Rating:
9.5
Megadeth - Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?
20 July 1986


Disc I
01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Peace Sells
04. Devil's Island
05. Good Mourning/Black Friday
06. Bad Omen
07. I Ain't Superstitious [Willie Dixon cover]
08. My Last Words

2004 re-release bonus tracks:
09. Wake Up Dead [Randy Burns Mix version]
10. The Conjuring [Randy Burns Mix version]
11. Peace Sells [Randy Burns Mix version]
12. Good Mourning/Black Friday [Randy Burns Mix version]

Disc II [remastered version]
01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Peace Sells
04. Devil's Island
05. Good Mourning/Black Friday
06. Bad Omen
07. I Ain't Superstitious [Willie Dixon cover]
08. My Last Words

Disc III [1987 live concert]
01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Bad Omen
04. Rattlehead
05. Killing Is My Business
06. Looking Down The Cross
07. My Last Words
08. Peace Sells
09. These Boots [Nancy Sinatra cover]
10. Devil's Island
11. Loved to Deth
12. Mechanix

Disc IV [original Randy Burns mixes]
01. Wake Up Dead
02. The Conjuring
03. Peace Sells
04. Devil's Island
05. Good Mourning/Black Friday
06. Bad Omen
07. I Ain't Superstitious [Willie Dixon cover]
08. My Last Words


Let us revisit the year of 1986 for a moment, because this year was probably THE biggest year in the history of Thrash Metal. Three of the biggest acts in Thrash metal released what would become their most impressive works to date. That being Metallica's 'Master Of Puppets', Slayer's 'Reign In Blood' and Megadeth's 'Peace Sells...', Three massive albums that raised the bar in Thrash Metal beyond comprehension. The only difference however, is that Megadeth still had much more to offer after this release, which is why they continue to be a favourite of mine.

What separates this from all the other Megadeth albums is that this album is incredibly consistent with the pace of their songs. And even when I thought they may slow it down on the cover track 'I Ain't Superstitious' they carved it up with the intensity that they're renown for, took it and made it their own song, adding shredding solos and Mustaine's trademark vocals. And they did it all without it sounding awkward or out of place.

Now as far as I know 'Wake Up Dead' and the title track are the live material tracks off this release. And yes I love those songs, but my personal favourite is the underrated closer 'My Last Words', it's structured a lot like 'Wake Up Dead' only it doesn't stop and start again half way through the track (those of you who have heard it already would know what I'm on about), the transition from the main riff is amazing, it just transforms into a new song, again without sounding the slightest bit out of place.

The musicianship is just phenomenal, none of the instruments get drowned out by others and Poland's shredding is nothing short of what you'd expect to hear on a Megadeth record, outstanding. Production-wise it isn't all that good, but it's nothing that should make listening to this intolerable, the only thing is that sometimes the solos sound a little sharp, but that's easily forgotten by the overall brilliance of the album.

So how does it measure 20 years after its release? I still think it is the best thing to come out of Megadeth's impressive catalogue, and anyone who's into metal should get a hold of this. If you're a Trash-metaller and haven't already heard this, you need to listen to it now, you'll be doing yourself a huge service.

Highlights: Wake up Dead, Peace Sells, My Last Words.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 8


Band profile: Megadeth
Album: Peace Sells... But Who's Buying?


 


written by Desecrator | 22.11.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.

Guest review by
Arian Totalis

Rating:
8.5
"I sneak in my own house, it's four in the morning, I've had too much to drink, said I was out with the boys. I creep in my bedroom, I slip into bed, I know if I wake her I'll wake up....dead."

We all know what happens from there. Poland kicks off with an awesome fucking solo, and your brain dies from the lethal injection of metal you've just shot into your bloodstream. "Peace Sells" is the album that put Megadeth on the map. Mankind is and always will be at war with itself, much like the riffage of each instrument will be in constant competition with each other on this album. Yet ideas of peace still sell in this world. Let me ask you this, then; are you buying?

Read more ››
published 15.01.2009 | Comments (1)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 149  
Search this topic:  


Paradox0 - 26.11.2008 at 05:23  
This was one of Megadeths greatest (although I think Rust in Piece is their opus honestly). I give this album credit for being fast, furious and technical withoutt being neither pretentious or overplayed. Out of the big 3 of thrash (I dont know how Anthrax are comparable to Slayer, Metalliica or Megadeth) I always thought that megadeath had numerically more good albums than the other two.
Marcel Hubregtse - 26.11.2008 at 17:38  
Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... (I dont know how Anthrax are comparable to Slayer, Metalliica or Megadeth) ...



Here we go again... another one who thinks a band shouldn't be in it just because of personal preferences.
Just read the threads on the Big FOUR and you'll see why they were considered as part of the four. FFS they OUTSOLD Megadeth and Slayer easily at the time.
BitterCOld - 26.11.2008 at 18:26  
Good review. i'd score it a tad lower (9 even), but i agree with you in that it is the best megadeth ever did.

as for Paradox0 and the "Big Three" -

The only thing Anthrax is not comparable to Megadeth, Metallica, and Slayer on is the year 1986, which the reviews specifically mentions in the review as Anthrax did not release an album that year. They did release their two best albums as bookends to 1986, however, with "Spreading the Disease" in '85 and "Among the Living" in '87.

Sorry for the tangent, but sick to death of people who cannot grasp the simple "Big Four" was a term coined to refer specifically to those four bands concept.
Syk - 27.11.2008 at 17:22  
Wow, aside from the first paragraph your review contains most of my thoughts on the album exactly, especially "My Last Words". Nice to finally have a review on MS for this crazy-good album! I've always had a bone or five to pick with Megadeth but this is a 10/10 effort
AngelOfDisease - 16.02.2009 at 23:35  
My favorite album by my favorite band... 10/10
Deadmeat - 17.05.2009 at 13:22  
Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... I give this album credit for being fast, furious ...

is this album fast and furius??? then what is for example reign in blood or rust in peace???
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.05.2009 at 14:59  
Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 13:22

Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... I give this album credit for being fast, furious ...

is this album fast and furius??? then what is for example reign in blood or rust in peace???


rust in peace isn't furious at all imo. They actually already mellowed out there although it was still fast at times. But the fastest parts on Peace Sells are easily faster than the fastest on RIP.
Reing IN Blood is fast and furious as well but on a different level. Megadeth on Peace Sells is PISSED OFF at world whereas Slayer on RIB aren't
Deadmeat - 17.05.2009 at 15:15  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.05.2009 at 14:59

Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 13:22

Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... I give this album credit for being fast, furious ...

is this album fast and furius??? then what is for example reign in blood or rust in peace???


rust in peace isn't furious at all imo. They actually already mellowed out there although it was still fast at times. But the fastest parts on Peace Sells are easily faster than the fastest on RIP.
Reing IN Blood is fast and furious as well but on a different level. Megadeth on Peace Sells is PISSED OFF at world whereas Slayer on RIB aren't

i don't know. in my ears peace sells isn't aggresssive at all. maybe it's the production maybe my personal taste... it has fast moments but they are very few IMO to call this one fast and furius...
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.05.2009 at 15:20  
Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 15:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.05.2009 at 14:59

Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 13:22

Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... I give this album credit for being fast, furious ...

is this album fast and furius??? then what is for example reign in blood or rust in peace???


rust in peace isn't furious at all imo. They actually already mellowed out there although it was still fast at times. But the fastest parts on Peace Sells are easily faster than the fastest on RIP.
Reing IN Blood is fast and furious as well but on a different level. Megadeth on Peace Sells is PISSED OFF at world whereas Slayer on RIB aren't

i don't know. in my ears peace sells isn't aggresssive at all. maybe it's the production maybe my personal taste... it has fast moments but they are very few IMO to call this one fast and furius...


But you do find Rust In Peace aggressive? Now that IS baffling to me
Deadmeat - 17.05.2009 at 15:24  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.05.2009 at 15:20

Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 15:15

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.05.2009 at 14:59

Written by Deadmeat on 17.05.2009 at 13:22

Written by Paradox0 on 26.11.2008 at 05:23

... I give this album credit for being fast, furious ...

is this album fast and furius??? then what is for example reign in blood or rust in peace???


rust in peace isn't furious at all imo. They actually already mellowed out there although it was still fast at times. But the fastest parts on Peace Sells are easily faster than the fastest on RIP.
Reing IN Blood is fast and furious as well but on a different level. Megadeth on Peace Sells is PISSED OFF at world whereas Slayer on RIB aren't

i don't know. in my ears peace sells isn't aggresssive at all. maybe it's the production maybe my personal taste... it has fast moments but they are very few IMO to call this one fast and furius...


But you do find Rust In Peace aggressive? Now that IS baffling to me

i've not heard the entire RIP. i just have heard some songs. IMO they are not so aggressive too, but they are clearly faster..
terrorist - 20.06.2009 at 21:26  
I dont't consider this album better than Rust In Peace as someone does,but it is a great album though.
Nosurper - 14.09.2009 at 03:20  
I personally give this album a slight edge over RIP. It has a bit more variety to it, particularly in the politically charged hardcore punk/thrash masterpiece "Peace Sells". Cannot stress how amazing that song is.

Gar's drumming on this album is brillant. I never get tired of it, even over multiple listens per day. And I love the addition of "Ain't Superstitious" on this album. Who thought going back back to blues roots on a thrash album would work? Dave Mustaine did, and not only was it ambitious, but it was a hell of a good idea. It's well rounded, lyrically great, and musically AMAZING. Almost math metal with attitude. Kind of like the coolest kid in school is also the biggest nerd in school. Only Peace Sells... could pull off such a feat.
JohnWayneGacy666 - 11.04.2010 at 07:50  
The definitive megadeth album best i've heard from them
soadbyob - 11.04.2010 at 17:53  
Amazing album, Dave Mustaine = God
God Buster 鬼 - 18.07.2014 at 13:37  
I was not convonced by your review at all. It's too general and there's no detailed description of the skills of musicianship.
I still don't thnk this is a good album after so many years...in fact it's bad in my point of view.
deadone - 21.07.2014 at 02:38  
Great album IMO. I especially have a soft spot for My Last Words. I really relate to that line "My life's on time, But again my sense is late."

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Megadeth - Peace Sells... But Who's Buying? 11.5 17.05.2012 by Carl Berg
Albums Megadeth - Peace Sells... But Who's Buying? 10.5 26.01.2010 by Dangerboner
Funny stuff Megadeth - Pease Sells... But Who's Buying? 7.5 18.10.2008 by Elio
Reviews Megadeth - Rust In Peace 5.5 18.01.2009 by K†ulu
Reviews Megadeth - Rust In Peace 5.5 10.03.2007 by Doc Godin



Hits total: 5178 | This month: 77