Rating:
8.5
DragonForce - Sonic Firestorm
19 April 2004


Disc I
01. My Spirit Will Go On
02. Fury Of The Storm
03. Fields Of Despair
04. Dawn Over A New World
05. Above The Winter Moonlight
06. Soldiers Of The Wasteland
07. Prepare For War
08. Once In A Lifetime
09. Cry Of The Brave [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [Remixed and Remastered Edition Bonus DVD]
+ Fury Of The Storm - LIve Performance, Japan 2005
+ Video Interviews
+ Video Commentary


DragonForce is one of little crowd Power Metal bands that are really accepted around our Metal society, and that's a great achievement since they have only released one album.
And that they was the most downloaded band on Mp3.com after they added some songs there, can't be anything else than a evidence that there is something special with this band, something that other Power Metal bands don't have.
What it is? Well, I would guess on inhuman speed and songs that not like all others. (Or is it Herman's hair?).

"Sonic Firestorm" is the name on the successor to 2003's "Valley of the Damned", an album that I never really liked. There is nothing wrong with it, but it didn't just fit me.
So I was a bit sceptic before receiving this album too, and after one spin, I wasn't more convinced.
Yeah sure, it's fast and the songs hold really high quality, ZP has a good voice and Herman have the longest hair, ever. But still, there was something that I missed, something that made me think, "Hey, this is fucking awesome".
And after the first spin of "Sonic Firestorm" I had the same feeling, except the inhuman speed of the music there was something that I missed.

Extreme Power Metal, that really make me laugh, even if it's a quite good explanation of the music since it's so fast and the drums sometimes really could fit a extreme band.
I know this album is very longed-for album and that the fans probably would kill me after read what I just written, but wait until I'm finish, ok?

After given the album some spins (I would guess around 10-12) I have really got stuck with it.
ZP's voice is really convincing me now, and the songs have grown very much.
So yes, for me this was such album that really had to grow before I liked it.
I still don't think it's a masterpiece, but it's quite original and that's good.
But unfortunately sometimes it seems like they think it's more important to play fast instead of really find good melodic parts, but maybe that's a matter of taste?

The new additional for the band, Adrian Lambert (Bass) and Dave Macintosh (Drums) really have to, at least the last one, work for their wage, since the double bass drumming is just going and going.
But it's creating a good rhythm for the band, an untiring drummer that seems to give all he got all the time.

But there are some songs that they have really been thinking before playing, the 9-minute long "Soldiers of the Wasteland" sounds really well considered, and they don't just going in 200km/h all the time.
And the ballad, "Dawn Over a New World" is very good. And is the slowest this album has to offer.

Overall it's a good album that, in my opinion, is better then it's precursor. But sometimes is just to fast. Some more planed parts in the songs, as in "Soldiers of the Wasteland" and next album will be a real killer.

Btw, if you want a foretaste, pay a visit to the official homepage where you can find the opener, "My Spirit Will Go on" available for download.

Favourite Songs: "My Spirit Will Go on", "Soldiers of the Wasteland" & "Once in a Lifetime".


Band profile: DragonForce
Album: Sonic Firestorm


 


written by Malcolm | 17.04.2004



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 177  
Search this topic:  


ThunderAxe1989 - 27.11.2006 at 02:23  
This was the first DragonForce album that I ever purchased. It's pretty sweet . They are such a unique band, the combination of fast Power Metal and Arcade Music .....in my view that is just pure genious!

......though I must confess, I do preferre their latest album, "Inhuman Rampage"
Doc Godin - 27.11.2006 at 02:45  
I definitly wouldnt give it an 8.5. theres 1 or 2 good tracks on the album but the rest are just filler tracks that sound like they were thrown together with random notes played as fast as possible. id give this album a 7
buttsechs - 09.12.2006 at 05:04  
lol am i the only one that ever noticed their true sound? their songs all sound the same. all songs hardly differ from one another. maybe some few little changes here and there but that's it. the awful stench of repulsive unoriginality.
flamesoficarus - 24.03.2007 at 13:29  
i agree with both of you guys, i had high expectations when i bought this album but as a whole it sucked. sure 1 or 2 songs are pretty good in a power cheesey way, but the rest sound like like they put them in just to make an album rather than an EP.

Oh someone correct me if im wrong, but iv heard that they speed up their guitars when they are recorded so that they are faster than they normally would be : /
Noel Sonic - 05.07.2007 at 16:42  
Yes, right, their song songs the same...I perfer Inhuman Rampage
4look4rd - 28.12.2007 at 23:26  
Valley of the Damned with a better production, thats it. And Inhuman Rampage is just like valley of the damned with a better production and better drums xD

This band is nice the first time you hear it, but after you heard the first or second album there is no need in listening to the other ones, because they all sound pretty much the same (and thats coming from a power metalhead who is used the casual repetitiveness of PM)
+{Jonas}+ - 10.02.2008 at 20:11  
This album is certainly kickass. It's very very very fast, probably the fastest melodic band I've heard, and spite they're not so original with the lyrics, they'rea pretty cool band, very uplifting. Listening to DragonForce is like standing under a ray of sunlight in teh middle of a storm.
PrinceofSylvania - 13.05.2008 at 03:00  
What a damn good album. Almost as amazing as Inhuman Rampage. First time listening to this was a real kick in the nuts. The musicianship on here is at Dragonforce's best. Wow- the only word to describe this album.
Daggon - 25.05.2008 at 20:01  
Written by Doc Godin on 27.11.2006 at 02:45

I definitly wouldnt give it an 8.5. theres 1 or 2 good tracks on the album but the rest are just filler tracks that sound like they were thrown together with random notes played as fast as possible. id give this album a 7


Sounds like you and me can think the same sometimes jeje
Ellrohir - 26.05.2008 at 10:48  
this is one of the best albums ever imo
Elio - 25.08.2008 at 15:37  
the first two songs and the 5th. that's all.
Dragonforce89 - 03.10.2008 at 23:38  
This album is one of the best ever. IR isn't but still good.
Inhuman Rampage has OGaP, TTFAF and some more.
SF has all.
Nicko's Nose - 21.10.2008 at 02:16  
5/10.

Extremely unoriginal album from an extremely unoriginal band. It gets terribly boring after 3 songs.
StratoDan1990 - 14.12.2008 at 19:43  
My favourite song from the album is the Japanese Bonus Track - Cry of the Brave and I would recommend this album, although Valley Of The Damned is my favourite.
imspazzen - 14.06.2011 at 17:52  
"DragonForce is one of little crowd Power Metal bands that are really accepted around our Metal society"

Oh how times have changed lol. I really like this album though and SOTW remains my favorite song of theirs.
ZGoten - 13.07.2011 at 19:36  
Written by imspazzen on 14.06.2011 at 17:52

"DragonForce is one of little crowd Power Metal bands that are really accepted around our Metal society"

Oh how times have changed lol. I really like this album though and SOTW remains my favorite song of theirs.


That's exactly what I though as well.^^
DF may not be the best band out there and are certainly far from original (just take a look at the lyrics, lol), but they are still much better than people make them out to be. I think part of that hate, if you will, comes from the fact that people don't like new bands arising and gaining main stream attention to a certain extent, when bands that have been around for much longer and that play arguably better crafted music, don't. DragonForce is just plain fun to listen to.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums DragonForce - Sonic Firestorm 6 17.04.2010 by
Funny stuff Dragonforce - Sonic Firestorm 4.5 12.02.2009 by Nickferatu367
Reviews Freedom Call - The Circle Of Life 3 03.04.2008 by 4look4rd
Reviews Nocturnal Rites - New World Messiah 3 30.09.2009 by Ellrohir
Reviews Blaze Bayley - Blood & Belief 3 15.06.2007 by



Hits total: 3984 | This month: 41