Rating:
8.0
Carpathian Forest - Fuck You All!!!! Caput Tuum In Ano Est
19 June 2006


01. Vi Åpner Porten Til Helvete...
02. The Frostbitten Woodlands Of Norway
03. Start Up The Incinerator (Here Comes Another Useless Fool)
04. Submit To Satan!!!
05. Diabolism (The Seed And The Sower)
06. Dypfryst / Dette Er Mitt Helvete
07. Everyday I Must Suffer
08. The First Cut Is The Deepest
09. Evil Egocentrical Existencialism
10. Shut Up, There Is No Excuse To Live


And again they have done it. Just like their mates from Darkthrone. If you would ask me who today's carriers of the Black Metal flame are, those would be the aforementioned Darkthrone and Carpathian Forest. Both of them keep releasing records that piss people off. And even better, the people that are being pissed off now are the same ones that used to enjoy pissing off others back in the day. That's irony for you.

"Fuck You All !!!!" was actually intended to be their swansong, but at the moment of writing, there are plans for a next release called "Universal Evil". Great. I can't wait. For now, we'll just have to rock out with our cocks out to this sweet baby.

On this album they have taken the rock and punk influences further than ever before. The cold atmosphere of the old days is almost completely gone. From that point of view it is understandable that the old fans grieve over the band's decision to 'modernize'. But if they would just give this album a chance instead of discarting it on sight, they would actually hear that they have only gained in strength.

As said, the music is much more influenced by punk. The name "Black 'n roll" has been dropped for their earlier works and applies even more to this one. We hear catchy, short riffs and rocking choruses, sprinkled over by the darkest and most grim of Black Metal. Yet they never seem to take themselves too serious. Through the entire recording, the most appealing factor is the ever present and dominating fun while recording. The blood, sweat and tears that were gladly spilled, and almost splash you in your face while listening.. that's rock 'n roll. Perfect examples of these are the songs "Submit To Satan" and "Start Up The Incinerator". They would be ridiculous if any other band would perform them, but Carpathian Forest can pull it off. A bulk of adrenaline rushes through your body and you cannot help but scream along, where ever you are.

This thing took me by surprise. Its simplicity was unexpected, yet very welcome. The additional rage it caused, was hilarious. A great band, a great discography, a great album.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Carpathian Forest
Album: Fuck You All!!!! Caput Tuum In Ano Est


 



Written on 20.02.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 122  
Search this topic:  


White Winter Sun - 23.02.2008 at 00:51  
I really know well only one of their albums, the previous one in fact, entitled "Defending The Throne Of Evil". And if I remember well, I had rather liked it.

After reading this review, I think that I should try this one.

Anyway, interesting review.
W-Lash - 29.02.2008 at 01:08  
Probably i'm against such major changes. That's the only explanation for my attitude to this album. It completely sucks.
I listened it one time and i still think that it was just a wasted hour...
Vocals was too awful indeed.
ozieb - 13.10.2008 at 16:15  
I would give this release even one point more, because of thing you included in review...because it's still original album from norwegian black metal and black metal scene, which is terribly stagnated.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9

cheers! waiting for CF to release Universal Evil and once again send "f*** you all" statement to all pus**** from bm scene
Berfones - 22.01.2009 at 21:39  
Written by W-Lash on 29.02.2008 at 01:08

Probably i'm against such major changes. That's the only explanation for my attitude to this album. It completely sucks.
I listened it one time and i still think that it was just a wasted hour...
Vocals was too awful indeed.

I wouldn't call is awful, but it's not my favorite BM album, or their's for that matter
the vocals can be great if used on different songs, it is not very punk-like, but it is too much, I would even go as far and call it "greenday in corpse paint and BM vocals"
Ragana - 22.01.2009 at 22:11  
I don't see the problem. Yes, it's not that old BM that it used to be.. but that's all right because Carpathian Forest still sounds as Carpathian Forest.
In fact, I think this album is my favourite from CF, although, in my opinion they haven't bad albums at all.
Yep, Submit To Satan!!!
Uirapuru - 18.04.2009 at 18:01  
Quote:
As said, the music is much more influenced by punk. The name "Black 'n roll" has been dropped for their earlier works and applies even more to this one. We hear catchy, short riffs and rocking choruses, sprinkled over by the darkest and most grim of Black Metal.


That's the reason why I think this album is the worse from Carpathian Forest. It's not that original because it was played before (and better) by them, and I miss the dark atmosphere of ''Black Shining Leather ''. Vi Åpner Porten Til Helvete... its the best song in this album.
Koen Smits - 23.06.2009 at 13:32  
I just love "punkish" black metal. I like every album from CF a lot an I on't give a shit about the trueness
or whatever of black metal. Awesome release!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Carpathian Forest - Strange Old Brew 5.5 05.07.2006 by Lucas
Reviews Carpathian Forest - Black Shining Leather 5.5 02.04.2009 by Uirapuru
Reviews Reverorum Ib Malacht - What Do You Think Of The Old God, We Call Him Judas? 4.5 24.12.2009 by Baz Anderson
News Carpathian Forest - Guitarist Leaves The Band 4.5 22.05.2009 by Slyfang
Reviews A Forest Of Stars - Opportunistic Thieves Of Spring 4.5 04.06.2010 by !J.O.O.E.!



Hits total: 5292 | This month: 31