Rating:
8.5
Bloodbath - Unblessing The Purity [EP]
10 March 2008


01. Blasting The Virginborn
02. Weak Aside
03. Sick Salvation
04. Mouth Of Empty Praise


Even if we will ever have an eternal debate between the fans of Åkerfeldt and Tägtgren concerning the "good vocalist" of Bloodbath I'm really happy to see the return of Opeth leader. Not that I dislike Peter Tägtgren but it's good to have this little alternation between these two monsters of Death Metal. Four years after the excellent "Nightmares Made Flesh", the Swedish combo is back with a new EP "Unblessing The Purity", one more time the fans of Death Metal will be satisfied!

Bloodbath is a real dream team; the line-up features five of the most convincing musicians from Sweden but of course this is their music which is more than convincing too. One more time the band proposes four excellent classic Death Metal songs. This is violent with extreme riffs and fast tempos but as always with Bloodbath (this is the Katatonia's influence…) we have great dark melodies and amazing guitars soli. "Unblessing The Purity" is a pure album of old school Death Metal but with great melodies and naughty and disturbing ambiances. I like that fact, Bloodbath is maybe violent but the music of the combo is always melodic without being commercial (or not a lot at least).

This EP is perfectly produced, the performance of the guys is simply amazing and the artwork in the pure vein of the old school Death Metal releases fits perfectly to the general ambiance of the release. There is nothing wrong to say about this EP actually, if you're into Death Metal, you just cannot miss this release. The songs are four Death Metal anthems and we don't have any kind of mistake in the album, this is just classy Death and nothing else.

The only thing that I will add to this review is that I'm waiting for the upcoming full length album of the combo. Apparently it should be released later this year (after the live recording which will be out at the end of April) and Mikael Åkerfeldt should be the lead singer one more time. Let's hope that the band will follow this way, because "Unblessing The Purity" is a orgasmic release and definitely we want and need more releases like this one. Don't wait anymore if you want to listen to top-notch Death, "Unblessing The Purity" was made for you.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Bloodbath
Album: Unblessing The Purity


 


written by Jeff | 09.04.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 260  
Search this topic:  


Damnated - 09.04.2008 at 19:15  
didn't sounded old-school to me at all, and it was a bit uninspired. good, non endless.
Ereinion - 09.04.2008 at 19:24  
Unblessing The Purity is a really good ep every death metal fan should listen it!
Sunioj - 09.04.2008 at 19:43  
Written by Damnated on 09.04.2008 at 19:15

didn't sounded old-school to me at all, and it was a bit uninspired. good, non endless.


I agree though, the songs sounded a lot more modern DM to me. But fair score.
CyGuy6587 - 09.04.2008 at 21:09  
This EP is brill, to think the band features members of Opeth and Katatonia!
Infurnace - 09.04.2008 at 23:15  
Hmm.. yeah, it's not really old-school, but the songs are brilliant. I love this EP.
Metal Maiden - 09.04.2008 at 23:19  
This sure is one mean EP, exactly what I expected from these guys - nothing more, nothing less...And that's a good thing... I was a bit afraid they would change their sound after all this time, but obviously in vain - they still breed pure death...so to say...
And I love the way they're doing it...
Lone Reaper - 09.04.2008 at 23:47  
Akerfeld's vocal is too opetish... It makes some troubles to apprehend this album as Bloodbath album %)

But this minion is still good one...
Doc Godin - 09.04.2008 at 23:48  
Its good, but out of the Akerfeldt BloodBath recordings its probably my least favorite....
João Pirucas - 10.04.2008 at 01:29  
I'm not a big fan of Death Metal, but I love this EP!
parallax - 10.04.2008 at 18:49  
Just listened to the tracks on their myspace.

I really wish Tagtgren was singing on these songs. Akerfeldt is great, but he belongs in Opeth and only Opeth in my eyes.

And yeah, don't really get an old-school feel from these songs, but they're awesome anyways. "Weak Aside" sounds incredible.
ß - 11.04.2008 at 00:14  
I enjoyed their EP quite a bit. It didn't sound very old school it sounded damn pretty good.
XAV_METALOGIST - 14.10.2008 at 23:48  
We Dont Care If It Sounds Old School Or Not I Prefer Some Songs Of Ressurection For Sure ... But These Guys Have The Best Originality I Never Seen ... Blasting The Virginborn Is One Of The Greatest Death Metal Song .... This EP Is Fucking Insane
Uirapuru - 12.11.2009 at 15:25  
Yeah, perfect production, nice riffs, solos, vocals. Pretty good.. but then why I still miss ''Resurrection Through Carnage'' so much?? -_-'

Dont see much to praise about this EP... its good... just that.
Array - 25.05.2010 at 19:59  
This EP sounds almost as Belphegor. Bloodbath does Bloodbath well, but this style Belphegor and some others do better.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Bloodbath - The Fathomless Mastery 7.5 06.10.2008 by
Albums Bloodbath - Unblessing The Purity 7.5 27.11.2011 by AngelofDeth
Reviews Bloodbath - The Wacken Carnage 7.5 07.07.2008 by ylside
Reviews Urbandux - The Aftermath 4.5 19.11.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Darkwater - Calling The Earth To Witness 4.5 08.07.2007 by MetalSpider



Hits total: 6236 | This month: 44