Rating:
9.0
Fear Factory - Archetype
20 April 2004


01. Slave Labor
02. Cyberwaste
03. Act Of God
04. Default Judgement
05. Corporate Cloning
06. Archetype
07. Drones
08. Bite The Hand That Bleeds...
09. Bonescraper
10. Undercurrent
11. Human Shields
12. Ascencion
13. School [Nirvana cover] [bonus]


----------------------------------
SECURITRON Remote Terminal v.3.1.4
----------------------------------
USERNAME: fear_factory
PASSWORD: *******

***USER ACCEPTED***

[fearfactory@bonescraper]#./vir_scan

######################################
RUNNING VIRUS SCAN
.....33%
.....66%
.....100%
STATUS REPORT:
NO INFECTION DETECTED
LAST VIRUS REMOVAL: CAZERAS.vir
SYSTEM RESTORED
######################################

[fearfactory@bonescraper]#./sys_diag

######################################
RUNNING SYSTEM DIAGNOSTIC
.....33%
.....66%
.....100%
STATUS REPORT:
THE INFECION HAS BEEN REMOVED
THE SOUL OF THIS MACHINE HAS IMPROVED
######################################

[fearfactory@bonescraper]#/sbin/lsmod
SCANNING.... 13 modules loaded
PRINTING INTEGRITY REPORT:

***SLAVE_LABOR.mod
Dependencies: DEMANUFACTURE.mod
Description: High tempo. Test subjects experienced desire to sing along with vocal unit. Headbanging desire also detected.
Integrity: Excellent

***CYBERWASTE.mod ]]]
Dependencies: SOUL_OF_A_NEW_MACHINE.mod
Description: Module contains extreme contents. Please treat with caution. Blastbeats and a high vocal unit distortion detected.
Integrity: Excellent

***ACT_OF_GOD.mod ]]]
Dependencies: DEMANUFACTURE.mod, OBSOLETE.mod
Description: Minor brain concussion in test subjects detected. Hammering of the senses. Caution advised.
Integrity: VERY GOOD

***DEFAULT_JUDGEMENT.mod
Dependencies: OBSOLETE.mod, GODFLESH.mod
Description: Plodding, extreme weight detected. Sonic signal designed for maximum headbanging pleasure.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***CORPORATE_CLONING.mod
Dependencies: none
Description: Completely original code. Very apt coding detected. Slight vocal module incompatibility.
Integrity: GOOD

***ARCHETYPE.mod
Dependencies: none
Description: High catchiness factor introduced. Coding written in novel way. High proficiency of synthesizer unit.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***DRONES.mod
Dependencies: OBSOLETE.mod
Description: *WARNING* Copyright infringement detected: chorus command too similar to DESCENT.mod
Integrity: AVERAGE

***BITE_THE_HAND_THAT_BLEEDS_YOU.mod
Dependencies: RESSURECTION.mod
Description: Test subjects report this module is the best melodic sonic construct this machine has ever performed.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***BONESCRAPER.mod
Dependencies: MESHUGGAH.mod, SOUL_OF_A_NEW_MACHINE.mod
Description: Maximum Effective Pulse Generator overkill. Only this machine can run a module like this.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***UNDERCURRENT.mod
Dependencies: DIGIMORTAL.mod, RESSURECTION.mod
Description: All traces of "nu" code have been deleted. Module contains original code and apt coding. Research confirms high probability of sonic message residing in receivers memory for an extended period of time.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***HUMAN_SHIELDS.mod
Dependencies: ISIS.mod
Description: Based on ISIS code, this module is designed to produce a very distinct atmosphere. Unlike anything this machine has performed before.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***ASCENSION.mod
Dependencies: HUMAN_SHIELDS.mod
Description: Minimalistic outro construct. Vocal unit and synthesizer unit only.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

***SCHOOL.mod
Dependencies: COVERS.mod, NIRVANA.mod
Description: Port of SCHOOL.mod from a different system. Level of conversion: very high.
Integrity: EXCELLENT

CALCULATING OVERALL INTEGRITY
....
OVERALL INTEGRITY: VERY GOOD
REVIEW DROID EVALUATION: Archetypal Fear Factory. A must have.

[fearfactory@bonescraper]#logout
USER HAS BEEN LOGGED OUT


Band profile: Fear Factory
Album: Archetype


 



Written on 17.03.2004 by
jupitreas
With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. Privately not actually an asshole, he lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he runs his small graphic and web design business.
More reviews by jupitreas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 36  
Users visited: 214  
Search this topic:  


RazorOfTheLight - 08.08.2006 at 07:45  
What a pointless way to review... haha I guess you can say it has style but I would rather read a normal review... I wouldn't say all the songs are as excellent as you stated either.
Dangerboner - 09.08.2006 at 03:00  
This is by far the best review I've ever read.
BreadGod - 09.08.2006 at 03:17  
Written by Dangerboner on 09.08.2006 at 03:00

This is by far the best review I've ever read.

I agree. It has its own unique style of writing and is a break from all of the serious reviews. It's nice to see something written differently for a change.
Valaskjalf - 11.08.2006 at 01:32  
Pity the review itself is way better than this abomination of an album...
Pianoman - 26.08.2006 at 04:42  
Awesome review.
Baz Anderson - 26.08.2006 at 13:09  
haha i like the review, it shows effort
i like the album too as well - this album is the album i counted down longest to by far. haha
back in 2004 Fear Factory were my favoite band and so for like half a year before the album came out they did a count down to its release on the web site and i was there sat in school watching the countdown to see how long there was left. haha

the morning it came out i was staight in the shop and i listened to it as soon as i got home and thought 'wow!!'
i was really happy

now two and a bit years later on i dont bother with Fear Factory much - although they were the last big band i saw live and they were really good! they played songs from every album, even 'Digimortal'
i still know i like Fear Factory and i know this album is one of their best. whenever i feel like listening to a bit of them - this album will always be a high priority choice

haha - i didnt mean to ramble on
Xtreme Jax - 26.08.2006 at 13:37  
Interesting way to write a review, unique and gets a brief say on each track which is good. I like the album, but i wouldnt rate all the songs as high ... thats just me.

Good review
icedbodom - 24.11.2006 at 18:24  
i liked this album very much. It was more melodic than there more previous efforts pre-disbandment. but if u want an amazing FF album go get transgression
Syk - 22.01.2007 at 02:59  
I just watched the Hand That Bleeds video and I have to say both the video and the song are among the worst I've ever, EVER had to endure. Fuc King Terrible.
Baz Anderson - 27.01.2007 at 22:46  
Written by Syk on 22.01.2007 at 02:59

I just watched the Hand That Bleeds video and I have to say both the video and the song are among the worst I've ever, EVER had to endure. Fuc King Terrible.


that song is not representitive of the album at all..
if you like Fear Factory - then you will like this album
dancingdecember - 20.03.2007 at 19:31  
this is the best and most clever review i've ever read.good job
Meuterei - 16.07.2007 at 14:48  
Good review, good album... even though I could do without the Nirvana cover.
OminousDeath - 14.12.2007 at 07:20  
Lol, Great Review.
Thrash del Sur - 18.01.2008 at 16:47  
Shit man!! you're insane hahahaha.

Great review!! the best!!
Hamird - 23.06.2008 at 13:47  
This review is so great. .. specially when it was deleting Dino Cazares
amerislave - 14.12.2008 at 10:06  
Really well done review. a great album in my opinion.
mega amarth - 23.12.2008 at 20:11  
Strange and Cool review as the album.
AngelOfDisease - 18.05.2009 at 04:44  
Written by BreadGod on 09.08.2006 at 03:17

Written by Dangerboner on 09.08.2006 at 03:00

This is by far the best review I've ever read.

I agree. It has its own unique style of writing and is a break from all of the serious reviews. It's nice to see something written differently for a change.

I also agree... this review made me laugh a lot xD
Uirapuru - 18.05.2009 at 08:37  
Written by Guest on 26.08.2006 at 04:42

Awesome review.


That summarizes everything.. I'm just gonna praise the review as well..
Vitriolic Hate - 21.04.2010 at 01:10  
Written by Uirapuru on 18.05.2009 at 08:37

Written by Guest on 26.08.2006 at 04:42

Awesome review.


That summarizes everything.. I'm just gonna praise the review as well..

haha yeah ,great album & cool review!!
@gent_-_orange - 23.04.2010 at 12:30  
Good album and great review lol
Exhumed - 23.04.2010 at 15:11  
One of the only FF albums I actually enjoy more than a single song on. Oh and as for the review - interesting, certainly original and even Unix/Linux related.
Lily_Lazer - 12.06.2011 at 22:22  
lily@lily_laptop:~$ echo "Not as much a review, but cool anyway."
lily@lily_laptop:~$ echo review | grep "typo"
THE INFECION HAS BEEN REMOVED
dougver1 - 24.09.2011 at 20:34  
Initiating Analysis...

Diagnostic: Best review on Metalstorm.net
BoxCar Willy - 13.01.2012 at 14:57  
Reminds me of hacking computers in Fallout


Good review!
scapeplan - 18.05.2012 at 16:27  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.01.2012 at 14:57

Reminds me of hacking computers in Fallout


Good review!


Speaking of fallout 3, The first log entry in the Research Lead terminals in the Museum of Technology contains lyrics from the title track: The infection has been removed / the soul of this machine has improved. The mainframe is named the "Archetype Model FF06." (FO3 also had a reference to Strapping Young Lad, Judas Priest, Megadeth, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Ministry, and Ac/Dc.) And Skyrim had a Katatonia reference.
BoxCar Willy - 18.05.2012 at 21:24  
Written by scapeplan on 18.05.2012 at 16:27

Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.01.2012 at 14:57

Reminds me of hacking computers in Fallout


Good review!


Speaking of fallout 3, The first log entry in the Research Lead terminals in the Museum of Technology contains lyrics from the title track: The infection has been removed / the soul of this machine has improved. The mainframe is named the "Archetype Model FF06." (FO3 also had a reference to Strapping Young Lad, Judas Priest, Megadeth, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Ministry, and Ac/Dc.) And Skyrim had a Katatonia reference.

Maybe that's why I liekd it so much! :lol

In New Vegas, in one of teh vaults the wall reads "Marduk 999" with a line above the 9's, meaning you should flipp them over so it's "Marduk 666"

Good Ol' Bethesda
!J.O.O.E.! - 18.05.2012 at 21:34  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 18.05.2012 at 21:24

Good Ol' Bethesda

Bethesda didn't make New Vegas, they only published it =P
BoxCar Willy - 18.05.2012 at 23:57  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 18.05.2012 at 21:34

Written by BoxCar Willy on 18.05.2012 at 21:24

Good Ol' Bethesda

Bethesda didn't make New Vegas, they only published it =P

Oh really? I didn't know that.

Either way, great game.
Unhealer - 26.11.2012 at 04:34  
Lol, Unix inspired review? Nice. I like how the virus is "CAZERAS" instead of Cazares.
bloodface - 08.05.2013 at 07:44  
Very good album. brilliant review....wonderfully creative and spot on.
Stunning Cactus - 07.08.2013 at 02:03  
The style of your review was very unique. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
Deadmeat - 16.07.2014 at 17:35  
Yeah great reviewing! i listened to some samples of the album and this review has now made me wanna listen to it!
deadone - 17.07.2014 at 05:29  
Donit think it's that great. Mechanise was far superior out of the post-Obsolete pack. Archetype just wasn't memorable or heavy enough for me. Still better than Digimortal or the Industrialist though.
Troy Killjoy - 17.07.2014 at 09:48  
Objectively I think this is Fear Factory's lightest and most commercial release to date, but it's still my favorite. Slave Labor, Corporate Cloning, Archetype, and Drones are all some of my favorite FF songs.
Angelic Storm - 17.07.2014 at 14:10  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.07.2014 at 09:48

Objectively I think this is Fear Factory's lightest and most commercial release to date, but it's still my favorite. Slave Labor, Corporate Cloning, Archetype, and Drones are all some of my favorite FF songs.


Hmm... I think Digimortal is probably a little more commercial, but that is also a great album, as is this one.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Fear Factory - Transgression 7.5 07.04.2008 by Uirapuru
News Fear Factory - Unleash Their New Video 4.5 17.07.2010 by Vitriolic Hate
News Fear Factory - Reveal New Album Cover Art And Tracklist 4.5 30.03.2012 by theFIST
Albums Fear Factory - 15 Years Of Fear Tour [EP] 4.5 08.12.2012 by BaalGen
News Fear Factory - To Release Remix Album 4.5 20.03.2007 by Bleeding_Rainbow



Hits total: 6010 | This month: 44