Arch Enemy - Rise Of The Tyrant review



Reviewer:
9.1

793 users:
8.12
Band: Arch Enemy
Album: Rise Of The Tyrant
Release date: September 2007


Disc I [CD]
01. Blood On Your Hands
02. The Last Enemy
03. I Will Live Again
04. In This Shallow Grave
05. Revolution Begins
06. Rise Of The Tyrant
07. The Day You Died
08. Intermezzo Liberté
09. Night Falls Fast
10. The Great Darkness
11. Vultures
12. The Oath [Kiss cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Live In South Ameica DVD]
01. I Am Legend / Out for Blood
02. Diva Satanica
+ Tour Movie


"If it ain't broke, don't fix it". With this motto leading Sweden's Arch Enemy vision, Rise of the Tyrant should sound like any of their previous albums, right? Wrong! They took all of their experience and added some to brought forth an incredible effort. But let's rewind a tad. Arch Enemy is the brainchild of talented guitarist Michael Amott, who after leaving the band Carcass, deviled in different projects before forming the band. However, the band really got in the public eye when a German female vocalist by the name of Angela Gossow joined to record Wages of Sin on 2000. Since then, Arch Enemy has become one of the beloved children of the Gothenburg Death Metal sound.

With the return of Christopher Amott on guitars, Arch Enemy has regained its lustrous guitar work due the mind-blowing harmony with his brother Michael. The band has upped the guitar work another notch to create amazing melodies with sharp edges. Just listen to the opening tack, 'Blood on your Hands', and see for yourself! And with the confirmation of Angela Gossow on vocals and a stable line-up, Arch Enemy is as healthy as you've ever been.

Another difference from their recent works is clearly the musicianship of Christopher and his vision to crack guitar solos all over the place. One can tell that the brothers are having a really good time on this record. As for the vocals, Angela's death voice sound more natural than on their previous work Doomsday Machine (less effects/production I guess). It all seems more natural, more fluid than on their previous album. The aggression is definitely still there, but somehow, the melodies of their Gothenburg sound are taking the better part of the sound. Arch Enemy is not afraid to slow down the pace at times, such as on 'Revolution Begins', only to create hypnotic atmospheres. The only hitch I can pick up is that a couple of tracks are not to the full potential of the album, but again, there is plenty to rejoice about. 'The Last Enemy' for example, is one of their most enthused tunes since the Wages of Sin era.

My verdict? Arch Enemy is risen. The Amott brothers are having the time of their life and the song-writing is more inspired than usual. Overall, what promised to be more of the same, ends up being a highlight in the career of the Swedish band. Arch Enemy proves again that inspired Melodic Death is alive and well by releasing one of this year's best albums.


Highlights: 'Blood on your Hands', The Last Enemy', 'Revolution Begins' and 'The Day You Died'


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 



Written on 13.10.2007 by Bringing you reviews of quality music and interesting questions such as:

"A picture is worth a thousand words. How many words is a song worth?"

I have only got so much patience and skills, you do the math.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 54   Visited by: 321 users
15.10.2007 - 23:05
Paradox0
Unasuming Madnes
im kind of disapointed with this album, especially being arch enemies 1st mediocre album. It seemes like they tried way to hard to be heavy but in the end did nothing special.
Loading...
18.10.2007 - 03:00
In_tallica
MAN, why is everyone so dissapointed with this album?
it beats the SHIT out of anthems and doomsday, there are so many tracks where i get that speciall feeling inside of me. maybe cuz i'm the biggest gothenburg freak in the world
anyway, i think this album is great, the day you died kicks ass! intermezzo Liberté is incredibly great, the first 5 songs are also great
I think it deserves AT LEAST a 7, probably more since i've only had this album about a few weeks
Loading...
20.10.2007 - 16:35
Eddie
Retired Mod.
I got to say, this album sounds really amazing to me I'm quite a fan of AE last works, so my opinion may be biased, but hell, if you somewhat like this style you got to pick it up and give it some spins. The guitar playing is really served on a silver, make that diamond, plate and I love it
Loading...
24.10.2007 - 00:03
wrathchild
I've only listened to it once in a rush, and yeah, apart from the opener track it wasn't that as good as the band's previous efforts. A bit more "corish"at times, yet the guitar work is somehow more technical, it seems.

What I would like to ask to whoever have the booklet if Fredrik Åkesson is mentioned in the credits, and if so, for which songs?
I remember Michael Ammott told me Fredrik had come up with killer riffs for the new album at MetalWay (when Christopher wasn't back in the band).
----
La belleza no reside en lo que puedas crear, sino en lo que eres capaz de transmitir
Beauty resides not in what you're able to create, but in what you're able to communicate


Txus, Mägo De Oz
Loading...
26.10.2007 - 12:42
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by wrathchild on 24.10.2007 at 00:03

I've only listened to it once in a rush, and yeah, apart from the opener track it wasn't that as good as the band's previous efforts. A bit more "corish"at times, yet the guitar work is somehow more technical, it seems.

What I would like to ask to whoever have the booklet if Fredrik Åkesson is mentioned in the credits, and if so, for which songs?
I remember Michael Ammott told me Fredrik had come up with killer riffs for the new album at MetalWay (when Christopher wasn't back in the band).


No, he's not mentioned. All songs are written (or at least they take the credit for it) by michael amott or chris and sometimes by daniel.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
09.11.2007 - 01:35
Miss Norway
Account deleted
I really liked the album. I will live again and The last enemy, where great.
I can't say that Rise of the tyrant mesures up to the two last albums.
And I don't think it deserves a 9.1.. I would give It a 7.5.
Loading...
14.11.2007 - 15:41
Amrott
well add me to those who find this album amazing!!
this album is good, but it is a grower. i remeber when i first heard it i didn't find anything special on it, but really after a few spins you get to appreciate the guitar work of this album, the harmonies, the solos. okay it is not better than Burning Bridges, but then again i don't think they will ever top that, but this is definitely better than the last two CDs!!
Loading...
20.12.2007 - 15:41
Jotun_01
Account deleted
My friend let me borrow this CD and I listened to it and I can't really get into. It might take some time to grow on me, but for right now I don't like it that much as Wages of Sin and Burning Bridges.
Loading...
20.12.2007 - 18:48
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Its definately grows. The more I listen to it the more I like it.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
08.01.2008 - 06:13
xKata Alreshimx
Account deleted
This was my first Arch Enemy album, and I've got to say I was and still am blown away. Angela Gossow (obviously now on my list of Top Female Singers in Metal) is almost terrifying in her vocal ability, though I Will Live Again is one of the very few songs that I have ever come across in which I think clean vocals may not be a terrible addition if they didn't deal a severe blow to Arch Enemy's sound and fan base. And the instruments! Some of the solos took a couple listens to really appreciate, but the technical beauty of each song (as well as the occasional killer synth part) truly make Arch Enemy the memorable driving force that it is. Personal favorites include Blood On Your Hands, Rise of the Tyrant, I Will Live Again, and The Great Darkness.
Loading...
09.01.2008 - 00:44
Syk
myspace/bonerama
Written by Guest on 08.01.2008 at 06:13
People might jump on me for this, but I would recommend their Anthems of Rebellion next. Welcome to the site
----
deaththrashdeath/doom/prog ‡ Hail Zoldon!

he's not the kind you have to wind up on Sundays
Loading...
13.01.2008 - 14:21
trapedINaCORNER
Account deleted
This album may be the best of Arch Enemy (i've listened to the 4 last) but that doesn't mean it deserves a note over 9. It has 3-4 songs with good melody, but there are melodies on this album which look like beiing stolen (check humanity of Scorpions). It looks like Arch Enemy are overrated...
Loading...
15.01.2008 - 19:07
bodomroy
like this album, one of yhe best of the year. guiter work is excellent and the drums of erlandsen are amazing. i prefer this angela's vocal style than in the previous records.
to me is an 8. great work.:metal:
Loading...
19.02.2008 - 18:03
erctus-seth
Account deleted
Good enough! almost blows my mind! inspiration i think...
Loading...
17.03.2008 - 23:14
GodlessOne
This is the worst album arch enemy has put out since getting Angela, her vocals turned the band around till they produced Rise Of The Tyrant. This album is a 6 or maybe just maybe a 7 but an 8 give me a break.
----
Sometimes I stay awake waiting for somthing and realize its time to rest..., - Chase Srozinski
Loading...
19.03.2008 - 14:44
tcline
I would have to agree that this album is mediocre in almost every way. It feels like they are just making albums of filler to please the MTV/Hot Topic crowd now. Very disappointed.....
Loading...
23.09.2008 - 03:54
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
Written by Demonic Tutor on 14.10.2007 at 15:23

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.10.2007 at 15:02

funny this was actually the FIRST raving review I have read about this album anywhere (even the mainstream metal mags found it plain and boring and uninspired pure stadium metal)


I find it hard to believe that so many people find this uninspired. I find this "Rise of the Tyrant" quite enjoyable, and not boring at all. You want boring? Well, turn on mainstream radio.

But it's clear that I am part of a minority regarding this release. I just was not aware of that before reading the comments here

I friggin loved it as well. Before I could never get into Arch Enemy, I saw them live once, they played an amazing show so I went out and bought Doomsday Machine but I could never get into it. Then I saw them live a second time and they put on an amazing show again, which re-sparked my interest in them so I decided to buy this album considering it was pretty cheap, and I was amazed. The first 7 tracks are non-stop awesome. My rating would've probably been the same as yours. Maybe I should give Doomsday Machine another chance...

BTW- Am I the only one who thinks of Anime films while listening to this album?
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
09.04.2009 - 21:48
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
This album has some nice songs but IMO there is no identity on it. it is just mediocre. it is boring. i would expect more from AE.
----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
10.06.2009 - 19:33
lord artan
Best album in world
Loading...
10.06.2009 - 21:14
Deadmeat
Necrobutcher
Written by lord artan on 10.06.2009 at 19:33

Best album in world

----
Υou've sold your human essence to the cold world of dead and empty things... You're SOLD!
Loading...
10.06.2009 - 23:22
lord artan
:banger2::sleep::wave:
Loading...
18.12.2009 - 09:00
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Well.. some very extreme opinions from both sides here... ''mediocre and boring'' to ''best album ever''.

I found it surprisingly good. Althou I hate Angela's vocals, they are not so bad here, the rythm, timing and catchyness of the songs makes everything else sound better. This is the best AC album with Angela, surpassing Anthems Of Rebellion.

But still far from my beloved Burning Bridges
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
05.02.2012 - 20:43
treptolemus
aphotic_zoning
Well i think it's a combative let's say, release. I put the disc for a song, when i'm in the mood -then most of the time, i listen more than one. There's enough "hookstuff" in there.
In this Shallow Grave recent favorite
----
\m/etalstor\m/
Loading...
13.05.2014 - 20:34
Dr. Strawberry
9.1 ?
You must be kidding me.
Armott bros' are totally in their own world, thinking how to out-perform other band members, their guitar work does not blend well with the vocalist's singing melodies at all !
What an awlful album.
Loading...

Hits total: 11217 | This month: 11