Rating:
8.0
Eluveitie - Slania
15 February 2008


Disc I
01. Samon
02. Primordial Breath
03. Inis Mona
04. Grey Sublime Archon
05. Anagantios
06. Bloodstained Ground
07. The Somber Lay
08. Slanias Song
09. Giamonios
10. Tarvos
11. Calling The Rain
12. Elembivos
13. Samon [acoustic version] [bonus]

Disc II [Limited Edition DVD: Ragnarök Festival 2007]
01. Andro
02. Your Gaulish war
03. Song Of Life
04. Lament
+ Inis Mona [video]
+ Photogallery


Hail the new wave of folk metal with Eluveitie as one of the bands spearheading this charging attack on the world of metal. "Slania" brings the second of the band's full-length albums in strong but typical form as another album is added to the ever-growing pool of folk-influenced bands. Eluveitie set their sound up with plenty of layers of real folk instruments that intertwine with the metal, which adds a very pleasant and often beautiful mood to parts of the album but also compliments the heavy metal core of the album. In-between onslaughts of folkish instruments the backbone of the album seems to be heavily influenced and similar to many of the Göthenburg-sound melodic death metal bands around today.

Eluveitie seem to have everything you would want to be looking out for in a band of this style. As well as the folk-laced extreme Göthenburg sounding sides we have moments like the delightful instrumental track "Anagantios" which leads into one of the highlights of the albums in the In Flames reminiscent "Bloodstained Ground" providing pounding metal with strong folk elements woven amidst the crushing metal. Title track, as-it-were, "Slanias Song" also introduces female vocals which work splendidly giving the album yet more diversity that sometimes eludes other bands in the scene. "Slania" taken how it is, is a very enjoyable album offering plenty of standpoints from where you can stand to listen to it. The album is far from monotonous and it would seem each track attempts to bring something slightly different to the picture, albeit still all with a strong smack of Göthenburg death metal.

However folk metal is far from being a new thing in metal, although with the last few years the popularity of the genre has risen and shot through the roof which has in-turn caused the creation of seemingly masses of bands jumping on the originally unique sounding little subgenre and turned "folk metal" into one of the staples of metal these days. Yes, Eluveitie sound very talented in putting together opuses of grand folk metal as well as performing it but at times the, quite frankly bone dry and overused Göthenburg melodic death metal guitar riffs come into the picture and you are left in somewhat of an ambivalent state as "Slania" is both refreshingly original with the folk instruments and arrangements, but also nauseatingly predictable when it comes to the Soilwork and In Flames sounding guitar riffs chugging the music along. It would just be a shame for the original elements to be lost as time goes by and this "folk metal" becomes the next ignoreable, mass of mediocrity that becomes widely popular among metallers.

As with Eluveitie, "Slania" is a superb album of many dimensions and elements that are brought to shining life with the inclusion of all these folk instruments. The bland Göthenburg riffs included in the album can mostly be forgotten about but may rise to be a cause for concern in the future. Fans of this genre should definitely pay some attention to this album, everything you could ask for is in there somewhere, the album emits energy from start to finish and stays constantly busy in one way or another, this will surely please many camps in the metal world.


Band profile: Eluveitie
Album: Slania


 



Written on 15.02.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 40  
Users visited: 482  
Search this topic:  


Bas - 15.02.2008 at 19:15  
what do you think of this album as compared to spirit? most of everything you wrote in this review applies to the first album as well, are they very simialar then?

(good review btw, gives me a pretty clear picture of the sound)
Promonex - 15.02.2008 at 20:20  
Written by Bas on 15.02.2008 at 19:15

what do you think of this album as compared to spirit? most of everything you wrote in this review applies to the first album as well, are they very simialar then?

I'd say they are too similar. In spite of the huge stylistic leap the band made from Ven to Spirit, it hasn't really developed since then. It sounds less like Dark Tranquillity and more like In Flames if you ask me, and I haven't really learned to appreciate the individual songs as much as I learned to appreciate "Your Gaulish War", "Of Fire, Wind & Wisdom", "Siraxta" and "Tegernako"... yet. Might still come, but all in all Slania sounds a lot less refreshing as Spirit did. Very good album nonetheless. And awesome review, summed it all up very nicely and matches pretty much with my own impression.
aljazek - 15.02.2008 at 20:52  
My fave is absolutely "Slania's song"
Talvi - 15.02.2008 at 23:09  
Written by Bas on 15.02.2008 at 19:15

what do you think of this album as compared to spirit? most of everything you wrote in this review applies to the first album as well, are they very simialar then?

(good review btw, gives me a pretty clear picture of the sound)


In my opinion, the band is much more predictable, and probably, yes, more Gothenburg with the structure of the song. But I like the folk 'solos' or 'breaks' a lot more than in Spirit. But if you liked Spirit, you will probably like Slania.
Doc Godin - 16.02.2008 at 08:13  
This has been on my wishlist for a few weeks now, I love what Ive heard on the myspace, but I agree with the review aswell, the guitars can be pretty bland at times. Alot of folk metal bands cover up boring guitar work with layers of synth or folk instruments, there needs to be a balance, Eluveitie sometimes suffers from this problem but altogether it still sounds awesome.
Thryce - 16.02.2008 at 15:44  
I more or less agree with Promonex, in my opionion "Slania" is no longer new and fresh compared to "Spirit". But it still stays a good album nonetheless.

BTW: it's Gothenburg vs. Göteborg
Tristaniac - 16.02.2008 at 16:19  
Eluveitie is the best folk metal band nowadays!!
FeskarN - 16.02.2008 at 20:21  
I have the album but don't have listened to it.. But this give me good view how it gonna sound! I have only heard "Inis Mona" and that was a very catcy song!
Blood Work - 17.02.2008 at 15:07  
Just got the album and have to say, now that I listened to the album I totally agree with the review. True that the band is predictable but what I do not understand is how can this have a Gothenburg structure to it? I think the band failed to bring anything new to this album, however I did like Slanias Song.
Promonex - 17.02.2008 at 19:03  
Btw, does anyone else think that the beginning of "Slanias Song" sounds like "Where Will You Go" by Evanescence?
selken - 17.02.2008 at 19:45  
I've already downloaded this album, and I'm actually listening to it, its great, I'll have to wait until march to get it. As far as i've heard it's a well structured music, with strong elements of both In flames esque sound and folkish melodies, i don't know if there's another band like this, but I like this a lot. Great review btw.
Ellrohir - 18.02.2008 at 11:54  
hm...i´d say "forgettable" - some songs like Inis Mona are great but overall, there are too few "highlights" for me
RhaegarTargaryen - 18.02.2008 at 15:10  
True, Slania is just a continuation of Spirit, but I still rate it high, excellent folk album, and a nice review. If you liked first, you will like Slania also.
Samael - 18.02.2008 at 16:43  
The only impression I got when I listened to this band for the first time was like if Dark Tranquillity did an album with flutes and violins. The song writing is so similar as well as the sound. I can give them another chance. And nice review.
Abattoir - 29.02.2008 at 20:37  
Recently I heard this album for the first time and I think it's very good...I totally agree with the rating of this album.
I haven't pay so much attention to this band...but their style did quite good influence on me, for now.
Passenger - 29.02.2008 at 20:58  
I agree that this album is more MeloDeath than it is Folk Metal...which is exactly why I like it. It's just catchy, great songwritting, with extra instruments.
belisarius - 02.03.2008 at 18:39  
i love the more melodeath influences, sometimes in the older albums there were songs that were not metal anymore imo. inis mona and slania's song are my favs
Duy Hung - 02.03.2008 at 23:49  
Everyone i know is talking about this album , think i should give it a try though Folk Metal has never been my stuff
Rimfrost - 05.03.2008 at 22:19  
Incredible band, I am so sad now that I skipped them on Graspop in favour of sleeping. Best folk metal band out there now? Gotta get all their albums. Damn, I am moved by how good these guys actually are.
Stigmatized - 10.03.2008 at 22:28  
I'm actually enjoying this so far. The songs are catchy as can be, with some good folk sounds. Sometimes the folk instruments are a little over done, but still not bad.
Doc Godin - 12.04.2008 at 08:49  
Just got it, I love it! Strangely enough I think my favorite song might be 'Anagantios'
Sunioj - 12.04.2008 at 11:41  
Braveheart has nothing on this band.
whitehouse3001 - 15.05.2008 at 08:07  
Written by Passenger on 29.02.2008 at 20:58

I agree that this album is more MeloDeath than it is Folk Metal...which is exactly why I like it. It's just catchy, great songwritting, with extra instruments.


I agree, I think the folkiness sets the tone for the songs, but the guitars and melodeath vocals definitely drive the songs. I might say 8.0 is a little low, I might rate closer to 9. Maybe it's not ground-breakingly new material, but the songs are very well done.
HolyandFallen - 19.06.2008 at 20:39  
The best folk metal band!
HolyandFallen - 19.06.2008 at 20:45  
I haven't heard their early albums, but I have to admit that this album is really awesome. It doesn't sound like anything I heard earlier.
AxeLnAreD - 22.06.2008 at 14:50  
This album is awesome really...
I love folk breaks and solos in the death metal sound.It s gain to sound more atmospheric balance.
I hope this band wont break their soundway
Damnn I like it.
Marcus - 29.06.2008 at 03:44  
I think the rating is fair, as after seeing them live at Paganfest, the album sort of let me down a little bit, although I've only listened to it once. I wish it were more folk instead of melodeath, as I don't think the more extreme vocals really fit, but w/e.
Elio - 28.08.2008 at 22:48  
IMO this is a very good album. I love so much the folk elements with Gothenburg vocals!
Dreamwar_86 - 31.08.2008 at 03:39  
this is is just a gothenburg album with folk instruments first album is the best for me
LeChron James - 03.11.2008 at 11:57  
Killer album, far better than what i thought it was gonna be seeing as folk albums take a bit of time to click with me.
iaberis - 11.11.2008 at 17:09  
Very good stuff! I like both gothenburg and folk metal so this piece is very remarkable and kinda unique with its celtic sound... I'll buy it!
DanielViking - 11.11.2008 at 21:15  
I agree with the note... it's a great album
Shadowcross - 26.12.2008 at 08:25  
Id say about 8/10 too... accurate review. Fun album i put it on at work a lot.
I haven't heard tell of a better Göteborg style album released this year.
Paradox0 - 18.02.2009 at 20:29  
Not a bad Album but kind of reminded me of Spirit, alot of songs which are semi forgettable with two songs (Slania's Song and Calling the Rain) being the highlights. I'm actually listening to Spirit right now and I must say I REALLY miss the over riding folk elements of it. Still pretty good and listenable, if not very memorable. 7/10
Dominus - 02.03.2009 at 17:12  
Doubtless , the best 2008 folk album .This album is awesome and my favorite of folk metal !!!
Eternal Flames - 03.03.2009 at 13:16  
Written by Samael on 18.02.2008 at 16:43

The only impression I got when I listened to this band for the first time was like if Dark Tranquillity did an album with flutes and violins. The song writing is so similar as well as the sound. I can give them another chance. And nice review.


Exactly my thoughts. I honestly think this album is very overrated. Despite having a few good folk tracks, a fair bit of it is mostly standard, recycled Gothenburg/melo-death. And I thought Spirit was a pretty good album, so it disappoints me that Slania turned out to be so poor.
Morphis - 27.04.2009 at 19:46  
I feel bad that i had this album in my collection for many months and the 1st time i listened to it didnt really catch my eye and i was so into others bands that just ignored this one.
Out of nowhere i just gave other change to this album and im feeling good about it now lol.
I had a rate of 6 on it, just rased to a very deserved 8.
Heart_of_METAL - 08.05.2009 at 20:03  
In my opinion is Slania far better than Spirit, very, VERY awesome album, it is. Rating 8.0 is underrated, 9.2 it´s my.
gocasaca - 24.09.2009 at 18:26  
I recently found out about music of this awesome band, and, yes, they are definitely the best folk metal ones!
Since I like negatively skewed distributions, I give them 10 for Slania !
opeth771 - 08.02.2011 at 00:21  
One of the best albums ever, and Grey Sublime Archon is probably one of the best songs ever as well

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Fear Factory - Mechanize 4.5 28.02.2010 by demonseed
Reviews Korpiklaani - Manala 4.5 03.08.2012 by SamuelSanchezAlvarez
Reviews Vader - Necropolis 4.5 27.08.2009 by Biedrik
Articles Bloodstock Open Air - Catton Hall, England, 14th August 2011 - Day 3 3.5 18.08.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Articles Dimmu Borgir - Nottingham, England, 24th November 2011 3.5 25.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 12686 | This month: 5