Rating:
8.0
Prostitute Disfigurement - Descendants Of Depravity
27 May 2008


Disc I
01. Torn In Bloated Form
02. The Sadist King And The Generallissimo Of Pain
03. In Sanity Concealed
04. Killing For Company
05. Storm Of The Fiend
06. Life Depraved
07. Carnal Rapture
08. Fatal Fornication
09. Sworn To Degeneracy

Disc II [DVD - Live at Dynamo] [first 4000 copies bonus]
01. Intro
02. Postmortal Devirginized
03. Left In Grisly Fashion
04. Insides To Expose
05. Torn In Bloated Form
06. Bluedrum Torso
07. Bloodlust Redemption
08. Body To Ravage
09. She's Not Coming Home Tonight
10. Victims Of The Absurd
11. Killing For Company
12. Disemboweled
13. Freaking On The Mutilated

[video]
14. The Sadist King And The Generallissimo Of Pain

[Backstage footage past tours]
15. "Bad TV"


The Prostitute is back with more VD's than ever, after three full years of absence we finally receive an album so violent and brutal that will spontaneously set small animals and grannies on fire.

But this time Prostitute Disfigurement delivers a different line in their music; while they still keep their brutal levels on the roof, they also added some more technicality here and there, they polished themselves, they created something more enjoyable in many levels. To begin with, the vocals sound cleaner (sort of) and the guitars sound uncontrollably fast; the album still flows on an incredibly hostile environment, the drumming is even more brutal than ever and the band keeps a crazy rythm throughout the entire piece...so basically this is less groovy/catchy riffs and more spasmodic/dazzling timing. As a whole the album works perfectly; the fans of this band will be undoubtedly pleased and I'm sure even more people will begin to be interested by the music inside this CD.

Highlights in this album can be found aplenty; "Torn In Bloated Form" is in charge of setting the overall mood of this album, no introduction, no fade in, no bullshit...it starts and ends abruptly with a ravenous brutal vibe, a savage and incredible song. "Storm Of The Fiend" shows a more balanced band, after chilling guitar solos and fast patterns, the pace slows down a little bit, we then get to hear a couple of catchy breakdowns and mid-paced sounds in the end of the tune, this song reminds me of a younger Prostitute Disfigurement, it works great for nostalgic reasons. There are at least 7 more great tracks in this record, but I won't spoil the party for you.

In the end this is Prostitute Disfigurement, it's obvious who is going to be amazed by the offering and who will get easily scared. Personally I may be loving "Left In Grisly Fashion" even more, but this new record isn't less great or less surprising than the aforementioned title; if you like brutal death metal you get the picture, in my opinion this is definitely one of the most brutal and surprising releases this year.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Prostitute Disfigurement
Album: Descendants Of Depravity


 


written by Herzebeth | 04.06.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 158  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 04.06.2008 at 21:54  
one of the things I liked so much about the last album was that it didn't sound so thick and polished like every other album in the genre..
but this one is just that.. and it seems to lose what made Prostitute Disfigurement Prostitute Disfigurement.. there is less focus on the blastbeats and more on the whole thing being a solid and consistent death metal album

still, this is a really good album!
Herzebeth - 04.06.2008 at 22:03  
Written by Baz Anderson on 04.06.2008 at 21:54

one of the things I liked so much about the last album was that it didn't sound so thick and polished like every other album in the genre..
but this one is just that.. and it seems to lose what made Prostitute Disfigurement Prostitute Disfigurement.. there is less focus on the blastbeats and more on the whole thing being a solid and consistent death metal album

still, this is a really good album!


So you dislike the fact that this album sounds more polished and coherent? that's what I LOVED about it!!

See after being into BDM this much I know that most bands in the genre keep releasing the same album over and over again until they get bored and instead of releasing something fresh they quit the band or something, just look at bands like Deeds Of Flesh or Disgorge...after all those years they never showed us something different, it's fun and all but after a while it gets boring...

Now I see Decrepit Birth, Prostitute Disfigurement, Malignancy and Severe Torture changing their pace and their catchy brutality for a more complex and re-arranged sound and all I can think of is "man this is fucking better than I expected"...or at least is fresh...yes I know it seriously sucks when a band goes all the way like Cryptopsy did with their latest album...but that's a whole different story

I do feel your grief though, most times is hard to let go from such a good sound and all...but hey, it was for the best IMO, and we still have their old releases to enjoy right?
Baz Anderson - 04.06.2008 at 23:12  
of course of course, I am not criticising them about the change of sound. it is hardly something so drastic as the new Cryptopsy anyway. haha
I do like the album, I was just saying that it sounds a little less like them and a little more like monotony.
I promote change, especially in brutal death metal like this, like you say - but I prefer it if the changes promote some kind of individuality, and not towards the sound of all the other bands
Dangerboner - 05.06.2008 at 00:07  
lol I completely forgot this was coming out. Those fuckers delayed it for like...over a year.
Unconsecrated - 30.06.2008 at 03:47  
Nice album! I'm even more curious to check out their older stuff since it's different from this one. Want to see the evolution.
Dangerboner - 30.06.2008 at 04:01  
2008 fucking sucks for metal. This album better be more brutal than teabagging someone's asshole so that you have chocolate-covered nuts or else I'll be pissed.
Abattoir - 15.01.2009 at 13:15  
This is the first album I listened from them and I'm quite impressed after some first listenings of it.
Dangerboner - 16.01.2009 at 05:20  
Yeah this is easily their best album
Maxx666 - 03.12.2009 at 20:10  
I think this album is much better than Left In Grisly Fashion
psykometal - 07.06.2012 at 06:09  
I've seen this band's name here and there over the years but never thought to check them out because [for obvious reasons] the name sounds like a porno-grind name and I don't really care for that style. However I saw a link to their video from this album on youtube earlier today and decided to click on it and see what the deal was with these guys, and I am sad I did not make the decision to check them out sooner because this is some good quality brutal death metal right here. As Herz said, this is not the standard fair lower quality slam-style brutal that had begun to saturate the genre several years ago and that still does to some extent today. Is it just me or does it seem that these guys were kind of ahead of the game when they released this album? Because it's only been in the last year or so, at least from what I've noticed since I started getting into BDM more in the last year, that the BDM genre has begun to use cleaner more up to date production methods and started "breaking out" of the muddy underground. Too bad their name will probably always keep them from achieving the higher status they deserve like fellow Euro BDM acts Hour of Penance and Aborted...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Prostitute Disfigurement - Descendants Of Depravity 7.5 29.05.2011 by The Benighted
Reviews Prostitute Disfigurement - From Crotch To Crown 5.5 19.01.2014 by Cynic Metalhead
Articles Prostitute Disfigurement - Nottingham, England, 17th September 2010 5 19.09.2010 by Baz Anderson
Albums Prostitute Disfigurement - From Crotch To Crown 4.5 04.02.2014 by MetalDoomMaster
News Prostitute Disfigurement - New Album In February 4.5 19.11.2013 by LurkingFear



Hits total: 6052 | This month: 1