Rating:
9.2
Drug Honkey - Death Dub
14 July 2008


01. My Sins
02. The Devil Lasts Forever
03. Death Threats
04. Communion
05. I Can Not
06. China Black (Heroin Pt.2) [Live version]
07. Burundi (Reconstruct)
08. Who The Fuck?


When you're a reviewer you sometimes find yourself stumbling across some very weird yet interesting material. And, oh boy, this one is so insanely intriguing I didn't hit the jackpot, I think that jackpot just hit me. Yes, I'm talking about that kind of disturbing.


SPOILER WARNING: if you're paranoid, listening to this album may cause motion sickness to the naked man standing right behind you.


Now, to be honest, it took me an awful long time to complete the writing of this particular review. The reason is quite simple: Drug Honkey isn't just another average everyday metal band, no sir, this band is seriously messed up. And believe me, "Death Dub" isn't exactly an album you can easily put your finger on… except… except of course if you would cut off your finger, and… and actually put it on the record… that… that'd be spot on of course… I guess… but on the other hand… seriously, that wouldn't make any sense… unless… unless of course you also cut off that other hand… but that wouldn't make any sense either… you know… as it'd be total harebrained absurdity… but then again… I mean… come on… we're still talking about Drug Honkey here… and Drug Honkey are badass, mkay.

The one and only reason why people should even get it in their heads to listen to this album, is to experience the brilliance of the complete incoherence of it. Forget about the horror… the horror; here comes the incoherence… the incoherence. Mark my words, Drug Honkey are completely out of this world, in many, many ways it seems. And when you're planning to listen to "Death Dub", soon you'll be too - so I hope you have a pizza courier or another junk food deliverer listed under your speed dial button, you might be needing it. So, as I was saying, this is a real piece of brutal dirty magic: the record sounds really different every single time you hear it, no matter what condition you're in (and I know what I'm talking about). And that's bluntly brilliant if you come to think of it. On top of that, Drug Honkey's incoherence is also straight out appealing and addictive, like a juicy diabolical cocktail, a deadly psychedelic mix of death-influenced sludge, stoner doom and a lot of noise and vile distorted madness.

Truth is, when you look at it, everybody will have to agree that this band and album are just utterly fucked up. While some may find this a horrifying bad album, others will thoroughly enjoy this thing (under whatever influence they might be) like an adrenaline shot Pulp Fiction-wise straight to the heart, while some others will even talk about a filthy work of art. Either way, Drug Honkey's "Death Dub" might be the school example of a trip-inducing stimulus in a drug-free situation. Follow this plan and very soon you'll say, Drug Honkey are badass, mkay.


EDITOR'S NOTE: usually, I don't rate a lot of albums higher than a 9, but I found this one to be really something. I mean, you have to try it to know what I'm talking about. Take a fucking risk once in a while. But don't count on an edifying spectacle with demonstrations of super technical musicianship; it's the experience, the atmosphere, the emotion that really counts on this one.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 10
Production: 7


 


written by Thryce | 09.10.2008

Guest review by
Davebrutalmetal

Rating:
10
Every so often a band will come along that will broaden your horizons and make you see stuff that you have not seen or heard before and a band that has done that for me is Drug Honkey. The band is utterly unique there is no doubt or question about that.

Once the album kicks off with My Sins all of what I have just said becomes apparent. The sound is crushingly heavy while at the same time is sparse but is always very harsh. The air of claustrophobia that spills out of the speakers is all encompassing, just a complete air of desparation and bleakness - the opening vocals on The Devil Lasts Forever illustrates what I am talking about here. Then there is another side to Drug Honkey, China Black (Heroin Pt2) shows us this side of all encompassing power as in the guy has overcome the bleakness of the first half of the album and come out the other side a beast that nothing can take down and he has settled into a groove all his own - listen to Burundi (Reconstruct) for the groove I mean. This is the sound of that guy.

Read more ››
published 06.08.2009 | Comments (0)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 190  
Search this topic:  


Lucas - 09.10.2008 at 20:11  
Good band, checked it out because of this review.
Elio - 09.10.2008 at 23:36  
Wow this review intrigues me a lot...but what about the 5 in songwriting?
AnarChrist - 09.10.2008 at 23:41  
can someone give a hint or something about where i could get this album from?
Spyroid - 09.10.2008 at 23:42  
Noise-Induced Psychedelic Death Sludge Metal?
I also wonder about the 5.
MetalManic_Joel - 10.10.2008 at 04:12  
The 5?
LeChron James - 10.10.2008 at 05:53  
hahahahaha killer review. im sold, im checkin this out
Thryce - 10.10.2008 at 12:25  
Written by AnarChrist on 09.10.2008 at 23:41

can someone give a hint or something about where i could get this album from?

Already tried visiting their MySpace?


Written by Spyroid on 09.10.2008 at 23:42

Noise-Induced Psychedelic Death Sludge Metal?

As I said, it's quite hard to put your finger on this album, and it really sounds different every time you listen to it. A lot of elements from all different kind of genres are imported. This closing term sums up Drug Honkey's music the best and the most complete, just to give you a right picture of this album.


Written by Elio on 09.10.2008 at 23:36

...but what about the 5 in songwriting?

Written by Spyroid on 09.10.2008 at 23:42

I also wonder about the 5.

Written by MetalManic_Joel on 10.10.2008 at 04:12

The 5?

The 5 means I find the songwriting utterly simple, oversuperficial (I mean, after a while, it's not even funny anymore) and the excessive use of the word "fuck" is pretty immature and even becomes annoying.

A few examples to give you an idea:

(extract from) The Devil Lasts Forever
old (x6)
I didn't know what they were
Fuck your family...
The devil lasts forever (x4)
Fuck your fuckin' head-untie my arms
I don't fuckin' know you
I don't fuckin' owe you
I don't fuckin' care
I hate this - what you gain
I don't care - what you get
I couldn't know - what you got
I only care - that your fucking

(extract from) Communion
I don't care for christ - I don't have any fancy
I don't care for christ - I don't have a god above me
(...)
I warned you, don't hate me cuz'
I'm wasted - wasted, satan, your fucked up lord
(...)
I'm a god - fuck you god
I'm your god - fuck you god
I'm a god - fuck you god
I'm your god - I fucked your - life...

(extract from) I Can Not
You're gonna die
Suffer then they'll die
You're gonna die
(It's) your fault
Suck it up
(You) fucked your world bitch

Burundi (Reconstruct)
Can you help me?
I will repay you every cent... with interest
Every cent

Who The Fuck?
Idle fucking god - idle fucking god
Idle, and then they lay down
I don't - even know who the fuck you are (x3)


Cool music, shitty lyrics (IMO!), hence the 5 for me. I rest my case.
Elio - 10.10.2008 at 13:49  
And it's possible to rate over 9 an album with such a poor songwriting?
BestMetalstormer - 10.10.2008 at 17:29  
Wow, I like their lyric, very tough.
Thryce - 10.10.2008 at 17:59  
Written by Elio on 10.10.2008 at 13:49

And it's possible to rate over 9 an album with such a poor songwriting?

The 9.2 stands for a final rating, based on the overall impression. In this case, those lyrics didn't influence my overall impression as there is much much more about the album than those lyrics (and most of the time the lyrics aren't even understandable). Frankly, I already rated the songwriting, so why would it keep bothering my final rating? As I said, cool music, shitty lyrics, but it still stays an awesome record, whatsoever.

So yes of course it's possible, because it's my review, my opinion, my total rating based on my overall impression. What's the problem?
Elio - 10.10.2008 at 18:05  
Written by Thryce on 10.10.2008 at 17:59

Written by Elio on 10.10.2008 at 13:49

And it's possible to rate over 9 an album with such a poor songwriting?

The 9.2 stands for a final rating, based on the overall impression. In this case, those lyrics didn't influence my overall impression as there is much much more about the album than those lyrics (and most of the time the lyrics aren't even understandable). Frankly, I already rated the songwriting, so why would it keep bothering my final rating? As I said, cool music, shitty lyrics, but it still stays an awesome record, whatsoever.

So yes of course it's possible, because it's my review, my opinion, my total rating based on my overall impression. What's the problem?


Ehi dude calm down I respect everyone's opinion. I just wanted to ask that, infact the first paragraph of your last post cleared my doubt. There was no need to add those lines at the end.
GT - 10.10.2008 at 23:34  
This review is...well wierd, but in that's what makes me want to listen to this album...just to see if it's really as wierd and fucked up as claimed
Mr. Doctor - 11.10.2008 at 17:43  
Written by Elio on 10.10.2008 at 13:49

And it's possible to rate over 9 an album with such a poor songwriting?


I think that you can actually put a 9 because we should care more about the music and the atmosphere. rather than the lyrics.

There are sooooooooooooooooooooooo many death metal bands around with childish lyrics about raping a girl or shit and people still love them [Cannibal corpse anybody?] Music is important, lyrics not THAT much.

I listened to the songs on the myspace and this thing is really... special to say the least, but not bad at all. If I find the opportunity to buy the album I will do it.
Slayer666 - 11.09.2009 at 16:07  
I have no doubt whatsoever that this sounds really good when you're stoned out of your mind, but since I'm clean, I don't think the album is THAT godd. It's decent, sure, but nothing spectacular like everybody is saying.
Jon - 31.01.2010 at 09:37  
You gave it 5 in songwriting because of the lyrics? I see.
Mr. Doctor - 12.03.2011 at 17:03  
Written by Jon on 31.01.2010 at 09:37

You gave it 5 in songwriting because of the lyrics? I see.


No, also because (as you can read above) he also states that the music itself is really simple. Good and cool yeah... but still extremely simple.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Drug Honkey - Death Dub 7.5 24.01.2012 by K†ulu
Reviews Drug Honkey - Ghost In The Fire 5.5 23.09.2012 by Ag Fox
Albums Drug Honkey - Ghost In The Fire 4.5 15.12.2013 by mz
Reviews Kruger - For Death, Glory And The End Of The World 4.5 10.10.2010 by Deadsoulman
Reviews Demonical - Death Infernal 2.5 14.09.2011 by Vikingr



Hits total: 5322 | This month: 35