Rating:
7.0
Various Artists - Gigantour 2 [DVD]
2008


The Smashup
01. Effigy

Sanctity
02. Beneath The Machine

Into Eternity
03. Severe Emotional Distress

Overkill
04. Necroshine
05. Rotten To The Core

Arch Enemy
06. Nemesis
07. We Will Rise

Opeth
08. The Leper Affinity

Lamb Of God
09. Vigil
10. Something To Die For

Megadeth
11. Take No Prisoners
12. The Scorpion
13. Washington Is Next


Today we will talk about the second opus of the Megadeth Gigantour. Recorded in 2006, this DVD features all the bands which have played with Megadeth during this amazing world tour. The DVD is not perfect and I will let you know why later but all in all "Gigantour 2" will be a good souvenir for all the metalheads who have been to one of the shows of the tour or will maybe even be a good way for some hermits to discover new bands… who know?

It's always fun to watch a DVD which features a lot of band. This compilation is not so bad especially when you know that bands like Lamb Of God, Overkill, Arch Enemy or Opeth are featured on it. The problem here (and that's the same problem with all these DVDs) is that it's super frustrating to watch only one or two songs of each bands. You always have the feeling that something is missing and of course, that's true, something is missing… Also, I regret that the tracklist is a bit weird, sure we've already seen a lot of time some songs like "Holy Wars" but I think that some big hits are missing and not only for Megadeth. On a hand it's cool to see that Megadeth has the same number of tracks than the other important bands of the DVD (except Opeth but their only songs is long anyway…) but I think that it could be good maybe to have more Megadeth songs in the future could be great… let's say that five songs could be ok.

All in all, the DVD is perfectly recorded with a good sound even if I regret that we don't hear a lot the crowd. The bonuses are a bit cheap too but at least the video recording is perfect and the performance of each band is more than honourable. "Gigantour 2" is just too short and suffers of a track-listing with is a bit average. Except these problems we're in front of a good compilation DVD nothing essential but it can be a good way to pass a good evening with friends.

Except if you've attended one of the shows of the Gigantour 2006, the "Gigantour 2" DVD is not a must. It doesn't mean that it's a bad DVD, at the opposite this is a really good one but this is a compilation and it's always better to watch a full length concert than only some little samples. I hope that one day someone will be able to release a box which only features the full length concerts of all the bands featured on such tour but I know that it's just a dream and I will keep in mind that the only way to have a look on festivals will be on such compilation DVD. "Gigantour 2" is a good DVD I just hope that the next one will be a bit longer.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: -
Originality: -
Production: 8


Band profile: Megadeth
Album: Gigantour 2


 


written by Jeff | 05.07.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 172  
Search this topic:  


Raiden - 06.07.2008 at 14:08  
I had similar feelings towards the first Gigantour DVD. It had a better tracklist than this second one (well, kind of, much of a muchness really) but it was almost annoying to see only a couple of songs of good bands but miss the rest of their sets.

Some of my favourite songs of those bands weren't present on the DVD too which they would've no doubt played at the concert. Fear Factory for example had the songs Archetype and Transgression but I wouldn't say they were my favourite songs of the band. I understand that it would be boring if every DVD everywhere featuring these bands all had the same songs. If it was essential though that, using the Fear Factory example again, songs should've been from their Archetype and Transgression albums, then I would've much preferred to see them play Slave Labor or even Cyberwaste. It was also a shame that they didn't include any Anthrax on the DVD either even though they did take part in the tour.

So whilst I haven't seen this new DVD, my judgement is that your review is quite accurate Jeff (and well written!). If I see it for a pretty cheap price I might get it but otherwise I might just stick to the other concert DVD's I already have!
Valentin B - 06.07.2008 at 18:30  
what? that tracklist is fucking WEAK man! there are so few songs, and really, Take No Prisoners and Washington's Next? where did Rust in Peace.. Polaris or Peace Sells go?

and i find it difficult for someone to enjoy all those bands at once..
LeChron James - 07.07.2008 at 05:07  
Written by Valentin B on 06.07.2008 at 18:30

what? that tracklist is fucking WEAK man! there are so few songs, and really, Take No Prisoners and Washington's Next? where did Rust in Peace.. Polaris or Peace Sells go?

and i find it difficult for someone to enjoy all those bands at once..

yeah for real i cant believe they didnt play rust in peace or peace sells. and to skip those with Washington is Next! is absurd.

and yreah i would find it hard to enjoy all those bands together. i think i probably would end up picking favorites and prejudging the bands, though its wrong. and on top of that there are too many styles that could potentially clash. going back and forth could be annoying.
Valentin B - 07.07.2008 at 11:18  
Written by LeChron James on 07.07.2008 at 05:07

Written by Valentin B on 06.07.2008 at 18:30

what? that tracklist is fucking WEAK man! there are so few songs, and really, Take No Prisoners and Washington's Next? where did Rust in Peace.. Polaris or Peace Sells go?

and i find it difficult for someone to enjoy all those bands at once..

yeah for real i cant believe they didnt play rust in peace or peace sells. and to skip those with Washington is Next! is absurd.

and yreah i would find it hard to enjoy all those bands together. i think i probably would end up picking favorites and prejudging the bands, though its wrong. and on top of that there are too many styles that could potentially clash. going back and forth could be annoying.

yeah man, i've never heard a 'proggier' band than into eternity, and then it's overkill and their 'party thrash metal'
LeChron James - 07.07.2008 at 11:23  
Written by Valentin B on 07.07.2008 at 11:18

Written by LeChron James on 07.07.2008 at 05:07

Written by Valentin B on 06.07.2008 at 18:30

what? that tracklist is fucking WEAK man! there are so few songs, and really, Take No Prisoners and Washington's Next? where did Rust in Peace.. Polaris or Peace Sells go?

and i find it difficult for someone to enjoy all those bands at once..

yeah for real i cant believe they didnt play rust in peace or peace sells. and to skip those with Washington is Next! is absurd.

and yreah i would find it hard to enjoy all those bands together. i think i probably would end up picking favorites and prejudging the bands, though its wrong. and on top of that there are too many styles that could potentially clash. going back and forth could be annoying.

yeah man, i've never heard a 'proggier' band than into eternity, and then it's overkill and their 'party thrash metal'

yeah man, with all due respect to those bands, i deifinitely dont approve of those bands dont approve of those bands succeeding each other during the time of this tour.
Muhannad Saleh - 19.07.2008 at 03:19  
goood
Murder - 21.10.2008 at 23:52  
I have never listened before something like Into Eternity... is awesome o.o

and well... I think this DVD is good... but yeah...I wanted to hear Hangar 18....
LeChron James - 22.10.2008 at 00:10  
This is a very sub par set list by all the bands. i dont know how they performed individually but not only does the song list not make me want to find out, i'm sure the fans who actually were in attendance wanted their money back.
Ozman - 22.10.2008 at 00:14  
Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:10

This is a very sub par set list by all the bands. i dont know how they performed individually but not only does the song list not make me want to find out, i'm sure the fans who actually were in attendance wanted their money back.


How would you happen to know that ALL the bands played a subpar setlist just by looking at the song on this dvd? I hope you aren't actaully thinking that these were the complete setlists, now were you?
LeChron James - 22.10.2008 at 00:18  
Written by Ozman on 22.10.2008 at 00:14

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:10

This is a very sub par set list by all the bands. i dont know how they performed individually but not only does the song list not make me want to find out, i'm sure the fans who actually were in attendance wanted their money back.


How would you happen to know that ALL the bands played a subpar setlist just by looking at the song on this dvd? I hope you aren't actaully thinking that these were the complete setlists, now were you?

no no i was going by what was there. i should have said "from the songs listed", it looks like a sub set list.
Ozman - 22.10.2008 at 00:39  
Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:18

Written by Ozman on 22.10.2008 at 00:14

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:10

This is a very sub par set list by all the bands. i dont know how they performed individually but not only does the song list not make me want to find out, i'm sure the fans who actually were in attendance wanted their money back.


How would you happen to know that ALL the bands played a subpar setlist just by looking at the song on this dvd? I hope you aren't actaully thinking that these were the complete setlists, now were you?

no no i was going by what was there. i should have said "from the songs listed", it looks like a sub set list.


Well, it is still impossible to judge the setlist cause for those bands those songs were staple songs on their setlist at the time. It is never possible to have a setlist that apeaces eevryone single person in the crowd for there are always personal favourites missing.
For example look at what Iron Maiden is currently touring with, their so-called Somewhere Back In Time tour yet DARING to play Fear Of The Dark although they said they would ONLY play songs of their first seven albums (not nine, but seven)
Doc Godin - 22.10.2008 at 04:42  
Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:18

no no i was going by what was there. i should have said "from the songs listed", it looks like a sub set list.

I'll agree though, that tracklist seems very lacking. The Opeth, Overkill, and Megadeth song choices are all pretty lame I think, Arch Enemy's wasn't too bad though. As for the other bands I really couldn't care either way. I'm hoping the next Gigantour disc will be better, only 4 bands (I think), so most likely a wider variety from each band.
LeChron James - 22.10.2008 at 04:46  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.10.2008 at 04:42

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:18

no no i was going by what was there. i should have said "from the songs listed", it looks like a sub set list.

I'll agree though, that tracklist seems very lacking. The Opeth, Overkill, and Megadeth song choices are all pretty lame I think, Arch Enemy's wasn't too bad though. As for the other bands I really couldn't care either way. I'm hoping the next Gigantour disc will be better, only 4 bands (I think), so most likely a wider variety from each band.

yea doesnt it seem that from the tracks that are displayed that its a very lacking setlist? and i agree that a 4 band gigantour will be better than the 5 or 6 that are normally featured. children of bodom need to come back, maybe gigantour will get back some of the appeal that the first tour had.
LeChron James - 22.10.2008 at 04:48  
Written by Ozman on 22.10.2008 at 00:39

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:18

Written by Ozman on 22.10.2008 at 00:14

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 00:10

This is a very sub par set list by all the bands. i dont know how they performed individually but not only does the song list not make me want to find out, i'm sure the fans who actually were in attendance wanted their money back.


How would you happen to know that ALL the bands played a subpar setlist just by looking at the song on this dvd? I hope you aren't actaully thinking that these were the complete setlists, now were you?

no no i was going by what was there. i should have said "from the songs listed", it looks like a sub set list.


Well, it is still impossible to judge the setlist cause for those bands those songs were staple songs on their setlist at the time. It is never possible to have a setlist that apeaces eevryone single person in the crowd for there are always personal favourites missing.
For example look at what Iron Maiden is currently touring with, their so-called Somewhere Back In Time tour yet DARING to play Fear Of The Dark although they said they would ONLY play songs of their first seven albums (not nine, but seven)

oh of course. from the concerts that i've seen recently i've definitely heard bitches and moans about the setlist and "why didnt they play x song or y song". i definitely agree with that. and when i saw Maiden live, they played the epic Rime of the Ancient Mariner in its entirety. i dont know how frequently they play that song (im guessing it isnt that often) but i was satisfied with the variety they presented at the show i attended.
Doc Godin - 22.10.2008 at 04:56  
Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 04:46

yea doesnt it seem that from the tracks that are displayed that its a very lacking setlist? and i agree that a 4 band gigantour will be better than the 5 or 6 that are normally featured. children of bodom need to come back, maybe gigantour will get back some of the appeal that the first tour had.

Crap I forgot this Gigantour actually had 5 bands total, and Children Of Bodom was on this years tour. I just think 2 songs per band is a bad way to show a good example of a live show (as Jeff sort of stated). Perhaps a double Disc set would have been better. Thats just me though, I don't watch DVDs, I just buy the CD version of the live show if its something that tickles my fancy.
LeChron James - 22.10.2008 at 06:48  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.10.2008 at 04:56

Written by LeChron James on 22.10.2008 at 04:46

yea doesnt it seem that from the tracks that are displayed that its a very lacking setlist? and i agree that a 4 band gigantour will be better than the 5 or 6 that are normally featured. children of bodom need to come back, maybe gigantour will get back some of the appeal that the first tour had.

Crap I forgot this Gigantour actually had 5 bands total, and Children Of Bodom was on this years tour. I just think 2 songs per band is a bad way to show a good example of a live show (as Jeff sort of stated). Perhaps a double Disc set would have been better. Thats just me though, I don't watch DVDs, I just buy the CD version of the live show if its something that tickles my fancy.

yeah im not a real fan of live DVDs either. something has to be REALLY fucking epic for me to buy it on DVD. i think the last DVD i bought within the last 2 years was Windir's Sognametal performance after Valfar died. fucking EPIC. despite all my commentary about this DVD, i highly, HIGHLY doubt i'll buy it.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Gigantour 2006 Details Announced 4.5 26.07.2006 by Dane Train
News Megadeth - Announce Plans For Gigantour 2012 4.5 22.07.2011 by JÄY
News Megadeth - Gigantour Bands Confirmed 4.5 28.09.2011 by The Shape 1973
News Megadeth, Dream Theater - DVD Gigantour Concert Available For Streaming 4.5 12.09.2006 by
News Megadeth - Gigantour Lineup Announced 4.5 01.01.2008 by Stalker



Hits total: 4685 | This month: 34