The Angelic Process - Weighing Souls With Sand review



Reviewer:
9.2

105 users:
8.79
Band: The Angelic Process
Album: Weighing Souls With Sand
Release date: May 2007


01. The Promise Of Snakes
02. Million Year Summer
03. The Resonance Of Goodbye
04. We All Die Laughing
05. Dying In A-Minor
06. Weighing Souls With Sand
07. Mouvement - World Deafening Eclipse
08. Burning In The Undertow Of God
09. Mouvement - The Smoke Of Her Burning
10. How To Build A Time Machine [bonus]
11. Sleepwritten [bonus]


This review is dedicated to the late K. Angylus, mastermind of The Angelic Process and husband of M. Dragynfly, may he rest in peace.

Overwhelming. That is what this The Angelic Process are. Nothing more, nothing less. Almost everything around this band is completely oblivious to me: why I even bought it in the first place, how long they have been around, where they are from. And frankly, I don't even care. My usual unsatisfiable hunger for information has been laid to rest for a while, at least until that which is Weighing Souls With Sand is fully digested.

When popping the disc in my cd-player the immediate comparison with Nadja sprung to mind. Those who are unfamiliar with Nadja, this is an 'Ambient Drone Doom' project of Aidan Baker and Leah Buckareff that releases multiple full-lengths each year. They sound quite similar as they both have a monstrous sounds with loads of heavy bass. Together with the buzzing guitars and tribal drums they create pure power, garantueed to knock you unconscious. When all instruments are at their best they bands sounds as if a volcano erupts in front of you and pours it's flaming red lava all over your mesmerized body.

And amidst that hellish flow of burning death is someone trapped and being dragged down the slopes of the vulcano, screaming for help. Yet they remain very clean and pure, even when she is screaming on the top of her lungs. And because of the infinite purity, it sounds so unnatural, so unreal. Words cannot really describe or define what she sounds like. But as ever so often, that which is most unreal and difficult to grasp is most beautiful. And at times, she sounds as if in perfect harmony with her surroundings, as she has realised and accepted her inevitable fate. Then the vocals are the melody lines that the guitars don't offer, creating heavenly atmospheres.

Productionwise this album has is also blessed with the very best of the best. This would be a perfect example of non-traditional and non-commercial ways to produce your album, yet at the same time, give it incredibly power and strength. If any of the instruments would have been more in front, such as the vocals, or more in the background, such as the bass, this album would definitely not be as overwhelming as it is. A big bag of compliments from me to whoever sat behind the knobs.

Earlier this year I thought that nothing could dethrone Shining - "V: Halmstad" as best album of 2007, but now I am starting to doubt, for this is really one amazing release. Luckily there is still one month left for me to contemplate about the awards and in the meantime I urge every single one of you readers to give this album a try. You will not know what has just hit you.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


 



Written on 26.11.2007 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 26   Visited by: 269 users
28.11.2007 - 15:35
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Pretty insane. It's something different, alright. Thanks for the recommendation.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
28.11.2007 - 22:56
Damnated
Churchburner
checked out after you recommended them, and it's indeed very good. they have a very post apocalyptic sound, imo, although this term is overused and lost its true meaning.

you should also check out Orthodox's new album, Amanecer en Puerta Oscura. Drone doom from Spain. Pretty amazing stuff.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
29.11.2007 - 21:55
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Damnated on 28.11.2007 at 22:56

checked out after you recommended them, and it's indeed very good. they have a very post apocalyptic sound, imo, although this term is overused and lost its true meaning.

you should also check out Orthodox's new album, Amanecer en Puerta Oscura. Drone doom from Spain. Pretty amazing stuff.


Glad I could recommend you something for a change. And I will of course be a good boy and check those bands out.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
29.11.2007 - 22:17
Damnated
Churchburner
Written by Lucas on 29.11.2007 at 21:55

Glad I could recommend you something for a change. And I will of course be a good boy and check those bands out.


there's only one
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
29.11.2007 - 22:18
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Damnated on 29.11.2007 at 22:17

Written by Lucas on 29.11.2007 at 21:55

Glad I could recommend you something for a change. And I will of course be a good boy and check those bands out.


there's only one


yeah I misread it and thought you meant three bands.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
14.12.2007 - 14:39
FrostbittenIlham
Account deleted
I am listening to this album at the moment. It's just awesome. I can say that after hearing the 4 first songs. It's going to be in my playlist quite often. Thank you for the recommendation on msn, since I didn't know you reviewed it . And this is a nice review to read, as usual.
Loading...
08.03.2008 - 04:37
Stigmatized
..........
On first listen today, this album blew me away. It's really an incredible album. I'll play this one for a long time to come.
Loading...
15.06.2008 - 09:57
soulVIremia
So... did anyone know about this?

http://invisibleoranges.com/2008/06/rip-kangylus-angelic-process.html

: /... that's true?
Loading...
15.06.2008 - 11:25
Deadsoulman
Lemmyng
Apparently it's true, the blog of their record label says it as well

http://www.profoundlorerecords.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogsection&id=5&Itemid=32

This is very bad
Loading...
15.06.2008 - 14:47
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Shit, that's indeed bad. I already got used to the fact that the band was no more - due to the hand injury of K. Angylus. Seems like he really lived for his music then...
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
06.04.2009 - 01:55
Lucas
Mr. Noise
I'm listening to some of their other albums right now, fuck this band is damn amazing. They need more attention. I think it's about time I dedicate this review to K. Angylus.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
28.05.2009 - 10:29
Italics
Wow! Good stuff! Thanks for leading me to this band
----
But I Justify My Desire to No One
Loading...
14.08.2010 - 13:14
Skøllgrim
Northern
Simply excellent album.... jawdroppingly unique sound. RIP K. Angylus.
----
"Popbutikk med platt lyrikk
Skit vil ingen hava"
Loading...
03.01.2011 - 14:00
InnerSelf
proofread free
One of the greatest pieces of music ever written and performed ... the flow of emotions through the album is overwhelming
and a great review
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 00:46
BreadGod
Account deleted
I'm currently listening to a few samples of this album, and I must say that this is one of the most beautiful albums I've ever listened to in my life, which is strange because I normally hate drone.
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 01:14
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 01.06.2011 at 00:46

I normally hate drone.

Well this is more like "ambient drone", not pure drone doom, so that might be the difference maker.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 01:29
BreadGod
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 01.06.2011 at 01:14

Written by Guest on 01.06.2011 at 00:46

I normally hate drone.

Well this is more like "ambient drone", not pure drone doom, so that might be the difference maker.

I see. Still, I think the album is absolutely beautiful.
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 01:32
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Guest on 01.06.2011 at 01:29


I see. Still, I think the album is absolutely beautiful.

You should try some of Nadja's stuff if you like this. It's even more in the ambient drone direction (and further from metal) so you might not like it. The 'Desire In Uneasiness' record is particularly nice.
Loading...
01.06.2011 - 02:01
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.06.2011 at 01:32

The 'Desire In Uneasiness' record is particularly nice.


That album is so damn sexy.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.06.2011 - 19:28
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 01.06.2011 at 01:32

Written by Guest on 01.06.2011 at 01:29


I see. Still, I think the album is absolutely beautiful.

You should try some of Nadja's stuff if you like this. It's even more in the ambient drone direction (and further from metal) so you might not like it. The 'Desire In Uneasiness' record is particularly nice.


Pyramids with Nadja was also really good
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
10.06.2011 - 19:32
(((O)))
This CD is hard to find, you can buy Coma Waering from Paradigms but this CD is out of stock everywhere and it isn't on eBay right now. But yeah, this is a great album and those vocals are so emotional.

..btw, is there any lyrics?
Loading...
10.06.2011 - 19:45
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by (((O))) on 10.06.2011 at 19:32

This CD is hard to find, you can buy Coma Waering from Paradigms but this CD is out of stock everywhere and it isn't on eBay right now. But yeah, this is a great album and those vocals are so emotional.

..btw, is there any lyrics?


Can't find them anywhere
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
10.06.2011 - 19:48
(((O)))
Written by InnerSelf on 10.06.2011 at 19:45

Written by (((O))) on 10.06.2011 at 19:32

This CD is hard to find, you can buy Coma Waering from Paradigms but this CD is out of stock everywhere and it isn't on eBay right now. But yeah, this is a great album and those vocals are so emotional.

..btw, is there any lyrics?


Can't find them anywhere

Yeah, some dude told me that the lyrics are from poems written by K. Angylus (R.I.P).
Loading...
10.06.2011 - 19:55
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by (((O))) on 10.06.2011 at 19:48

Written by InnerSelf on 10.06.2011 at 19:45

Written by (((O))) on 10.06.2011 at 19:32

This CD is hard to find, you can buy Coma Waering from Paradigms but this CD is out of stock everywhere and it isn't on eBay right now. But yeah, this is a great album and those vocals are so emotional.

..btw, is there any lyrics?


Can't find them anywhere

Yeah, some dude told me that the lyrics are from poems written by K. Angylus (R.I.P).


The songs' names are just great so I imagine that the lyrics are great too
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
08.05.2013 - 09:43
mz
Written by InnerSelf on 10.06.2011 at 19:45

Written by (((O))) on 10.06.2011 at 19:32

This CD is hard to find, you can buy Coma Waering from Paradigms but this CD is out of stock everywhere and it isn't on eBay right now. But yeah, this is a great album and those vocals are so emotional.

..btw, is there any lyrics?


Can't find them anywhere


sorry for quoting an old post, I found the "Burning in the Undertow of God" Lyrics and though you might be interested:

"Someday
Someday
I'll wake to be myself again
(But) I left my soul and
I Never want to try again
Never want to try again
I left my soul and
I Never want to try again
Never want to try again
Never want to try again
Never want to try again
Never want to try again
Sense of me and time slips away
Could you meet before the light burns me alive
Sense of me and time slips away
(Want to see you)
And what I fear the light has burnt away"

source:http://www.maxilyrics.com/the-angelic-process-burning-in-the-undertow-of-god-lyrics-31d0.html
----
Giving my ears a rest from music.
Loading...
16.05.2013 - 19:55
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Really great album, and sounds like no other. I've heard it waaay to many times though and am sick of it. But if you havent heard it you really should.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...

Hits total: 10727 | This month: 54