Kamelot - Ghost Opera - The Second Coming review



Reviewer:
N/A

165 users:
8.21
Band: Kamelot
Album: Ghost Opera - The Second Coming
Release date: March 2008


Disc I
01. Solitaire
02. Rule The World
03. Ghost Opera
04. The Human Stain
05. Blücher
06. Love You To Death
07. Up Through The Ashes
08. Mourning Star
09. Silence Of The Darkness
10. Anthem
11. EdenEcho
+ Memento Mori [video]
+ Human Stain [video]

Disc II [Live From Belgrade]
01. Solitaire
02. Ghost Opera
03. The Human Stain
04. Mourning Star
05. When The Lights Are Down
06. Abandoned
07. The Haunting
08. Memento Mori
09. Epilogue
10. March Of Mephisto
11. Season's End [studio tracks bonus]
12. Pendulous Fall [studio tracks bonus]
13. Epilogue [studio tracks bonus]
14. Rule The World [Remix] [studio tracks bonus]


Let's talk a bit today about "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming", the re-release version of Kamelot's last album. Ghost Opera was only released last year (2007) but like Kreator with their second version of "Enemy Of God" Kamelot is back with a new "re-release" full of bonuses. Sure this is not a must for the people who already have the original album, but if you don't have it yet, I highly recommend you to buy "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming" instead of the simple "Ghost Opera".

I will not talk about "Ghost Opera" today, if you only want to know what I think about this release, I invite you to check my review
here and you'll see that it's a good Power Metal album. Right now we will talk about "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming". This new edition was probably not a must; I mean that the album was only released last year; however I must admit that we have a lot of great bonuses on this album. First, we have two videos, "Memento Mori" and "Human Stain" on the album but above all we have now a second CD with a real live recorded in Serbia (Belgrade) plus four studios cuts! This is of course the great thing of this special edition, "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming" can be considered too like a Live album. So yes, some songs are missing, this is not the perfect Live but really it's ok and its sound is perfect.

"Ghost Opera - The Second Coming" is only a matter of bonuses, of course "Ghost Opera" is still a valuable album but with all those additions, this new version is a lot more interesting. I will not say that you should buy this one and sell your first version, as you want, but be sure that "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming" is a good new version of Kamelot's last album even if the four studios cuts are more or less ballads which don't give anything special to the album (and I understand why they were all removed at first).

If you want to buy the last album of Kamelot, don't miss "Ghost Opera - The Second Coming". With all its additions this version is a lot more interesting. Also, if you want to listen to a good live (not the best though) you can go for those CDs. Now of course there is nothing so revolutionary here, especially if you already have the original album, but if you don't have it yet, that's all good for you my friends!

Written by Jeff | 03.05.2008


 


Comments

Comments: 7   Visited by: 195 users
06.05.2008 - 22:38
GT
Coffee!!
Why couldn't they just have released this as a limited edition or something like that?

Anyway I wasn't impressed by the first Ghost Opera, so I'm not buying this one
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
06.05.2008 - 23:28
+{Jonas}+
I R Serious Cat
Written by GT on 06.05.2008 at 22:38

Why couldn't they just have released this as a limited edition or something like that?

Anyway I wasn't impressed by the first Ghost Opera, so I'm not buying this one


Agreed.
But wait. You were not impressed by Ghost Opera??? Holy cat!!!
You'rethe first person I know that wasn't impressed by it. Why?
----
"Nobody wants to be the weird kid, you just end up being the weird kid. You don't know how you ended up getting there" - Rob Zombie

http://jonas-bs.deviantart.com My dA, mainly photography, go check it out!
Loading...
07.05.2008 - 08:38
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Written by +{Jonas}+ on 06.05.2008 at 23:28

Written by GT on 06.05.2008 at 22:38

Why couldn't they just have released this as a limited edition or something like that?

Anyway I wasn't impressed by the first Ghost Opera, so I'm not buying this one


Agreed.
But wait. You were not impressed by Ghost Opera??? Holy cat!!!
You'rethe first person I know that wasn't impressed by it. Why?

Haha, I was bored to death by the Ghost Opera album So now you know two people that were not so impressed
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
08.05.2008 - 14:25
GT
Coffee!!
Written by +{Jonas}+ on 06.05.2008 at 23:28

Written by GT on 06.05.2008 at 22:38

Why couldn't they just have released this as a limited edition or something like that?

Anyway I wasn't impressed by the first Ghost Opera, so I'm not buying this one


Agreed.
But wait. You were not impressed by Ghost Opera??? Holy cat!!!
You'rethe first person I know that wasn't impressed by it. Why?

I just found it a little boring that's all. The was a huge hype about it so I expected something more. I'm not saying that I think the album is bad, just not something extraordinary
----


Dreams are made so we don't get bored when we sleep
Loading...
09.07.2008 - 18:10
Stormrider1977
Account deleted
Me too im not impressed also.Liked Karma,Epica and Black Halo a lot.I still Listen the 3 albums almost everyday but Ghost Opera is boring the musics seem that are allways half way of their end.This album doesnt have that momentum that blows us away.
Loading...
25.01.2009 - 04:58
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Rerelease after only a year? what?
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
08.08.2011 - 23:51
ErnilEnNaur
Account deleted
Oh how I wish the live performance of "Memento Mori" was on "One Cold Winter's Night". It's absolutely divine. But the album and the re-release are quite boring compared to their earlier four albums of course, though I love "The Human Stain".
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 8362 | This month: 29