Advertise on Metal Storm
Mötley Crüe - Live-Entertainment Or Death review


28 users:
Band: Mötley Crüe
Album: Live-Entertainment Or Death
Release date: November 1999

Disc I
01. Looks That Kill
02. Knock 'Em Dead, Kid
03. Too Young To Fall In Love
04. Live Wire
05. Public Enemy # 1
06. Shout At The Devil
07. Merry-Go-Round
08. Ten Seconds To Love
09. Piece Of Your Action
10. Starry Eyes
11. Helter Skelter [Beatles cover]

Disc II
01. Smokin' In The Boy's Room [Brownsville Station cover]
02. Don't Go Away Mad (Just Go Away)
03. Wild Side
04. Girls, Girls, Girls
05. Dr. Feelgood
06. Without You
07. Primal Scream
08. Same Ol' Situation (S.O.S.)
09. Home Sweet Home
10. Kickstart My Heart
+ Wild Side [video]

Mötley Crüe, like most of the "Hair Metal" acts from the 80's, disappeared from the Rock 'n' Roll map after the grunge invasion in the early 90's. In that decade, the only things that kept them in the spotlight, somehow, were the marital scandals of Tommy Lee and Pam Anderson and the successful release of their auto-biographical book (and collection of sick anecdotes) "The Dirt". In the music area, they released a few studio albums that weren't memorable at all, along with a bunch of exhaustive compilations to keep the fans busy while there was a lack of fresh material.
This album title, "Live-Entertainment Or Death" is more than adequate and is actually a very entertaining album since it is composed of the highlights from their most successful era. They omitted tracks from their 90's efforts. One would miss some rarity here and there but one of those "missing rarities" would ruin the triumphant atmosphere of the album.

The classic "Looks That Kill" proves to be a tremendous opening track, with a persistent riff, menacing rhythm sections and Neil's naughty vocals, followed by the cult track "Knock 'em Dead, Kid". Mötley Crüe delivers fiery performances of all their well known tracks like "Shout At The Devil", "Home Sweet Home" and "Girls, Girls, Girls" just to mention some of them. Of course the traditional rude language ("If you're still with me out there say fuck") is not missing here either. The 'Crüe is a great party band and you won't doubt it after listening to this set and won't be let down by the sound, which is surprisingly good.

There is not any "mystery" about Mötley Crüe's performance on stage, the live tracks remain quite similar to the studio ones, they're not displaying any virtuosity here. All the true Mötley Crüe fans are going to love this package, so if you're one of them, go buy it and get the party started!

Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by Dowi | 07.07.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Hits total: 3207 | This month: 24