Rating:
9.0
Keep Of Kalessin - Kolossus
6 June 2008


01. Origin
02. A New Empire's Birth
03. Against The Gods
04. The Rising Sign
05. Warmonger
06. Escape The Union
07. The Mark Of Power
08. Kolossus
09. Ascendant


It is time to unleash hell once more as Keep Of Kalessin return with their follow-up to the hugely popular "Armada" with an even more malevolent, heroic and grand offering of chaos in the form of the suitably titled "Kolossus". Keep Of Kalessin evoke hell and bring it to earth once more with a battalion of demons providing musical pandemonium, and a wing of succubi to hold a melodic backing to it all. This is inspired music indeed and although not unique within the world of black metal, it is another much needed breath of fresh air to the festering mass of black metal of recent years.

Keep Of Kalessin bring an almost progressive element to their already melodic but ferocious black metal. This is seemingly the result of Enslaved and Emperor's sneaky copulation they didn't tell anyone about from a drunken back-alley fumble from the dark days of past. "Kolossus" brings together the progressive style Enslaved have adopted as of recent years and mashes it together with both the melody and sheer epic proportions Emperor created with their music. So many times melodic black metal bands can become so diluted and wishy-washy, but Keep Of Kalessin are here poignant and both melodic and extreme, not to mention how aggressive and diverse the album is at the same time. An amazing blast from "A New Empire's Birth" and "Against The Gods" compared to the slightly quirky but still blastbeat-laden "Warmonger" and the absolute grandeur and epicness of the title track "Kolossus" and "Ascendant" to close the album with such an atmosphere of legends. The whole album has the Keep Of Kalessin stamp all over it, it is all intelligent, beautiful and destructive music with complex and devious guitar riffs, at times mind-blowingly fast blastbeats and double bass, and also varied vocals ranging from both harsh but not raspy, to clean and even at times soft such as in the opening of "The Mark Of Power" while at all times remaining comprehendible.

This colossal album is in an exclusive category of albums that are entertaining, interesting and highly enjoyable to listen to, and with it Keep Of Kalessin have just raised the bar on the whole black metal scene with this masterful piece of work. It is rare that an album be so diverse and pushes all the boundaries, and still have the entire thing be so captivating and consistently good. The almost death metal title track and majestic last track "Ascendant" are guaranteed to melt your icy blackened hearts and send a shiver down your spine, this is almost as good as this kind of music can get. Keep Of Kalessin have once again risen up from the masses and risen up from hell to offer some of the best music they have ever created that is surely destined to become a classic.


Band profile: Keep Of Kalessin
Album: Kolossus


 



Written on 05.06.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 39  
Users visited: 334  
Search this topic:  


Valaskjalf - 06.06.2008 at 01:25  
Well Baz Ive always been a big fan of your reviews and for the most part Ive agreed with what you said in many of them....but this time around I just dont agree with it. I feel its a HUGE let down from Armada. So many songs on the previous album just exploded into MASSIVE climaxes with soaring monstrous choruses but Kolossus just fails miserably in my eyes. I feel they could have done so much more with it especially after following the studio reports as religiously as i did. "Ascendant" and "Kolossus" are very good but for the rest they just dont deliver or give me the same feeling of completion as the ones on Armada.
6.5/10
Marcel Hubregtse - 06.06.2008 at 02:17  
This is an even bigger letdown than Armada, at least Armada still had good songs on it, whihc were however spoiled by the overporduction. On Kolossus not even the songs have any saving power. A mere 6/10 this time around.

Albums such as this and Armada once again show that a clear sound isn't everything, especially within a genre such as black metal. Overproduction just takes the bite away, leaving us with a toothless cheetah, scary at first look, but a big joke once it tries to roar and impose
Hembrom - 06.06.2008 at 14:27  
sounds good , will try.
enumaelis - 06.06.2008 at 21:22  
Written by Valaskjalf on 06.06.2008 at 01:25

Well Baz Ive always been a big fan of your reviews and for the most part Ive agreed with what you said in many of them....but this time around I just dont agree with it. I feel its a HUGE let down from Armada. So many songs on the previous album just exploded into MASSIVE climaxes with soaring monstrous choruses but Kolossus just fails miserably in my eyes. I feel they could have done so much more with it especially after following the studio reports as religiously as i did. "Ascendant" and "Kolossus" are very good but for the rest they just dont deliver or give me the same feeling of completion as the ones on Armada.
6.5/10

Completely agree. Even with the rating.
I had a deception when listening to Kolossus, and I tried it several times.
Vermin - 06.06.2008 at 22:21  
I haven't listened to Kolossus yet, but Armada is an amazing album. I own it on 180g Double Vinyl, but lately I've had to download it instead, because I was afraid I'd wear down the Records.

Btw, does anyone see the similarities between this album cover, and the cover for the video game Oblivion?

Oblivion cover: http://www.mobygames.com/images/covers/large/1143232181-00.jpg
skrätte - 07.06.2008 at 01:59  
I am a huge Keep of Kalessin fan. Armada quickly became one of my favorite albums upon my first listening of it and it remained there, right up top as one of my favorite albums.

So, that said, I didn't expect to like Kolossus as much as I do. I really had to go into my initial listening of Kolossus with an objective perspective. I had to try not to listen to it while comparing it to Armada the entire time. On its own, this album is strong and heavy and totally Keep of Kalessin. Next to Armada, it's got some different elements, but it is still a tough album. Is it as good as Armada? My jury is still out on that, but I am still not the least bit disappointed with this release.

I would wholeheartedly agree with this review, for what it's worth. Kolossus is worth every bit of the 9.0 rating it has at the time of this reply, in my opinion. An excellent band. Another excellent album.
Sepulchre - 07.06.2008 at 02:54  
Written by Vermin on 06.06.2008 at 22:21


Btw, does anyone see the similarities between this album cover, and the cover for the video game Oblivion?

Oblivion cover: http://www.mobygames.com/images/covers/large/1143232181-00.jpg

Lol, it does look quite similar...
BitterCOld - 07.06.2008 at 11:10  
wow, based on baz's score and the subsequent disagreement i will definitely have to check it out. they played a couple tracks from this album when opening for Behemoth/DB and they sounded (to my scotch-soaked ears) to be about in-line with "ARMADA", which i thoroughly enjoy. it might not be boundary blasting, but it is a solid album... and I hope "Kolossus" is in the ballpark.
Southern Wind - 08.06.2008 at 07:54  
this band becomes less and less interesting with every album.... hadn't listened to colossus yet, though.
dismaleuphony - 08.06.2008 at 08:11  
I'm really disappointed with this album in so many ways. The vocals take away any possibility of my enjoying the riffs beneath them. Of course, there aren't many riffs worth caring about anyway, so maybe the terrible vocals don't matter at all. "Armada" had a production that made the music sound plastic; this album's production make it seem like the music's soul is being bled out. I'm not sure where this band is headed, but I doubt I'll be keeping track of them if this is the direction they think is interesting... sorry, I just can't agree with the review I could barely keep myself awake during "Against The Gods"...
Damnated - 08.06.2008 at 11:37  
it's very dry and uninteresting. the riffs are just hollow in a bad way and the vocals really annoy me. i've fallen asleep during listening, but from what i've heard this album is average at best.
Valaskjalf - 08.06.2008 at 18:32  
Written by Damnated on 08.06.2008 at 11:37

it's very dry and uninteresting. the riffs are just hollow in a bad way and the vocals really annoy me. i've fallen asleep during listening, but from what i've heard this album is average at best.



Yep, still listening to it and hoping i start to fall in love with it - aint happenning. Vocals mess up the entire thing, DONT DO CLEAN VOCALS, "Warmonger", "Ascendant" and "Kolossus" are the only songs that might have made to cut if Armada had been released now...the rest are fillers. Meh...
Doc Godin - 08.06.2008 at 23:12  
Well, nobody seems to like it, but I can usually trust Baz's reviews. Either way I'll end up getting it. But I sure hope Baz is right.
NeoSe7en - 09.06.2008 at 09:43  
I think Keep of Kalessin is an intriguing band however, one thing that has always bugged me is that the vocals are, at times, not as heavy as they could or should be and unfortunately this flaw is exceedingly prevalent in Kolussus whereas it remained an occasional annoyance in previous work.
skrätte - 09.06.2008 at 11:06  
Written by Doc Godin on 08.06.2008 at 23:12

Well, nobody seems to like it, but I can usually trust Baz's reviews. Either way I'll end up getting it. But I sure hope Baz is right.


I loved it! I am still loving it, even after multiple listenings. Not sure where all the bad reviews are coming from, but that is the nature of individual taste, I suppose. Armada will always be at the top of my Keep of Kalessin list unless they find a way to top it, of course.
Baz Anderson - 09.06.2008 at 15:38  
The people that are not saying good things about this album are falling into the trap of comparing it with everything else; the band's past albums and such.

If you just listen to this album for what it is, this is a great great album.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.06.2008 at 15:42  
Written by Baz Anderson on 09.06.2008 at 15:38

The people that are not saying good things about this album are falling into the trap of comparing it with everything else; the band's past albums and such.

If you just listen to this album for what it is, this is a great great album.


Okay so you are accusing me, amongst other people, of falling into the same trap you fell in with Cryptopsy and to a lesser extent In Flames?
Baz Anderson - 09.06.2008 at 15:51  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2008 at 15:42

Okay so you are accusing me, amongst other people, of falling into the same trap you fell in with Cryptopsy and to a lesser extent In Flames?

Haha, In Flames - no, that album was just bad bad bad whoever it would have been that put it out.
Cryptopsy, well it's impossible to not have their past albums in the corner of your mind considering what the new album is like. Hahahaha, I gave them both a fair review though - the new Cryptopsy does have its moments and is what it is.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.06.2008 at 15:56  
Written by Baz Anderson on 09.06.2008 at 15:51

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2008 at 15:42

Okay so you are accusing me, amongst other people, of falling into the same trap you fell in with Cryptopsy and to a lesser extent In Flames?

...well it's impossible to not have their past albums in the corner of your mind considering what the new album is like.


That also applies for KoK and their past albums in the corner of your mind just makes you realize they started going downhill with Amrada and have only slipped further into the morass of overproduced slick sounding biteless cringeworthy Billboard black metal. Hell even comparable to modernday Dimmu Borgir in that sense. The new KoK is just a mediocre album all round, right up there with Maiden's A Matter Of Life And Death, latest Craddle Of Filth releases, latest Machine Head, latest Dimmu Borgir. latest Dream Theater etc. etc.
Baz Anderson - 09.06.2008 at 16:06  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2008 at 15:56

That also applies for KoK and their past albums in the corner of your mind just makes you realize they started going downhill with Amrada and have only slipped further into the morass of overproduced slick sounding biteless cringeworthy Billboard black metal. Hell even comparable to modernday Dimmu Borgir in that sense. The new KoK is just a mediocre album all round, right up there with Maiden's A Matter Of Life And Death, latest Craddle Of Filth releases, latest Machine Head, latest Dimmu Borgir. latest Dream Theater etc. etc.

Well they are on Nuclear Blast.. maybe that is why you mostly never agree with my reviews, because they all pretty much all new Nuclear Blast ones. hahaha.
Nuclear Blast try and sell records, so I guess that affects the albums they put out in terms of production, etc. - if the production was a little crusty on this album I think some people would just love it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 09.06.2008 at 17:22  
Written by Baz Anderson on 09.06.2008 at 16:06

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2008 at 15:56

That also applies for KoK and their past albums in the corner of your mind just makes you realize they started going downhill with Amrada and have only slipped further into the morass of overproduced slick sounding biteless cringeworthy Billboard black metal. Hell even comparable to modernday Dimmu Borgir in that sense. The new KoK is just a mediocre album all round, right up there with Maiden's A Matter Of Life And Death, latest Craddle Of Filth releases, latest Machine Head, latest Dimmu Borgir. latest Dream Theater etc. etc.

Well they are on Nuclear Blast.. maybe that is why you mostly never agree with my reviews, because they all pretty much all new Nuclear Blast ones. hahaha.
Nuclear Blast try and sell records, so I guess that affects the albums they put out in terms of production, etc. - if the production was a little crusty on this album I think some people would just love it.


The only ones on Nuclear Blast are KoK and Dimmu Borgir
If the production on the last two KoK's was a bit dirtier I would indeed have enjoyed it more because a dirtier production is what the music needs. So the sterile production they have now is non-fitting and hence a crappy production.
Baz Anderson - 09.06.2008 at 17:30  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 09.06.2008 at 17:22

The only ones on Nuclear Blast are KoK and Dimmu Borgir
If the production on the last two KoK's was a bit dirtier I would indeed have enjoyed it more because a dirtier production is what the music needs. So the sterile production they have now is non-fitting and hence a crappy production.

I'm not on about the list of bands you mentioned there, I am on about my reviews in general - and why you don't seem to like it when I say they are good. hahaha
Yeh, a dirtyer production probably would have been good, but this production doesn't really take anything away from the music I don't think..
Valaskjalf - 10.06.2008 at 17:47  
I dont think it has anything to do with the production - in fact Im all for good production because the whole "bad production is what blackmetal is about" is the most pretentious shit ive ever heard - in the end the music is what matters. And I dont think the new album is more "accessible" than Armada and I dont think it has anything to do with them being on Nuclear Blast, thats just a smokescreen or something for people to point fingers at. In the end the album is just not as good as Armada and I get what people mean when they say "you have to listen to the album without comparing it" but thats what people do. They do that to gage where the band is compared to where they were. 95% of all reviews ever compare albums to previous work, whether its better or worse.

I dont say Kolossus is bad, perhaps if it were another band I wouldnt have given it 6.5/10, maybe even 8/10, but when you know what a band is capable of you probably add a bit of emotion to your scores. Thats what I do anyway....6.5/10 is more a reflection of my disappointment than actual rating. But when an album like Armada, which i rate as one of the best I own, is so much better than this, I guess its normal to drop the new score a little to show your feelings about it.
CrypticMyth - 11.06.2008 at 12:29  
I enjoyed this album quite a bit. Good stuff.
Dewil Rituale - 17.06.2008 at 15:15  
sounds good
Dangerboner - 18.06.2008 at 03:48  
The production sucks, not because it's too clear, but because the guitars aren't there. That, along with the half-assed vocals, are my biggest problems with Kolossus. I really hate this band...
Doc Godin - 20.06.2008 at 21:05  
Baz's reviews prove to be in my taste yet again! Just got it last night and I love it! Best album of 2008 for me so far. My only complaints is the bass drum sound, occasionally it will completely cut through everything else and it doesn't fit at some times like at the end of 'The Rising Sign'.
Valaskjalf - 25.06.2008 at 23:36  
....oh and the guitars are way too soft, shit production then. All you hear are the terrible vocals
Hyvaarin - 30.06.2008 at 11:33  
I fucking LOVE this album, and it's pretty much cemented Keep of Kalessin's position as my favourite non-Priest band. If I was a (hugely) more talented guitarist/songwriter, this is the exact album I'd want to write.

Current favourite - The Mark of Power.
pyrz - 08.07.2008 at 13:35  
It's like an awful version of Emperor...
Valaskjalf - 29.07.2008 at 18:11  
how the fack is this album rated better than Armada? Seriously....
Passe - 31.07.2008 at 03:01  
I'm discovering KoK, and this is the first album i'm listening from them. Some songs are well inspired, some are just borring and the vocals waste the whole album.

For the moment I'm not convinced by this band.
Valaskjalf - 02.08.2008 at 15:41  
Written by Passe on 31.07.2008 at 03:01

I'm discovering KoK, and this is the first album i'm listening from them. Some songs are well inspired, some are just borring and the vocals waste the whole album.

For the moment I'm not convinced by this band.


Nice one! My thoughts exactly, however I do own their previous album which is MUCH better I guarantee you that. The vocals are much better, much more blackmetal oriented (which is how it should be), not this forced grunting cleanish growl vocals that you find on the new album, which makes me wanna give the vocalist some Kellogs Cereal to help him with his constipation. Obviously he's got some nasty anal fissures from the hard shit ripping his ass open...hence the terribly forced and abominable vocals.
konstans - 25.08.2008 at 03:27  
There is not much to say about tis bant they ar unbelievable in every way every time I listen to them I like them more and more I hope they can I keep the same level with new stuff this is the best CD not only 2008 but many years back they put to shame many black metal big names I think they deserve more en 10 points armada is also excellent
Sunioj - 19.10.2008 at 22:55  
Ok, I've listened to the album. Some songs are great, epic, ADHD ttfm, but most of the songs seem rather watered down. The thing I miss the most is the blistering technical riffs that Armada had, but then again, moderation of that is always warranted. 6 from me...
treptolemus - 31.01.2010 at 16:33  
Very good album i say. And because the band made serious progress from the previous one (lyrics=much better / vocals=progress / production=better) as usual the most "hardcore" listeners complain.

So predictable and usual.

Great review Baz (9) the band must have put lots of commitment and inspiration to complete it.

More progress to their next album. And then i'm a fan!

People: This is l-i-s-t-e-n-a-b-l-e
RavenKing - 02.01.2011 at 01:45  
This album sucks. Awful overpolished production combined to atrocious vocals spoil everything.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.01.2011 at 02:09  
Written by RavenKing on 02.01.2011 at 01:45

This album sucks. Awful overpolished production combined to atrocious vocals spoil everything.


I wonder to this day what happened to this band. They were good to great up to and including their Reclaim e.p. and then from one day to the other they turned into utter garbage.
Mattybu - 20.12.2011 at 02:08  
Really enjoyed this one. I can agree with the review for the most part, it's a very strong album.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Keep Of Kalessin - Kolossus 6 03.01.2012 by BoxCar Willy
Reviews Judas Priest - Nostradamus 4.5 05.09.2008 by Southern Wind
Reviews Pitbull Terrorist - C.I.A. 4.5 07.11.2009 by Metal Maiden
Reviews Ensiferum - From Afar 4.5 08.09.2009 by Galar
Reviews Testament - The Formation Of Damnation 4.5 22.04.2008 by Clint W.



Hits total: 8652 | This month: 41