Rating:
N/A
Rock S'Cool - A Spanking Good Song Collection
2007


Disc I
[Lesson 1 - Hard Rock]
01. Whitesnake - Fool For Your Loving [live]
02. UFO - Lights Out [live]
03. Heaven and Hell - The Mob Rules [live]
04. Axel Rudi Pell - Rock The Nation
05. Doro - Burn It Up

[Lesson 2 - Heavy Metal]
06. Judas Priest - Bullet Train
07. Saxon - Need For Speed
08. Metal Church - Ton Of Bricks [live]
09. Beyond Fear - Scream Machine
10. Messiah's kiss - The Ancient Cries

[Lesson 3 - Power Metal]
11. Iced Earth - The Reckoning
12. Kamelot - When The Lights Are Down
13. Demons & Wizards - Queen Of The World
14. Freedom Call - Queen Of My World
15. Helloween - Dr. Stein [live]


Disc II
[Lesson 4 - Thrash Metal]
01. Kreator - Reconquering The Throne
02. Sodom - Bibles And Guns
03. Destruction - Mad Butcher [live]
04. Annihilator - Clown Parade
05. Grip Inc. - Ostracized

[Lesson 5 - Hardcore]
06. Biohazard - Sellout
07. Sepultura - Convicted In Life
08. Type 0 Negative - Dead Again
09. Hatesphere - Reaper Of Life
10. Raging Speedhorn - How Much Can A Man Ttake

[Lesson 6 - Alternative]
11. Engel - In Splendour
12. Skinny Puppy - Politikil
13. Amplifier - The CSonsultancy
14. Zebrahead - Anthem

[Finals]
15. MotorHead - Ace Of Spades [live]


Heavy / Power Metal / Thrash /Alternative / Hardcore / Hard Rock / Motorhead…
Label: Regain Records
Distribution in France: Replica Records
World: 2007
Length: CD1: 68:17, CD2: 59:26


If you don't know them yet, SPV is a big label, a really big one… If you don't trust me, just have a look on the set-list/line-up of their last compilation and you'll understand that these Germans don't joke when it comes to talk about Metal! "A Spanking Good Song Collection" is a compilation yes, and it's a really well done one, perfect for all the Metal newcomers who want to understand what Metal is but also perfect for all the Metalheads who want to listen to some good songs featured on a really varied record…

Of course "A Spanking Good Song Collection" is just a new compilation without anything exclusive or unreleased and you'll not be able to listen to heavy and brutal music except with some Thrash and Hardcore songs (but nothing Death or Black Metal two Metal styles which aren't really represented in the SPV Team anyway). All in all, these two CDs are good CDs, I mean that the guys of the label weren't wrong when they chose to classify the combos, Power Metal bands are Power Metal bands, same with Thrash, Heavy etc… The songs all come from the catalogue of the label and they are featured in general on the last albums of the bands featured on this compilation. Don't expect a lot of classics here, it's just some "not so old" material but it's ok to learn or discover the different Metal styles thorugh these songs which aren't bad anyway.

Full of great bands with cool songs and really varied "A Spanking Good Song Collection" is a good compilation. Of course, it could be better with at least one classic from each bands but it's also a matter of copyrights you know… Well, it's just a compilation and not a lot of things are missing here… You'll maybe not discover any new bands (not sure…) but you'll listen to more than two hours of good Metal and hey, I think that the line-up doesn't have a lot of loosers don't you think? Ho and yes, the way to conclude this compilation by Motörhead and "Ace of Spades" simply rocks…

If you don't know what to do and want to listen to some good Metal, "A Spanking Good Song Collection" is for you. I say it again, this is not perfect but it's a cool compilation so why not after all? "A Spanking Good Song Collection" is not a must but it's a cool way to listen to a lot of good music, have a look on it if you're lazy to buy all the releases of the SVP catalogue!


Website: http://www.spv.de


 


written by Jeff | 06.12.2007



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 3  
Search this topic:  


dancingdecember - 06.12.2007 at 23:23  
horsepooooo,booriiing ehehe come oooon even the cover is so lame and cliche its good that i dont need so-called metal lessons from them.
Stalker - 07.12.2007 at 00:07  
OK, wheres the damn Iron Maiden?!
BitterCOld - 07.12.2007 at 01:32  
once hell of a wide ranging comp. Skinny Puppy, Helloween, Biohazard, and UFO on the same release? that's a lot of ground.

i love that Motorhead is the final.

And, dd, as cliche as the cover might be, I find it both fitting and titillating.
Spyroid - 07.12.2007 at 01:48  
Haha, who invented the genre Motörhead?
Spyroid - 07.12.2007 at 01:49  
Written by Stalker on 07.12.2007 at 00:07

OK, wheres the damn Iron Maiden?!


Well, first of all they're not on the SPV label so if they should've been on the disc someone would've had to pay like... a lot ^^ this is a label compilation right?
Stalker - 07.12.2007 at 01:50  
Written by Spyroid on 07.12.2007 at 01:49

Written by Stalker on 07.12.2007 at 00:07

OK, wheres the damn Iron Maiden?!


Well, first of all they're not on the SPV label so if they should've been on the disc someone would've had to pay like... a lot ^^ this is a label compilation right?

Oh... If thats so.... than Ok.
Raiden - 07.12.2007 at 03:01  
Written by Stalker on 07.12.2007 at 01:50

Written by Spyroid on 07.12.2007 at 01:49

Written by Stalker on 07.12.2007 at 00:07

OK, wheres the damn Iron Maiden?!


Well, first of all they're not on the SPV label so if they should've been on the disc someone would've had to pay like... a lot ^^ this is a label compilation right?

Oh... If thats so.... than Ok.

Yes, that was implied

It does look like a pretty strong compilation though. You are right about the power SPV wields, Jeff!
Hyvaarin - 07.12.2007 at 04:16  
The entire Priest collection, and they chose 'Bullet Train'?
BestMetalstormer - 07.12.2007 at 09:28  
The cover is like emo, lol
Spyroid - 07.12.2007 at 09:58  
Written by Hyvaarin on 07.12.2007 at 04:16

The entire Priest collection, and they chose 'Bullet Train'?


Haha, I think Priest has not been on SPV for very many albums. Maybe they're just allowed to choose from the albums released on the label?
dancingdecember - 07.12.2007 at 12:45  
Written by Spyroid on 07.12.2007 at 01:48

Haha, who invented the genre Motörhead?


haha motörhead from now on will be accepted by mankind as a whole new genre it looks funny
Collin - 07.12.2007 at 14:07  
I like the choice of the songs. It is so not obvious I think it's the first time I have something positive to say about a compilation of known bands, but SPV has not chosen the easy way with the most famous songs of each band. I like that
Hyvaarin - 07.12.2007 at 16:45  
Written by Spyroid on 07.12.2007 at 09:58

Written by Hyvaarin on 07.12.2007 at 04:16

The entire Priest collection, and they chose 'Bullet Train'?


Haha, I think Priest has not been on SPV for very many albums. Maybe they're just allowed to choose from the albums released on the label?

Yeah probably. Any idea which Priest albums are on SPV?

Written by BestMetalstormer on 07.12.2007 at 09:28

The cover is like emo, lol

Haha what?
Spyroid - 08.12.2007 at 03:37  
Written by Hyvaarin on 07.12.2007 at 16:45

Written by Spyroid on 07.12.2007 at 09:58

Written by Hyvaarin on 07.12.2007 at 04:16

The entire Priest collection, and they chose 'Bullet Train'?


Haha, I think Priest has not been on SPV for very many albums. Maybe they're just allowed to choose from the albums released on the label?

Yeah probably. Any idea which Priest albums are on SPV?

Written by BestMetalstormer on 07.12.2007 at 09:28


No idea! It's probably on wikipedia if you want to check it out. But all albums I own with them (from the 70's or 80's) are Columbia
Hyvaarin - 18.12.2007 at 15:31  
Uno momento, por favor - since when have Type O Negative been considered hardcore?
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.12.2007 at 15:35  
Written by Hyvaarin on 18.12.2007 at 15:31

Uno momento, por favor - since when have Type O Negative been considered hardcore?


Ever listen to their debut album? although the gothic influences seeped through there as well.

But not after that anymore, I agree...
Hyvaarin - 18.12.2007 at 15:41  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.12.2007 at 15:35

Written by Hyvaarin on 18.12.2007 at 15:31

Uno momento, por favor - since when have Type O Negative been considered hardcore?


Ever listen to their debut album? although the gothic influences seeped through there as well.

But not after that anymore, I agree...

Haha, I actually haven't - I wasn't just being a rhetorical prick . My knowledge of Type O is pretty minimal, so seeing them there raised some genuine questions haha.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Gary Moore - Live At The Monster Of Rock 4.5 06.12.2012 by bblitz
Reviews Rob Rock - Holy Hell 4.5 21.02.2007 by lenesu
Reviews Ink City - Human Rock School 4.5 17.07.2009 by Fat & Sassy!
News Jeff Loomis - New Song Streaming Online 3 08.03.2013 by Carl Berg
News Jeff Loomis - New Song Online 3 13.03.2012 by Kwis



Hits total: 6150 | This month: 71