Rating:
9.0
Winters - Black Clouds In Twin Galaxies
May 2007


01. Fried
02. Aftershown
03. Oh No
04. Endless Fight
05. Life Was so Simple
06. Mark My Word
07. Two Wrongs Make a Right
08. I'm a Destroyer
09. No Will
10. Did Me in
11. Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies


So you're sitting on the bathroom floor - wasted, numb and possibly (but not necessarily) on drugs.Your hands are searching for the perfect soundtrack for this state of nihilism. Well, allow me to help you - here's the British three-piece Winters' debut album „Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies". A seemingly simplistic piece of sludge-fueled stoner rock that radiates lively apathy. Doom has never been this much fun.

It has been said about Nirvana, that they had very powerful feelings about having no feelings. That description seems to describe Winters' soundscape aptly - this is one of the most emotionally dead, yet fun albums I've ever heard. It's extremely difficult to make a record that sounded apathetic and tasted sweet at the same time, but with „Black Clouds in Twin Galaxies" they seem to have gotten that just right - it's like bittersweet honey, slowly creeping down your spoon and dripping on your cold dead fingers. Winter's riffs paint a picture of an anthropomorphic hive of cuddly bumblebees carrying eight inch syringes filled with lactose, ready to attack. The music is fuzzy, relatively simple and extremely catchy, with some retro solo's to spice things up. What really sets this record apart though are the amazing, almost suicidal sounding vocals. The deeply nihilistic voice, in combination with the drone-like riffs works like a lullaby in a power-suit.

There's really no way I can describe all the feelings Winters evokes in me and if I wasn't so tuned out amidst all these sweet fuzzy tunes, I'd find that somewhat irritating. But I just can't - and even though all my problems are still out there in the real world, waiting for me like a hungry pack of wolves, I seriously don't care. I like them, even. And for some reason I seriously dig flowers right now. Yep - definitely dig the flowers. Also, I want to punch the Easter Bunny in the face. I know, I'm not making any sense but I don't care, I just do as I please.


 


written by destroyah | 05.03.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 71  
Search this topic:  


Damnated - 06.03.2008 at 00:19  
mmmm, sounds interesting. i'll check them out.
Rupert - 06.03.2008 at 01:12  
It does sound interesting. Is there a Myspace or other website where I can hear some stuff? I don't feel like looking through all the hits on Google with "winter" in them.
destroyah - 06.03.2008 at 01:22  
Written by Rupert on 06.03.2008 at 01:12

It does sound interesting. Is there a Myspace or other website where I can hear some stuff? I don't feel like looking through all the hits on Google with "winter" in them.



http://www.myspace.com/winterstheband



There you go. Apparently there's two new songs as well.
Rupert - 06.03.2008 at 01:59  
Thanks
BestMetalstormer - 06.03.2008 at 10:47  
9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears
MetalManic_Joel - 06.03.2008 at 16:19  
Written by BestMetalstormer on 06.03.2008 at 10:47

9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears


I am starting to see where jupitreas is coming from with his review approach on Metalstorm
destroyah - 06.03.2008 at 17:45  
Written by MetalManic_Joel on 06.03.2008 at 16:19

Written by BestMetalstormer on 06.03.2008 at 10:47

9.0 is two high for me. They arent too much down-tempo nor very psychedelic, or some problem with my ears


I am starting to see where jupitreas is coming from with his review approach on Metalstorm



Well, actually I too don't particularly like giving numeric ratings but I don't feel good about not giving them either. I am seriously considering ditching the system though. But I do encourage people to actually READ reviews instead of discussing over a NUMBER, that in the end, says absolutely nothing about an album.


As for this one, I couldn't rate it lower. I would've felt like shit, if I had - it's a really, really sweet album.
Meller - 19.02.2011 at 13:13  
This album is a gem, having an imprint of genius on it. If The Beatles would've ever made Doom album, this would be it. I can't help but love it, unconditionally.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Black Succubi - Black Succubi 4.5 15.08.2008 by
Reviews Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings 4 30.06.2009 by Dane Train
Reviews Vallendusk - Black Clouds Gathering 4 29.12.2013 by Skl3ros
Reviews Dream Theater - Black Clouds & Silver Linings 4 12.09.2013 by R Lewis
Albums Vallendusk - Black Clouds Gathering 3 20.04.2013 by Skyum



Hits total: 4341 | This month: 30