Silencer - Death - Pierce Me review



Reviewer:
8.0

94 users:
8.14
Band: Silencer
Album: Death - Pierce Me
Release date: October 2001


01. Death - Pierce Me
02. Sterile Nails And Thunderbowels
03. Taklamakan
04. The Slow Kill In The Cold
05. I Shall Lead, You Shall Follow
06. Feeble Are You - Sons Of Sion


One of the most notorious bands in today's Black Metal scene is Silencer. Vocalist Nattramn achieved relative world fame by first giving one of the most insane and maniacal performances on Silencer's début "Death - Pierce Me", and then getting himself institutionalized, abolishing the band in the process.

It is just as easy to ignore Nattramn's vocals when listening to Silencer as to avoid the coffeeshops when you're in The Netherlands, in other words: you can't. His unique way of singing is so penetrating, you're bound to be knocked off your feet the first time they rip your eardrums apart. A squealing pig, a dying cat, a lobster getting boiled: imagine some of natures squeakiest sounds and you're still not even close. And are they any good? It's a love or hate affair. At first they completely ruined the music for me, but after a while I got accustomed to them and eventually even liked them... a bit.

This album has more than just a notorious vocalist though. What most people tend to forget about Silencer is the strong riffaging. A lot of riffs are similar to the axes on Shining's latest albums - equally dark, but energizing and blood pumping. There are a few killer riffs on here, for example the entire eighth minute in the title track "Death - Pierce Me" or the main riff of "Sterile Nails And Thunderbowels". Slicing our wrists with six long slashes, every song has its own intro, usually done on the piano. And surprisingly, these are not shitty attempts at sounding "suicidal" and kvlt, but well-crafted, gloomy pieces.

In the end, Silencer is a very unique band, and a classic example of a love or hate band. That they paint dark musical pictures is undisputed, but it all depends on if you can feel the madness and insanity of this album (read: of the vocals). If you can't, I suggest alternatives such as Shining or Bethlehem. If you can, get a shrink.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 8
Production: 7


 



Written on 17.07.2008 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 58   Visited by: 280 users
15.01.2010 - 16:18
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Slayer666 on 15.01.2010 at 16:07

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:03

Written by Slayer666 on 15.01.2010 at 15:59

Then what do you think about Maniac's performance on "Wolf's Lair Abyss"?


Just as horrible. I hate that release btw.

Not one of their best, but not half-bad if you ask me.
Yeah, well, I could go on saying that many of your favorite bands have same-old, same-old monotonous, unimaginative growling vocals. But I don't, do I?


You could say that of a couple of my favourite bands (but only very few, it seems you haven't gone through my fav band list) But I don't start to cry if you say so.
But you were more or less asking for a slagging of Dani's vocal capacity, which is deemed horrendous by many people, by stating that almost all bm vocals suck.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.01.2010 - 16:33
Slayer666
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:18

Written by Slayer666 on 15.01.2010 at 16:07

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:03

Written by Slayer666 on 15.01.2010 at 15:59

Then what do you think about Maniac's performance on "Wolf's Lair Abyss"?


Just as horrible. I hate that release btw.

Not one of their best, but not half-bad if you ask me.
Yeah, well, I could go on saying that many of your favorite bands have same-old, same-old monotonous, unimaginative growling vocals. But I don't, do I?


You could say that of a couple of my favourite bands (but only very few, it seems you haven't gone through my fav band list) But I don't start to cry if you say so.
But you were more or less asking for a slagging of Dani's vocal capacity, which is deemed horrendous by many people, by stating that almost all bm vocals suck.

Yeah, I know you wouldn't cry, I was kidding.
I never said almost all BM vocals suck, I said that many suck. There is a difference, and not a small one either.
It's deemed horrendous by many people, yes. My mom, for example. But, then again, it's deemed brilliant by some others. Ask Warman or Metalomorphis. I have a harder time digesting those uber-boring growls than Dani's screams.
Loading...
15.01.2010 - 18:14
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:18

You could say that of a couple of my favourite bands (but only very few, it seems you haven't gone through my fav band list)


Seems like you haven't gone through your own fav band list then... Because you wrote Esoteric twice.

And about Dani's vocals... they are ok, just ok. Sometimes I really want him to shut up because one riff is just way too good. Then again... I can just take the first 3 albums.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
05.02.2010 - 20:53
Slayer666
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.01.2010 at 18:14

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:18

You could say that of a couple of my favourite bands (but only very few, it seems you haven't gone through my fav band list)


Seems like you haven't gone through your own fav band list then... Because you wrote Esoteric twice.

That's no mistake... he just really, really likes Esoteric.
Loading...
06.02.2010 - 18:13
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Slayer666 on 05.02.2010 at 20:53

Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.01.2010 at 18:14

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.01.2010 at 16:18

You could say that of a couple of my favourite bands (but only very few, it seems you haven't gone through my fav band list)


Seems like you haven't gone through your own fav band list then... Because you wrote Esoteric twice.

That's no mistake... he just really, really likes Esoteric.


wel, I really really do like them, but not enough to waarant them twice in my list of favourite bands because I don't have a single favourite band at all.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
04.03.2010 - 16:34
Trinity Blood
Vocals are amazing.
Loading...
20.03.2010 - 02:29
Got Mayhem?
Haha wow, I thought I had heard ever BM vocal performance yet but this is new. I expected something Varg like from what I had heard about them but this is like a 11 year old Varg walking on hot coals. Interesting, to say the least.
----
Loading...
03.05.2010 - 22:15
The Turbanator
Written by Slayer666 on 14.01.2010 at 14:54

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2010 at 21:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2009 at 04:32

NOTHING at all. They are totally crap at best. And do spoil anythign remotely good about Silencer. (and that from someone who loves anything Kvarfoth ahs done with Shining and also loves Deinonychus and Jo?Marquis) This guy is a total joke and shouldn't be allowed near a microphone ever again.


That's a sad fact, because I really like the music but the vocals ae just too much. I don't like Kvarforths interpretation of Pain:Noise:March but I can really see myself buying this album if it was done with Kvarforth on vocals..... Or any more normal singer.

To be honest, I think they should cut out vocals, any kind, from this album completely. That, and making the songs a litlle shorter, could have made this album a masterpiece. The way it is, I'd say the album is just a huuuge load of partially fulfiled potential.


Cut out the vocals? You must be taking the piss? The vocals make this album! Try listening to it a few times you'll get the hang of it. I too did hate the album at the first 2 listens but after that it all became clear to me. The lyrics, the drummings, the riffs, the vocals.. are all brilliant. Perfect for this kind of music.

10/10 for me.
----
In the name of forests; In the name of stars; In the name of all the seas; In the name of storms... Proud sons of ancient nation; Proud sons of sacred song in the wind; Proud sons behind a mirror of ice who told... Fathers of the icy age!!
Loading...
04.05.2010 - 16:57
Slayer666
Written by The Turbanator on 03.05.2010 at 22:15

Written by Slayer666 on 14.01.2010 at 14:54

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2010 at 21:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2009 at 04:32

NOTHING at all. They are totally crap at best. And do spoil anythign remotely good about Silencer. (and that from someone who loves anything Kvarfoth ahs done with Shining and also loves Deinonychus and Jo?Marquis) This guy is a total joke and shouldn't be allowed near a microphone ever again.


That's a sad fact, because I really like the music but the vocals ae just too much. I don't like Kvarforths interpretation of Pain:Noise:March but I can really see myself buying this album if it was done with Kvarforth on vocals..... Or any more normal singer.

To be honest, I think they should cut out vocals, any kind, from this album completely. That, and making the songs a litlle shorter, could have made this album a masterpiece. The way it is, I'd say the album is just a huuuge load of partially fulfiled potential.


Cut out the vocals? You must be taking the piss? The vocals make this album! Try listening to it a few times you'll get the hang of it. I too did hate the album at the first 2 listens but after that it all became clear to me. The lyrics, the drummings, the riffs, the vocals.. are all brilliant. Perfect for this kind of music.

10/10 for me.

Nah. I gave it even more than 2 listens. The vocalist just ruins it all for me. How am I supposed to take the music seriously if the guy sounds like a kid getting his penis cut off with a blunt knife?
Loading...
24.06.2010 - 04:45
The Turbanator
Written by Slayer666 on 04.05.2010 at 16:57

Written by The Turbanator on 03.05.2010 at 22:15

Written by Slayer666 on 14.01.2010 at 14:54

Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.01.2010 at 21:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 13.12.2009 at 04:32

NOTHING at all. They are totally crap at best. And do spoil anythign remotely good about Silencer. (and that from someone who loves anything Kvarfoth ahs done with Shining and also loves Deinonychus and Jo?Marquis) This guy is a total joke and shouldn't be allowed near a microphone ever again.


That's a sad fact, because I really like the music but the vocals ae just too much. I don't like Kvarforths interpretation of Pain:Noise:March but I can really see myself buying this album if it was done with Kvarforth on vocals..... Or any more normal singer.

To be honest, I think they should cut out vocals, any kind, from this album completely. That, and making the songs a litlle shorter, could have made this album a masterpiece. The way it is, I'd say the album is just a huuuge load of partially fulfiled potential.


Cut out the vocals? You must be taking the piss? The vocals make this album! Try listening to it a few times you'll get the hang of it. I too did hate the album at the first 2 listens but after that it all became clear to me. The lyrics, the drummings, the riffs, the vocals.. are all brilliant. Perfect for this kind of music.

10/10 for me.

Nah. I gave it even more than 2 listens. The vocalist just ruins it all for me. How am I supposed to take the music seriously if the guy sounds like a kid getting his penis cut off with a blunt knife?


Heh? Mate. Listen to Sterile Nails and Thunderbowels again. Read the lyrics with the music, you'll see how much emotions he puts in.

I know he's a fucked up lunatic and all that. But to make this kinda music, you need to be special. Enough of screams and growls. This guy, if he can, could bend light with his voice. Simple as that.

It's a love or hate album, as someone already mentioned. For me, it's one of the best, if not the best album ever made. I don't/never get bored to this.
----
In the name of forests; In the name of stars; In the name of all the seas; In the name of storms... Proud sons of ancient nation; Proud sons of sacred song in the wind; Proud sons behind a mirror of ice who told... Fathers of the icy age!!
Loading...
24.06.2010 - 04:50
Insineratehymn
Account deleted
As was said before, some people will never get used to the vocals on this album. As for me, I think the screams perfectly capture the frontman's insanity.
Loading...
26.06.2010 - 08:42
Culty
Hmm.... Am i one of the few people that actually liked the vocals from the first listen? hahaha
----
Gfnttlr
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 08:03
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Quote:
At first they completely ruined the music for me, but after a while I got accustomed to them and eventually even liked them... a bit.


Im still waiting to get accostumed..
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 08:04
Insineratehymn
Account deleted
Written by Culty on 26.06.2010 at 08:42

Hmm.... Am i one of the few people that actually liked the vocals from the first listen? hahaha

You're not the only one.
Loading...
11.07.2010 - 08:14
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
I guess the vocals fails to me because they sound so hilarious... XD

I mean, they kill all the great atmosphere created by the instruments. The production could at least put the vocals on the background or muffled it a little... the trance of listening is break all the time, due to the superposition of the voice over the instruments.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
12.07.2010 - 07:43
Culty
Written by Guest on 11.07.2010 at 08:04

Written by Culty on 26.06.2010 at 08:42

Hmm.... Am i one of the few people that actually liked the vocals from the first listen? hahaha

You're not the only one.

oh, great! theres just something great about them. even though i admit they are kinda funny but i can get over that when im in the mood.
----
Gfnttlr
Loading...
11.07.2011 - 22:44
Katherine Clemens
Written by Uirapuru on 11.07.2010 at 08:14

I guess the vocals fails to me because they sound so hilarious... XD

lol

android development
Loading...
15.10.2011 - 16:31
Absak
I actually like these kind of vocals. But really, after listening to it, I can say Rainer Landfermann did this kind of thing 10x better. Good album regardless though.
Loading...
03.03.2012 - 05:41
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by LeChron James on 13.12.2009 at 03:56


unless you're bipolar


I'M bipolar.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 16:55
Heartless
This album shocking anyone who listen for first time. Everything in this album is unique.
Loading...
30.06.2012 - 15:06
Oriax
Fucking hell! DELETE this pure piece of swine shit! Worst Black Metal album I have ever heard...
Loading...
30.06.2012 - 18:27
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Oriax on 30.06.2012 at 15:06
Fucking hell! DELETE this pure piece of swine shit! Worst Black Metal album I have ever heard...

I'd rather you be deleted from the site to be honest. At least this album amuses me.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
30.06.2012 - 21:55
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
I dig this album.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
12.04.2013 - 21:53
Fritillaria
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.06.2012 at 21:55

I dig this album.


how do you rate it ?
Loading...
12.04.2013 - 22:12
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 12.04.2013 at 21:53
how do you rate it ?


Around a strong 7,5. Vocals aside, this is still well constructed BM. Great riffs, keyboards and atmosphere. The only thing that can damage are the vocals but I don't have much trouble with them as some others. If the vocals were better I would probably give it a full point.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
12.04.2013 - 22:41
Fritillaria
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 12.04.2013 at 22:12

Written by Guest on 12.04.2013 at 21:53
how do you rate it ?


Around a strong 7,5. Vocals aside, this is still well constructed BM. Great riffs, keyboards and atmosphere. The only thing that can damage are the vocals but I don't have much trouble with them as some others. If the vocals were better I would probably give it a full point.

I see
Loading...
13.04.2013 - 10:42
Daniell
No, you don't
Maybe it's well constructed, but the idiotic vocals kill everything. What a shame.
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
29.03.2014 - 09:20
Achille
I won't say that about the vocals. I think the vocals are well representative of the Nathram's insanity. We don't have to expect clean black Metal vocals from this disturbed mind

Anyway it is a great album for me. The kind of album which makes you sick when you listen it.
----
Do you like Metal and pâté? ==> https://www.facebook.com/truemetalhunters
Loading...

Hits total: 10454 | This month: 73