Venom - Hell review



Reviewer:
6.0

108 users:
6.56
Band: Venom
Album: Hell
Release date: June 2008


01. Straight To Hell
02. The Power And The Glory
03. Hand Of God
04. Fall From Grace
05. Hell
06. Evil Perfection
07. Stab U In The Back
08. Armageddon
09. Kill The Music
10. Evilution Devilution
11. Blood Sky
12. USA For Satan
13. Dirge / The Awakening


Venom is a really controversial band, a real love or hate combo. The thing is that they're able to produce great things like super crappy ones. Their come back in 2006 with Metal Black was not so bad (without being wonderful too) but unfortunately, the new release "Hell" will not differ. One more time, this is average, not terrible but not good too and only the first fans of the British combo will seriously be attracted by the album. Too bad but Venom simply suffers one more time of its generic compositions…

The problem with "Hell" is that the album is just boring as hell. I cannot say that the songs are the most terrible things that we've heard lately but damn, if you know Venom discography, it's sure that you've already heard it before. Ok, a fast song like "Straight To Hell" with a good catchy riff is not so bad but still this is really repetitive and unoriginal as hell. On the other hand, songs like "The Power And The Glory" or "Hand Of God" are so basic and uninspired that they will bore you to hell after only one listening. That's the recurrent problem of Venom, they can do good songs like "Armageddon" which uses a really old but school Metal spirit but all in all the general level of their compositions is average and really deceiving. You really have to be a strong and loyal old fan to fully enjoy the music that you'll listen to on "Hell". As I say this is not horrible but too generic and basic to be really attractive and sadly this is just boring in the end.

"Hell" is not particularly well produced but it's ok here because it perfectly fits to the music of Venom (and I suppose that it was a wish of the band anyway). The new guitarist, Rage, is not a bad musician and is able to play good and honest thrashy guitar soli but as you can understand, this is not this point which will save the album. "Hell" is just a so-so album of dark Thrash Metal which is too out-dated to be enjoyed by the new metalheads… Some modernity could be a good things in my opinion.

If you're a fan of the British combo I think that you can have a look on "Hell". This is not the worst album in the discography of Venom but this is not a revelation too. Try to listen to the release before that you buy it if you want to avoid bad surprises (and I can tell you that we had bad surprise at Hellfest this year).On the other hand if you like their previous releases, don't worry you should be happy with this new album.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 6
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7

Written by Jeff | 04.08.2008


 


Comments

Comments: 11   Visited by: 238 users
04.08.2008 - 20:06
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
"The problem with "Hell" is that the album is just boring as hell" - intended?
Loading...
04.08.2008 - 20:07
Jeff
Freaky Admin
Of course lol
----
Come with us to Hellfest 2011!
Loading...
04.08.2008 - 20:55
Jason W.
Razorbliss
Just thinking about listening to Venom makes me feel unenthusiastic, bored, and comatose. Let alone having to bear listening/watching them live again. "Straight to Hell" is as repetitive as it gets.
----
"After silence that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music." - Aldous Huxley
Loading...
05.08.2008 - 09:34
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
I for one disagree with your statement: and only the first fans of the British combo will seriously be attracted by the album.

I was an early fan of Venom's first two albums, but find Hell a complete waste of my time. I'd rather listen to some generic European Flower Power Metal

I would even dare to go as far as to rate it a 5.

Truth be told is that Venom did become totally repetitive and extremely boring after Black Metal
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
06.08.2008 - 05:25
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
Thats not a good sign...then again, they said the same thing about Metal Black and I quite enjoyed that album.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
06.08.2008 - 20:49
Damnated
Churchburner
sure, it's nothing original, but it's fun to listen to.
----
Blessed is he that murders Christ in himself and in his fellow men.



Written by TheBigRossowski on 10.02.2009 at 16:01

if my wife and I can't conceive, I want a medical shipment of your sperm so our baby will be just like you.
Loading...
13.08.2008 - 09:50
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
hmm seems like venom reviews are getting lower and lower. mayhe that should tell the band something.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
14.12.2008 - 10:58
Doc Godin
Obnoxious
After quite a number of listens I think I like it. The production is a kind of hard to get used to at first, but thats one of the stand-out features of this album for me now. Interesting double bass drumming on the first half of the album too.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...
29.07.2009 - 22:50
thrasher_93
For me "Straight To Hell" and "The Power And The Glory" are great
Loading...
08.06.2010 - 22:37
MiKill
An OK album. I thought 'Metal Black' had a few brilliant moments on it, along with a load of filler, and it's the same with 'Hell'. 'Kill the Music' and 'Evil Perfection' are great, some tracks like 'Straight to Hell' and 'USA for Satan' are OK, then you got stuff like 'Power and the Glory' which for me is just miserably bad. Cronos' pseudo-death growling on that track is embarassing.
Loading...
12.09.2011 - 00:06
Cuca Beludo
Account deleted
I wish 1 dollar for each time "hell" is wrote in this review...
Loading...

Hits total: 7101 | This month: 18