Rating:
7.5
Mind's Eye - A Gentleman's Hurricane
14 September 2007


01. Praying For Confession
02. Seven Days
03. AssassiNation
04. Chaos Unleashed
05. Hell's Invitation
06. Feed My Revolver
07. Ashes To Ashes (In Land Lullaby)
08. The Hour Of Need
09. Red Winter Sirens
10. Skin Crawl
11. Graveyard Hands
12. Say Goodnight
13. Pandora's Musical Box


The one word to describe Swedish progressive metal trio Mind's Eye is ambitious as they return with fifth full length album "A Gentleman's Hurricane". This is being released as an apparent world's first triple pack consisting of the music CD, a DVD "making of" and also a comic book to illustrate the concept story behind the album.

The album begins with somewhat of a mood setting track leading into the first full song on the album "Seven Days", and this along with next track "AssassiNation" make up two of the best and most representative tracks of the album. This is heavy progressive metal with good melodies, good guitars and good drums - this is a very accomplished sounding band that really know how to put a song onto a CD the right way. Helped along by the impressively talented voice of Andreas Novak, each track on the album has its own catchy melody. This is a common trend of the album, consistency is the way to do it, the tracks towards the tail end of the album have as much melody and oomph about them as the ones in the first half of the album. After familiarising yourself with the album you will almost certainly find yourself humming along with the songs they are so infectious.

Similarities can be drawn with a few bands, more so Dream Theater than any other band though. The whole feel of the music, the maturity about it, the heaviness and diversity to some extent are all similar. Andreas' singing makes tracks such as "AssassiNation" sound almost Masterplan like also. It has to be said that to vocals on the album are one of the top qualities to the whole package of Mind's Eye with his very convincing and confident wails and harps.

This album does not venture beyond the realms of heavy metal or progressive metal, but by the nature of progressive music itself this album is somewhat diverse, and constantly interesting which at seventy-five minutes is a hard task to do. The aforementioned first two songs, "Feed My Revolver" which also now has a promo video and the powerful "Red Winter Sirens" with its intense guitar and keyboard opening are all highlights of this high quality album. If you want to listen to it as a more casual listen you will still find yourself enjoying this but of course this does have a story and comic to it for the people that want more than a casual listen from their albums.

Seventy-five minutes is a long duration for an album, and although it is stimulating and interesting for most of its duration it might also seem like a bit of an uphill task when you start the first track playing. After listening to this many times, you may feel yourself not being drawn towards it nearly as much as when you first got it, and I would put that down to its length - so although we have a consistent, good album, an album this long is always going to suffer in some way.

The future looks bright for the Mind's Eye, if you appreciate progressive and heavy metal with good strong melodies I am sure you will check this album out, it will be worth your time.


Band profile: Mind's Eye
Album: A Gentleman's Hurricane


 



Written on 07.10.2007 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 53  
Search this topic:  


Queen Of Hippies - 07.10.2007 at 17:01  
Good review as always. I expected more negative points since 7,5 is not such a good rating. But I don't pay much attention to it.
Would you still recommend it to me, knowing that I like Progressive Metal, but that I get bored when listening to long albums?
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.10.2007 at 17:25  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2007 at 17:01

Good review as always. I expected more negative points since 7,5 is not such a good rating.


7.5 is a GOOD rating for 7.5/10 = 75/100 amd is therefore ABOVE average. When will people realise that such scores are GOOD scores.
Baz Anderson - 07.10.2007 at 17:43  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2007 at 17:01

Good review as always. I expected more negative points since 7,5 is not such a good rating. But I don't pay much attention to it.
Would you still recommend it to me, knowing that I like Progressive Metal, but that I get bored when listening to long albums?

Haha, well this is the video for a track on this album - listen to this and if you like it - you will enjoy the whole album.

I just really couldn't think of anything to say, maybe the band lacks really heartwarming music and thats why they haven't got a higher rating, but yeh, still 7.5 is a good rating. It is a good album!
Queen Of Hippies - 07.10.2007 at 18:11  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.10.2007 at 17:25

Written by Guest on 07.10.2007 at 17:01

Good review as always. I expected more negative points since 7,5 is not such a good rating.


7.5 is a GOOD rating for 7.5/10 = 75/100 amd is therefore ABOVE average. When will people realise that such scores are GOOD scores.


I don't like it when people give me lessons. Thank you. Plus, I was asking Barry. Not you.


@Barry:

Yes, I watched the video. I like it a lot actually. I'll try to get it.
rubyeye - 07.10.2007 at 23:15  
I think an (8) is a much better grade for this one. At first I was a little put off by the complexity and heaviness of the songs, after the incredibly beautiful "Walking on H2O". But after watching the making-of DVD, I started to appreciate and really deconstruct each song for a better listen. A few songs I still don't care for, and the overall length of the album, like its predecessor, makes it a chore to listen to at times.

However, there is no denying Mind's Eye are very capable and talented musicians. "A Gentleman's Hurricane" is truely their masterpiece, even despite some of the flaws.
Spyroid - 07.10.2007 at 23:46  
I've only heard Feed My Revolver and well... it's cool, but the chorus still sounds like some cheesy neo metal band. But I like their old CD's and it seems pretty good anyway. Might check it!
BreadGod - 08.10.2007 at 00:58  
"I'd say, George, this hurricane is quite ferocious, isn't it?"
"Quite."

Anyway, I should check this album out sometime.
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.10.2007 at 15:53  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2007 at 18:11

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 07.10.2007 at 17:25

Written by Guest on 07.10.2007 at 17:01

Good review as always. I expected more negative points since 7,5 is not such a good rating.


7.5 is a GOOD rating for 7.5/10 = 75/100 amd is therefore ABOVE average. When will people realise that such scores are GOOD scores.


I don't like it when people give me lessons. Thank you. Plus, I was asking Barry. Not you.


@Barry:

Yes, I watched the video. I like it a lot actually. I'll try to get it.


Sorry little miss righteous. Excuse ME for trying teach people some normal perspective concerning ratings.
Queen Of Hippies - 08.10.2007 at 16:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.10.2007 at 15:53


Sorry little miss righteous. Excuse ME for trying teach people some normal perspective concerning ratings.


I think whatever I want about the ratings. Your generously given little lesson, which I didn't ask by the way, wasn't needed. Thank you wise man.

Oh and, next time, if you want to teach people something, try to make it sound like advice, and not like a negative comment, an order or whatever. Then maybe people will appreciate your "lessons" a bit more.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Mind's Eye - A Gentleman's Hurricane 7.5 13.04.2013 by JÄY
Reviews Overkill - Ironbound 4.5 28.01.2010 by BudDa
Reviews Immolation - Majesty And Decay 4.5 04.03.2010 by ₣rost Giant
Reviews Twisted Sister - Stay Hungry 4.5 28.08.2009 by BitterCOld
Reviews Avantasia - The Wicked Symphony 4.5 29.05.2010 by corrupt



Hits total: 5116 | This month: 33