Rating:
9.5
Warning - Watching From A Distance
2007


01. Watching From A Distance
02. Footprints
03. Bridges
04. Faces
05. Echoes


Next time a newbie to (Traditional) Doom Metal asks me what the genre is about, my answer shall be confined to one mere word: Warning. As his or her face will doubtlessly bear a puzzled look, should I really answer in such fashion, my patient person shall have to repeat and explain that answer. And I will gladly do so, as everyone that has but the slightest interest in Warning is my friend.

Yes, besides a signal of danger, Warning is also the name of a band. A British band. A highly emotional, animating band, seemingly the love of all the reviewers around the world, yet unknown to the majority of the listeners. A damn shame, that's what that is. If any album (Doom, or Metal in general) of the past ten years is massively underrated, it is "Watching From A Distance". But Warning themselves seem not to care, as they have been going since 1994 and keep going on, in the same pace as their music.

As a matter of fact, they have taken everything so easy that they were put into hibernation for a couple of years. The reason that I am mentioning this is because the vocalist, Patrick Walker, took a break from writing music and focused on acting, his other hobby. And it shows. Compare their first album "The Strength To Dream" to this one and be amazed at the immense, IMMENSE progress his voice has made. On the debut he was already good, but on "Watching From A Distance" he is glorious. Gloriously wailing. It might take some time getting used to his unique sound, but after a few spins you will sink deeper and deeper into the swamp of misery that is Warning.

Pat's vocals are accompanied by heavy guitar riffs, full of bass and sad melodies. Drenched in a very grey distortion, their slightly unusual sound is perfect for this type of music (and vocals). Together with the splashes of the drummer they are compact and tight, but at the same time wavering all over the place. Of course the pace is through-out the entire album slow and doleful, yet you will discover time flies by when listening to this album.

No more praise now, it is time the traditional Doom lovers discover this secret gem and give Warning the recognition they deserve. Before you will know it, the release of this album will be sold out again (perhaps it is already) and they will sink into oblivion once more. And that would be a great shame. Take my word for it, this is the best Traditional Doom Album of post 2000.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Warning
Album: Watching From A Distance


 



Written on 27.07.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 76  
Users visited: 300  
Search this topic:  


BitterCOld - 28.07.2008 at 22:50  
"Watching from a Distance" is a fantastic album. I checked it out after reading Marcel and Lucas both pining on and on and on and on about it... it lived up to their hype.

the band plods along, glacially, setting a gloomy (doomy) mood - it's tight and sounds good. i like the production, particularly on the drums. they do a great job in spacing the riffs to develop the somber atmosphere, setting the table for Pat's vocals.

the vocals themselves take a slight bit of getting used to, kinda like Ozzy in a sense, but they are so wrought and wracked with the emotions of sorrow, ultimate loss, and failure that they just haunt the listener.

a staggeringly grand album.

great review as well.
Hamird - 28.09.2008 at 18:48  
I'm glad to this album... This was one of first Doom experiences which was very nice..
And the thing that hold my attention is the vocals.. Those vocals are very nice..
Mr. Doctor - 28.09.2008 at 19:30  
The vocals are very unique indeed... and hard to get into.
But the riffs are sooooo good and crushing. I will check this out
peter666 - 09.10.2008 at 10:11  
Indeed one of the best traditional doom bands ever and one of the best traditional doom albums ever!
Shadowcross - 10.10.2008 at 11:38  
this album is so amazing.. at first I could only take the title track but the despairing feel brought me back to the rest of the album. Grows on you, and as said above it can be hard to get into. Love his vocal style
Talvi - 29.01.2009 at 14:08  
I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?
Elio - 26.02.2009 at 17:45  
Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope
Heart_of_METAL - 13.04.2009 at 15:56  
I don´t know if this the best doom album ever, but I know,:thumbup: that is the best doom album I have ever heard
Grimskallen - 31.05.2010 at 11:06  
This album simply can't be recommended enough.... soul crushing doom!
spirit_inblack - 12.09.2010 at 22:19  
"It makes so much out of so little" - probably the best description I've read for this album. It does get a little tedious and dragging because you're basically hearing the same thing throughout, the same depressing chords with not a whole lot of variation, but it's not about that. The sheer epic-depressive quality, accompanied by some very unique vocals, make this album one of the strongest in doom.
Daniell - 13.09.2010 at 13:02  
Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


If you take on a cold approach, devoid of the emotional side of music (which you have every right to do of course), you will conclude that this album is boring, monotonous and tedious.
But the key to it is its emotional impact, which makes it so good.
JohnDoe - 17.09.2010 at 05:02  
One of the few doom metal albums i enjoy.
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 17:40  
Not THAT much of a traditional doomster, i prefer grunts n' screams, i'll give it a spin and hopefully more!
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.09.2010 at 20:34  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 17:40

Not THAT much of a traditional doomster, i prefer grunts n' screams, i'll give it a spin and hopefully more!

It's not really traditional doom, closer to funeral doom, or at least quite slow doom, with traditional vocals.
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 20:46  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 17.09.2010 at 20:34

Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 17:40

Not THAT much of a traditional doomster, i prefer grunts n' screams, i'll give it a spin and hopefully more!

It's not really traditional doom, closer to funeral doom, or at least quite slow doom, with traditional vocals.

this sounds better, hope the voice will be as good as it has to or more so as to equal or even surpass my need for woeful and heart-rending grunts
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.09.2010 at 20:47  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 20:46

this sounds better, hope the voice will be as good as it has to or more so as to equal or even surpass my need for woeful and heart-rending grunts

Yep, it's quite gruntless! The vocals are pretty much based around the Ozzy kind of sound. A lot of people find it annoying and whiny but I've never had a problem with it. I suppose you might do though it's quite OTT at times (though not in a Messiah way).
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 20:53  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 17.09.2010 at 20:47

Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 20:46

this sounds better, hope the voice will be as good as it has to or more so as to equal or even surpass my need for woeful and heart-rending grunts

Yep, it's quite gruntless! The vocals are pretty much based around the Ozzy kind of sound. A lot of people find it annoying and whiny but I've never had a problem with it. I suppose you might do though it's quite OTT at times (though not in a Messiah way).

I don't like Ozzy, i don't like Black Sabbath, i'm an unorthodox doomster, a respectless 90s/00s doom child (with a few trad exceptions, Reverend Bizarre, Candlemass and such)
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.09.2010 at 20:56  
Quote:
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 20:53


I don't like Ozzy, i don't like Black Sabbath, i'm an unorthodox doomster, a respectless 90s/00s doom child (with a few trad exceptions, Reverend Bizarre, Candlemass and such)

Yeah same here if I'm honest. I don't really listen to Sabbath although I find it quite tolerable. Candlemass is pretty much the only pre-90's metal band I listen to on a regular basis. Modern metal is always best =J
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 21:11  
Quote:
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 17.09.2010 at 20:56

Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 20:53


I don't like Ozzy, i don't like Black Sabbath, i'm an unorthodox doomster, a respectless 90s/00s doom child (with a few trad exceptions, Reverend Bizarre, Candlemass and such)

Yeah same here if I'm honest. I don't really listen to Sabbath although I find it quite tolerable. Candlemass is pretty much the only pre-90's metal band I listen to on a regular basis. Modern metal is always best =J

And then Marcel breaks in and we have two chopped heads with our ears sodomized by Witchfinder General
!J.O.O.E.! - 17.09.2010 at 21:11  
Written by DerRozzengarten on 17.09.2010 at 21:11

And then Marcel breaks in and we have two chopped heads with our ears sodomized by Witchfinder General

I am indeed expecting that =P
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 21:17  
No, I won't. i'll just let you two ignorant kiddies be

btw witchfinder general is okay, nothing great or such. Imo even quite overrated.
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 21:22  
Marcel's heart is still vivid, although in doomy tempo, it still beats for us kidd(->n)(e)y (failures)
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.09.2010 at 21:28  
Yes, indeed
btw, looking at my doom collection I think it is equal parts grunt/extreme sludge/stoner clean vocals/traditional/epic
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 21:32  
The fair jugge dredd of doom metal
DerRozzengarten - 17.09.2010 at 21:54  
Slayer666 - 18.09.2010 at 10:06  
Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


+1
I only find the first song interesting (even quite brilliant), but the rest is so boring, I can't sit through 3 minutes of it.
Carl Berg - 18.09.2010 at 18:43  
Written by Slayer666 on 18.09.2010 at 10:06

Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


+1
I only find the first song interesting (even quite brilliant), but the rest is so boring, I can't sit through 3 minutes of it.


Dudes, this album is without doubt a doom masterpiece. If you can't sit through more than the first 3 minutes than you don't know doom metal.
Slayer666 - 20.09.2010 at 15:45  
Written by Carl Berg on 18.09.2010 at 18:43

Written by Slayer666 on 18.09.2010 at 10:06

Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


+1
I only find the first song interesting (even quite brilliant), but the rest is so boring, I can't sit through 3 minutes of it.


Dudes, this album is without doubt a doom masterpiece. If you can't sit through more than the first 3 minutes than you don't know doom metal.

Nah, man, I like a lot of Doom Metal. But I can't understand what is so good about this particular album. Sure, the first song is one of the best I've heard in this genre, but the rest are too much alike and offer nothing more. Basically, the entire album can be easily replaced with just the first song, IMO.
Mr. Doctor - 20.09.2010 at 17:47  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2010 at 15:45

the entire album can be easily replaced with just the first song, IMO.


That's a common feature in many MANY metal bands
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.09.2010 at 17:53  
True. It's called consistency
Marcel Hubregtse - 20.09.2010 at 21:43  
Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2010 at 15:45

Written by Carl Berg on 18.09.2010 at 18:43

Written by Slayer666 on 18.09.2010 at 10:06

Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


+1
I only find the first song interesting (even quite brilliant), but the rest is so boring, I can't sit through 3 minutes of it.


Dudes, this album is without doubt a doom masterpiece. If you can't sit through more than the first 3 minutes than you don't know doom metal.

Nah, man, I like a lot of Doom Metal. But I can't understand what is so good about this particular album. Sure, the first song is one of the best I've heard in this genre, but the rest are too much alike and offer nothing more. Basically, the entire album can be easily replaced with just the first song, IMO.


If I might ask... What doom bands do you like? Since you say you like a lot of doom. Sometimes it helps when people name the doom bands they do like to see where they are coming from.
Slayer666 - 22.09.2010 at 15:33  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 20.09.2010 at 21:43

Written by Slayer666 on 20.09.2010 at 15:45

Written by Carl Berg on 18.09.2010 at 18:43

Written by Slayer666 on 18.09.2010 at 10:06

Written by Elio on 26.02.2009 at 17:45

Written by Talvi on 29.01.2009 at 14:08

I'm the only one that thinks that this is overrated?


Nope


+1
I only find the first song interesting (even quite brilliant), but the rest is so boring, I can't sit through 3 minutes of it.


Dudes, this album is without doubt a doom masterpiece. If you can't sit through more than the first 3 minutes than you don't know doom metal.

Nah, man, I like a lot of Doom Metal. But I can't understand what is so good about this particular album. Sure, the first song is one of the best I've heard in this genre, but the rest are too much alike and offer nothing more. Basically, the entire album can be easily replaced with just the first song, IMO.


If I might ask... What doom bands do you like? Since you say you like a lot of doom. Sometimes it helps when people name the doom bands they do like to see where they are coming from.

Early Katatonia is my absolute number one, followed by Nortt, Funeral, Tales of Dark (very, very good Goth/Death Doom from Serbia), My Dying Bride, Thegrothon and my recent favorites, Esoteric and Arcana Colestia. There is more, but that would sum it up pretty well.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.09.2010 at 15:35  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.09.2010 at 15:33

Early Katatonia is my absolute number one, followed by Nortt, Funeral, Tales of Dark (very, very good Goth/Death Doom from Serbia), My Dying Bride, Thegothorn and my recent favorites, Esoteric and Arcana Colestia. There is more, but that would sum it up pretty well.


Mmm, I don't know Tales Of Dark, will have to check them out.
But seeing those other names (with My Dying bride I hope you mean old MDB and not the last two , same for Funeral btw.) I can udnerstand your problems with Warning.
You probably also have problems with most of Candlemass and other epic doom bands.
Slayer666 - 22.09.2010 at 15:40  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.09.2010 at 15:35

Written by Slayer666 on 22.09.2010 at 15:33

Early Katatonia is my absolute number one, followed by Nortt, Funeral, Tales of Dark (very, very good Goth/Death Doom from Serbia), My Dying Bride, Thegothorn and my recent favorites, Esoteric and Arcana Colestia. There is more, but that would sum it up pretty well.


Mmm, I don't know Tales Of Dark, will have to check them out.
But seeing those other names (with My Dying bride I hope you mean old MDB and not the last two , same for Funeral btw.) I can udnerstand your problems with Warning.
You probably also have problems with most of Candlemass and other epic doom bands.

True about MDB, not so true about Funeral.
Yeah, I can't stand Candlemass other than a song or two from "Epicus...". Or other epic doom. But Warning strikes me slightly more like Funeral Doom than Epic, excluding the vocals.
Aristarchos - 21.12.2010 at 21:06  
I don't like Candlemass but this is brilliant!
Evil Chip - 11.01.2011 at 08:43  
Amazing album. Normally I don't listen to doom apart from Katatonias first records but this is a masterpiece. The only weak point for me is the lyrics (kind of gay to me) but they make absolutely sense along with the music.
ForeverDarkWoods - 13.01.2011 at 18:12  
Personally, I can't stand this album for the life of me. It just drags on and on and never does anything for me. It's just long, boring and fails to be epic. It's just nothing. It's not really heavy, it's not really epic, it never actually goes anywhere, and ultimately it completely fails to keep my attention and totally puts me to sleep.

Same problem that Solstice has at times but much, much worse (Solstice is actually quite good if you're in the mood despite sections that drag on for far to long without adding anything). A lot (I'd even dare to say most) of funeral doom also has this problem.

This album is IMO just a bunch of generic nothingness.
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.01.2011 at 18:21  
Written by ForeverDarkWoods on 13.01.2011 at 18:12

Personally, I can't stand this album for the life of me. It just drags on and on and never does anything for me. It's just long, boring and fails to be epic. It's just nothing. It's not really heavy, it's not really epic, it never actually goes anywhere, and ultimately it completely fails to keep my attention and totally puts me to sleep.

Same problem that Solstice has at times but much, much worse (Solstice is actually quite good if you're in the mood despite sections that drag on for far to long without adding anything). A lot (I'd even dare to say most) of funeral doom also has this problem.

This album is IMO just a bunch of generic nothingness.

Dude, if you want to say something just come right out and say it!
ForeverDarkWoods - 13.01.2011 at 18:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.01.2011 at 18:21

Written by ForeverDarkWoods on 13.01.2011 at 18:12

Personally, I can't stand this album for the life of me. It just drags on and on and never does anything for me. It's just long, boring and fails to be epic. It's just nothing. It's not really heavy, it's not really epic, it never actually goes anywhere, and ultimately it completely fails to keep my attention and totally puts me to sleep.

Same problem that Solstice has at times but much, much worse (Solstice is actually quite good if you're in the mood despite sections that drag on for far to long without adding anything). A lot (I'd even dare to say most) of funeral doom also has this problem.

This album is IMO just a bunch of generic nothingness.

Dude, if you want to say something just come right out and say it!

Okay: The album sucks!
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.01.2011 at 18:23  
Written by ForeverDarkWoods on 13.01.2011 at 18:22

Okay: The album sucks!

Oh, that's where you were going with it.
ForeverDarkWoods - 13.01.2011 at 18:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.01.2011 at 18:23

Written by ForeverDarkWoods on 13.01.2011 at 18:22

Okay: The album sucks!

Oh, that's where you were going with it.

Yeah, that's the contents of what I wrote too...
Gordon Freeman - 20.01.2011 at 00:46  
Wow, for some reason I had no idea these guys recorded more than a demo or two.

I've heard their Blessed by the Sabbath demo and love Nightmare Bride.

I'll have to see if CD World can order this one for me.
INÆRIS - 29.01.2011 at 20:28  
This review didn't really tell much about the album, But because it really sparks my interest I'm going to check it out.
Cryzpin - 31.01.2011 at 11:59  
Omg! This album is total crap. Worthless neverending repetitive boredom, hell i am sick while listening to it, unbelievable. Considering overall very high rating and recommendations, i must be missing something...
Isn't it just childish hour-long exercise of tonal progeressions?
At least I finally discovered something fully deserving "worst ever" rating.
vezzy - 31.01.2011 at 19:34  
Written by Cryzpin on 31.01.2011 at 11:59
At least I finally discovered something fully deserving "worst ever" rating.


May I please direct you to Thrash Queen...
Mr. Doctor - 31.01.2011 at 19:56  
Written by Cryzpin on 31.01.2011 at 11:59

i must be missing something...


Yeah... Taste
Cryzpin - 01.02.2011 at 10:23  
Written by vezzy on 31.01.2011 at 19:34

Written by Cryzpin on 31.01.2011 at 11:59
At least I finally discovered something fully deserving "worst ever" rating.


May I please direct you to Thrash Queen...

An all female thrash metal with feminist lyrics? Well, not sure i am ready for such masochism but thanks for suggestion anyway.
vezzy - 01.02.2011 at 10:28  
Written by Cryzpin on 01.02.2011 at 10:23

Written by vezzy on 31.01.2011 at 19:34

Written by Cryzpin on 31.01.2011 at 11:59
At least I finally discovered something fully deserving "worst ever" rating.


May I please direct you to Thrash Queen...

An all female thrash metal with feminist lyrics? Well, not sure i am ready for such masochism but thanks for suggestion anyway.


They aren't thrash, buddy.

The debut, at least.
Slayer666 - 07.02.2011 at 22:23  
I take back everything I ever said about this album. Here, before you, my fellow MS members I eat my words with two pounds of shit. I must have been having some serious problems while listening to it for the first 10 times, but after that... a startling revelation. This is, indeed, a mesmerizing, crushing masterpiece. Just when you think that you'll drown in the sorrowful, thick distortion, Patrick comes in with his wailing vocals and pushes you down completely...
It still falls a bit short of my favorite Doom release, Dance of December Souls, but it's definitely up there with the best Doom I've heard.
Lucas - 07.02.2011 at 22:27  
Written by Slayer666 on 07.02.2011 at 22:23

I take back everything I ever said about this album. Here, before you, my fellow MS members I eat my words with two pounds of shit. I must have been having some serious problems while listening to it for the first 10 times, but after that... a startling revelation. This is, indeed, a mesmerizing, crushing masterpiece. Just when you think that you'll drown in the sorrowful, thick distortion, Patrick comes in with his wailing vocals and pushes you down completely...
It still falls a bit short of my favorite Doom release, Dance of December Souls, but it's definitely up there with the best Doom I've heard.


haha good stuff man, glad you like it.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Warning - Watching From A Distance 7.5 05.02.2010 by JÄY
News Bobby Jarzombek - Drummer Suffering From Cellulitis 3 02.05.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Fates Warning - FWX 2.5 18.09.2007 by BloodTears
Albums Gloryhammer - Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife 1.5 08.04.2013 by Bizzaremifo
Albums Fates Warning - Night On Bröcken 1.5 24.10.2012 by Bad English



Hits total: 9569 | This month: 108