Trinacria - Travel Now Journey Infinitely review



Reviewer:
8.4

14 users:
7.21
Band: Trinacria
Album: Travel Now Journey Infinitely
Release date: April 2008


01. Turn Away
02. The Silence
03. Make No Mistake
04. Endless Roads
05. Breach
06. Travel Now Journey Infinitely


Trinacria is a new band from Norway with members famous for Enslaved. Their style can be best described as "Psychedelic Black metal", a style which is now being developed and popularized by Nachtmystium. Trinacria is more than just psychedelic though and embraces a much larger part of the musical spectrum than Nachtmystium does.

"Travel Now Journey Infinitely" contains influences of Pink Floyd, Ambient and Shoegaze, but also of the dissonance and chaos of Deathspell Omega (most of the riffs and drumming in "The Silence"). Add to that that the band consists of members all with their feet in different genres, namely Black/Prog (Enslaved), Hard-Rock (Audrey Horne) and Noise (Fe-Mail). With such varying bands the result must be diverse too and it sure is. To give a bit of an idea: the first track is a trance-inducing drum-oriented dreamy song, while the second track "The Silence" is dissonant and dangerous. After that "Make No Mistake" is surprisingly straight-forward and direct. No longer surprising, the mood changes again and let's stop at that, the message should be clear now: this album is diverse.

For some it might be a little too diverse, I'm afraid. You're going to have to like or be open to a broad range of styles. Another thing that might put people off is that although it utilizes plenty of extreme vocals (check the horrifying wails in the title track) and distortion, it could have done with a bit more Black metal. A bit more of a bite would definitely increase the impact of both the aggressive and introvert parts. At the same time it would further estrange the listener. However, it is here and it is now and it is what it is and "Travel Now Journey Infinitely" is definitely worthy of occupying my here and now. Good album, good band and a bright prospect.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 7


 



Written on 07.01.2009 by If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.


Comments

Comments: 10   Visited by: 94 users
09.01.2009 - 02:27
Arcesse Eum
Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.
----
As above, so below.
Loading...
09.01.2009 - 14:27
Lucas
Mr. Noise
Written by Arcesse Eum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.


That's quite a horrible typo right there.
----
SLUDGE. DOOM. DEATH. Wait, what?

"The reason I'm running for president is because I can't be Bruce Springsteen." - Barack Obama
Loading...
09.01.2009 - 18:48
Arcesse Eum
Written by Lucas on 09.01.2009 at 14:27

Written by Arcesse Eum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.


That's quite a horrible typo right there.


Well, either way I listened to them and I like what I hear! Thanks!
----
As above, so below.
Loading...
10.01.2009 - 19:31
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Wow... really crazy sound. I really liked it. Gonna check them out.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.01.2009 - 21:57
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
Very good, different, I've been hearing since it came out and what can I say, it lingers.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
13.01.2009 - 13:11
son of sulphur
Account deleted
I just got it today. pretty original.
Loading...
28.02.2009 - 11:17
Ascendant187
I've had the album for a few days now and have had the chance to listen to it maybe three times. The best so far was late at night, in my room on my iPod. It's a really nice album, plenty to wrap your head around. And it's interesting to hear the Enslaved singer try something a little different.
Loading...
12.05.2012 - 19:25
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Arcesse Eum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.

An old comment, I just wanted to pick up on Muphry's Law here, as it's "psychedelic" and you put "psychadelic"
Loading...
13.05.2012 - 05:23
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.05.2012 at 19:25
An old comment, I just wanted to pick up on Muphry's Law here, as it's "psychedelic" and you put "psychadelic"

Technically he capitalized it and added another "l".
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
13.05.2012 - 13:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.05.2012 at 05:23

Technically he capitalized it and added another "l".

Damn, so he did... does that mean I'm also guilty of breaking that law?
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3783 | This month: 2