The 69 Eyes - Blessed Be review



Reviewer:
8.5

90 users:
8.38
Band: The 69 Eyes
Album: Blessed Be
Release date: 2000


01. Framed In Blood
02. Gothic Girl
03. The Chair
04. Brandon Lee
05. Velvet Touch
06. Sleeping With Lions
07. Angel On My Shoulder
08. Stolen Season
09. Wages Of Sin
10. Graveland
11. 30


From "Wasting The Dawn" to this album, some drastic changes have been made to the bands sound. These changes turned out to be a great move for The Eyes.

Before I get to the album itself, one has to understand this transition to realize what a fantastic step it was for the band to find they're signature goth-rock sound. The previous album "Wasting The Dawn" (for those who haven't heard it) had some highlights, but for the most part it was pretty bland punk influenced glam-ish hard rock. Now that we come to "Blessed Be" the music takes a really dark and powerful turn.

The first gripping part of this sound is the voice of Jyrki 69, a voice that sounds like a darker, slightly softer Danzig, with some Jim Morrison and even a little Elvis. His hauntingly deep voice really sets the dreary mood for the album right from the beginning - this definitely isn't a pick-me-up album. The highlight for me is definitely the guitar work - there is such a high level of emotion behind these catchy riffs. Some of them even sound as if they belonged in a spaghetti western, which as a surprise does not detract from the spooky haunting sound of almost every song on this album.

And now for the bad - when listening to a lot of stuff within the hard rock genre one usually looks for a catchy riff they can chant along to or some climax in the song that they wait for every single time they listen to it. Unfortunately there are a select few songs on the album that lack this climax or catchiness, they just seem to be played through without build-up, which can be a pain to listen to at times.

This is a fantastic album, flat out. The unique leads and gloomy vocals set a very effective atmosphere, while still having a great rock'n'roll sound, which is what I imagine they were trying to achieve.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by Doc Godin | 05.12.2007


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 70 users
06.12.2007 - 21:18
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Probably my favourite 69 Eyes album! Great songs, especially Jyrki's voice!
And good review man!
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
07.12.2007 - 18:33
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Finally a review for a brilliant album. You know, you are totally right, when I listened to "wastin the dawn" I was hearing a glam band, I thought about it when I was listening to that album. And then "blessed be" just kills it. It is certainly one of my favourite 69 albums, I actually like "Paris Kills" and "Devils" a lot. Songs like "gothic girl", "brandom lee" and "the chair" just stay on your head and they are also so fun to play.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
08.12.2007 - 19:10
Christ_13
Account deleted
humm.. It's unvelieble! this album is pure SHIT! :p
Loading...
08.12.2007 - 20:14
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Guest on 08.12.2007 at 19:10

humm.. It's unvelieble! this album is pure SHIT! :p



why is it pure shit in your opinion?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
24.07.2008 - 15:46
Valentin B
Iconoclast
wow... the song Brandon Lee touches me in such a way... "victims, aren't we all?"

such a sad story, him and his father could have been so much but died so young, especially Brandon
----
Sing me a song, you're a singer
Do me a wrong, you're a bringer of evil.
Loading...
24.07.2008 - 17:53
VPeter
this album is perfect for grey and rainy days, it brings back many memories - I really need to listen to these guys again.
Loading...
30.09.2008 - 00:57
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
Written by BloodTears on 08.12.2007 at 20:14

Written by Guest on 08.12.2007 at 19:10

humm.. It's unvelieble! this album is pure SHIT! :p



why is it pure shit in your opinion?

Its probably because The 69 Eyes are closely linked to HIM (which I agree sucks), but I think people have prejudices towards The 69 Eyes based 100% on the bands they tour with rather than the actual music. I think people also hate them because they think of it as poser metal, which they are not. They are not metal and they don't claim to be. Its rock n roll. Thats it.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
30.09.2008 - 13:53
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Doc Godin on 30.09.2008 at 00:57

Written by BloodTears on 08.12.2007 at 20:14

Written by Guest on 08.12.2007 at 19:10

humm.. It's unvelieble! this album is pure SHIT! :p



why is it pure shit in your opinion?

Its probably because The 69 Eyes are closely linked to HIM (which I agree sucks), but I think people have prejudices towards The 69 Eyes based 100% on the bands they tour with rather than the actual music. I think people also hate them because they think of it as poser metal, which they are not. They are not metal and they don't claim to be. Its rock n roll. Thats it.


Yes, it's rock and roll and it's damn good.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
17.06.2010 - 04:13
Mother_North
I absolutely love this album, the best of 69 eyes for sure!
----
"i still can't imagine any of them dead. They live on; they are fixed on that far-off region called childhood, were nothing ever dies, not even oneself."
Loading...
03.10.2011 - 01:37
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
I've always been repelled by this band because of the big following they have here in West Chester with Bam Margera's sheep, but finally listened to it and can say it's not as bad as I expected.
Loading...

Hits total: 6016 | This month: 6