Keep Of Kalessin - Kolossus review



Reviewer:
9.0

210 users:
7.84
Band: Keep Of Kalessin
Album: Kolossus
Release date: June 2008


01. Origin
02. A New Empire's Birth
03. Against The Gods
04. The Rising Sign
05. Warmonger
06. Escape The Union
07. The Mark Of Power
08. Kolossus
09. Ascendant


It is time to unleash hell once more as Keep Of Kalessin return with their follow-up to the hugely popular "Armada" with an even more malevolent, heroic and grand offering of chaos in the form of the suitably titled "Kolossus". Keep Of Kalessin evoke hell and bring it to earth once more with a battalion of demons providing musical pandemonium, and a wing of succubi to hold a melodic backing to it all. This is inspired music indeed and although not unique within the world of black metal, it is another much needed breath of fresh air to the festering mass of black metal of recent years.

Keep Of Kalessin bring an almost progressive element to their already melodic but ferocious black metal. This is seemingly the result of Enslaved and Emperor's sneaky copulation they didn't tell anyone about from a drunken back-alley fumble from the dark days of past. "Kolossus" brings together the progressive style Enslaved have adopted as of recent years and mashes it together with both the melody and sheer epic proportions Emperor created with their music. So many times melodic black metal bands can become so diluted and wishy-washy, but Keep Of Kalessin are here poignant and both melodic and extreme, not to mention how aggressive and diverse the album is at the same time. An amazing blast from "A New Empire's Birth" and "Against The Gods" compared to the slightly quirky but still blastbeat-laden "Warmonger" and the absolute grandeur and epicness of the title track "Kolossus" and "Ascendant" to close the album with such an atmosphere of legends. The whole album has the Keep Of Kalessin stamp all over it, it is all intelligent, beautiful and destructive music with complex and devious guitar riffs, at times mind-blowingly fast blastbeats and double bass, and also varied vocals ranging from both harsh but not raspy, to clean and even at times soft such as in the opening of "The Mark Of Power" while at all times remaining comprehendible.

This colossal album is in an exclusive category of albums that are entertaining, interesting and highly enjoyable to listen to, and with it Keep Of Kalessin have just raised the bar on the whole black metal scene with this masterful piece of work. It is rare that an album be so diverse and pushes all the boundaries, and still have the entire thing be so captivating and consistently good. The almost death metal title track and majestic last track "Ascendant" are guaranteed to melt your icy blackened hearts and send a shiver down your spine, this is almost as good as this kind of music can get. Keep Of Kalessin have once again risen up from the masses and risen up from hell to offer some of the best music they have ever created that is surely destined to become a classic.


 



Written on 05.06.2008 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 39   Visited by: 343 users
29.07.2008 - 18:11
Valaskjalf
TheImperturbable
how the fack is this album rated better than Armada? Seriously....
----
IF THE MILK IS SOUR...I AINT THE KINDA PUSSY TO DRINK IT
Loading...
31.07.2008 - 03:01
Passe
I'm discovering KoK, and this is the first album i'm listening from them. Some songs are well inspired, some are just borring and the vocals waste the whole album.

For the moment I'm not convinced by this band.
Loading...
02.08.2008 - 15:41
Valaskjalf
TheImperturbable
Written by Passe on 31.07.2008 at 03:01

I'm discovering KoK, and this is the first album i'm listening from them. Some songs are well inspired, some are just borring and the vocals waste the whole album.

For the moment I'm not convinced by this band.


Nice one! My thoughts exactly, however I do own their previous album which is MUCH better I guarantee you that. The vocals are much better, much more blackmetal oriented (which is how it should be), not this forced grunting cleanish growl vocals that you find on the new album, which makes me wanna give the vocalist some Kellogs Cereal to help him with his constipation. Obviously he's got some nasty anal fissures from the hard shit ripping his ass open...hence the terribly forced and abominable vocals.
----
IF THE MILK IS SOUR...I AINT THE KINDA PUSSY TO DRINK IT
Loading...
25.08.2008 - 03:27
konstans
Account deleted
There is not much to say about tis bant they ar unbelievable in every way every time I listen to them I like them more and more I hope they can I keep the same level with new stuff this is the best CD not only 2008 but many years back they put to shame many black metal big names I think they deserve more en 10 points armada is also excellent
Loading...
19.10.2008 - 22:55
Sunioj
Ok, I've listened to the album. Some songs are great, epic, ADHD ttfm, but most of the songs seem rather watered down. The thing I miss the most is the blistering technical riffs that Armada had, but then again, moderation of that is always warranted. 6 from me...
Loading...
31.01.2010 - 16:33
treptolemus
aphotic_zoning
Very good album i say. And because the band made serious progress from the previous one (lyrics=much better / vocals=progress / production=better) as usual the most "hardcore" listeners complain.

So predictable and usual.

Great review Baz (9) the band must have put lots of commitment and inspiration to complete it.

More progress to their next album. And then i'm a fan!

People: This is l-i-s-t-e-n-a-b-l-e
----
\m/etalstor\m/
Loading...
02.01.2011 - 01:45
RavenKing
This album sucks. Awful overpolished production combined to atrocious vocals spoil everything.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
02.01.2011 - 02:09
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by RavenKing on 02.01.2011 at 01:45

This album sucks. Awful overpolished production combined to atrocious vocals spoil everything.


I wonder to this day what happened to this band. They were good to great up to and including their Reclaim e.p. and then from one day to the other they turned into utter garbage.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
20.12.2011 - 02:08
Mattybu
Really enjoyed this one. I can agree with the review for the most part, it's a very strong album.
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 9659 | This month: 8