Rating:
8.7
Lifelover - Erotik
24 February 2007


01. Förspel & Intrång
02. Sweet Illness Of Mine
03. I Love (To Hurt) You
04. En Man I Sina Sämsta År
05. Dödens Landsväg
06. Välkommen Till Pulvercity
07. Saltvatten (Du + Jag VS. Tellus)
08. Besatt
09. Höstdepressioner
10. Humörets Bottenvåning
11. Museum Of Past Affections
12. Nitlott


Quite fast after the release of their debut album, Lifelover returned with another piece of twisted sickness, this time entitled "Erotik". Before its release the band had announced that they had incorporated clean vocals and the fans where fearing that Lifelover would 'sell out' and take a less controversial musical direction.

Nothing could be less true. With "Erotik", Lifelover has taken another huge step towards complete insanity. The riffs have lost their uplifting touch from the debut, and have instead gained in grimness. The sound is dense and suffocating, and the vocalist seems to have lost all hope and control. He screams, moans, cries and pukes as if only insanity can bring him redemption. And the promised clean vocals are indeed given. At first, they may sound totally misplaced and strange, but after a couple of listenings you'll get used to them. On their own, the clean vocals are dreadful and utterly horrible, but in this twisted theater they are stars of the show. So do yourself a favour and don't discard this album at first sight, but give it a couple of listenings to get used to it and let it slowly infect you.

In general, the atmosphere of the debut sounds rather 'joyful' at times, and that was a pretty sick release in itself. To experience the downfall of society one should listen to "Erotik" and call in sick at work for the rest of the week. Sickness has taken a new direction and those who fall behind, are left behind!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Lifelover
Album: Erotik


 



Written on 03.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 178  
Search this topic:  


HardSide - 03.02.2008 at 21:21  
Wasn't impressed with the album, had too much of a "friendly" feel. But that just might be me.
Lucas - 03.02.2008 at 21:22  
Written by HardSide on 03.02.2008 at 21:21

Wasn't impressed with the album, had too much of a "friendly" feel. But that just might be me.


Friendly?!?! How the hell can you think of this one as friendly? If you would consider "Pulver" friendly, I would disagree but could at least imagine someone regarding it as friendly, but for "Erotik". Heeeeeell no.
HardSide - 03.02.2008 at 21:26  
Maybe friendly is the wrong term to describe it, actually I can't describe it, just wasnt harsh enough, sorry if we disagree.
Lucas - 03.02.2008 at 21:37  
Written by HardSide on 03.02.2008 at 21:26

Maybe friendly is the wrong term to describe it, actually I can't describe it, just wasnt harsh enough, sorry if we disagree.


I don't care if we disagree. You can think about this album whatever you want to think of it. All I can say is that I would never think of it in terms like "friendly". (And I know now you didn't mean that).
Damnated - 03.02.2008 at 22:48  
although Lifelover really grew on me, this album just isn't a 9. and it isn't that sick and twisted. also i can't stop saying that this band sounds very much like Coldplay. they have the same spontaneous brilliance. Lifelover is a tad sicker though

overall i agree that this album is really good. but it needs a mood. sometimes i can't stand it.
Lucas - 03.02.2008 at 23:00  
Written by Damnated on 03.02.2008 at 22:48

although Lifelover really grew on me, this album just isn't a 9. and it isn't that sick and twisted. also i can't stop saying that this band sounds very much like Coldplay. they have the same spontaneous brilliance. Lifelover is a tad sicker though

overall i agree that this album is really good. but it needs a mood. sometimes i can't stand it.


They may have some Coldplay references but they dont 'sound like coldplay'. Thats ridiculous.

I personally rate it on the same level as Pulver, except that I like Pulver more due to personal taste. And when I'm in the mood for this thing, its the best there is.
Fucked Upstairs. - 03.02.2008 at 23:02  
do you have english translations of the lyrics that you rate it a 9? if yes, send them to me please.
Spyroid - 03.02.2008 at 23:05  
I haven't heard this album, but Pulver was a bit to raw for my taste (the raw parts was), so I don't know if I'll check it out.
Anyway, if anybody wants translations to the Swedish songtitles just PM me
Lucas - 03.02.2008 at 23:06  
Written by Guest on 03.02.2008 at 23:02

do you have english translations of the lyrics that you rate it a 9? if yes, send them to me please.


Lyrics? I take it you are talking about 'songwriting'? I meant the actual songs with that, not the lyrics. I'd like some lyrics too.
Lucas - 03.02.2008 at 23:07  
Written by Spyroid on 03.02.2008 at 23:05

I haven't heard this album, but Pulver was a bit to raw for my taste (the raw parts was), so I don't know if I'll check it out.
Anyway, if anybody wants translations to the Swedish songtitles just PM me


PM sent.
Damnated - 04.02.2008 at 00:23  
Written by Lucas on 03.02.2008 at 23:00

Written by Damnated on 03.02.2008 at 22:48

although Lifelover really grew on me, this album just isn't a 9. and it isn't that sick and twisted. also i can't stop saying that this band sounds very much like Coldplay. they have the same spontaneous brilliance. Lifelover is a tad sicker though

overall i agree that this album is really good. but it needs a mood. sometimes i can't stand it.


They may have some Coldplay references but they dont 'sound like coldplay'. Thats ridiculous.

i hear the same sickness in Coldplay
BestMetalstormer - 04.02.2008 at 09:48  
Very nice cover. This band, all their pictures on T shirt or CD covers is so tranquil
Dangerboner - 05.03.2008 at 13:02  
I just downloaded this album and so far I'm liking it. For some reason it sounds like an amalgamation of Katatonia's entire career on one disc, but I could be wrong I guess hehe.
W-Lash - 05.03.2008 at 15:15  
I can't really understand what do you find so depressive and sick in this music. After some recommendations I tried few songs by Lifelover but they weren't any good.
Marcel Hubregtse - 05.03.2008 at 15:20  
Written by W-Lash on 05.03.2008 at 15:15

I can't really understand what do you find so depressive and sick in this music. After some recommendations I tried few songs by Lifelover but they weren't any good.



I totally agree.

To me it just comes across as top-40 pop music with some blackish iunfluences.
Dangerboner - 06.05.2008 at 00:35  
The spoken passages are really starting to annoy me, and if it wasn't for that I would also rate it a 9.
Mr. Doctor - 22.02.2009 at 20:29  
Written by Dangerboner on 05.03.2008 at 13:02

For some reason it sounds like an amalgamation of Katatonia's entire career on one disc, but I could be wrong I guess hehe.


The fist time I read this... I laughed hard.
But now that I'm a fan of the band... I really see some touches that remains me of Katatonia.
Specially the guitarr sound, ok... not that katatonia has a raw sound but when the guitarr turns melodic and doing some kind of solo [like the beginning of "Sweet illness of mine"] it really remains me of that psychodelic sound that Katatonia has.
Well... that's my opinion though.

______

I listened this album for the first time today. Really good stuff.... Not as good as Pulver. But both albums have different atmosphere so maybe that's why. I really missed the screams, they added a brutal touch on the debut. But then again... the albums are different.
But something that I found really good is that they used the piano a lot more than the debut... and they used it brilliantly imo.
TheBigRossowski - 12.03.2009 at 19:35  
Written by Dangerboner on 05.03.2008 at 13:02

I just downloaded this album and so far I'm liking it. For some reason it sounds like an amalgamation of Katatonia's entire career on one disc, but I could be wrong I guess hehe.


I'm listening to this album for the first time. After hearing Pulver, something didn't quite hold me, but it was nonetheless interested. Now I find Erotik more interesting and like Lucas wrote, a bit more grim. It's definitely fresh, weird... but fresh. Post-black metal, who would have thought it?

EDIT: Haha, I quoted you for a reason, but I somehow forgot to WRITE that. I hear that, a lot of early Katatonia groove. It definitely has that same atmosphere like they used to have. Dude, fuck...I'm living by the standards of Dudeism, your 101 rules of Metalstormers, AND I'm an American. I REALLY need to look up "amalgamation" though... lol. In context it's understood, but I have lost all meaning of the word.
Marcus - 24.01.2011 at 06:27  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 05.03.2008 at 15:20

Written by W-Lash on 05.03.2008 at 15:15

I can't really understand what do you find so depressive and sick in this music. After some recommendations I tried few songs by Lifelover but they weren't any good.



I totally agree.

To me it just comes across as top-40 pop music with some blackish iunfluences.


Thought the same thing, still kind of do, but it comes across as way darker coupled with the lyrics at least.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lifelover - Konkurs 6 21.11.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Lifelover - Pulver 6 11.07.2008 by Warman
Reviews Lifelover - Dekadens 6 03.11.2009 by Mr. Doctor
Albums Lifelover - Erotik 4.5 26.03.2011 by Averus
Reviews Mortifera - Maledictiih 3 04.09.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 6999 | This month: 49