Rating:
8.0
Megadeth - Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good!
May 1985


01. Last Rites / Loved To Death
02. Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good
03. Skull Beneath The Skin
04. These Boots [Nancy Sinatra cover]
05. Rattlehead
06. Chosen Ones
07. Looking Down The Cross
08. Mechanix
09. Last Rites/Loved To Deth [demo] [2002 re-release bonus]
10. Mechanix [demo] [2002 re-release bonus]
11. The Skull Beneath The Skin [demo] [2002 re-release bonus]


On most debut albums the songs are all very good - it's most likely a best of from all the years the band existed before they got a record deal. But unfortunately, the band is not famous enough to get a lot of money for the production. This album is a little bit special on both points - first of all this album was released not so long after Dave Mustaine's departure from Metallica so, this is not an album with songs composed over five years or something like that. And about the production... I heard rumours that the band spent most of the money they got for the recording on sex, drugs and booze, which resulted in a sound a bit too raw for my taste. Of course, old school Bay Area Thrash should sound not like Enya, but there is a limit after which even my ears start to hurt. It's not the worst thing that was ever recorded, but it takes some points away from an album that is actually very good.

Indeed, I find no fillers on this album - every track provides something. Still they aren't very different from each other, all tracks are fast tracks with furious riffing and angry vocals from Dave. Lyrics are really catchy and you will learn to sing along the choruses after a few spins. Strophes like "A dose of metal you need, to bang your head til you bleed, it's time for snapping some neck, slashing, thrashing to Megadeth!" are exactly as sophisticated as lyrics to a thrash song should be. And who can't just love the witty album title? The overall performance needs some polish, but it's very good for a debut.

Original? Well, original enough at the time it was released - this is one of the first thrash albums, I even believe that it was classified as Speed Metal since the term 'thrash' wasn't fully invented yet. I suppose I have to compare it with the only other thrash debut that is more well-known - 'Kill'Em All'. Well, I prefer this one! Compare 'Mechanix' with 'The Four Horsemen' and you will hopefully be on my side!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 6


Band profile: Megadeth
Album: Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good!


 


written by Spyroid | 03.02.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Arian Totalis

Rating:
8.0
Dave Mustaine, as all know him, was not born 48 years ago in La Mesa California. Dave Mustaine was born in 1983 when he was betrayed by his closest friends and cast from their ranks. He went and recruited warriors for his cause so that vengence could be had. Upon the release of this debut album it would seem Dave was out for blood. Indeed, killing became his business, and business was good.

Read more ››
published 14.01.2009 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 33  
Users visited: 126  
Search this topic:  


Lady Bathory - 06.02.2008 at 16:04  
This is probably my favourite Megadeth album. I love that raw sound, the fast thrashing and the kick-in-the-face to Metallica (Mechanix). KIMB may have been a little under-par recording wise, but this album still kicks my ass. If the recording is the only thing that people are complaining about... that certainly says something. KIMB: THE DOSE OF METAL YOU NEED
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.02.2008 at 16:18  
Written by Lady Bathory on 06.02.2008 at 16:04

This is probably my favourite Megadeth album. I love that raw sound, the fast thrashing and the kick-in-the-face to Metallica (Mechanix). KIMB may have been a little under-par recording wise,...


Well, this re-release sounds a lot better than the original recording. That one was truly atrocious sounding, which was really a shame.

little trivium: The band didn't have a udget for the production of this one though. Thebudget they blew on drugs and alcohol was the one for So Far, So Good, So What.
Lady Bathory - 06.02.2008 at 16:31  
MegaDave was primarily to thank for that. At least this time he wasn't selling off too much equipment for speedballin
Spyroid - 06.02.2008 at 17:37  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2008 at 16:18

Written by Lady Bathory on 06.02.2008 at 16:04

This is probably my favourite Megadeth album. I love that raw sound, the fast thrashing and the kick-in-the-face to Metallica (Mechanix). KIMB may have been a little under-par recording wise,...


Well, this re-release sounds a lot better than the original recording. That one was truly atrocious sounding, which was really a shame.

little trivium: The band didn't have a udget for the production of this one though. Thebudget they blew on drugs and alcohol was the one for So Far, So Good, So What.


I haven't heard the re-release so my review is of the original

Ah, I think you're right about that, must have got them confused. Anyway, you can really hear that this album lacks a proper production...
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.02.2008 at 17:40  
Written by Spyroid on 06.02.2008 at 17:37

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2008 at 16:18

Written by Lady Bathory on 06.02.2008 at 16:04

This is probably my favourite Megadeth album. I love that raw sound, the fast thrashing and the kick-in-the-face to Metallica (Mechanix). KIMB may have been a little under-par recording wise,...


Well, this re-release sounds a lot better than the original recording. That one was truly atrocious sounding, which was really a shame.

little trivium: The band didn't have a udget for the production of this one though. Thebudget they blew on drugs and alcohol was the one for So Far, So Good, So What.


I haven't heard the re-release so my review is of the original

Ah, I think you're right about that, must have got them confused. Anyway, you can really hear that this album lacks a proper production...


What company released the cd you reviewed? Because there is also a re-release without the bonus tracks (released in 1999, but without the Nancy Sinatra cover)
Spyroid - 06.02.2008 at 17:54  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2008 at 17:40

Written by Spyroid on 06.02.2008 at 17:37

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 06.02.2008 at 16:18

Written by Lady Bathory on 06.02.2008 at 16:04

This is probably my favourite Megadeth album. I love that raw sound, the fast thrashing and the kick-in-the-face to Metallica (Mechanix). KIMB may have been a little under-par recording wise,...


Well, this re-release sounds a lot better than the original recording. That one was truly atrocious sounding, which was really a shame.

little trivium: The band didn't have a udget for the production of this one though. Thebudget they blew on drugs and alcohol was the one for So Far, So Good, So What.


I haven't heard the re-release so my review is of the original

Ah, I think you're right about that, must have got them confused. Anyway, you can really hear that this album lacks a proper production...


What company released the cd you reviewed? Because there is also a re-release without the bonus tracks (released in 1999, but without the Nancy Sinatra cover)


Mine has got the Nancy cover - it's released by Music for Nations with the year 1985 printed on the CD. I can't find any other dates so I guess it's a pretty old copy I bought it in a second hand store.
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.02.2008 at 18:49  
@spyroid, yes that's the version which was released in Europe back in the day, though it was released on cd a couple of years after it came out on vinyl of course.
But that IS the original crappy production and sound there.
Demonmayonnaise - 07.03.2008 at 20:30  
I have the remastered version. This album fuckin rocks. I personally think its better than Kill 'Em All.
Spyroid - 07.03.2008 at 22:06  
Written by Demonmayonnaise on 07.03.2008 at 20:30

I have the remastered version. This album fuckin rocks. I personally think its better than Kill 'Em All.


Totally agree Megadeth is also better than Metallica...
eximius - 07.04.2008 at 00:27  
Written by Spyroid on 07.03.2008 at 22:06

Totally agree Megadeth is also better than Metallica...

I don't know if it's better but I sure like it a lot more. I listened the album just before looking over the review and i was pretty surprised... I thought i have bad tastes but I don't.. it's a very good album and Rattlehead is simply amazing, I often listen to it when driving
Stuart - 20.04.2008 at 03:58  
Written by Spyroid on 07.03.2008 at 22:06

Written by Demonmayonnaise on 07.03.2008 at 20:30

I have the remastered version. This album fuckin rocks. I personally think its better than Kill 'Em All.


Totally agree Megadeth is also better than Metallica...

Like it is says in the re-release sleeve, metallica won the battle for the biggest, megadeth on the battle for the baddest, you decide who's the fastest, or something like that
Sonic Titan - 12.11.2008 at 07:52  
Hells yeah i have this on cd AND VINYL!!! classic speed metal
Sonic Titan - 12.11.2008 at 07:52  
Hells yeah i have this on cd AND VINYL!!! classic speed metal
Sonic Titan - 12.11.2008 at 07:52  
Hells yeah i have this on cd AND VINYL!!! classic speed metal
THE_BLACK_GOD - 15.11.2008 at 09:17  
If I wanted to vote to this Megadeth's worst album I would give 1 to Mustains Vocals. Im not sure if Mustain sings on notes.I think Mustain has made Metallica happy at those days! cause the album Absolutely sux. and its prove that Kirk is really better than Mustain for me. thank Jaymz u did best when u .....
Doc Godin - 16.11.2008 at 07:59  
Written by Guest on 15.11.2008 at 09:17

If I wanted to vote to this Megadeth's worst album I would give 1 to Mustains Vocals. Im not sure if Mustain sings on notes.I think Mustain has made Metallica happy at those days! cause the album Absolutely sux. and its prove that Kirk is really better than Mustain for me. thank Jaymz u did best when u .....

Have you actually listened to the album, or are you just retaliating because of what happened in the Metallica thread?

Because if your trashing of an album is entirely based on vocals, perhaps pop music is what you should be listening to.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 16.11.2008 at 15:32  
Written by Doc Godin on 16.11.2008 at 07:59

Written by Guest on 15.11.2008 at 09:17

If I wanted to vote to this Megadeth's worst album I would give 1 to Mustains Vocals. Im not sure if Mustain sings on notes.I think Mustain has made Metallica happy at those days! cause the album Absolutely sux. and its prove that Kirk is really better than Mustain for me. thank Jaymz u did best when u .....

Have you actually listened to the album, or are you just retaliating because of what happened in the Metallica thread?

Because if your trashing of an album is entirely based on vocals, perhaps pop music is what you should be listening to.

no dont get me wrong, Ive listened to this album before. I talked about vocals cause everybody were talkin about Production. I just wanted to say that I dont like this album and one of the reasons is vocal. take a look at my votes I voted for one of their album by 10. I dont like kidish actions. but for me this album is not what I expect from music, production, guitar riffs, vocals.
Doc Godin - 17.11.2008 at 03:05  
Written by Guest on 16.11.2008 at 15:32

Written by Doc Godin on 16.11.2008 at 07:59

Written by Guest on 15.11.2008 at 09:17

If I wanted to vote to this Megadeth's worst album I would give 1 to Mustains Vocals. Im not sure if Mustain sings on notes.I think Mustain has made Metallica happy at those days! cause the album Absolutely sux. and its prove that Kirk is really better than Mustain for me. thank Jaymz u did best when u .....

Have you actually listened to the album, or are you just retaliating because of what happened in the Metallica thread?

Because if your trashing of an album is entirely based on vocals, perhaps pop music is what you should be listening to.

no dont get me wrong, Ive listened to this album before. I talked about vocals cause everybody were talkin about Production. I just wanted to say that I dont like this album and one of the reasons is vocal. take a look at my votes I voted for one of their album by 10. I dont like kidish actions. but for me this album is not what I expect from music, production, guitar riffs, vocals.

I dont hear anything wrong with the guitar work at all. As for production, I'll repeat myself. pop music dude. If you can't deal with lower quality sound production, then metal will be very limited for you.
Warman - 17.11.2008 at 03:32  
"Rattlehead" is one of the coolest songs they've ever done.
THE_BLACK_GOD - 17.11.2008 at 11:20  
@Dr.Rock I like good bad production albums, but this one is not good. and about pop music Im sure that ur information is more than me.
but as I remember all who doesnt like Death Magnetic talks about bad Production and u were on of them.

but I think here we talk about Megadeth, not other bands. IMO this album is one the wrose startings for a band. megadeth's next albums r so much better than this one. this is what Im talkin about. and This is just my oppinion.

PS:as I remember ur vote for this album was 5, but I cant find it right now!!!! what happened? if u voted this album by 5 why r u tryin to Argue with me? I think it became as a habit for u!
Doc Godin - 24.11.2008 at 03:14  
Written by Guest on 17.11.2008 at 11:20

@Dr.Rock I like good bad production albums, but this one is not good. and about pop music Im sure that ur information is more than me.
but as I remember all who doesnt like Death Magnetic talks about bad Production and u were on of them.

but I think here we talk about Megadeth, not other bands. IMO this album is one the wrose startings for a band. megadeth's next albums r so much better than this one. this is what Im talkin about. and This is just my oppinion.

PS:as I remember ur vote for this album was 5, but I cant find it right now!!!! what happened? if u voted this album by 5 why r u tryin to Argue with me? I think it became as a habit for u!

Theres a difference between unclear production and unbalanced production. Secondly, I did not vote this album a 5, I know this because I only vote on albums I own, haven't gotten around to picking it up yet. I'm not saying this album is great, but its definitely not worth the trashing you laid upon it.
Dangerboner - 24.11.2008 at 03:33  
I'd give it a 9, maybe even a little higher than that. The only time the vocals annoy me is when he holds notes, but for the most part they're fine. It's easily my third favorite Megadeth album.
roger73 - 21.08.2009 at 16:39  
This has to be row? This has to make issue with ears? Common... This is the most soft thrash metal witch I heard - and alkl the Megadeth is. Metallica at first 3 albums, first albums of Anthrax, Testament, all od teutonic bands, Exodus, and of course allmighty Slayer (to Season of the Abbys) - this is real raw, thrash and heavy. Megadeth is cheesy and comparing to Mester of Puppets - blaah
roger73 - 21.08.2009 at 16:59  
And the results of comparing Mechanix to original version is vary bad for Megadeth. It is as some amateur punk revival of M-llica
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.08.2009 at 17:05  
Written by roger73 on 21.08.2009 at 16:59

And the results of comparing Mechanix to original version is vary bad for Megadeth. It is as some amateur punk revival of M-llica


Mechanix IS the original version The Four Horsemen is the re-written version
roger73 - 21.08.2009 at 17:09  
Ok, so let's say - Mechanix is demo, ok ?
Marcel Hubregtse - 21.08.2009 at 17:15  
Written by roger73 on 21.08.2009 at 17:09

Ok, so let's say - Mechanix is demo, ok ?


I know Metallica played Mechanix on their demo for I own the original No Life Till Leather cassette
And that one was written by Dave Mustaine (Mechanix, that is). And the execution of both Mechanix versions is about the same, although Megadeth plays it a bit tighter than Metallica. Probably because Gar Samuelson was (since he is dead now) a better tighter drummer than Lars Ulrich was and will ever be.
Spyroid - 04.09.2009 at 16:56  
Written by roger73 on 21.08.2009 at 16:39

This has to be row? This has to make issue with ears? Common... This is the most soft thrash metal witch I heard - and alkl the Megadeth is. Metallica at first 3 albums, first albums of Anthrax, Testament, all od teutonic bands, Exodus, and of course allmighty Slayer (to Season of the Abbys) - this is real raw, thrash and heavy. Megadeth is cheesy and comparing to Mester of Puppets - blaah


We really disagree there, I think that this album is rawer than any debute of the old thrash bands, except from Slayers debute of course. Metallica is not bad but they haven't written many songs that reaches the same agression as most tracks on this album, and IMO Dave sounds 10 times as angry as Hetfield. Always.
cosmo1973 - 06.12.2009 at 15:38  
This album kicks ass, it's so raw...far superior to kill em' all. Just listened to Mechanix by Metallica with Dave Mustaine and it's so slow compared to Megadeth but thats probably because Lars Ulrich is such an average drummer!!

Was fortunate enough to see Megadeth live in Glasgow back in 2005 and they played Mechanix half way through Peace sells....fuckin' awesome, Megadeth are the best!!!
pkillerjp - 10.03.2014 at 16:56  
Great debut, maybe even a bit under rated..fast riffs, nice drumming, energy and aggression done right..if the production bothers anyone, definitely check out the re-master, the better production brings the songs alive and in your face more so than the original..Looking Down the Cross is one of Megadeth's best tracks.
deadone - 11.03.2014 at 00:12  
My only problem with the re-mastered version I have is they had to bleep all the foul bits on "These Boots" cause of legal reasons.

Fun little album, though to commit complete heresy I prefer Kill Em All to it. And I am a borderline Megadeth fanboy...
Angelic Storm - 13.03.2014 at 01:19  
This album is a little gem, and I actually prefer the original production over the remaster. I love the eerie, grimy sound of the original, and the songs are all great. The creepy as hell "Skull Beneath The Skin", and the understated majesty of "Looking Down The Cross" are probably the best songs on this one, but I love all the songs.
pkillerjp - 13.03.2014 at 20:24  
Written by deadone on 11.03.2014 at 00:12

My only problem with the re-mastered version I have is they had to bleep all the foul bits on "These Boots" cause of legal reasons.

Fun little album, though to commit complete heresy I prefer Kill Em All to it. And I am a borderline Megadeth fanboy...



I'd rate Kill Em All as the best of the Big 4 debuts. Killing's My Business is great stuff, but it doesn't have the riffs or the songwriting of Kill Em All..

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Megadeth - Killing Is My Business... And Business Is Good! 6 27.01.2010 by Thrash del Sur
Reviews Megadeth - Cryptic Writings 4 06.10.2007 by Megadeth_Matt
News Megadeth Drummer On New RoadRunner Deal 3 17.05.2006 by Syk
News Megadeth - New Song Available For Download 3 22.11.2006 by Spyroid
News Megadeth - Entire New Album Streaming 3 10.09.2009 by Valentin B



Hits total: 5990 | This month: 44