Rating:
6.7
Penance - The Road Revisited
2005


01. Eulogy (Intro)
02. The Unseen
03. A Wayfarer's Tale
04. If They Would Cut My Throat Out...
05. Misgivings
06. Soul Rot
07. Not What It Seems
08. Penance


Label: PsycheDOOMelic Records
Website: http://www.psycheDOOMelic.com

Penance's "The Road Revisited" is actually nothing more than the debut (The Road Less Travelled, 1992) re-recorded. Although, re-recorded.. Apparently they recorded that debut album twice and released only one version, and more than a decade later they decided to release the other one as well. Why somebody wants to do such a thing is completely beyond me, but let's just forget about that.

As most Doom Metal bands the biggest inspiration is good ol' Sabbath. "The Road Revisited" has a similar feeling as the self-titled début album of the Birmingham bunch. Especially the lead heavy riffs and the slow-paced, monstrous bass have the same dark touch as that particular album. Brian Lawrence's vocals are done in a slightly distorted fashion, slow and sometimes more spoken than sung.

The downside of this album is that not all of the riffs are really that good. Most of them are repeated over and over again, so they have to have that special thing which keeps them interesting. With some of them this just isn't the case, creating some rather boring parts. In particular towards the end listening to it through can become a bit of a drag.

If you are looking for the best Penance album, look elsewhere. This début/swansong is only an addition to the collection of the hardcore Penance/Doom fans. I personally expected more than this, mostly because the beginning is rather promising and entertaining. They just forgot to keep up the songwriting with the album's progress.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 5
Production: 7


Band profile: Penance
Album: The Road Revisited


 



Written on 06.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 55  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 07.02.2008 at 18:47  
I actually loved this album to bits.

Having heard the version that was released earlier I gotta say I prefer the rawer production which was used on this one.
But I can understand people being disappointed by it (like you are to a lesser extent)

And yes it is only strongly recommended to hardcore Penance/doom fans. IMO this release is very hard to get into when you're not one of those/
Severed Survival - 07.02.2008 at 22:37  
what in the name of FUCK? sorry man we can all have our opinions, but this rating just sucks. this was a milestone in the doom metal history and a cult release from the early 90s, gotta love it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.02.2008 at 22:56  
Written by Guest on 07.02.2008 at 22:37

... this was a milestone in the doom metal history and a cult release from the early 90s...


THIS WASN'T a cult release from the ealry 90s, this IS a release from 2007 but recorded but NEVER released in the early 90s.
Severed Survival - 07.02.2008 at 23:18  
OK, you DON'T have to WRITE like THIS, man xD!

i know that this is a release from 2007, i have it, but it's the same album as the first one, just the first take and that one IS a fukken classic
Marcel Hubregtse - 07.02.2008 at 23:27  
Written by Guest on 07.02.2008 at 23:18

OK, you DON'T have to WRITE like THIS, man xD!

i know that this is a release from 2007, i have it, but it's the same album as the first one, just the first take and that one IS a fukken classic


it's not really the same album since it sounds totally different Although I really love it too, and would have rated it higher I also think that a 6.7 is a fair mark (since it is still quite a decent mark) this album is really hard for normal casual doom listeners somehow and I know a lot of experienced dom listeners/lovers who would totally agree with Nervel's rating.

You and I are probably fanboys when it comes to Penance and will therefore rate it way hgher and more subjectively
But even the first version was never a true cult classic either, just about 10 people regard it a classic I guess
Lucas - 07.02.2008 at 23:32  
Written by Guest on 07.02.2008 at 22:37

what in the name of FUCK? sorry man we can all have our opinions, but this rating just sucks. this was a milestone in the doom metal history and a cult release from the early 90s, gotta love it.


Hmm, the first time I get a negative response for a review. Was wondering when it would come.

Anyway, Venom is classic too, and they suck. Just because something is a 'milestone', doesn't mean I instantly have to like it. as I said, I thought it started out good, but just really went downhill after that.

EDIT: Oh yeah, and as Marcel pointed out, a 6.7 isnt really that bad. Its pretty much due to either the Dutch schoolsystem (in which a 5.5 is "pass") or the overall inflation of the rates on the internet. Seriously, take a MA review, and detract about 20 points from the rating. That should give you an idea. The same thing goes for MS, except a bit less extreme.
Raiden - 08.02.2008 at 05:05  
I'd been meaning to check out Penance for reasons I can't remember, but I forgot to. Now I see they've been reviewed. Well I dunno, I might see if I can view it through Marcel goggles, but maybe a Nervel taint will appear. We shall see!

By the way, why is everyone saying it was released in 2007 if we've got it down as 2005?
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.02.2008 at 16:37  
Written by Raiden on 08.02.2008 at 05:05

I'd been meaning to check out Penance for reasons I can't remember, but I forgot to. Now I see they've been reviewed. Well I dunno, I might see if I can view it through Marcel goggles, but maybe a Nervel taint will appear. We shall see!

By the way, why is everyone saying it was released in 2007 if we've got it down as 2005?


Oops, you'r eright. I think the reason I said 2007 is cause I bought it in 2007. I don't know why Severed Survival says 2007, maybe because I stated that year?
Raiden - 08.02.2008 at 17:02  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.02.2008 at 16:37

Written by Raiden on 08.02.2008 at 05:05

I'd been meaning to check out Penance for reasons I can't remember, but I forgot to. Now I see they've been reviewed. Well I dunno, I might see if I can view it through Marcel goggles, but maybe a Nervel taint will appear. We shall see!

By the way, why is everyone saying it was released in 2007 if we've got it down as 2005?

Oops, you'r eright. I think the reason I said 2007 is cause I bought it in 2007. I don't know why Severed Survival says 2007, maybe because I stated that year?

Haha, you sowed the idea in his head!

So the older version is cleaner then is it?
Severed Survival - 08.02.2008 at 17:33  
yes venom is classic and sucks,[fanboyism]BUT PENANCE FUCKEN RULEZ, WHAT!!!!111[/fanboyism]
Marcel Hubregtse - 08.02.2008 at 17:34  
Written by Raiden on 08.02.2008 at 17:02

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 08.02.2008 at 16:37

Written by Raiden on 08.02.2008 at 05:05

I'd been meaning to check out Penance for reasons I can't remember, but I forgot to. Now I see they've been reviewed. Well I dunno, I might see if I can view it through Marcel goggles, but maybe a Nervel taint will appear. We shall see!

By the way, why is everyone saying it was released in 2007 if we've got it down as 2005?

Oops, you'r eright. I think the reason I said 2007 is cause I bought it in 2007. I don't know why Severed Survival says 2007, maybe because I stated that year?

Haha, you sowed the idea in his head!

So the older version is cleaner then is it?


The one released by Rise Above records (yes, the label of Lee Dorian of Cathedral) is cleaner, plus is about 2 minutes shorter, so the versions of thye songs on it are also slightly differen.
Severed Survival - 08.02.2008 at 17:48  
meeh, anyway, i think if you give it some more listens you'll get into it, and if not, try something else, BUT GIVE THIS ALBUM A +8.5 RATING BRAAAAAAA
Southern Wind - 16.02.2008 at 17:18  
I hadn't listened to this shit but I TRULY love "The Road Less Travelled"

I would kill for the original cd

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient Cult 4.5 11.05.2010 by BreadGod
Reviews Mictlantecuhtli - Warriors Of The Black Sun 4.5 08.03.2009 by Black_Handed
Reviews Vhernen - The Funeral Era 4.5 20.07.2009 by Ag Fox
Reviews Marillion - Happiness Is The Road 4 28.10.2008 by Fat & Sassy!
Articles Welcome To My Nightmare... (An Introduction To The Sick And Twisted) 3.5 21.01.2009 by Darkside Momo



Hits total: 2216 | This month: 22