Rating:
8.6
Acid Witch - Witchtanic Hellucinations
24 October 2008


01. Intro
02. Into The Cave
03. Swamp Spells
04. Witchblood Cult
05. The Black Witch
06. Witchtanic Hellucinations
07. Beastly Brew
08. Cauldron Cave
09. Rabid Werewitch
10. Realm Of The Wicked
11. Witches Tits
12. Broomstick Bitch
13. October 31st


Somewhere in the United States of America is a cave. And in that cave, with rotting corpses scattered on the ground, is a cauldron. And in that cauldron, rusty and filthy, brews a wicked potion called "Witchtanic Hellucinations". Do not get too close to it or you might inhale some of its vile and corrupting vapours. Or is that what you're after? Then come closer in this lair of the Acid Witch and change your life forever.

What exactly is this brew comprised of? Let's take a look at this evil witch's cabinet, shall we? Ah, there we have freshly disunited zombie corpses and a couple of vials of the hippie-drug acid, some Black Sabbath albums, but also the works of Necros Christos, Autopsy and early Entombed. And some old school horror b-movies, fuzzy seventies' doom distortion and a good dose of drug-induced insanity to top it all off. The utter uncompromising attitude of Lasse, Shagrat and Dave is very charming and exactly the attitude you can expect from a band on Razorback Records' gorey roster.

So what exactly does this add up to? Let me tell you: it all adds up to a diabolic three quarters of fuzzy Doom metal with swirling Death metal riffs, psychedelic guitar solos, demonic old-school gurgled growls, eerie witches' crackles and insults with a lot of humorous gore and nasty shit going on. Take a look at the cover art, which should tell you more than enough. The entire thing is old school to the bone.

Acid Witch completely overwhelmed me with their "Witchtanic Hellucinations". It might sound paradoxical, giving the thematic and audible concept of this album, but it has been a while since I've heard something so fresh and invigorating. If you're an open-minded fan of seventies' Doom or gorey Death metal, you're invited to take a chalice full of this wicked witches' brew and chug it down! Or as the band likes to say: let the death trip begin!

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 8


Band profile: Acid Witch
Album: Witchtanic Hellucinations


 



Written on 24.11.2008 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 31  
Users visited: 285  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 24.11.2008 at 01:13  
Yeah, I've been listening to them for a while since you send me their myspace. Really good music. The growls sounded amateursish from the begnning, then I though:

This shit is fucking old-school, the vocals are just perfect for this!

Now I enjoy it The solos are definitely a high point and the production also adds for the atmosphere... I just can imagine a witch headbanging while killing some people and put them on acid.

Good review man .. Nice present

PS: first one reading it and posting, as the duffman says: Ooooh yeah!
Marcel Hubregtse - 24.11.2008 at 01:49  
I am so eagerly awaiting my copy of this (together with Hooded Menace which has some of the same band members)...
CrypticMyth - 24.11.2008 at 14:24  
This shit is AWESOME!
ArcesseEum - 24.11.2008 at 21:28  
If its anything like Electric Wizard, i'm in!
ylside - 24.11.2008 at 22:33  
Written by CrypticMyth on 24.11.2008 at 14:24

This shit is AWESOME!

lol I immediatly thought of you liking this album when reading the review !

I have to get that.
LeChron James - 25.11.2008 at 00:27  
Now see this is what ALL cover art should look like. i want to hear this, shit sounds incredible.
ylside - 25.11.2008 at 12:03  
Heard. Appreciated. Great album !!!
IronWinter - 25.11.2008 at 16:57  
Fucking awsome!

And I second that about the cover art.

Good review man.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.11.2008 at 18:13  
Got my copy of the album in today together with Hooded Menace - Fulfil The Curse which is also a great album somewhat in the vein of Acid Witch (which is not surprising since Lasse features on both) but less psychedelic/trippy
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2008 at 21:27  
Ah, was getting down to this yesterday. Have to love the Demilich-esque vocals. Good shizzle indeed.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.11.2008 at 23:28  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.11.2008 at 21:27

Ah, was getting down to this yesterday. Have to love the Demilich-esque vocals. Good shizzle indeed.


I don't hear the similarities to Demilich vocals whatsoever. I actually find Acid Witch's vocals quite the usual guttural vocals you hear for so many death & death doom bands whereas those of Demilich are truly one of a kind and stand-out.
Stigmatized - 26.11.2008 at 00:44  
Excellent and crushing album. 9/10
Hyvaarin - 26.11.2008 at 01:39  
Great band.
Vermin - 26.11.2008 at 23:31  
This is fucking amazing, buying their album asap!

If anybody knows anything along the lines of this or Electric Wizard, then please, PLEASE tell!
!J.O.O.E.! - 27.11.2008 at 01:21  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.11.2008 at 23:28

Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.11.2008 at 21:27

Ah, was getting down to this yesterday. Have to love the Demilich-esque vocals. Good shizzle indeed.


I don't hear the similarities to Demilich vocals whatsoever. I actually find Acid Witch's vocals quite the usual guttural vocals you hear for so many death & death doom bands whereas those of Demilich are truly one of a kind and stand-out.

Well the first moment I heard the gutteral vocals it made me think of Demilich straight away so... Besides I don't find Demilich's vocals particularly unique, just your typical burp vocals but slightly lower.
-DC-002- - 27.11.2008 at 23:16  
I like what I've heard of this band. cool, old school doom metal at a very fine level.
HardSide - 29.11.2008 at 17:37  
Guitar goes very well with the vocals. Good review for a good album.
Syk - 31.01.2009 at 23:57  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.11.2008 at 01:49
I am so eagerly awaiting my copy of this (together with Hooded Menace which has some of the same band members)...
Any chance you guys will be calling this "surprise of the year"?
Marcel Hubregtse - 31.01.2009 at 23:59  
Written by Syk on 31.01.2009 at 23:57

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 24.11.2008 at 01:49
I am so eagerly awaiting my copy of this (together with Hooded Menace which has some of the same band members)...
Any chance you guys will be calling this "surprise of the year"?


Biggest Surprise is write-in votes, remember?
Syk - 01.02.2009 at 00:01  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.01.2009 at 23:59
Biggest Surprise is write-in votes, remember?
Yeah...
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.02.2009 at 00:04  
Written by Syk on 01.02.2009 at 00:01

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.01.2009 at 23:59
Biggest Surprise is write-in votes, remember?
Yeah...


This album did surprise me, but IMO doesn't leave a lasting impression. I'll wait till their second album to see what they can pull off next.

As for personal surprise... most probably Faal
Lucas - 01.02.2009 at 00:39  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.02.2009 at 00:04

Written by Syk on 01.02.2009 at 00:01

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 31.01.2009 at 23:59
Biggest Surprise is write-in votes, remember?
Yeah...


This album did surprise me, but IMO doesn't leave a lasting impression. I'll wait till their second album to see what they can pull off next.

As for personal surprise... most probably Faal


More off-topicness: Faal was a huge surprise live, but quite disappointing on ep, imo. Obviously the fault of the production though, not the music itself.

Acid Witch was indeed a huge surprise, but not worthy of the title, I agree with you there. Though I do think it has plenty of replay value.
Frankenchrist - 19.02.2009 at 18:49  
This shit is fucking AWESOME can't wait for "Strange Tales"
Herzebeth - 19.02.2009 at 20:24  
I hated this release, is so cliched....
Southern Wind - 04.03.2009 at 23:00  
I agree with Herzebeth... Acid Witch are not an interesting band... predictable, bland and boring.
Dangerboner - 05.03.2009 at 04:05  
I hated the songs on their MySpace, but I might check out the full thing just cuz of all the praise it's received.
Idioglossia - 10.03.2009 at 19:58  
Insanely good album!
Lucas - 16.10.2009 at 13:15  
Still love those solos and the nasty vibe. ordered the vinyl version for wall decoration and the "Witch House" ep.
Daggon - 21.10.2010 at 22:46  
I like this album, it's ugly, putrid and nasty, damn, I really have the feeling of being inside a cave smelling the stench of the ass of a witch

Yeah, maybe it is not outstanding, but as someone said before, it has a lot of replay value. Satan approves this
!J.O.O.E.! - 22.10.2010 at 03:15  
Reading back on your reviews Lucas is a pleasant activity, maybe because of our similar taste in music or because of the personal touches you put into your reviews (not to get overly personal with you or anything, which isn't my intention, you just have a definitive style which I really like and see nowhere else on this site).

Anyway this record kicks a lot of ass.
ThunderAxe1989 - 05.12.2011 at 05:15  
Nice review haha.

I think their lyrical content is cheesy as fuck
Usually I don't entertain bands who sing about such things, But I must say, Acid Witch are great. The sound is like a fusion of Stoner Metal and Death metal, with psychedelic overtones.
I simply must get stoned to their music in the near future!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Acid Witch - Witchtanic Hellucinations 7.5 06.02.2013 by RottingDeathHead
Reviews Acid Witch - Stoned 7.5 11.11.2010 by Dangerboner
News Acid Witch - Update On New EP And Album 4.5 13.08.2010 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Acid Bath - When The Kite String Pops 4.5 06.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Acid Witch - Stoned 4.5 05.03.2013 by RottingDeathHead



Hits total: 9954 | This month: 39