Rating:
6.4
DragonForce - Inhuman Rampage
9 January 2006


Disc I [CD]
01. Through The Fire And Flames
02. Revolution Deathsquad
03. Storming The Burning Fields
04. Operation Ground And Pound
05. Body Breakdown
06. Cry For Eternity
07. The Flame Of Youth
08. Trail Of Broken Hearts
09. Lost Souls In Endless Time [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [DVD]
01. My Spirit Will Go On [live]
02. Through The Fire And Flames [video]
03. Operation Ground and Pound [video]
04. Rockumentary: Behind The Scenes


Through over production, unbearably cheesy lyrical content and musical masturbation, one wonders how an album like this could bring a band such mainstream success so quickly.

The first track 'Through The Fire And The Flames' comes on and it's amazing: insane guitar work, top notch vocals, and some cheesy (yet fun to sing along to) lyrics. The next song has pretty much the same format but with a slightly less catchy tune....and then the entire album seems to follow this pattern. It eventually comes to a point where it's not even songs anymore, but just Herman and Sam showing how fast they can play, which doesn't really offer any listening pleasure to the listener (hence the term musical masturbation). So you can fit 30 000 notes in in 0.5 seconds - there is no point to it if your song structure sucks beyond that point.

Another problem I have is how contrived this album seems. Like these guys are obsessed with filling out the power metal cliche with really meaningless lyrics like these: "Fighting hard/fighting on for the steel/through the wastelands evermore" What the hell is that even supposed to mean? We get it, you are power metal, now write something different, perhaps some lyrics you haven't used for every other song in your discography.

OK, now that I've got that out of my system, I'll try and find something likable about this album. When Herman and Sam aren't wanking off, they do have some very interesting material offering great heroic licks. Too bad they don't exercise this skill as often as they should. And yes, the music is cliche but it can be fun if you are in the right mood - otherwise it's just tedious.

Maybe I was being a little harsh on this album, but after sitting through countless cliched power metal albums, when you stumble across yet another one that seems to be trying even harder to fill out that cliche, you start to get a little frustrated.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: DragonForce
Album: Inhuman Rampage


 


written by Doc Godin | 16.11.2007


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 48  
Users visited: 259  
Search this topic:  


Paradox0 - 17.01.2008 at 23:00  
I feel exactly the same way about the songs becoming "not even songs anymore, but just Herman and Sam showing how fast they can play". The one song which kind of stood out uniquly was Body Breakdown, mainly because of the bass solo. Now if they just structured the songs better and maybe changed the way they did leads (think megadeth meets stratovarious) and you'd have a truely epic band.
Spyroid - 23.01.2008 at 15:13  
I think that this band is great fun, just because they are so over the top cliché that it becomes ridicolous. If you see them live and listen to the completely meaningless lyrics you feel almost sure that this band is just a parody. The music is not neceserily good but I can still enjoy this album. I think that the song structures of about half of the songs are pretty lousy, but that's the only bad thing. Still I wouldn't rate it more than 7-8 because it's not GOOD, it's just enjoyable. Ah, now I want to write a review myself

And of course, good review!
+{Jonas}+ - 10.02.2008 at 20:14  
Quote:
30 000 notes in in 0.5 seconds
lol!

Maybe what tehy try to do is to mock all the power metal clichés, adding their inhuman speed, making a very fun band, and some pretty cool (even anti-depresive) albums.
Passenger - 09.08.2008 at 16:47  
Shut up, this stuff is awesome, and I hate Power Metal with a passion
4look4rd - 20.08.2008 at 20:35  
I hate DragonForce, its one of those bands that make people hate power metal and stereotype PM "meaningless lyrics with fast guitars" I DF members should be shot, or at last have their fingers cut off
Doc Godin - 20.08.2008 at 21:41  
Written by 4look4rd on 20.08.2008 at 20:35

I hate DragonForce, its one of those bands that make people hate power metal and stereotype PM "meaningless lyrics with fast guitars" I DF members should be shot, or at last have their fingers cut off

Well put. I dont think Ive ever met a Dragonforce fan over the age of 16, its all about flash, I mean, I do enjoy watching the music videos for the same reason one goes to the circus to see acrobats and what not. But when your not watching the videos you notice how talentless they are at writing songs, theyve written 3 songs in there entire career, thats about it, every song theyve written is pretty much a slight variation of those 3 songs.
hearts_alive - 21.08.2008 at 17:09  
I saw these guys support Machine Head. Their onstage "guitar-wankery" quickly grew tiresome, especially as they seemed to playing their songs at half the speed of which they sound on the album.

Good/Accurate review!
Doc Godin - 21.08.2008 at 23:13  
Written by Guest on 21.08.2008 at 17:26

Written by Doc Godin on 20.08.2008 at 21:41

Written by 4look4rd on 20.08.2008 at 20:35

I hate DragonForce, its one of those bands that make people hate power metal and stereotype PM "meaningless lyrics with fast guitars" I DF members should be shot, or at last have their fingers cut off

Well put. I dont think Ive ever met a Dragonforce fan over the age of 16, its all about flash, I mean, I do enjoy watching the music videos for the same reason one goes to the circus to see acrobats and what not. But when your not watching the videos you notice how talentless they are at writing songs, theyve written 3 songs in there entire career, thats about it, every song theyve written is pretty much a slight variation of those 3 songs.


How is suggesting death and/or dismemberment as a punishment for a bands artistic expression "well put"?

Agreed, though - they are lackluster songwriters.

Uhhhh...I was talking about the first part of the post.....About stereotyping and such.
DanielViking - 17.11.2008 at 22:37  
Power metal stuff fast as fuck, loud and harder as you can get. the quality of these musicians is beyond imagination. great album. 8
BlankFile - 04.01.2009 at 04:51  
Unfortunetly i have to agree with the whole review. In fact im thinking of selling my Dragonforce albums, because they´re music is too much repetitive. It isn´t satisfying anymore, it only becomes more boring at each listening. It´s sad but true.
Doc Godin - 03.03.2009 at 09:59  
Written by DanielViking on 17.11.2008 at 22:37

Power metal stuff fast as fuck, loud and harder as you can get. the quality of these musicians is beyond imagination. great album. 8

Musicianship should be about song writing quality as well. It pisses me off when people try to turn music into a science or a sport rather than art. Dragonforce can't write songs.
AiwiAstwihad - 05.04.2009 at 23:51  
Quote:

Like these guys are obsessed with filling out the power metal cliche with really meaningless lyrics like these: "Fighting hard/fighting on for the steel/through the wastelands evermore" What the hell is that even supposed to mean?


Haha...When i first listened to this album, i thought there's probably something wrong with my english, that's why i find no relevance in their lyrics.
In spite of the senseless cheesy lyrics, i somewhat like the sound of their music and the speed....
Hrothdane - 13.04.2009 at 07:10  
Written by Doc Godin on 03.03.2009 at 09:59

Written by DanielViking on 17.11.2008 at 22:37

Power metal stuff fast as fuck, loud and harder as you can get. the quality of these musicians is beyond imagination. great album. 8

Musicianship should be about song writing quality as well. It pisses me off when people try to turn music into a science or a sport rather than art. Dragonforce can't write songs.


Well put. In an interview I read, the band members said themselves don't consider what they do as any form of art. They even said that they would disband if they fade out of the spotlight.

They are like the guys you contract to paint your ceiling. They know how to use a brush, how to paint quickly and cleanly, and the technical minutiae of painting, but they are no Michelangelo. Art is more than craftsmanship. Art requires some kind of message or purpose to define it. Dragonforce, by their own admission, doesn't care about art, and that disregard permeates this whole album.
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 07:52  
Written by Butters49 on 16.11.2008 at 22:37

DragonForce is like that Videogame Hedgehog guy in a never ending level.


Funny, as I use the term 'videogame cheesemetal' to describe Dragonforce's music.

Does anyone here ever listened to Demoniac, the Black Metal band in which Herman Li and Sam Totman played before Dragonforce? Really awful. Imagine music close to what Dragonforce are doing now, but with horrible semi-harsh vocals.

@Dr.Rock: I totally agree with you on the over-the-top cheesiness, the cliché aspect and musical masturbation. This music has no artistic value, from my point of view. Especially for someone like me who tends to dislike high-pitched guitar shredding. I can enjoy nice guitar solos, of course, but I never listen to metal music for the solos themselves. Also, Dragonforce's music sounds like a studio trick made only for the sake of money. I don't like when bands sound like a studio trick (Rhapsody is another example here of a band that sounds fake).
Wyrd - 30.06.2009 at 22:03  
I love Power Metal, but DragonForce is just Killing it and I Hate them so much that
Ellrohir - 18.09.2009 at 11:27  
I still think this isnt that bad, compared to crap they have introduced last year...
Uirapuru - 19.05.2010 at 06:47  
Written by Butters49 on 16.11.2008 at 22:37

DragonForce is like that Videogame Hedgehog guy in a never ending level.


Duuude.. that Hedgehog is SONIC! How can you forget his name?

But about the album, althou I don't care much about Power metal and it's directions, I do agree on the subject about the cliche lyrics... it's funny and cool on the first couple of songs, but a whole album of this is too much cheese even for me...
Jacavada - 24.06.2010 at 23:06  
Accurate review
the first time I listened to trough the fire and the flames,I loved it.
But then I listened to the cd.ALL THE MUSICS ARE THE SAME!
they play the guitar very well(or fast),but they use it so much that you just can't see the difference.
And then I payed attention to the Lyrics.THEY JUST DON'T MAKE SENSE!
THis cd and all the others of dragonforce just throwed my first impression in the trash,and I don't think the guitars are as good as I thought before.
Though the musics are the same, I think the CD deserves a 7.5 , because of the epic musics.They have great potential, but they just can't make different musics.A pity
Lord_Regnier - 24.06.2010 at 23:16  
Since "Sonic Firestorm", all they're doing is releasing the same bullshit rehashed album after album.
Kennoth - 08.08.2010 at 17:22  
Sure, their songwriting is shit, we all get it. Now while not defending them in any way, Cannibal Corpse and most of the brutal death metal, goregrind and such bands can't write for shit (just include as much child rape and gore as you can and you'll do fine) but nobody seems to have any problem with that.
vezzy - 08.08.2010 at 20:01  
Written by Kennoth on 08.08.2010 at 17:22

Sure, their songwriting is shit, we all get it. Now while not defending them in any way, Cannibal Corpse and most of the brutal death metal, goregrind and such bands can't write for shit (just include as much child rape and gore as you can and you'll do fine) but nobody seems to have any problem with that.


Cannibal Corpse =/= brutal death.
Cannibal Corpse are generic DM with gore lyrics, the fact that you use them in your petty anti-death metal/goregrind crusade shows how much you know.
Also, I'd say a lot of those bands are far better than StudioForce.
RavenKing - 08.08.2010 at 21:35  
Written by vezzy on 08.08.2010 at 20:01

Cannibal Corpse =/= brutal death.


Sorry to disagree but, imo, Cannibal Corpse is nothing else than Brutal Death.
Perhaps more old school than some more modern Brutal Death bands, but it's not pure old school DM like Bolt Thrower or Cancer or Death or some others.

I agree that the band is trendy among teens and commercialized a lot in a way but their music has nothing commercial.
Kennoth - 09.08.2010 at 01:34  
Written by vezzy on 08.08.2010 at 20:01

Cannibal Corpse =/= brutal death.
Cannibal Corpse are generic DM with gore lyrics, the fact that you use them in your petty anti-death metal/goregrind crusade shows how much you know.
Also, I'd say a lot of those bands are far better than StudioForce.


I never said I was a DM expert, and no, unlike yourself, I don't have a need to go on a crusades of any kind. Though pretty much most people would agree that they are brutal death...
Necronus - 09.08.2010 at 01:41  
Quote:
Though pretty much most people would agree that they are brutal death...


Would that be "most metalheads" or "most people, regardless of how much they know about metal"?
vezzy - 09.08.2010 at 11:15  
Written by Kennoth on 09.08.2010 at 01:34

Written by vezzy on 08.08.2010 at 20:01

Cannibal Corpse =/= brutal death.
Cannibal Corpse are generic DM with gore lyrics, the fact that you use them in your petty anti-death metal/goregrind crusade shows how much you know.
Also, I'd say a lot of those bands are far better than StudioForce.


I never said I was a DM expert, and no, unlike yourself, I don't have a need to go on a crusades of any kind. Though pretty much most people would agree that they are brutal death...


Yet you attacked it because you're butthurt about Scar Symmetry.
Kennoth - 09.08.2010 at 15:23  
Written by Necronus on 09.08.2010 at 01:41

Quote:
Though pretty much most people would agree that they are brutal death...


Would that be "most metalheads" or "most people, regardless of how much they know about metal"?


The former. Naturally though, some people will claim otherwise just to prove me wrong.
Kennoth - 09.08.2010 at 15:24  
Written by vezzy on 09.08.2010 at 11:15

Yet you attacked it because you're butthurt about Scar Symmetry.


I hardly call it an attack. I was merely drawing a parallel between band with one nonsense lyrics that can get away with it and another that can't.
Ozman - 09.08.2010 at 15:26  
Written by Kennoth on 09.08.2010 at 15:24

Written by vezzy on 09.08.2010 at 11:15

Yet you attacked it because you're butthurt about Scar Symmetry.


I hardly call it an attack. I was merely drawing a parallel between band with one nonsense lyrics that can get away with it and another that can't.


Well although I think Cannibal Corpse is crap, they are musically a lot more interesting to me, plus they can pull off their music live, whereas DragonFarce can't.
I agree that both band's lyrics are totally worthless. But then again I don't care for lyrics normally.
vezzy - 09.08.2010 at 15:28  
Written by Kennoth on 09.08.2010 at 15:24

Written by vezzy on 09.08.2010 at 11:15

Yet you attacked it because you're butthurt about Scar Symmetry.


I hardly call it an attack. I was merely drawing a parallel between band with one nonsense lyrics that can get away with it and another that can't.


Except one band actually has decent music for the first four albums (great compared to DragonForce) and average/slightly below later on. It's the music.
spiritofvengence - 07.09.2010 at 15:40  
I thought you all liked cliche, at least when it came to metal
Doc Godin - 07.09.2010 at 17:44  
Written by spiritofvengence on 07.09.2010 at 15:40

I thought you all liked cliche, at least when it came to metal

Cliche isn't the main complaint here.
Axe Argonian - 04.11.2010 at 22:44  
This is a very accurate review. DragonForce is nothing more than an uninspired, commercialized attempt at milking off of the Power Metal genre. The sad news is that there are many other Power Metal bands that possess more originality and more talent that these guys will ever know, yet DF is the band that receives the mainstream attention and success.

DragonForce is an insult to metal and is one of the main reasons why the mainstream will never begin to comprehend what true metal is.
Vikcen - 05.11.2010 at 03:25  
Written by Axe Argonian on 04.11.2010 at 22:44


DragonForce is an insult to metal and is one of the main reasons why the mainstream will never begin to comprehend what true metal is.


Oh my god, i caaaaaaan't believe it, are you the god of metal ?? here is the supreme god of metal!!
Ellrohir - 05.11.2010 at 14:27  
He could shake hands with Marcel
Vikcen - 06.11.2010 at 01:33  
Written by Ellrohir on 05.11.2010 at 14:27

He could shake hands with Marcel


Yeah, well, i know, he is another great god, you know, exists various gods , he is one more .
Lit. - 06.11.2010 at 21:30  
Perhaps if DragonForce became an instrumental band...
Xnoybis - 07.11.2010 at 07:13  
Written by Lit. on 06.11.2010 at 21:30

Perhaps if DragonForce became an instrumental band...



...

Dragonfarce part ways with vocalist.

and as i said then:

Written by Xnoybis on 09.03.2010 at 18:07

Good move, imo. the vocals just took too much potential guitar solo time away from songs.
FrozenJoy - 19.03.2011 at 00:17  
Sorry to almost all the above guys, but I think this album deserves 8.5/9... Insane power metal with insanely fast solos, insanely fast drums, and really high voices... I know it's tiring at one point, but as an album to listen a few times per week, I think it's really good... Who cares about the songs being insane soloing? This is just happy, epic power metal... Some people (like me) fucking loves itXD
And about the lyrics, I completely agree with what Kennoth said before... Cannibal Corpse writes about gore, blood, paraphilias, and rapes ALL THE FUCKING TIME and no one complains, Dark Funeral writes about satanism, spilling christian blood and sins ALL THE FUCKING TIME and no one complains, Rhapsody (I love this oneXD) writes the CHEESIEST lyrics ever and no one complains... What about this guys? They do the same, and everyone hates them...
I hope the new vocalist is better than ZP...
RavenKing - 19.03.2011 at 01:41  
Written by FrozenJoy on 19.03.2011 at 00:17

This is just happy, epic power metal...


cheesiness =/= epicness

There's absolutely nothing epic in Dragonforce, only cheese all over the place.
FrozenJoy - 19.03.2011 at 06:00  
Written by RavenKing on 19.03.2011 at 01:41

Written by FrozenJoy on 19.03.2011 at 00:17

This is just happy, epic power metal...


cheesiness =/= epicness

There's absolutely nothing epic in Dragonforce, only cheese all over the place.


Weird, I always thought epicness and cheesiness went together... But anyway, if it's cheesy, what's wrong with it? Cheesiness can make music fun... xD
RavenKing - 19.03.2011 at 07:10  
Written by FrozenJoy on 19.03.2011 at 06:00

Weird, I always thought epicness and cheesiness went together...


Thanks. Your comment confirms what I knew already: lots of people nowadays don't know the difference between epicness and cheesiness.
FrozenJoy - 19.03.2011 at 07:35  
Hey, I never said they are the same... I said they appear together a lot of times... (for example, Rhapsody of Fire)
Anyway, what's the problem with some people liking Dragonforce? It's about enjoying the music, man... Cheesy, dark, cruel, epic, raw, happy, violent, complex, simple, minimalistic, grandiose... Nothing more ... Personally, I don't enjoy Black Metal very much, but I don't go everywhere talking crap about it, cause some people likes it, and I don't see anything wrong...
Luneth - 19.03.2011 at 13:46  
Written by FrozenJoy on 19.03.2011 at 07:35

Hey, I never said they are the same... I said they appear together a lot of times... (for example, Rhapsody of Fire)
Anyway, what's the problem with some people liking Dragonforce? It's about enjoying the music, man... Cheesy, dark, cruel, epic, raw, happy, violent, complex, simple, minimalistic, grandiose... Nothing more ... Personally, I don't enjoy Black Metal very much, but I don't go everywhere talking crap about it, cause some people likes it, and I don't see anything wrong...


-It's like looking at a mirror in time-

You think DragonForce have it hard? Lol, trust me, that is a delusion. Obviously there is nothing wrong with liking DragonForce...I love Dragonland and they are the cheesiest shit out there, who cares? And you're right again, it is about the music, and if someone doesn't think the music is good...why aren't they entitled to that opinion? I used to love DragonForce as much [probably more] as you do, I don't anymore for various reasons, [namely, everything after VotD has been recycled and their songwriting ability is just too meaningless and, as Doc said, contrived] and people's opinions on them used to bug me too, but believe me, it's A Minor [c wot i did thar?]

Oh and lastly, not liking BM isn't reason enough to go and 'talk crap about it', people here, who you deem to be 'talking crap about DragonForce' are people who actually have listened to their stuff quite a lot, others, who have listened to loads of Power Metal so can give an opinion on a band in the genre, regardless of whether they actually know 'more-than-a-DragonForce-fan'. Why would anyone who doesn't know anything about a genre trash talk it? That's called insanity.
Troy Killjoy - 20.03.2011 at 00:59  
Written by Luneth on 19.03.2011 at 13:46

Oh and lastly, not liking BM isn't reason enough to go and 'talk crap about it', people here, who you deem to be 'talking crap about DragonForce' are people who actually have listened to their stuff quite a lot, others, who have listened to loads of Power Metal so can give an opinion on a band in the genre, regardless of whether they actually know 'more-than-a-DragonForce-fan'. Why would anyone who doesn't know anything about a genre trash talk it? That's called insanity.

Exactly. When I trash-talk Dragonforce (I don't capitalize the F because, unlike Slipknot and Korn fans, I don't feel the need to stylize a name to make my favorite bands look... cooler? Is it cooler? Or more kvlt? Whatever.) it's because I tried getting into power metal back in the day when I listened to a lot of melodic metalcore. I moved on to more extreme power bands like Norther and CoB and Skyfire (borderline melo-death, helped get me into that), but only because Dragonforce turned me off the idea of power metal altogether.

Eventually I returned to the genre to see what the '80s had in store. Turns out there's a big difference in quality there (Blind Guardian being the most memorable). Not like the difference in quality in regards to early '90s black metal and modern black metal, where one era is classic (with poor releases) and one is potentially classic (if looked back on in another 10 years, with poor releases). It was more like '80s power metal (with poor releases) being different than pop (...) with guitar solo abuse and Justin Bieber* wailing into a mic.

*Justin Bieber had, at this point in time, not yet risen to fame; I have since lost touch with my initial vocalist reference. My apologies.
Cuca Beludo - 09.12.2011 at 19:46  
Dragonforce has cheesy lyrics?Almost any Power Metal song (I have Heard!! ) has cheesy lyrics!
musclassia - 27.06.2012 at 16:17  
The first metal album I owned, was all over it back in the day, fell out of love with it in a year, and the band in general, and now very occasionally listen to a song off it in shuffle. However, still inclined to give it a fairly high score, possibly just for the memories but also because I do find it more memorable than a lot of PM I've heard, including some of the more renowned names. Songs like Revolution Deathsquad, Cry For Eternity and Flame Of Youth (despite their dogshite names) still give a very small kick of excitement on the rare occasions I listen to them.

The one real complaint I have, not with the review, but with opinions on this album and DF in general, is why they seem to be the scapegoat for a trait common not just in metal, but lots of music, over the whole 'everything sounds the same' thing. I'm not defending their music as something you have to like, and yes their songs are by-and-large fairly similar (but only in so much as being super-fast, cheesy lyrics and drowning in solo-abuse), but if people could look past the lazy stereotype, songs are obviously different (at least on this album) if you actually listen to them, aside from the solos maybe. My main bugbear is over why they always get ripped for having similar-sounding songs when the same could be said of oh so many bands who could easily be accused of equal or lesser variation between songs, who get off scott-free. It just seems lazy. *Pointless rant over*
Epictemptation - 21.01.2013 at 04:00  
I actually liked this album.......
Drizzlewoolf - 24.07.2013 at 23:04  
I totaly agree. And I'll add that the drum part is quit wearying... I just cant understand how a band able to compose such a masterpiece as Through The Fire And Flammes could reveal so many defects... I hope they will improve that and become a real great power metal band (because by this time they're just going the wrong way)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums DragonForce - Inhuman Rampage 6 24.02.2011 by PowerThrash
Reviews DragonForce - Valley Of The Damned 4 06.06.2006 by Hyvaarin
Reviews Arch Enemy - Tyrants Of The Rising Sun: Live In Japan 3.5 03.08.2009 by Paradox0
Reviews Korpiklaani - Tales Along This Road 3 30.06.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Alestorm - Captain Morgan's Revenge 3 20.04.2008 by Ellrohir



Hits total: 5115 | This month: 41