Rating:
8.7
Hate Eternal - Fury & Flames
19 February 2008


01. Hell Envenom
02. Whom Gods May Destroy
03. Para Bellum
04. Bringer Of Storms
05. The Funerary March
06. Thus Salvation
07. Proclamation Of The Damned
08. Fury Within
09. Tombeau (Le Tombeau De La Fureur Et Des Flames)
10. Coronach


Sound comes as an important factor while recording an album and it usually helps create the overall feel. Hate Eternal is a band that stands on its own and their new album, might I say, is as much about the production and the sound as it is about the music. Neither fail to deliver. A lot of this credit goes to Erik Rutan for his producing skills and for assembling an all star line-up for Fury & Flames. There's Alex Webster (Cannibal Corpse, Blotted Science) on the bass, guitarist Shaune Kelley (Dim Mak, Ripping Corpse) and Jade Simonetto on drums who can easily steal the throne from Inferno or maybe even Flo Mounier. Need I say more?

What Fury & Flames delivers is ferocious riffs, demonic vocals and drumming that is all over the place, executed with mind blowing speed which accounts for an overall chaotic feeling, but chaos has its beauty if thought out well and here is a perfect example. Some people may remove their headphones after the first listen of this album and hide the case in their closet. What Fury & Flames takes is patience because you will not be able to discern everything that's going on after one simple listen. This is extreme death metal with a wall of sound that deserves an attentive listen because there are many great things in all of the songs. The album holds a consistent pace the whole way through, it maintains the same aggressive and heavy sound. What's even better is that the songs are very discernable from each other and they all have their high points, not one lacks in originality. The musicianship is very tight all around. There are a lot of out of the norm chord structures that are really interesting and the solos deserve high praise as well. The speed is also quite impressive, you can surely count on your fingers the number of bands that are able play as fast as these guys.

Rutan once again, proves his genius in the production of this monsterpiece creating a unique mix of the instruments. This might as well be the most extreme album of the year, so if you're looking for something to blow you away, literally, Fury & Flames should be your number one pick. The title describes the sound, furious and full of hellish blasting like passages.

"To say Fury & Flames is kinda heavy is like saying Mount Everest is kinda high." - Metal Maniacs

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Hate Eternal
Album: Fury & Flames


 


written by Visioneerie | 29.07.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 101  
Search this topic:  


Passenger - 24.08.2008 at 16:24  
Booo, boring, as usual.
Visioneerie - 24.08.2008 at 19:35  
Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.
routa - 24.08.2008 at 21:49  
Written by Visioneerie on 24.08.2008 at 19:35

Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.


Out of curiosity, would you have responded likewise if he would had commented something along like "This album rocks/is the shit/etc etc"?
Visioneerie - 24.08.2008 at 21:57  
Written by Guest on 24.08.2008 at 21:49

Written by Visioneerie on 24.08.2008 at 19:35

Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.

Shit, nice opinion there buddy, clearly you have nothing to say, that's smart.


Out of curiosity, would you have responded likewise if he would had commented something along like "This album rocks/is the shit/etc etc"?

I don't mind if he doesn't like the album, but his comment could be a bit more detailed as to why he thinks it's boring, maybe i wouldnt have responded the same way if he said it kicked ass because i would have nothing to approach.
Passenger - 25.08.2008 at 23:43  
My comment was excellent, mind you. The album bored me, Hate Eternal always bores me. Nothing interesting or noteworthy about Fury And Flames, so, there, I did say everything I wanted to say, and people who think like me will understand me

You know your adjectives, I should say that, if you're looking for encouragement for your reviewing; hope you write more!
Dangerboner - 26.08.2008 at 02:34  
Good review, this is their most brutal album to date, but not their best. Jade Simonetto blows Derek Roddy out of the water!

hahaha I like that Metal Maniacs comment too
Visioneerie - 26.08.2008 at 08:09  
Jade Simonetto is psychotic on this album, i've never even heard of this dude before Fury & Flames, if you ask me, he's more impressive than Roddy like you said, and Inferno.
Visioneerie - 31.08.2008 at 05:57  
Written by Passenger on 25.08.2008 at 23:43


You know your adjectives, I should say that, if you're looking for encouragement for your reviewing; hope you write more!

Thanks man, i'm thinking of writing more reviews sometime soon, look out for em'.
and i respect your opinion about Hate Eternal, after you explained yourself of course but i don't share it.
Uirapuru - 27.11.2008 at 10:10  
Good review.. very awesome band this Hate Eternal, gotta check their other works, only listen to Conquering the throne and this one. I consider CTT ten times better than Fury and Flames (even FaF not being bad at all).
thesabbathfan - 01.12.2008 at 06:45  
Tbh, I thought the recording quality on this album was balls, but I think they'll be back on top by the next release.
Syk - 13.01.2009 at 09:08  
So the guy blasts like a fucker... I don't think that warrants an originality of 10
LeChron James - 13.01.2009 at 10:14  
Written by Syk on 13.01.2009 at 09:08

So the guy blasts like a fucker... I don't think that warrants an originality of 10

agreed. if that were true every Berzerker album would be a 12.
Necrogeddon - 18.07.2009 at 03:07  
Good review I share your thoughts on it, the brutality and relentlessness totally blew me away I prefer I, Monarch but this album is denser in sound and so fucking heavy, I love it!
fosi - 13.01.2011 at 23:37  
Written by Passenger on 24.08.2008 at 16:24

Booo, boring, as usual.


Totally agree,one of the most boring death metal albums...

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News Neurotic Deathfest - Hate Eternal, Obscura And More Confirmed 4.5 28.12.2010 by Troy Killjoy
News Hate Eternal - New Video Online 4.5 16.07.2011 by LeChron James
News Hate Eternal - Parts Ways With Bassist 4.5 03.04.2007 by Doc Godin
News Hate Eternal - Announce Permanent Drummer, New Album Details 4.5 27.07.2007 by Katatronik
Reviews Ultralord - We Hate You And Hope You Die 4 22.01.2007 by Götter



Hits total: 4267 | This month: 39