Cradle Of Filth - Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder review



Reviewer:
9.0

511 users:
7.88
Band: Cradle Of Filth
Album: Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder
Release date: October 2008


Disc I
01. In Grandeur And Frankincense Devilment Stirs
02. Shat Out Of Hell
03. The Death Of Love
04. The 13th Caesar
05. Tiffauges
06. Tragic Kingdom
07. Sweetest Maleficia
08. Honey And Sulphur
09. Midnight Shadows Crawl To Darken Counsel With Life
10. Darkness Incarnate
11. Ten Leagues Beneath Contempt
12. Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder
13. Corpseflower

Disc II [Special Edition bonus]
01. Balsamic And Anathema
02. A Thousand Hands On The Maid Of Ruin
03. Into The Crypt Of Rays [Celtic Frost cover]
04. Devil To The Metal
05. Courting Baphomet
06. The Love Of Death [remix version]
07. The Death Of Love [demo]
08. The 13th Caesar [demo]
09. Dirge Inferno [live]
10. Dusk And Her Embrace [live]


Everyone has an opinion where Cradle Of Filth are concerned, but none can argue against what they have done for the British extreme metal scene over the years. If you have never liked Cradle Of Filth, the band's newest offering grandly titled "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" shall not change your opinion, but what this album is, is a glorious return to up-tempo, crushing tracks delivered with conviction. The band's last couple of albums were as commercial as a band like Cradle Of Filth can take things and because of this softening around the edges, they inevitably pushed some fans away.

Alas, "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" is the album we have been waiting for, and what an album it is. Dani and Paul have gone back to writing harsher riffs, faster and more epic opuses, and have done this all with the added risk of the album being a concept album, as the album is subtitled "The Life And Crimes Of Gilles De Rais", the French nobleman, serial killer, sexual deviant and Satanist. What this album is not, is a return to the sound of their pre-1998 albums, although "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" does have the most feel of "Cruelty And The Beast" in it than any other album since, with the wonderful symphonies of "Midian" and just a slight touch of the "Thornography" commercialism thrown in for good measure.

The album sees the entrance of new drummer Martin Škaroupka who does a marvellous job bringing Cradle Of Filth back to the world of blastbeats and fast double kick drumming. Martin may have indeed been the catalyst that gave Dani and Paul the kick up the back-side they needed to write this kind of aggressive music again, but Cradle Of Filth have not been on fire like this since 2003's magnificent "Damnation And A Day", and even then there has never been so many time changes and an album so complete with no bad songs. Dani's voice sounds the best it has in years, still distinctive as ever but this time with more variation going deeper from time to time, "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder" oozes with inspiration and quality that the band has been lacking in recent years.

Gone are the dreary gothic numbers we have been cringing at the last few years, and it is a welcome hello to punchy slabs of extreme metal like the amusingly titled "Shat Out Of Hell", or the relentless onslaught of "Sweetest Maleficia" and "Honey And Sulphur", not forgetting the true highlight of the album, the title track and last song "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder". "The Death Of Love" includes female vocals and is in the style you would expect to come from the last album, but is much more tasteful, and "The 13th Caesar" is one of the catchiest tunes from this long, over seventy-minute production. Dani Filth has always had a gifted way of words when it comes to lyrics, and this album is definitely no different there.

This album won't make someone who hated the band like them, but it will catch everyone's attention that has ever had an interest in the band and has perhaps been put off by the last couple of albums. Production is clear, and has everything at just the level it should be at to flaunt both melodic and extreme sides of the album. Perhaps if you struggle with long albums, you may have a tough time with "Godspeed On The Devil's Thunder", but on the whole, this is a triumphant return by the lords of the British extreme metal scene, and about time too.


 



Written on 03.11.2008 by Member of Staff since 2006.


Comments

Comments: 59   Visited by: 564 users
03.11.2008 - 17:22
Arcesse Eum
Its a step forward, I just dont know why a band with such a huge budget uses tacky VST plugins so poorly, surely a good dose of high quality Reverb would fix all those cheesy string interludes.
----
As above, so below.
Loading...
03.11.2008 - 22:23
Dark Blood
The Avenger
Hmm I guess this review is convincing.. After Thornography I've lost my hopes, but I'll give this album a try.
----
It is humanity who must pay homage to the greatness of the Universe... not the Universe to the human narcissism.
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 07:51
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I never liked Cradle of Filth. Not even their old stuff.... just puttin that out there. YOU GOTTA LET THAT HATE OUT!!!
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 09:01
Spyroid
Rosetta Stoned
Looks like it's good despite the hilariously ugly cover art, got to hear it!
"Shat Out of Hell", hahahahaha....
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 09:29
Silent Creeper
Veteran Spammer
I really cannot give a fair judgement because I just can't stand Dani's vocals (I really don't see him as a good singer). But there is an improvement in their music I guess.
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 09:41
Turin Turambar
Mormegil
Yhm....everyone can only kidding and criticize CoF, but time to time they create really something good, I agree that two last albums are....yhm very commercial stuff but this album is really good, at last have atmosphere!!. 9 is a justice note, and in 100% i agree vith review.
----
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RYN2a81u8rE
_____________________________________________

"There Is No Beast Without Cruelty"
F.Nietzsche
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 10:13
LeChron James
Helvetesfossen
WOW this album is rated high. now i feel compelled to at least check it out.

EDIT 11/11 from the OUTSET, the album isnt that bad. requires further listening.

EDIT 11/22 i have come to the conclusion that "The 13th Caesar" is really the only song i can stand without chugging boiling water.
----
Kick Ass, Die Young

Less is More
Stay Pure
Stay Poor

Music was my life, music brought me to life and music is how I will be remembered long after I leave this life. When I die there will be a final waltz in my head that only I can hear.
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 11:39
FOOCK Nam
Agree, the high rate induce us to join this album.
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 12:59
The Thrasher
Account deleted
One of their best album!!!
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 13:15
Elijah
Dance, bitch!
Listened to "Honey and Sulphur." Partly restored my faith in Cradle of Filth.
----
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 14:10
Katatronik
Angel of Lust
Great album, CoF are partially back to roots!
Good riffing, great melodies, various vocals, and keyboards are back!
I listen to this album almost every day...
----

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear,
and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."
Howard Phillips Lovecraft
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 16:16
Janne
Hugin
I totally agree with the review. I like this album very much. My favourite song is 'The Death Of Love' at the moment
----



-FOLK METAL HUNGARY-
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 17:51
sq_xeper
Its a good album, its the best since Midian, but I would rate it with a 8
----
The only way to learn is be aware and hold on tight...
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 22:13
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Wow... This guys really came back to roots. I still don't know if I gonna buy this album since I'm not that interested in the band. But that doesn't mean that this album is really strong.

I'm actually glad
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.11.2008 - 22:53
hard_tom
Good album from Cradle of Filth. But I think they are not the kings of dusk metal yet .... I think at least two bands from overseas are (now) better : MIASTHENIA from Brasil and ABIGAIL WILLIAMS from U.S.A.
Loading...
06.11.2008 - 15:51
MétalNoir
Fils du Lys
The review is absolutely perfect, it says all I would say about Godspeed, really. I rate that album 10 and I think it is only slightly beneath Dusk, and as a matter of fact, I would grow tired if I listened to Dusk a billion times a day, which I happily do with Godspeed... Really, a HUGE improvement since Thornography. COF rules!
----
Notre destinée n'est pas encore tracée....
Loading...
07.11.2008 - 02:46
Trinity Blood
I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...
Loading...
07.11.2008 - 12:13
Firaga
CoF was always one of my favourite bands and I only didn't stop listening their music after the Commercial Slam of "Nymphetamine" a nd much worst "thornography" for the respect I have to Dani, Paul and Crew. But they're baaaaaaaack! Okey......I agree with the part...this is no Pre-Midian Magnus Opus...but it is still a comeback that me and much others were hoping to happen for the last few years. Bring us more things to come.....Master Dani
Loading...
09.11.2008 - 15:38
cradle_of_filth
Account deleted
Written by Trinity Blood on 07.11.2008 at 02:46

I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...

Yeah right , i think that they don't know any thing about cradle of filth.
Loading...
09.11.2008 - 15:40
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Guest on 09.11.2008 at 15:38

Written by Trinity Blood on 07.11.2008 at 02:46

I dont understand the people who claim that cof is going back to their roots based on this album...i strongly encourage those people to obtain a copy of dusk and her embrace...

Yeah right , i think that they don't know any thing about cradle of filth.


'Going back to the roots' is not the same as 'arriving back at the roots', if you know what I mean. That's the big difference. Godspeed is a step into the direction of the old sound, in other words, it's more extreme than the previous two efforts, but that does not mean it immediately sounds like "Dusk..." again.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
11.11.2008 - 21:20
DanielViking
Good atmospheres, good melodies but let's face it... this band doesn't surprise anyone in these days... they still know how to make great conceptual albuns about historical figures and how to write great songs. 8 IMO.
Loading...
12.11.2008 - 08:39
Eeric
Account deleted
This album is great. But still I would like to hear more of those high-pitched screams from Dani.
Loading...
12.11.2008 - 18:32
juanopereira
Great album! absolutely agree with your review.
Loading...
13.11.2008 - 09:26
Princ_Of_Horror
Written by Janne on 04.11.2008 at 16:16

I totally agree with the review. I like this album very much. My favourite song is 'The Death Of Love' at the moment

'The Death of Love' must be one of the ebst songs CoF has ever made
The album is great, heaps better from the rockish metal album of Thornography.
Loading...
14.11.2008 - 04:57
wrath
Account deleted
I really not sure man bot this new album of CoF.. bcos thornography was really sux ball.. nvrmind.. dwnload few hits 1st from this album such the Death of Love to see how it turn b4 getting my hands on it..
Loading...
14.11.2008 - 21:22
danishakti
Account deleted
Cool COF album
After Thornography's loss
They did not lose hope
and are back with thrashing, exciting
Greatest album
Godspeed on The Devil's Thunder
Loading...
15.11.2008 - 01:00
Stuart
MiseryKing
Now I'm quite a cradle fan... and I bought this album yesterday and have listened to it 4 times already, after the 4th time I listened to it, i listened to the first half of principe of evil made flesh and a few tracks off dusk and her embrace...

I think we can safely say the absolute astonishing genius of early cradle is gone, the note perfect brilliance and sheer intensity will never be back... however, this album is as damn close as they'll ever get there!!!

I really enjoyed this album, I think they managed to get interesting mix of musical ideas together on this and I for one, think it is GREAT return to form!

...although lacks consistency
Loading...
16.11.2008 - 13:00
Volknor
Account deleted
Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.
Loading...
16.11.2008 - 17:49
Stuart
MiseryKing
Written by Guest on 16.11.2008 at 13:00

Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.

I think you're kind of missing the point of a review, there are endless bands and albums out there and people can't be expected to listen to each one, so others write reviews that you can read them and get a general idea if it will be appealing to you or not... they may also make you notice things in the music you did not think of before. the same as people discuss music and their likes and dislikes, reviews act as an opinion. should everybody just stop discussing music because "who cares if its bad or not"... the problem with reviews is when the reviewer speaks as his opinion is infallible... in that case the review is pointless...
Loading...
16.11.2008 - 18:52
Southern Wind
Account deleted
Written by Guest on 16.11.2008 at 13:00

Blah Blah Blah. People always have something negative to say about a band's new album. Most of the people arent even musicians. Who cares if its bad or good. If you dont like it, dont listen to it. Everybody has different tastes. Everybody doesnt like mashed potatoes. Some people like mashed potatoes with gravy. Reviews are pointless! Everybody has a different opinion so reviews are a waste of time.


Of course there's always some room for relativism, but despite different tastes (I would never listen to rap even if I recognize that some of it is very good), there ARE better shit than other, objectively speaking. I hear in this case CoF trying to sound as they did in Cruelty & The Beast, but that album is simply BETTER than Godspeed. It was more innovative, more thrilling, the melodic lines are better done, the production is much better... It's a pity, as I really liked the sound of CoF in their last era, except in Thornography which indeed sucked.
Loading...

Hits total: 15019 | This month: 17