Rating:
9.0
Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder
28 October 2008


Disc I
01. In Grandeur And Frankincense Devilment Stirs
02. Shat Out Of Hell
03. The Death Of Love
04. The 13th Caesar
05. Tiffauges
06. Tragic Kingdom
07. Sweetest Maleficia
08. Honey And Sulphur
09. Midnight Shadows Crawl To Darken Counsel With Life
10. Darkness Incarnate
11. Ten Leagues Beneath Contempt
12. Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder
13. Corpseflower

Disc II [Special Edition bonus]
01. Balsamic And Anathema
02. A Thousand Hands On The Maid Of Ruin
03. Into The Crypt Of Rays [Celtic Frost cover]
04. Devil To The Metal
05. Courting Baphomet
06. The Love Of Death [remix version]
07. The Death Of Love [demo version]
08. The 13th Caesar [demo version]
09. Dirge Inferno [live]
10. Dusk And Her Embrace [live]


Everyone has an opinion where Cradle Of Filth are concerned, but none can argue against what they have done for the British extreme metal scene over the years. If you have never liked Cradle Of Filth, the band's newest offering grandly titled "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" shall not change your opinion, but what this album is, is a glorious return to up-tempo, crushing tracks delivered with conviction. The band's last couple of albums were as commercial as a band like Cradle Of Filth can take things and because of this softening around the edges, they inevitably pushed some fans away.

Alas, "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" is the album we have been waiting for, and what an album it is. Dani and Paul have gone back to writing harsher riffs, faster and more epic opuses, and have done this all with the added risk of the album being a concept album, as the album is subtitled "The Life And Crimes Of Gilles De Rais", the French nobleman, serial killer, sexual deviant and Satanist. What this album is not, is a return to the sound of their pre-1998 albums, although "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" does have the most feel of "Cruelty And The Beast" in it than any other album since, with the wonderful symphonies of "Midian" and just a slight touch of the "Thornography" commercialism thrown in for good measure.

The album sees the entrance of new drummer Martin Škaroupka who does a marvellous job bringing Cradle Of Filth back to the world of blastbeats and fast double kick drumming. Martin may have indeed been the catalyst that gave Dani and Paul the kick up the back-side they needed to write this kind of aggressive music again, but Cradle Of Filth have not been on fire like this since 2003's magnificent "Damnation And A Day", and even then there has never been so many time changes and an album so complete with no bad songs. Dani's voice sounds the best it has in years, still distinctive as ever but this time with more variation going deeper from time to time, "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" oozes with inspiration and quality that the band has been lacking in recent years.

Gone are the dreary gothic numbers we have been cringing at the last few years, and it is a welcome hello to punchy slabs of extreme metal like the amusingly titled "Shat Out Of Hell", or the relentless onslaught of "Sweetest Maleficia" and "Honey And Sulphur", not forgetting the true highlight of the album, the title track and last song "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder". "The Death Of Love" includes female vocals and is in the style you would expect to come from the last album, but is much more tasteful, and "The 13th Caesar" is one of the catchiest tunes from this long, over seventy-minute production. Dani Filth has always had a gifted way of words when it comes to lyrics, and this album is definitely no different there.

This album won't make someone who hated the band like them, but it will catch everyone's attention that has ever had an interest in the band and has perhaps been put off by the last couple of albums. Production is clear, and has everything at just the level it should be at to flaunt both melodic and extreme sides of the album. Perhaps if you struggle with long albums, you may have a tough time with "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder", but on the whole, this is a triumphant return by the lords of the British extreme metal scene, and about time too.


Band profile: Cradle Of Filth
Album: Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder


 



Written on 03.11.2008 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 59  
Users visited: 542  
Search this topic:  


ArcesseEum - 03.11.2008 at 17:22  
Its a step forward, I just dont know why a band with such a huge budget uses tacky VST plugins so poorly, surely a good dose of high quality Reverb would fix all those cheesy string interludes.
Dark Blood - 03.11.2008 at 22:23  
Hmm I guess this review is convincing.. After Thornography I've lost my hopes, but I'll give this album a try.
-DC-002- - 04.11.2008 at 07:51  
I never liked Cradle of Filth. Not even their old stuff.... just puttin that out there. YOU GOTTA LET THAT HATE OUT!!!
Spyroid - 04.11.2008 at 09:01  
Looks like it's good despite the hilariously ugly cover art, got to hear it!
"Shat Out of Hell", hahahahaha....
TheCybershifter - 04.11.2008 at 09:29  
I really cannot give a fair judgement because I just can't stand Dani's vocals (I really don't see him as a good singer). But there is an improvement in their music I guess.
Turin Turambar - 04.11.2008 at 09:41  
Yhm....everyone can only kidding and criticize CoF, but time to time they create really something good, I agree that two last albums are....yhm very commercial stuff but this album is really good, at last have atmosphere!!. 9 is a justice note, and in 100% i agree vith review.
LeChron James - 04.11.2008 at 10:13  
WOW this album is rated high. now i feel compelled to at least check it out.

EDIT 11/11 from the OUTSET, the album isnt that bad. requires further listening.

EDIT 11/22 i have come to the conclusion that "The 13th Caesar" is really the only song i can stand without chugging boiling water.
BestMetalstormer - 04.11.2008 at 11:39  
Agree, the high rate induce us to join this album.
The Thrasher - 04.11.2008 at 12:59  
One of their best album!!!
Elijah - 04.11.2008 at 13:15  
Listened to "Honey and Sulphur." Partly restored my faith in Cradle of Filth.
Katatronik - 04.11.2008 at 14:10  
Great album, CoF are partially back to roots!
Good riffing, great melodies, various vocals, and keyboards are back!
I listen to this album almost every day...
Janne - 04.11.2008 at 16:16  
I totally agree with the review. I like this album very much. My favourite song is 'The Death Of Love' at the moment
sq_xeper - 04.11.2008 at 17:51  
Its a good album, its the best since Midian, but I would rate it with a 8
Mr. Doctor - 04.11.2008 at 22:13  
Wow... This guys really came back to roots. I still don't know if I gonna buy this album since I'm not that interested in the band. But that doesn't mean that this album is really strong.

I'm actually glad
hard_tom - 04.11.2008 at 22:53  
Good album from Cradle of Filth. But I think they are not the kings of dusk metal yet .... I think at least two bands from overseas are (now) better : MIASTHENIA from Brasil and ABIGAIL WILLIAMS from U.S.A.
MétalNoir - 06.11.2008 at 15:51  
The review is absolutely perfect, it says all I would say about Godspeed, really. I rate that album 10 and I think it is only slightly beneath Dusk, and as a matter of fact, I would grow tired if I listened to Dusk a billion times a day, which I happily do with Godspeed... Really, a HUGE improvement since Thornography. COF rules!
Trinity Blood - 07.11.2008 at 02:46  
I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...
Firaga - 07.11.2008 at 12:13  
CoF was always one of my favourite bands and I only didn't stop listening their music after the Commercial Slam of "Nymphetamine" a nd much worst "thornography" for the respect I have to Dani, Paul and Crew. But they're baaaaaaaack! Okey......I agree with the part...this is no Pre-Midian Magnus Opus...but it is still a comeback that me and much others were hoping to happen for the last few years. Bring us more things to come.....Master Dani
cradle_of_filth - 09.11.2008 at 15:38  
Written by Trinity Blood on 07.11.2008 at 02:46

I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...

Yeah right , i think that they don't know any thing about cradle of filth.
Lucas - 09.11.2008 at 15:40  
Written by Guest on 09.11.2008 at 15:38

Written by Trinity Blood on 07.11.2008 at 02:46

I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...

Yeah right , i think that they don't know any thing about cradle of filth.


'Going back to the roots' is not the same as 'arriving back at the roots', if you know what I mean. That's the big difference. Godspeed is a step into the direction of the old sound, in other words, it's more extreme than the previous two efforts, but that does not mean it immediately sounds like "Dusk..." again.
DanielViking - 11.11.2008 at 21:20  
Good atmospheres, good melodies but let's face it... this band doesn't surprise anyone in these days... they still know how to make great conceptual albuns about historical figures and how to write great songs. 8 IMO.
Eeric - 12.11.2008 at 08:39  
This album is great. But still I would like to hear more of those high-pitched screams from Dani.
juanopereira - 12.11.2008 at 18:32  
Great album! absolutely agree with your review.
Princ_Of_Horror - 13.11.2008 at 09:26  
Written by Janne on 04.11.2008 at 16:16

I totally agree with the review. I like this album very much. My favourite song is 'The Death Of Love' at the moment

'The Death of Love' must be one of the ebst songs CoF has ever made
The album is great, heaps better from the rockish metal album of Thornography.
wrath - 14.11.2008 at 04:57  
I really not sure man bot this new album of CoF.. bcos thornography was really sux ball.. nvrmind.. dwnload few hits 1st from this album such the Death of Love to see how it turn b4 getting my hands on it..
danishakti - 14.11.2008 at 21:22  
Cool COF album
After Thornography's loss
They did not lose hope
and are back with thrashing, exciting
Greatest album
Godspeed on The Devil's Thunder
Stuart - 15.11.2008 at 01:00  
Now I'm quite a cradle fan... and I bought this album yesterday and have listened to it 4 times already, after the 4th time I listened to it, i listened to the first half of principe of evil made flesh and a few tracks off dusk and her embrace...

I think we can safely say the absolute astonishing genius of early cradle is gone, the note perfect brilliance and sheer intensity will never be back... however, this album is as damn close as they'll ever get there!!!

I really enjoyed this album, I think they managed to get interesting mix of musical ideas together on this and I for one, think it is GREAT return to form!

...although lacks consistency
Volknor - 16.11.2008 at 13:00  
Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.
Stuart - 16.11.2008 at 17:49  
Written by Guest on 16.11.2008 at 13:00

Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.

I think you're kind of missing the point of a review, there are endless bands and albums out there and people can't be expected to listen to each one, so others write reviews that you can read them and get a general idea if it will be appealing to you or not... they may also make you notice things in the music you did not think of before. the same as people discuss music and their likes and dislikes, reviews act as an opinion. should everybody just stop discussing music because "who cares if its bad or not"... the problem with reviews is when the reviewer speaks as his opinion is infallible... in that case the review is pointless...
Lokomotiv - 16.11.2008 at 18:52  
Written by Guest on 16.11.2008 at 13:00

Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.


Of course there's always some room for relativism, but despite different tastes (I would never listen to rap even if I recognize that some of it is very good), there ARE better shit than other, objectively speaking. I hear in this case CoF trying to sound as they did in Cruelty & The Beast, but that album is simply BETTER than Godspeed. It was more innovative, more thrilling, the melodic lines are better done, the production is much better... It's a pity, as I really liked the sound of CoF in their last era, except in Thornography which indeed sucked.
Paradox0 - 18.11.2008 at 02:20  
It's nice to see Cradle back to using synthesizers more prominently. The first 8 tracks are pretty good. remind me a lot of "damnation...." but with more technical drumming. Sadly the last couple of tracks are just bland and kind of a remind me of faster stuff off of "Thornography" or "Nymphetamine". However, theirs just something in the back of my head which, despite loving Cradle returning to there older sound, that the guitars are just lacking (although to be fair, Paul was never about "leading"). The album is HIGHLY recommended for anyone who is a fan of pre-Nymphetamine Cradle. 7.5/10.
magatouve - 23.11.2008 at 19:50  
Written by Spyroid on 04.11.2008 at 09:01

Looks like it's good despite the hilariously ugly cover art, got to hear it!
"Shat Out of Hell", hahahahaha....

As much as I like their first album cover (which I have on a T-shirt), I hate this one. It's so ugly & un-artistic
Mr. Doctor - 23.11.2008 at 22:15  
I agree... it's one of the ugliest shit I ever seen.
And it's not even hard to think about a better idea as a cover art.
Spyroid - 23.11.2008 at 23:00  
Written by magatouve on 23.11.2008 at 19:50

Written by Spyroid on 04.11.2008 at 09:01

Looks like it's good despite the hilariously ugly cover art, got to hear it!
"Shat Out of Hell", hahahahaha....

As much as I like their first album cover (which I have on a T-shirt), I hate this one. It's so ugly & un-artistic


But atleast the music is good, which is what really counts. At least 50 % of my favourite albums have hilariously ugly cover arts.
magatouve - 24.11.2008 at 02:34  
Written by Spyroid on 23.11.2008 at 23:00

Written by magatouve on 23.11.2008 at 19:50

Written by Spyroid on 04.11.2008 at 09:01

Looks like it's good despite the hilariously ugly cover art, got to hear it!
"Shat Out of Hell", hahahahaha....

As much as I like their first album cover (which I have on a T-shirt), I hate this one. It's so ugly & un-artistic


But atleast the music is good, which is what really counts. At least 50 % of my favourite albums have hilariously ugly cover arts.

Yeah... the music is the most important, but since I haven't had that album so far (just watched the video clip) am just comparing the covers! Anyway, am gonna c CoF live on Dec 1st here in London. So let's c what the album sounds like there. But again, whenever I look at the cover I feel so disgusted. It's not just ugly, it's ..... even worse
Paradox0 - 24.11.2008 at 02:49  
Written by magatouve on 24.11.2008 at 02:34

Yeah... the music is the most important, but since I haven't had that album so far (just watched the video clip) am just comparing the covers! Anyway, am gonna c CoF live on Dec 1st here in London. So let's c what the album sounds like there. But again, whenever I look at the cover I feel so disgusted. It's not just ugly, it's ..... even worse

Probably not the best way to hear Cradle. They are HORRENDOUS live. Watch some songs on youtube or just take my word that if your a fan of classic Cradle you'll like this album.
magatouve - 24.11.2008 at 14:17  
Written by Paradox0 on 24.11.2008 at 02:49

Written by magatouve on 24.11.2008 at 02:34

Yeah... the music is the most important, but since I haven't had that album so far (just watched the video clip) am just comparing the covers! Anyway, am gonna c CoF live on Dec 1st here in London. So let's c what the album sounds like there. But again, whenever I look at the cover I feel so disgusted. It's not just ugly, it's ..... even worse

Probably not the best way to hear Cradle. They are HORRENDOUS live. Watch some songs on youtube or just take my word that if your a fan of classic Cradle you'll like this album.

OK I will take your word. I am a fan of CoF classic albums so I will get that one
Regarding their live concert, if I don't enjoy them I hope to enjoy Septic Flesh and Moonspell. They should be good
Shadowcross - 27.11.2008 at 05:56  
This a great album... I don't know why I like it so much. Suprisingly very good! However if someone has never respected or enjoyed any of Cradle's music this won't change any opinions.

Don't know what you are talking about, they still sound pretty good live it seems to depend more on the balancing between the guitars and drum mics at different venues!
Shadowcross - 27.11.2008 at 06:00  
The cover art is pretty hideous though, i will agree with that!
Erthghod - 04.12.2008 at 02:01  
I actually think that this album is a step forward for Cradle. Thornography was a joke and doing a song with Villa Valo of Him.....wtf, thats going to far. But this album reminds me a lot of Cruelty and Damnation, which were both good albums.
But I plan seeing them on the 24th of December with Satyicon and Septic Flesh, so we'll see how that goes.
=maD.Doc:. - 08.12.2008 at 23:23  
Writing this comment on the review only, not anything on based on other comments made. Just wanted to make that clear before I wrote the comment

I must disagree with something you wrote in the begining of the review Baz. I think people that didn't liked Cradle before can grow to like them with this album. I never liked them earlier. I never hated them, nor loved them, but this album is a complete masterpiece. With the concept based on Gilles de Rais and the poetic lyrics describing all he did, it just takes off beyond my imagination. I reviewed this album myself for the site sound of metal, in that review I called this "THE album of the year" and "the best extreme metal album I've ever heard", and that's the truth, I love it so much I could never possibly imagine they will be able to do any better.

Other than my disagreement on that point I really like your review, I hope one day be able to describe an album, or DVD, with a longer review. It's quite difficult, but for every review one grow better, learning from mistakes. The hardest part is rating an album. But I'm starting to get a hang of it.
MétalNoir - 16.12.2008 at 03:47  
Written by Princ_Of_Horror on 13.11.2008 at 09:26

Written by Janne on 04.11.2008 at 16:16

I totally agree with the review. I like this album very much. My favourite song is 'The Death Of Love' at the moment

'The Death of Love' must be one of the ebst songs CoF has ever made
The album is great, heaps better from the rockish metal album of Thornography.


Personnally, I'd say the Death of Love is the worst song on this album... It's a remake of Nymphetamine, really. It's not bad, but it'S still the only song on the albu I almost always skip (can't wait for the 13th Caesar ^^)

And WTF with the cover art, anyway? I don't think it looks so bad, really... There are a lot of symbols on it and it reminds me a lot of Midian's cover. Isn't a band called Cradle of Filth supposed to have ugly covers, anyway?
Slayer666 - 16.12.2008 at 15:35  
Aaaaaalright!!!Dani's BACK!!!Good-old REAL CoF.Okay,still not as good as "The Principale of Evil Made Flesh",but better than anything else (yes,even "Dusk...").And that's a real compliment because "Damnation and a Day" was a masterpiece.
Yeah,Death of Love is soft,but it's a good song for relaxation.And Cover Art is preety good,i don't know what you are complaining about.
Passenger - 31.12.2008 at 13:31  
Enough discussion. This is good. Very good Well, seems like Dani just had to get Thronography out of his system for some reason. This is like Midian Pt. 2 but with more modern production. Some of the riffs in "Sweetest Maleficia" are probably among the vilest they've ever done. My favourite is also "The 13th Caesar".

9/10
CreeperDeath - 04.01.2009 at 10:10  
A great masterpiece from Cradle of Filth, and I'm an "old-school cradle fan" with the Midian and Cruelty era. This album is just as good as the previous before Midian. The only thing I may complain is about the guitar works... First, they are in Mono channel... WHY !??!? and they seem to be only background guitars... Nothing special here..

Keyboards tough has really came back into the Filth's. But like I said, guitar could be so much better, even if there is no shred or even lead (I'm not a shred fan......). Imagine this kind of music but with Gian and Paul on guitar :O sooo awesome !

Also, the other songs on the other CD are very good. Even if one of them as no voice.

Well, I would give 8,5 / 10 for this album, cuz even if it's not the best yet, they still are in the right way to make another Midian (lets hope.. PLEASE!) with their new sound
Slayer666 - 04.01.2009 at 19:36  
Written by Passenger on 31.12.2008 at 13:31

Enough discussion. This is good. Very good Well, seems like Dani just had to get Thronography out of his system for some reason. This is like Midian Pt. 2 but with more modern production. Some of the riffs in "Sweetest Maleficia" are probably among the vilest they've ever done. My favourite is also "The 13th Caesar".

9/10

I agree with you,except one thing.This is stronger,more brutal than Midian,maybe not too much,but enough to make a difference.
My conclusion : 2/5Cruelty and The Beast + 3/5Midian=Godspeed on The Devil's Thunder.
Warman - 04.01.2009 at 20:10  
Their best since the magnificent "Damnation and a Day"! A CoF nerd like me can't stop listening to it. And this is how a special edition should look like!
Xeros612 - 25.03.2009 at 19:19  
Surprisingly good album, especially considering recently previoius albums like Thornography and Nyphentamine. My only complaint about the music is how terrible the synth sounds. What happened to the orchestra used in Cruelty and the Beast and Damnation and a Day? I've heard very low budget early 90s underground black metal bands with more realistic sounding synth orchestras. Other than that, the guitars and drums are back to sounding good, and Dani sounds great on vocals this time, doing less high screeches and more lower growls.
Abattoir - 06.09.2009 at 17:25  
Very good album indeed. I wasn't realy expecting this after a couple of avarage releases...but it seems they haven't lost the sense for originality in their music. There is quite lots of fast, agressive songs, nice riffs and amazing drums (btw the sound of drums on this album are probably the best out of all their releases).

Well, for me this release is quite a suprise from dani and company, so I suppose I can expect something more positive from this band in the future.
SatyriconChick - 17.11.2009 at 05:36  
Not that I didn't like Thornography *ducks* but this album is SO much better! I was pleased when I first heard it, because they're definitely back to their roots! Yeah, the cover is horrible, but the music is top-notch! Favorite songs are "Shat Out of Hell" and "Corpseflower."

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder 10.5 25.11.2011 by AngelofDeth
Reviews Cradle Of Filth - Evermore Darkly... 9 03.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News Cradle Of Filth - Announce Creatures From The Black Abyss European Tour 6 06.09.2012 by Jiri
Reviews Nile - Those Whom The Gods Detest 6 04.11.2009 by ponderer
Reviews Bereavement - The Advent Of Loss 6 07.09.2007 by Aylee_Bodom



Hits total: 12642 | This month: 4