Rating:
6.8
Alestorm - Captain Morgan's Revenge
25 January 2008


01. Over The Seas
02. Captain Morgan's Revenge
03. The Huntmaster
04. Nancy The Tavern Wench
05. Death Before The Mast
06. Terror On The High Seas
07. Set Sail And Conquer
08. Of Treasure
09. Wenches & Mead
10. Flower Of Scotland [The Corries cover]


Alright! Finally a concept band that steps away from the cliché Viking metal theme. A theme that has scarcely been shown since Running Wild, but unfortunately, Alestorm is no Running Wild.

The album opens up with no warning, trumpets and chugging guitars right from the start. Sounds like some epic fun right? Well, yes, if you are six years old. This album is about as predictable and unbearably cheesy as one band can be. First of all, the keyboards do create the sound the band was probably trying to achieve but it just becomes patronizing. We understand, you are pirates, now lay off the overused hooks with accordion synthesizers. As far as the guitars go, there is very little to say, 90% of the time they are so deeply buried by overproduced trumpet or accordion synthesizers they seem to be there just to make the sound a little beefier, or so the album doesn't get mistaken for the "Muppet Treasure Island" soundtrack. The overall song structure is the predictable part, I don't think there is a single riff on this album I haven't heard somewhere else. Lastly lets take a look at these lyrics; icing on the cheesecake. For the most part, these lyrics are (like a lot of other aspects of the album) completely predictable, most songs being dominated by stupidly facile rhymes like these: "There lived one man who was true/ Guardian of secrets that only he knew/Condemned for a crime that he did not commit/ Sentenced to die in the depths of the pit".

The album is not entirely bad though. There are two songs on the album that I actually enjoyed, mostly because they weren't entirely smothered in synthesizers. The first of these two songs being 'Death before the Mast' - which has a very nice build-up starting with just bass & drums, then guitars and vocals coming in in a solid pumping rhythm, a good sound that is carried out throughout the song while actually being balanced out with the synthesizers. The second decent song is 'Terror On The High Seas' - this song has a neat little drum intro before a decent chugging intro riff with a cool solo layered over top comes in, once again balancing the synthesizers out nicely through the entire song. That sums up the good part of the album.

This album partially bothers me because all the musicians seem to have great skill but unfortunately being a novelty band is a dead-end road, I can't imagine them successfully repeating this for three or four albums, or offer much change without dropping the gimmick.
I highly recommend against this album unless you can stomach heavy synthesizers, boring guitars and childish lyrics.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Alestorm
Album: Captain Morgan's Revenge


 


written by Doc Godin | 20.04.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 57  
Users visited: 222  
Search this topic:  


Ellrohir - 20.04.2008 at 13:26  
thumb down for this review from Alestorm lover
dismaleuphony - 21.04.2008 at 22:39  
I have to say, you've expressed my thoughts exactly on this album. Yes, I can listen to it from beginning to end, but it's more a joke than it is something I can take seriously. I guess they'd be a good opening act though on tour... But I get this feeling that the whole pirate thing is not genuine, and an all-out marketing campaign to get attention. Good rating as well.
Shadowcross - 25.04.2008 at 18:02  
I think they pull it off... it does make me laugh and it's a nice change from the power metal norm.
Wenches and mead is a great song!!
Daggon - 13.05.2008 at 06:49  
I like this album, many vikings and nordic gods out there, maybe some pirate stuff can stand a chance this days, thumb down of this review, who cares, if you want to listen to this album do it, if you didn't like it who cares.
Doc Godin - 22.05.2008 at 03:50  
Written by Daggon on 13.05.2008 at 06:49

if you didn't like it who cares.

If that were true every review on this site would be a 9.9/10.
Daggon - 25.05.2008 at 08:11  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.05.2008 at 03:50

Written by Daggon on 13.05.2008 at 06:49

if you didn't like it who cares.

If that were true every review on this site would be a 9.9/10.


jeje, well that's true jaja thanks, I just don't like too much reviews, I don't know why I still read them jeje, but everyone has a different opinion and that's great. Well maybe I must stop reading reviews :p
Ghost Blader - 01.06.2008 at 23:18  
I think these guys are awsome and i don't care what you say, it's WAY better than Manowar!:banger2::banger:
Mr. Doctor - 15.06.2008 at 00:09  
Way too cheesy for my tastes... The idea is cool, but it's badly played.
Abattoir - 23.06.2008 at 16:16  
Well, the beginnig, or more excatly, the first three maybe four songs aren't so bad...the rest of it is so so.
Necrogeddon - 24.07.2008 at 14:15  
well i enjoy it...i think music can be too serious sometimes, and its nice to have some bands that can dress up as pirates and sing about wenches and mead
Janne - 05.08.2008 at 00:00  
It's a very interesting album. Half of the songs are great(Captain Morgan's Revenge, Set Sail And Conquer, Wenches And Meat...) but there are some songs which are not really good(Death Before The Mast, Teror On The High Seas). by the way I like this music maybe because it's easy to listen to it.
Doc Godin - 05.08.2008 at 03:37  
Written by Janne on 05.08.2008 at 00:00

It's a very interesting album. Half of the songs are great(Captain Morgan's Revenge, Set Sail And Conquer, Wenches And Meat...) but there are some songs which are not really good(Death Before The Mast, Teror On The High Seas). by the way I like this music maybe because it's easy to listen to it.

Funny, your 2 least favorite songs were the only 2 that werent completely drowned in keyboard synths.
Janne - 05.08.2008 at 15:06  
I don't really like the voice of the synths in Alestrom... It would be better if they used a real accordion!
Uirapuru - 08.09.2008 at 15:45  
Very nice band, good to hear at any time.. doesnt matter if its cheesy, or the lyrics are childish (who cares about this?!) all that i know is that i have fun listen to this album. Has an original theme (i love this kind of folk, one of the few kinds who arent tribal), an ok vocal, and a descent sound... good enough.. 8/10

reminds me of One Piece... good songs for Amv's...
Jonnz of Steel - 23.09.2008 at 00:28  
I prefared the Battleheart EPs as well. I love the songs, but for some reason the album just loses the fun carelessness of the EPs. It sounds to professional and loses Battleheart's origional soul...
Janne - 23.09.2008 at 13:38  
Written by Jonnz of Steel on 23.09.2008 at 00:28

I prefared the Battleheart EPs as well. I love the songs, but for some reason the album just loses the fun carelessness of the EPs. It sounds to professional and loses Battleheart's origional soul...

Yeah it sounds differently than the EPs. I like both old and new sound. but their Korpiklaani cover kicks ass!
Jonnz of Steel - 23.09.2008 at 16:13  
Written by Janne on 23.09.2008 at 13:38

Written by Jonnz of Steel on 23.09.2008 at 00:28

I prefared the Battleheart EPs as well. I love the songs, but for some reason the album just loses the fun carelessness of the EPs. It sounds to professional and loses Battleheart's origional soul...

Yeah it sounds differently than the EPs. I like both old and new sound. but their Korpiklaani cover kicks ass!

Yeah man that fucking slayed! Their instrumental No Quarter was pretty awesome as well, shame those two songs have disapeared since the name change...
Janne - 23.09.2008 at 19:27  
Written by Jonnz of Steel on 23.09.2008 at 16:13

Written by Janne on 23.09.2008 at 13:38

Written by Jonnz of Steel on 23.09.2008 at 00:28

I prefared the Battleheart EPs as well. I love the songs, but for some reason the album just loses the fun carelessness of the EPs. It sounds to professional and loses Battleheart's origional soul...

Yeah it sounds differently than the EPs. I like both old and new sound. but their Korpiklaani cover kicks ass!

Yeah man that fucking slayed! Their instrumental No Quarter was pretty awesome as well, shame those two songs have disapeared since the name change...

maybe they will release these songs (also the intro in Battleheart (The Glorious Battle) which is awesome too) later. They also released the song Heavy Metal Pirates on a single this year! Let's hope!
Tórnach - 07.10.2008 at 00:12  
That review is crap. Blazing trumpets and roaring guitars make the band, and it makes them fuckin' good. The band is fun; their lyrics are amazing, they tell a story. It's a shame to see the lowest rating you gave is songwriting, when it is their very lyrics which make the album.

Their music is different, and that spawns from the songwriting. You even contradict yourself by saying it breaks away from the viking scene when the only way it can do that -- 'cause the instrumentals aren't TOO different -- is in the lyrics!
Doc Godin - 07.10.2008 at 02:08  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2008 at 00:12

That review is crap. Blazing trumpets and roaring guitars make the band, and it makes them fuckin' good. The band is fun; their lyrics are amazing, they tell a story. It's a shame to see the lowest rating you gave is songwriting, when it is their very lyrics which make the album.

Their music is different, and that spawns from the songwriting. You even contradict yourself by saying it breaks away from the viking scene when the only way it can do that -- 'cause the instrumentals aren't TOO different -- is in the lyrics!

Moon, spoon, june. That sums up this album, I suggest finding out what that phrase means.
Tórnach - 07.10.2008 at 08:17  
You mean meaningless, random words which rhyme with each other but carry no communication?
If you honestly believe the artificial ideas in your head, I suggest you actually read the lyrics before assuming you know them.
Doc Godin - 08.10.2008 at 00:30  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2008 at 08:17

You mean meaningless, random words which rhyme with each other but carry no communication?
If you honestly believe the artificial ideas in your head, I suggest you actually read the lyrics before assuming you know them.

Well, I actually own the CD, and yes, I have read through the lyrics. By moon spoon june I don't necessarily mean random, but yes, I mean facile rhymes with meaningless lyrics, like poetry written by a fourth grader. I posted a nice example in the review itself, perhaps you just looked at the rating instead of actually reading the review? Speaking of which, I have fully explained all my problems with the album, you just seemed to argue against my review with some self righteous belief that you have some profound understanding of the album that I lack, which is funny considering what a shallow album it is. You have yet to even give one actual reason why my review is crap, the opinion of the review can neither be right or wrong, but lack of evidence to support those opinions is what makes a review crap, and once again, I explained myself well.
necrovamp - 08.10.2008 at 02:06  
their ok as a fun thing to listen to about once a year apart from that they are really bad and their lyrics sound like i wrote them lol. i agree witht he rating. though they were fun to watch at boa and the singers quite amusing.
Mr. Doctor - 08.10.2008 at 18:15  
Written by Guest on 07.10.2008 at 00:12

It's a shame to see the lowest rating you gave is songwriting, when it is their very lyrics which make the album.


It says SONGwriting... not lyricswriting... It has nothing to do with the lyrics.
Scottgun - 08.10.2008 at 20:44  
I'm willing to grant them a one album gimme as a head-clearing exercise to get all the pirate clichés out of their system. Hopefully, they will go on to put out some substantial music and be more than a novelty act.
Tórnach - 08.10.2008 at 22:49  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.10.2008 at 18:15

Written by Guest on 07.10.2008 at 00:12

It's a shame to see the lowest rating you gave is songwriting, when it is their very lyrics which make the album.


It says SONGwriting... not lyricswriting... It has nothing to do with the lyrics.

Hahahahaha, I hope for the future of humanity that that is a joke.
Tórnach - 08.10.2008 at 22:56  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.10.2008 at 00:30

Written by Guest on 07.10.2008 at 08:17

You mean meaningless, random words which rhyme with each other but carry no communication?
If you honestly believe the artificial ideas in your head, I suggest you actually read the lyrics before assuming you know them.

Well, I actually own the CD, and yes, I have read through the lyrics. By moon spoon june I don't necessarily mean random, but yes, I mean facile rhymes with meaningless lyrics, like poetry written by a fourth grader. I posted a nice example in the review itself, perhaps you just looked at the rating instead of actually reading the review? Speaking of which, I have fully explained all my problems with the album, you just seemed to argue against my review with some self righteous belief that you have some profound understanding of the album that I lack, which is funny considering what a shallow album it is. You have yet to even give one actual reason why my review is crap, the opinion of the review can neither be right or wrong, but lack of evidence to support those opinions is what makes a review crap, and once again, I explained myself well.


Aaand yes, in all honesty and defense of the band, there is no way to argue the cheesyness of the lyrics. But honestly, I think that is what makes it so awesome, they use such awesome/cheesy themes it's almost impossible not to enjoy.
Mr. Doctor - 09.10.2008 at 00:11  
Written by Guest on 08.10.2008 at 22:49

Hahahahaha, I hope for the future of humanity that that is a joke.


You can take it as you wish.

I have seen some reviews here of albums that lacks lyrics... at all. And still have good points of songwriting... Why?
Because at least most of us think that feeling the music is more interesting than good lyrics. Examples? A lot of death metal bands with childish lyrics about raping someone and the music is still crushing, that's why people put some good points on songwriting.

In this special case... it's not wroth complaing anything, because both the lyrics and the songs's structure are something that I can easily forget. But that's off course my opinion.
But Doc. already explained why he wrote the review with reasons that are more than enough... You can always write your own.

Written by Guest on 08.10.2008 at 22:56

they use such awesome/cheesy themes it's almost impossible not to enjoy.


Here are we again... different opinions.
I respect yours, you can do the same as well since I can't enjoy their lyrics and music, Am I too serious? Maybe... but how the heck cares anyway.
Doc Godin - 17.10.2008 at 03:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.10.2008 at 00:11

Written by Guest on 08.10.2008 at 22:56

they use such awesome/cheesy themes it's almost impossible not to enjoy.


Here are we again... different opinions.
I respect yours, you can do the same as well since I can't enjoy their lyrics and music, Am I too serious? Maybe... but how the heck cares anyway.

I care, because the same kind of mentality could be said for movies; "Why don't like The Barney movie? Its all about having fun and its cheesy so you can't not enjoy it" (<- sweet, double negative!)
Mr. Doctor - 17.10.2008 at 16:35  
Written by Doc Godin on 17.10.2008 at 03:18

I care, because the same kind of mentality could be said for movies; "Why don't like The Barney movie? Its all about having fun and its cheesy so you can't not enjoy it" (<- sweet, double negative!)


O well, that's true. But what I wanted to say is that we don't get anything if we complain. Since there are still some people who like mega-chessy stuff like this one.
annodomini - 03.11.2008 at 14:21  
Im the big, very big fan of Pirates of Caribbean, and this album really creates Piratish atmosphere, and the lyrics, that few are based on POC, are really powerfull, still funny. It was an experiance to hear word like: Barbossa, pieces of eigyt... etc.
StratoDan1990 - 11.11.2008 at 22:27  
I love korpiklaani and turisas, but Alestorm are my most favourite. Their Terror on the high seas EP was amazing, since they released that in 06 ive been a huge fan.
MétalNoir - 23.11.2008 at 20:16  
In the same vein as Terasbetoni... Incredibly cheesy, yet makes me smile. Not great music, but a lot of happiness in there!
Talvi - 24.11.2008 at 09:51  
The rating is too generous. This album is nothing but crap.
Doc Godin - 24.11.2008 at 09:54  
Written by Talvi on 24.11.2008 at 09:51

The rating is too generous. This album is nothing but crap.

Yes, I had that same feeling, the only regret I have about this review (despite the 95% negative feedback about it ). Occasionally there are times when I can listen to a song or two every now and then, but even when I'm in that type of mood theres usually something better I want to listen to.
Mr. Doctor - 24.11.2008 at 19:13  
Written by Doc Godin on 24.11.2008 at 09:54

Occasionally there are times when I can listen to a song or two every now and then, but even when I'm in that type of mood theres usually something better I want to listen to.


I can't do that... I just feel fucking gay when I hear the vocals... that's the point when I know "I have to stop this NOW"
Janne - 24.11.2008 at 21:20  
Hey guys, have you ever seen Alestorm live?! I bet you haven't because you wouldn't say such things if you had...
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.11.2008 at 07:12  
Written by Janne on 24.11.2008 at 21:20

Hey guys, have you ever seen Alestorm live?! I bet you haven't because you wouldn't say such things if you had...


This is an album review and not a live review.

I have seen bands that are brilliant live yet on cd they are shit, so when reviewing their cd's I will say they are shit. No matter how brilliant they are live.

Hell, I enjoyed Korpiklaani live because I was drunk but still say their music on album is mediocre at best.
Ellrohir - 31.12.2008 at 01:41  
And i like Korpiklaani both live and studio

about Alestorm i dont know, because i missed them live
Elio - 01.01.2009 at 17:13  
I think the vote Dr.Rock gives is too high, considering what he says the review. If I thought this about an ablum, I would give it way less then 7-
Doc Godin - 02.01.2009 at 01:25  
Written by Elio on 01.01.2009 at 17:13

I think the vote Dr.Rock gives is too high, considering what he says the review. If I thought this about an ablum, I would give it way less then 7-

Because despite terribly lame and overall being bad song writers, they are very good musicians, the musicianship in the album is what earned it the rating I felt was appropriate. That, and there were 2 songs I enjoyed the entire way through, and there are actually a few ok riffs and solos dispersed amongst the shit.
Elio - 02.01.2009 at 01:28  
Written by Doc Godin on 02.01.2009 at 01:25

Written by Elio on 01.01.2009 at 17:13

I think the vote Dr.Rock gives is too high, considering what he says the review. If I thought this about an ablum, I would give it way less then 7-

Because despite terribly lame and overall being bad song writers, they are very good musicians, the musicianship in the album is what earned it the rating I felt was appropriate. That, and there were 2 songs I enjoyed the entire way through, and there are actually a few ok riffs and solos dispersed amongst the shit.

Mmh. But you also said most of them were similar/already heard.
Doc Godin - 02.01.2009 at 01:32  
Written by Elio on 02.01.2009 at 01:28

Written by Doc Godin on 02.01.2009 at 01:25

Written by Elio on 01.01.2009 at 17:13

I think the vote Dr.Rock gives is too high, considering what he says the review. If I thought this about an ablum, I would give it way less then 7-

Because despite terribly lame and overall being bad song writers, they are very good musicians, the musicianship in the album is what earned it the rating I felt was appropriate. That, and there were 2 songs I enjoyed the entire way through, and there are actually a few ok riffs and solos dispersed amongst the shit.

Mmh. But you also said most of them were similar/already heard.

Most
1. in the greatest quantity, amount, measure, degree, or number: to win the most votes.
2. in the majority of instances.
3. greatest, as in size or extent.

Not all. Understand?
Elio - 02.01.2009 at 01:34  
Written by Doc Godin on 02.01.2009 at 01:32

Written by Elio on 02.01.2009 at 01:28

Written by Doc Godin on 02.01.2009 at 01:25

Written by Elio on 01.01.2009 at 17:13

I think the vote Dr.Rock gives is too high, considering what he says the review. If I thought this about an ablum, I would give it way less then 7-

Because despite terribly lame and overall being bad song writers, they are very good musicians, the musicianship in the album is what earned it the rating I felt was appropriate. That, and there were 2 songs I enjoyed the entire way through, and there are actually a few ok riffs and solos dispersed amongst the shit.

Mmh. But you also said most of them were similar/already heard.

Most
1. in the greatest quantity, amount, measure, degree, or number: to win the most votes.
2. in the majority of instances.
3. greatest, as in size or extent.

Not all. Understand?

There's no need to mock me.
Feng - 01.02.2009 at 00:39  
I agree with this review. The entire sound of the album is too cheesy for me really. I can see the appeal though, I have a few friends who love this album.... but personally it just does not do it for me.
Kurimus - 31.07.2009 at 12:32  
5 From me. cheesy keyboard jerking off.
Daggon - 07.08.2009 at 08:27  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.05.2008 at 03:50

Written by Daggon on 13.05.2008 at 06:49

if you didn't like it who cares.

If that were true every review on this site would be a 9.9/10.


Sorry man, I was an idiot back then, now I understand what you said on your review, I now find this album cheesy, boring, vomitive and mediocre. Just two songs are quiet good, and they are the ones you mentioned. Still I find it funny at times but surely I won't be listening to this frequentlly.
Ellrohir - 08.08.2009 at 10:12  
And i still find it good though new release is even better for me
Njord - 14.08.2009 at 15:19  
Yes, it's a cheesy album, but I think the band suffers much negative comments because it's associated with the viking scene when for me they are more similar to the symphonic/power sound. I say this because they have all: almost same structure in every song, keyboards all the way, choirs, fast solos, etc..

Maybe because I prefer the symphonic scene I enjoyed what this album brought (the inclusion of the accordion, more agressivity, no female voice or lyrics without drama), so it's a good finding for who's a bit tired of nightwish, angtoria or sonata arctica.
rockmachine - 11.09.2009 at 11:45  
Like the album, lively music what ever the critics says, lyics do make sense...more over i think the review is way too rhetoric...cheers Alestrom!!! we love you....:)

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Alestorm - Captain Morgan's Revenge 7.5 09.08.2012 by ThunderAxe1989
Funny stuff Alestorm - Captain Morgan's Revenge 6 15.04.2010 by JÄY
Reviews Alestorm - Back Through Time 4.5 29.09.2012 by Ellrohir
Reviews Baroness - Red Album 3 24.05.2009 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Black Label Society - Shot To Hell 3 20.03.2008 by Plaguebearer



Hits total: 5553 | This month: 45