Rating:
8.5
Twisted Sister - Live At The Astoria [DVD]
17 November 2008


01. What You Don't Know (Sure Can Hurt You)
02. The Kids Are Back
03. Under The Blade
04. Destroyer
05. Like A Knife In The Back
06. Burn In Hell
07. Ride To Live
08. Shoot 'Em Down
09. You Can't Stop Rock N' Roll
10. The Fire Still Burns
11. We're Not Gonna Take It
12. The Price
13. I Am, I'm Me
14. I Wanna Rock
15. Come Out & Play
16. S.M.F.


They're maybe not so beautiful but have the style, they're maybe old now but still rock and above everything else know what a good live performance is… Who are they? The Twisted Sister of course! Even if the band didn't release any new real album for a long time, 2008 is the year of the release date of their new DVD and live album, "Live At The Astoria". Recorded at the famous The Astoria venue of London in 2004, this DVD is definitely a must for all the fans of the Sister.

If you don't know how a Twisted Sister concert can look, this new release is perfect definitely. Full of hits like "I Wanna Rock", "Come Out & Play" or "We're Not Gonna Take It", the "Live At The Astoria" DVD is a really cool object. The band is better than ever with a crazy and still really fun Dee Snider, this is fast and angry, without any breaks, and believe me it simply rocks. Don't believe the ones who say that Twisted Sister is a boring Glam band, they're just a really good Hard Rock one with a lot of class and with a bunch of amazing songs. I won't talk about the music of Twisted Sister, the best for you is to listen to their studio records but don't worry, with this DVD you'll be able to watch a band which is at the top of its form which play excellent songs. If you wanna rock, "Live At The Astoria" will be perfect for you.

The video recording is nice and the sound is really good, obviously the audience like the band were happy to be there this night and we have a really good ambiance from the beginning to the end of the recording. Dee Snider talks a lot between the songs and that's cool and funny in general, we're not in front of a band which just plays and don't care about anything else. This is a real party and that's cool to have the chance to see that on a DVD. Oki, this is a bit simple without any real bonus or anything but the live rocks and it's a fucking pleasure to watch it. If you like the Twisted Sister you won't regret to buy it and if you still don't know them you'll maybe discover something great for you. Have a look at it as soon as possible please.

We're just in front of a must here. Ok, the DVD is really simple and it could be good to have a nice package, bonuses etc but if you just wanna see a great concert (and in general a buy DVDs for this matter) I highly recommend you "Live At The Astoria". Twisted Sister rocks live and this release is its living proof. If you wanna rock be sure that you'll do it while watching this excellent live performance. A must for the ones who like Hard Rock!

Performance: 8
Songwriting: -
Originality: -
Production: 8


Band profile: Twisted Sister
Album: Live At The Astoria


 


written by Jeff | 20.12.2008



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 122  
Search this topic:  


Baz Anderson - 20.12.2008 at 20:00  
Wow, I didn't know about this... I shall have to get it soon!
iceland_Norway - 21.12.2008 at 02:12  
The TS LIVE is the best live I have ever seen before.

Italian Reviews put 10 as Vote because it's the most beautiful live.

It's Rocking my Head.
ThunderAxe1989 - 21.12.2008 at 06:12  
I didn't know bout this either.
when i get that old, I wonder if I'll have energy to rock out
amerislave - 21.12.2008 at 23:07  
Good setlist......i will check this out. usually reliable when they aren't doing cover songs or christmas songs.
LeChron James - 22.12.2008 at 03:09  
I'm sad. there are no songs from the "a Twisted Christmas" album" LOL
Baz Anderson - 22.12.2008 at 03:23  
Well if we are going to moan about setlists, I would like to hear Twisted Sister do something more from their less popular albums.. or perhaps songs that weren't really used like "Heroes Are Hard To Find".. I love that song.
Still.. Twisted Sister always deliver live and I am sure this setlist sounds just as good as they have ever been, even though we have heard it all before.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.12.2008 at 03:25  
Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:09

I'm sad. there are no songs from the "a Twisted Christmas" album" LOL


Excuse me? That album was totally terrible not one good rendition on there imo.
LeChron James - 22.12.2008 at 03:28  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.12.2008 at 03:25

Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:09

I'm sad. there are no songs from the "a Twisted Christmas" album" LOL


Excuse me? That album was totally terrible not one good rendition on there imo.

hahahaha it was a joke, i didnt even know Twisted Sister put out a christmas album until i looked at their discography.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.12.2008 at 03:31  
Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:28

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.12.2008 at 03:25

Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:09

I'm sad. there are no songs from the "a Twisted Christmas" album" LOL


Excuse me? That album was totally terrible not one good rendition on there imo.

hahahaha it was a joke, i didnt even know Twisted Sister put out a christmas album until i looked at their discography.


Okay you got me there then
Abattoir - 22.12.2008 at 10:04  
Well, what I read from the review I should probably check this show...
ThunderAxe1989 - 07.01.2009 at 03:18  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.12.2008 at 03:31

Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:28

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.12.2008 at 03:25

Written by LeChron James on 22.12.2008 at 03:09

I'm sad. there are no songs from the "a Twisted Christmas" album" LOL


Excuse me? That album was totally terrible not one good rendition on there imo.

hahahaha it was a joke, i didnt even know Twisted Sister put out a christmas album until i looked at their discography.


Okay you got me there then


Dude the whole album was intended as a joke, duh....

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Twisted Sister - Live At The Astoria [DVD] 9 21.01.2013 by bblitz
Reviews Gary Moore - Live At The Monster Of Rock 6 06.12.2012 by bblitz
Reviews Darzamat - Live Profanity (Visiting The Graves Of Heretics) 6 24.09.2007 by dismaleuphony
Reviews Whitesnake - Live In The Still Of The Night 6 06.06.2006 by Søren
Reviews Helloween - Keeper Of The Seven Keys - The Legacy World Tour 2005/2006 - Live In Sao Paulo 6 18.02.2007 by GT



Hits total: 6019 | This month: 49