Pennywise - Reason To Believe review



Reviewer:
N/A

10 users:
7.60
Band: Pennywise
Album: Reason To Believe
Release date: March 2008


01. (Intro) As Long As We Can
02. One Reason
03. Faith and Hope
04. Something to Live For
05. All We Need
06. The Western World
07. We'll Never Know
08. Confusion
09. Nothing to Lose
10. It's Not Enough to Believe
11. You Get the Life You Choose
12. Affliction
13. Brag, Exaggerate & Lie
14. Die for You
15. Next in Line
16. One Nation
17. Just One More Day


Pennywise was always the dark horse of 90s melodic "pop" hardcore and this is because unlike most bands of their ilk, their convictions always seemed genuine. Sure, they played in roughly the same style as Green Day or The Offspring (not to mention the pioneers NOFX and Bad Religion); however, their lyrics were always a stout rebellion against the gritty reality of the modern world and their music, being faster and more metallic than the genre norm, put them closer to NYHC crossover stalwarts such as Sick Of It All or Agnostic Front in terms of credibility. Since their sound hasn't really evolved much over the years, it was always the attitude that was most important in a Pennywise record. For this reason, Reason To Believe is one of the band's most important releases, and maybe one of the two that most people should certainly hear.

The difference in attitude is not immediately obvious, but becomes noticeable with multiple listens. The band is still sloganeering and ranting their way through the barrage of aggressive hardcore punk; however, for the first time ever, the dark shadow of the futility of it all rears its ugly head and makes everything exponentially more interesting. Pennywise are fighting a lost battle, and they know it - the commercial peak of the music that they and their peers practised in the 90s is long gone, with fellow bands either completely selling out or falling apart. Their adolescent but literate anger has been made into a commodity marketed by Hot Topic - the monster has easily consumed and assimilated all but one regiment of the anti-conformist army - Pennywise. They unleash the most aggressive and vicious array of hyperactive hardcore yet - "It's Not Enough To Believe", "One Reason" or "You Get The Life You Choose" all rip along at a breakneck speed, together with thrashy crossover riffs and gang shout refrains, with the remaining songs generally matching or at least approaching this intensity. The music is catchy as hell; however, the band knows that it will no longer speak to anyone.

Reason To Believe sounds like the last stand of a few brave soldiers about to lose a war. The album is obviously an attempt at finding that eponymous nexus of meaning. That the band fails at this with the record is both an epitaph to what the genre could stand for and perhaps its last brilliant product.


 



Written on 29.05.2008 by With Metal Storm since 2002, jupitreas has been subjecting the masses to his reviews for quite a while now. He lives in Warsaw, Poland, where he does his best to avoid prosecution for being so cool.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 40   Visited by: 129 users
04.06.2008 - 19:54
Herzebeth
Written by jadawal on 02.06.2008 at 23:38

If the vocalist of Pennywise screamed and growled more it would be alright wouldn't it?



Oh yeah, that would be swell...
----
Loading...
06.06.2008 - 08:40
Murder
Written by LeChron James on 01.06.2008 at 04:31

i second that. if Van Halen doesnt have a profile on this site, then a review of Pennywise is uncalled for


good point...
Loading...
07.06.2008 - 21:40
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
Written by Murder on 06.06.2008 at 08:40

Written by LeChron James on 01.06.2008 at 04:31

i second that. if Van Halen doesnt have a profile on this site, then a review of Pennywise is uncalled for


good point...

sarcasm?
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 17:00
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by dancingdecember on 30.05.2008 at 19:18

me wantz slayaaaaaahhh

then go to the slayer page.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
05.08.2010 - 17:10
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Thryce on 31.05.2008 at 18:09

Hate to interrupt the moron/douchebag gathering here, but unlike some of you, I want to add a constructive comment for a change.

Your review made me listen to the songs on their MySpace. The last time I listenend to this band was years ago actually. I never really got into this band (and I will never have the intention to either), and I only know a couple of their songs by name. Still, I already saw Pennywise live, once in 2003 and once in 2005, both times on a festival. And I must say they are a nice festival recommendation. They really are a fun band to experience, as there's always a lot of enjoyment and atmosphere in the air when Pennywise is playing. They're certainly not the best live band, but the atmosphere on their shows is really sweet. Thanks for bringing back some teenage/festival memories.

i would also like to say this band has some good tunes but should not be reconized as a metal band,. that being said they have toured with metal bands. plus i dont see everybody complaining about bands like "The birthday massacre" which aren't metal? so seriously people DEAL WITH IT.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
24.08.2010 - 15:49
dancingdecember
Written by Boxcar Willy on 05.08.2010 at 17:00

Written by dancingdecember on 30.05.2008 at 19:18

me wantz slayaaaaaahhh

then go to the slayer page.


Sir, you are an idiot.
----
i'm super, thanks for asking
Loading...
27.08.2010 - 05:29
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by dancingdecember on 24.08.2010 at 15:49

Written by Boxcar Willy on 05.08.2010 at 17:00

Written by dancingdecember on 30.05.2008 at 19:18

me wantz slayaaaaaahhh

then go to the slayer page.


Sir, you are an idiot.

I am an idiot?

Ha ha.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
31.12.2015 - 08:48
Kuroboshi
I can dig that Pennywise are here. Bad Religion and LagWagon might have a place here as well. Their early material has a distinct metallic edge to them (the singing is not metal though).
Loading...
31.12.2015 - 14:17
Karlabos
Weirdo of MS
Wow, Pennywise are on MS
----
2016

2017
Loading...
01.01.2016 - 09:42
no one
----
nobody
Loading...

Hits total: 4085 | This month: 18