Rating:
7.5
Helrunar - Baldr Ok Íss
29 October 2007


01. Dickichtgott
02. Loka Lögsaga
03. Schwarzer Frost
04. Baldr
05. Íss
06. Winter
07. Glámr
08. Hunta And Boga
09. Til Jarðar
10. Baldrs Draumar


With the wind violently raging, acoustic strumming across the sky, the drums beating in rhythm with the vikings and their bloodlust and a german voice uttering eerie words, the atmosphere is great from the start. The omens of Pagan Black Metal, a genre that I don't regularly listen to and therefore find hard to value, darken the sky. Helrunar is on the warpath!

Fans who like their metal black, and who can also appreciate a band like the Swedish Månegarm, should definitely give this a try. Eventhough Helrunar relies much more on Black Metal, the folk influences are definitely present. A plucked intro or a folkish riff here and there, but most of all the vocals that are schorching, relentless pagan screams. Nothing that hasn't been done before, but we cannot all be genius minds and innovators, right? Skald Draugir and his bandmates seem to have understood that and instead they focus on refining the old ideas. So they do what they do best: raging metal and dark atmospheres. When they are slowing down a bit, such as in "Hunta And Boga" (with a male choir) they also lose my attention a bit. Unfortunatly, at the end of the album the slower songs take over and they make the album drag on. A shame, since they started out fiercely.

Helrunar is a band that knows what it wants, and how it should be done. A strong album like "Baldr Ok Íss" is the result of such confidence. Fans of the aforementioned Månegarm and Pagan Black Metallers in general will not be disappointed by this release.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 8


Band profile: Helrunar
Album: Baldr Ok Íss


 



Written on 23.10.2007 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 47  
Search this topic:  


Pétur - 25.10.2007 at 02:31  
sounds nice, will give it a try soon.
Hyvaarin - 25.10.2007 at 03:53  
"Dickichtgott"

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah. Sounds like a band worth checking out, though .
Lucas - 25.10.2007 at 12:39  
Written by Hyvaarin on 25.10.2007 at 03:53

"Dickichtgott"

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah. Sounds like a band worth checking out, though .


Yeah I'm wonderering what it means.
Queen Of Hippies - 26.10.2007 at 22:51  
Written by Hyvaarin on 25.10.2007 at 03:53

"Dickichtgott"

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah. Sounds like a band worth checking out, though .


It sounds as if you were saying "Dick ist Gott" with a hot potatoe in your mouth. Awesome .
Opium - 27.10.2007 at 00:02  
Written by Guest on 26.10.2007 at 22:51

Written by Hyvaarin on 25.10.2007 at 03:53

"Dickichtgott"

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah. Sounds like a band worth checking out, though .


It sounds as if you were saying "Dick ist Gott" with a hot potatoe in your mouth. Awesome .

It's only awesome if you think about it immaturely
Promonex - 02.11.2007 at 00:28  
Written by Lucas on 25.10.2007 at 12:39

Written by Hyvaarin on 25.10.2007 at 03:53

"Dickichtgott"

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah. Sounds like a band worth checking out, though .


Yeah I'm wonderering what it means.

Thicket god. Bunch of pervs

Oh yeah, and Grátr > Baldr Ok Íss
TheGrandDevilry - 04.11.2007 at 08:59  
I love this band and i cant wait to get this cd, they are brilliant |m|(>_<)|m|
HolyandFallen - 26.06.2008 at 18:48  
still searching for this band. A friend said it is a really good band.
Aristarchos - 31.12.2012 at 22:49  
I like this album. I'm glad they don't focus too much on the folk element, which is too common in this kind of music.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Bloody Panda - Summon 3 19.11.2009 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Kratornas - The Corroding Age Of Wounds 3 28.01.2010 by Valentin B
Reviews Midvinter - At The Sight Of The Apocalypse Dragon 3 22.03.2010 by LeChron James
Reviews Prosanctus Inferi - Pandemonic Ululations Of Vesperic Palpitation 3 19.05.2010 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Seelentod - The Ageless Dynasty 3 12.10.2009 by Got Mayhem?



Hits total: 6121 | This month: 22