Rating:
6.0
Children Of Bodom - Blooddrunk
9 April 2008


Disc I
01. Hellhounds On My Trail
02. Blooddrunk
03. Lobodomy
04. One Day You Will Cry
05. Smile Pretty For The Devil
06. Tie My Rope
07. Done With Everything, Die For Nothing
08. Banned From Heaven
09. Roadkill Morning
10. Ghostriders In The Sky [Stan Jones cover] [digipak bonus]
11. Lookin' Out My Back Door [CCR cover] [ltd UK edition bonus]
12. Just Dropped In [Kenny Rogers cover] [Japanese bonus]

Disc II [bonus DVD 5.1]
01. Hellhounds On My Trail
02. Blooddrunk
03. Lobodomy
04. One Day You Will Cry
05. Smile Pretty For The Devil
06. Tie My Rope
07. Done With Everything, Die For Nothing
08. Banned From Heaven
09. Roadkill Morning
+ Blooddrunk [video]
+ Making of the Blooddrunk video
+ Photogallery


After the release of the widely hated "Are You Dead Yet?" many fans were left holding their breath wondering if it was perhaps just an off album or if Children Of Bodom had truly started a downwards spiral? Well this was the answer, and it seemed to be in favour of the pessimists.

With this latest effort the band seemed to take a more abrasive approach, making the keyboards less prominent and creating an overall "smaller" sound. While there is probably many people who can appreciate hearing a slightly less keyboard-drenched sound in exchange for some solid riffing, it appears the band has exchanged the keyboard dominant sound for....well, nothing! This album seems also to have a less catchy sound to it, and let's face it, the one thing that made Children Of Bodom very attractive was just how catchy the songs they could write were.. Even the previous album (as bad as it was) had more of this quality to it. Generally the song writing in this album is very anti-climactic, like its 4-5 minutes of build-up and then the song is over. Part of the anti-climactic tendencies this album has could be due to bad arrangements, the tempo changes as well as the vocal/lyrical arrangements sound awkward and severely misplaced most of the time.

While this album is pretty forgettable, saying it is devoid of any interesting points would be a lie. The keyboards shine through in some decent solos like on "Smile Pretty For The Devil", and there are some nice leads scattered throughout the album. Finding these nice leads and solos takes a lot of patience because it entails sitting through 2-3 minutes of incredibly bland song writing. To sum it up, the interesting points of this album are just too few and far between to be judged anything more than mediocre.

As much as I'm sure many of us were hoping, this is definitely not a return to form for the band. Die-hard fans of the band will probably find this enjoyable despite the short-comings of it, while casual listeners will most likely find it lack-luster at best.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Children Of Bodom
Album: Blooddrunk


 


written by Doc Godin | 21.12.2008


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 233  
Search this topic:  


MetalManic_Joel - 09.03.2009 at 19:50  
I agree. Crapola!
Elio - 09.03.2009 at 23:34  
I didn't know of the existence of this review, balancing the other crappy one. Man, you were even TOO generous rating the originality of this album 7 lol. Anyway this review is pretty fair, bye bye Children Of Bodom.
Doc Godin - 10.03.2009 at 02:46  
Written by Elio on 09.03.2009 at 23:34

I didn't know of the existence of this review, balancing the other crappy one. Man, you were even TOO generous rating the originality of this album 7 lol. Anyway this review is pretty fair, bye bye Children Of Bodom.

Well, as much as I'm not into this album I don't think its a knock off of anything, I think its reasonably original, but frankly that doesn't keep it from being crap.
DreamingDesire - 01.04.2009 at 14:56  
This review is much more accurate and down to earth compared to the other one...
Lord_Regnier - 13.04.2009 at 02:33  
This album is god awful, if you ask me. Personally, I think this band is finished, as far as creativity and songwriting are concerned.
lord artan - 08.06.2009 at 20:12  
I hate this album but i love children of bodom
wormdrink414 - 05.09.2009 at 09:22  
Bi-polar would be an appropriate label for Blooddrunk and Are You Dead Yet?. In general, the songs are comically boring and uninspired. But there are glimpses of the old manic shredding Bodom that so many love.
slayerstone94 - 05.10.2009 at 03:40  
Yall must not hear what i hear beacuse i love this album
Windrider - 09.06.2010 at 18:46  
I don't think this is sooo bad, it's for sure not their best (which is in my opinion Hatebreeder), but I would give it at least an 8 for pretty cool songs such as "LoBodomy", "Smile Pretty For The Devil" and "Tie My Rope"...
elseif - 22.07.2010 at 22:00  
Children of Boredom
Doc Godin - 22.07.2010 at 23:30  
Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?
Marcel Hubregtse - 23.07.2010 at 00:05  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


He's got it worng it's actually Chicken Of Boredom
elseif - 23.07.2010 at 04:41  
Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


I confess, someone helped me.
vezzy - 23.07.2010 at 14:42  
Written by elseif on 23.07.2010 at 04:41

Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


I confess, someone helped me.


"Children of Boredom" has been around for a while now, actually. Same with "Gayer" (if anyone has the guts to say it in front of Slayer fans) and other names like that.

Also, Children of Boredom is actually the name of some virtual band thing according to Last.fm.
Doc Godin - 23.07.2010 at 22:04  
Written by vezzy on 23.07.2010 at 14:42

Written by elseif on 23.07.2010 at 04:41

Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


I confess, someone helped me.


"Children of Boredom" has been around for a while now, actually. Same with "Gayer" (if anyone has the guts to say it in front of Slayer fans) and other names like that.

Also, Children of Boredom is actually the name of some virtual band thing according to Last.fm.

Swing-anda-miss.

I was joking. People post "Children Of Boredom" in almost every related thread, so I was merely teasing you and your uncreative sense of humour.
vezzy - 23.07.2010 at 23:09  
Written by Doc Godin on 23.07.2010 at 22:04

Written by vezzy on 23.07.2010 at 14:42

Written by elseif on 23.07.2010 at 04:41

Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


I confess, someone helped me.


"Children of Boredom" has been around for a while now, actually. Same with "Gayer" (if anyone has the guts to say it in front of Slayer fans) and other names like that.

Also, Children of Boredom is actually the name of some virtual band thing according to Last.fm.

Swing-anda-miss.

I was joking. People post "Children Of Boredom" in almost every related thread, so I was merely teasing you and your uncreative sense of humour.


You mean deviate's uncreative sense of humor. I'm not him.
elseif - 23.07.2010 at 23:12  
Written by vezzy on 23.07.2010 at 23:09

Written by Doc Godin on 23.07.2010 at 22:04

Written by vezzy on 23.07.2010 at 14:42

Written by elseif on 23.07.2010 at 04:41

Written by Doc Godin on 22.07.2010 at 23:30

Written by elseif on 22.07.2010 at 22:00

Children of Boredom

Come up with that all by yourself?


I confess, someone helped me.


"Children of Boredom" has been around for a while now, actually. Same with "Gayer" (if anyone has the guts to say it in front of Slayer fans) and other names like that.

Also, Children of Boredom is actually the name of some virtual band thing according to Last.fm.

Swing-anda-miss.

I was joking. People post "Children Of Boredom" in almost every related thread, so I was merely teasing you and your uncreative sense of humour.


You mean deviate's uncreative sense of humor. I'm not him.


serious is serious.
AngelofDeth - 04.03.2012 at 11:19  
"it appears the band has exchanged the keyboard dominant sound for....well, nothing!"
Thats Golden! hahaha nice review
Himedal - 09.07.2013 at 12:31  
I just can't get used to this album. i can't find the rhythm, nor the pattern of riffs, nothing. it really sucks.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Children Of Bodom - Stockholm Knockout Live 7.5 05.03.2007 by Katatronik
Albums Children Of Bodom - Blooddrunk 6 20.06.2012 by musicalkaratekid
News Children Of Bodom - Reveal New Album Title, Cover And More 4.5 19.03.2013 by Windrider
News Children Of Bodom - Fake MySpace Profiles 4.5 22.11.2006 by jadawal
Albums Children Of Bodom - Something Wild 4.5 02.02.2012 by



Hits total: 4629 | This month: 70