Rating:
9.5
Warning - Watching From A Distance
2007


01. Watching From A Distance
02. Footprints
03. Bridges
04. Faces
05. Echoes


Next time a newbie to (Traditional) Doom Metal asks me what the genre is about, my answer shall be confined to one mere word: Warning. As his or her face will doubtlessly bear a puzzled look, should I really answer in such fashion, my patient person shall have to repeat and explain that answer. And I will gladly do so, as everyone that has but the slightest interest in Warning is my friend.

Yes, besides a signal of danger, Warning is also the name of a band. A British band. A highly emotional, animating band, seemingly the love of all the reviewers around the world, yet unknown to the majority of the listeners. A damn shame, that's what that is. If any album (Doom, or Metal in general) of the past ten years is massively underrated, it is "Watching From A Distance". But Warning themselves seem not to care, as they have been going since 1994 and keep going on, in the same pace as their music.

As a matter of fact, they have taken everything so easy that they were put into hibernation for a couple of years. The reason that I am mentioning this is because the vocalist, Patrick Walker, took a break from writing music and focused on acting, his other hobby. And it shows. Compare their first album "The Strength To Dream" to this one and be amazed at the immense, IMMENSE progress his voice has made. On the debut he was already good, but on "Watching From A Distance" he is glorious. Gloriously wailing. It might take some time getting used to his unique sound, but after a few spins you will sink deeper and deeper into the swamp of misery that is Warning.

Pat's vocals are accompanied by heavy guitar riffs, full of bass and sad melodies. Drenched in a very grey distortion, their slightly unusual sound is perfect for this type of music (and vocals). Together with the splashes of the drummer they are compact and tight, but at the same time wavering all over the place. Of course the pace is through-out the entire album slow and doleful, yet you will discover time flies by when listening to this album.

No more praise now, it is time the traditional Doom lovers discover this secret gem and give Warning the recognition they deserve. Before you will know it, the release of this album will be sold out again (perhaps it is already) and they will sink into oblivion once more. And that would be a great shame. Take my word for it, this is the best Traditional Doom Album of post 2000.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Warning
Album: Watching From A Distance


 



Written on 27.07.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 76  
Users visited: 296  
Search this topic:  


Vonpire - 30.08.2011 at 21:09  
Man, are you guys really SERIOUS? o.O

After all this "whining" I'm really glad on my tastes! TY!
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.08.2011 at 22:23  
Written by Vonpire on 30.08.2011 at 21:09

Man, are you guys really SERIOUS? o.O

After all this "whining" I'm really glad on my tastes! TY!

The irony being you had to "whine" the same joke on three separate threads ;]
Slayer666 - 30.08.2011 at 23:17  
Written by Vonpire on 30.08.2011 at 21:09

Man, are you guys really SERIOUS? o.O

After all this "whining" I'm really glad on my tastes! TY!

Well, someone is obviously butthurt about people not liking Draconian...
Need some ointment, there, chief?
!J.O.O.E.! - 30.08.2011 at 23:26  
Written by Slayer666 on 30.08.2011 at 23:17

Written by Vonpire on 30.08.2011 at 21:09

Man, are you guys really SERIOUS? o.O

After all this "whining" I'm really glad on my tastes! TY!

Well, someone is obviously butthurt about people not liking Draconian...
Need some ointment, there, chief?

It's funny how everyone noticed that. This guy overdid it methinks.
Slayer666 - 30.08.2011 at 23:32  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 30.08.2011 at 23:26

It's funny how everyone noticed that. This guy overdid it methinks.


That hilarious bitchfest/catfight he had on A Rose of the Apocalypse was pretty hard to miss.
Also, it reminded me a lot about that time THE_BLACK_GOD threw a similar all caps rage on jupitreas' review of My Dying Bride's For Lies I Sire. Boy, that was fun to read, we need more people like that 'round here.
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 05:37  
Warning ! May contain explicit lyrics and contents. You've been warned



If youre sensible, dont have humour sense, then stop reading now!



You've been warned!



Still reading. Well curiosity killed the cat. SO if you still reading this you either love this album (which I cannot help, sorry) or you respect other peoples opinions, which is the most important.

If you do not like me proceed at your own risk, if not then read my true opinion free and feeled.


While I admit that the joke was "dry", that is exactly what I feel about this lp by warning (well at least they warned) . See? another dry joke. It flawless fits the album. Dry, boring, a complete childish whining.
Most boring stuff I've heard in years. This is my true vision of this musical disaster. The voice of this guy is just horrible, a skinned cat can be more melodious. Its laughable really.
And the speech is typical of a teen with his broken heart whining because Gina spreaded left him.. Buuuhhhh..: Look how pathethic that is! Ohhhh great misfortune, ohh great drama ... Ohh great... wait... Theres nothing great inside this ridiculous thing besides boredom and pitty. Why this is cult to few, only you guys know, but it's so bad that isn't even worth to listen to many.

Anyway, The album drags from beginning to end in the same tone and was a real torture to hear it until the end. I did it, twice, just to try to get it. I.M. really. This is really bad music dragging and whining, Tedious. Pretty average "music" and the vocals deserve a 0.

Ok cya guys.





Still reading?






Go now friend metaller! PLUR for you!


...



Now for whom made this personal.
To the guys who even mention my person in offensive and tipical dumb superior mania, Your opinions are so valid as mine and you can look around google... I am not alone in this. I saw many people hating this album and loving and praising ARFTA by Drac. You are better? Why? Bunch of bad taste guys defending their "damsel" in despair? Do you feel different? Special in some way? Guess what. You fu***** aren't. You just think you are!
Wait... I just forgot some are holy around. And then there's milk... And some people with real bad taste , but hey its my opinion, nothing personal. I just think this sucks! Maybe some of you also!
To all others, a bucket of hardcore metal cookies...

The sad thing is that those who speak of me should look in the mirror and just look how ridiculous and immature your attitude towards different opinions are. Dont be scared! Its you on the mirror!

Can't stand criticism on your worship album? This depressing thing? Best album of Doom ??

Hahahaha, that joke is even more sad than this album.

I wish for you all twice as much you wish for me.

And thank God for Draconian!

Back to this misery...
There's two or three decent riffs that is what gives a 6 to it. Not like? Do depressing circles and share your hurted innerself

Cya guys.

Thanx for the amusement and listen to good metal meanwhile. (WARNING , not.. this)
BitterCOld - 31.08.2011 at 06:15  
Yes, we are better. for starters, i imagine most of us don't take it personally and froth at the keyboard with anyone who dares disagree with our opinion.

you have drawn special attention upon yourself for being one of those e-bags who does take a slight at a band as a personal one and responding to each and every differing opinion in kind.

flailing around at a Warning album because people don't like another album by another band that you drool over...

i dub thee "Ponderer 2.0"
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 06:30  
Valid opinion.

Please proceed.

The case here is only about 1 thing. Music quality. Not more not less.

You like this? No problem.

Do you want me to like?

No way.

I see you didnt laughed

Who is ponderer? Have you even pondered that this album really does suck for most of people?

Nahh, dont think so...

P.S. - Nobody menttioned "better"
.. only.. you (so far) and Draconian isn't even my fav band, you're shooting blindly obviously.
Daniell - 31.08.2011 at 10:09  
Written by Vonpire on 31.08.2011 at 06:30

Who is ponderer? Have you even pondered that this album really does suck for most of people?


Ponderer was a sad creature who used to lash out at people for no reason, offending them in random ways.
His similarity to you is quite clear:
- ponderer was outraged by the 5.9 rating that was given to Kamelot's "Poetry for the Poisoned". He decided to vent his frustration by bashing Enslaved's "Axioma Ethica Odini". He even wrote a completely incompetent review thus proving that he had never heard Enslaved's album.
- you are outraged by some MS users' opinions about Draconian's "Rose for the Apocalypse", so you took it out on Warning's "Watching from a Distance".
Both of you are utterly incapable of grasping the idea of the existence of various opinions about a single album. Ponderer was offensive and racist. He asked himself for a permanent ban, which the mods granted him. He has re-registered twice since then, but both times he revelaed himself by posting blatantly obvious things, so both of his new accounts were perma banned as well. He might still be around, but even if he is, so far he's been keeping a low profile, so we haven't noticed him.

As you can see, he paved the way for the likes of you. Let's see how you choose to proceed.
Slayer666 - 31.08.2011 at 13:37  
Written by Vonpire on 31.08.2011 at 06:30

Whine whine whine, bitch bitch bitch


It seems you need to really chill the fuck out. Get a hobby, get laid or something.

Actually, now that I think about it, please continue. Reading your pathetic bitching is the most fun and lulz I had on Metal Storm since ponderer wrote that troll review and set the site ablaze.
His legacy endures.

P.S. Not liking, and even dissing or mocking Warning is fine if you don't like them. But when someone disses an album you like, and you retort by writing 3-4 different comments of the same content about an album they like, well, that's just god damn pathetic and you deserve every bit of ridicule you get.
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 16:57  
Ponderer.. Oh yeah I remember about him.

It's this? (Actual quotes)

Written by Vonpire on 21.10.2010 at 14:10

Written by ponderer on 21.10.2010 at 03:54

Quote:
Since this anyway pointless discussion is completely off-topic, please limit your imminent hateful response to a PM. I implore you.


Um... "since this anyway pointless discussion" is totally incorrect grammar genius. You have amazing English skills and you actually have the balls to confront a native English speaker with that shit?!?!??! You really put your foot in it now.

So let me get this straight, you get to reply here and make a total ass of yourself because you know NOTHING about English and I'm supposed to use a PM?

BLOW ME


...(many crap more...)



MAN! What a stupid SON OF A B****!!!!!

I hope you drown soon on your own feces for that sentence! Stupid fucking retard ! You're a teacher? Of what? Stupidity and arrogance? You're simply the most retarded / arrogant guy I've seen online, And i really do hope they ban you, you son of a pathetic person!

Don't even try to insult me. You are ignored so far, you nazi bastard!


Written by Vonpire on 21.10.2010 at 21:15

Written by ponderer on 21.10.2010 at 19:48

That's right everyone, I'm old. I'm obviously the worst of my kind. My BEING old is my biggest fault as a human being and my BEING rude to daniell the Polish troll is me just BEING an asshole. THE lunch is ready so I need to go eat THE lunch. Feel free to perm ban me from THE Metalstorm for having my own opinion and not bowing down to some guy who can barely construct a coherent sentence in THE English.


Don't be a jerk, anyone with a brain would notice that people are against your arrogance and SPECIALLY your "nazi" sentence.
It has nothing to do with English or your age. At least from my pov.

The Paradise can be a entity also. At least i think it can...

You can call some island a Paradise and refer to that as " I wish i'll go to paradise". (the island) or "I wish I'll go to "the Paradise"" (entity).

Am i wrong? Possibly I am (I am not "native", and I know I have my limitations)

C'mon, tell, i'll give ya 5 cents


Written by Vonpire on 13.12.2010 at 13:26


(regarding ponderer review of Enslaved's Anxioma)

Hahahahahahah Hehehehehehe HIhIHIHIHIHIHhihih, OMG what a lulz guy. You're really a joke! Unbelievable.

Well, at least all people know your credit equals 0 (or less)

But it was a good joke anyway



Ok There's ponderer and then there's me... No need to say more. Lol. My wife laughed also with your comments, lovely cute little thing!

Well this album still sucks anyway I don't need you guys to like Draconian either. In fact I prefer whoever praises this album do dislike Draconian. Cause this is really really ridiculous music/lyrics/voice/attitude. It's my opinion, not intendeed to chance your opinions / taste at all. Enjoy warning, I'll be keeping distance from it anyway.

Oh and I have listened / rated this album long ago, not now. I just wanted to show you all my true vision of this album (a supposed doom masterpiece ), as I did.
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.08.2011 at 16:59  
Written by Vonpire on 31.08.2011 at 16:57

In fact I prefer whoever praises this album do dislike Draconian. Cause this is really really ridiculous music/lyrics/voice/attitude.


So that would mean you prefer the people in Draconian to dislike their own band?
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 17:10  
Hahahaha

That was weak!

So Draconian members like this? Who cares? Do you think I care about what Draconian guys like? And even if they like, I had to praise that?

NO, sorry, not with me.

I even tried to listen this third time. I give up after that horrible nasal torment started...
!J.O.O.E.! - 31.08.2011 at 17:21  
We should all listen to Vonpire guys, he's clearly an expert on Warning with a grand total of 2 plays in his Last.fm library. Oh but I'm sure he listens to it on Vinyl all the time, as well as on youtube and his MP3 player. No bullshit to be found here, go home folks, you're barking up the wrong tree. His constant backtracking, personal tracks, confusing English and contradictions are simply part of his intelligence that we aren't able to comprehend.
vezzy - 31.08.2011 at 17:35  
Since when did Ponderer become a forum hacker?

Damn.
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 18:26  
Hey joe glad to see you checked my last fm.

And , incredibly you guessed it, even if it were in a sarcastic way. I listened this on my mp3 player, at dark in the bed, no preconcebed ideas as I was expecting something great and genious. Then it started and I just..WTF???

Lol

Now about my english.. Well not my native language so...

Ty for proof.
InnerSelf - 31.08.2011 at 20:38  
Damn it man XD I am going to take your side a little bit and say that I was really disappointed at the first listen afterr reading all the praise , but after a while I learned to embrace it. the vocals did not sound bad but deep and honest , the lyrics did not sound cheesy but overwhelmingly emotional and the music itself sounded so pure as Doom should be.
you might like it too if you put some effort but I guess you are too arrogant to do so -_-
Vonpire - 31.08.2011 at 21:11  
I tried, I really did! The music itself isn't bad, in fact it's perfectly audible and really depressive stuff. That's why I rated this with a 6 and not less...

But his voice... Oh man! Can't stand it, really can't. And the lyrics, I can not help, I just laugh at it Maybe I am not depressive type who can really appreciate this.

Either way I am not arrogant, I simply don't like! And as I said, I am not alone in this. Apparently you all talk about my pseudo-catfight in ARFTA but fail to see you guys do really worse than me. I clearly pictured it in words. And the cap fitted some people perfectly xD .

And I am not gonna torture me and lost 1 more precious hour listening to this stuff again. Specially with all the amazing offering in the world of Metal (and music in general), where in my standard, this don't fit at all.

Look how drool I am about one band in particular... Check my latest listens on last fm. (and it didn't count my listenings in car / mp3 player / ps3 ...)

Graveworm, Gothminister, Arkona, Kamelot, Katatonia, Enslaved, The Prodigy, Korn, Edge of Sanity, Edenbridge, Elis, Marilyn Manson, Illnath ... See how limited I am to Draconian
InnerSelf - 01.09.2011 at 06:20  
May I suggest trying 40 Watt Sun - The Inside Room where Pat delivers a sensational vocal performance "which is not whiny by any means". If you like it, appreciating Warning would not be as hard
Vonpire - 01.09.2011 at 07:00  
I'l try that.
Being and Time - 05.09.2011 at 06:22  
This is an astounding album. What is amazing about it...the lyrics as written on paper are surprisingly cheesy without the context, but the delivery itself is unbelievable. I can't believe some people don't like the vocals-- right from the start, I found his voice to become enrapturing. While newbs may find things dwell too long for their own good, this is a great traditional doom album, even for those who don't really like the genre (myself). I'd choose Candlemass and Black Sabbath as the bands to introduce a newb to doom, but Warning isn't far behind at all. I'm really surprised I didn't listen to this until just a few weeks ago.
JD - 06.09.2011 at 19:56  
I felt in love with this album from the first listen.

Good review.
WhyDoIDoThis - 15.09.2011 at 06:58  
The best type of depression is the kind music inflicts. Especially because all you have to do is change the station to snap out of it.
I just wish there chould be even 5 seconds of a tempo that doesn't recall the image of a 600 year old turtle walking across a meadow of fire and bones.
Boxcar Willy - 28.06.2012 at 17:43  
I love it when the comments out do the actual review
Boxcar Willy - 28.06.2012 at 17:55  
Written by Slayer666 on 30.08.2011 at 23:32

That hilarious bitchfest/catfight he had on A Rose of the Apocalypse was pretty hard to miss.
Also, it reminded me a lot about that time THE_BLACK_GOD threw a similar all caps rage on jupitreas' review of My Dying Bride's For Lies I Sire. Boy, that was fun to read, we need more people like that 'round here.

Thank you for the half hour of entertainment.
Guib - 03.10.2013 at 03:52  
Haha the comments... are amazing. I love the album

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Warning - Watching From A Distance 7.5 05.02.2010 by JÄY
News Bobby Jarzombek - Drummer Suffering From Cellulitis 3 02.05.2014 by tea[m]ster
Albums Oddland - Away From The Watching Eye [Demo] 3 30.07.2012 by Array
Reviews Amorphis - Tales From The Thousand Lakes 2.5 28.07.2007 by BlueMobius
Reviews Fates Warning - Disconnected 2.5 28.09.2009 by Ellrohir



Hits total: 9348 | This month: 74