactly. And I think the albums are abit similar just the Ordo Ad Chao is just alot slower which suits me perfectly!
!J.O.O.E.! - 16.03.2010 at 15:46  
Just listen to this album for about the 50th time and i'm still convinced it's a contender for album of the last decade. It's just perfect in every conceivable way. I pity those that didn't appreciate it, though I can understand why, lack of any real hooks and that bassy production makes it a difficult album (even though i loved it from the very first second).

Makes DMDS look like clumsy relic. This is creative genius at its sickest and best.
InnerSelf - 17.03.2010 at 13:06  
I know this will sound odd but I owe Dan Brown's "The lost symbol" because it made me like the album alot more than when I listened to it before
Ordo ad Chao or " Order from Chaos " is what this album is all about , the title expresses the tracks in the most appropriate way
One of the best of Black Metal albums I have ever heard
Array - 25.04.2010 at 19:43  
Ordo ad Chao is incorrect latin just like De Mysteriis Dom Sathanas. Chao should be written as Chaos, but it's genius written that way. There's no way to describe chaos in a written form, so you should listen via the record how Mayhem sculptures it (in order? you decide). Also, ad = to, ab = from. It's a wonderful album and you can hear how it's developed by listening Chimera.
InnerSelf - 28.04.2010 at 11:22  
I realized after writing my post that I got it all wrong , but I believe that Chaos in Latin is written Chao
after all it doesn't matter

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Mayhem - Ordo Ad Chao 6 30.04.2010 by Got Mayhem?
Events NZL, Auckland - Mayhem: Ordo Ad Chao Australian Tour 4.5 18.03.2008 by Noncorpus
Events AUS, Sydney - Mayhem: Ordo Ad Chao Australian Tour 4.5 24.03.2008 by
Reviews Mayhem - Live In Leipzig 4 01.11.2006 by
Reviews The Dead - Ritual Executions 3 16.11.2010 by Daggon



Hits total: 6607 | This month: 49