Rating:
8.4
Trinacria - Travel Now Journey Infinitely
14 April 2008


01. Turn Away
02. The Silence
03. Make No Mistake
04. Endless Roads
05. Breach
06. Travel Now Journey Infinitely


Trinacria is a new band from Norway with members famous for Enslaved. Their style can be best described as "Psychedelic Black metal", a style which is now being developed and popularized by Nachtmystium. Trinacria is more than just psychedelic though and embraces a much larger part of the musical spectrum than Nachtmystium does.

"Travel Now Journey Infinitely" contains influences of Pink Floyd, Ambient and Shoegaze, but also of the dissonance and chaos of Deathspell Omega (most of the riffs and drumming in "The Silence"). Add to that that the band consists of members all with their feet in different genres, namely Black/Prog (Enslaved), Hard-Rock (Audrey Horne) and Noise (Fe-Mail). With such varying bands the result must be diverse too and it sure is. To give a bit of an idea: the first track is a trance-inducing drum-oriented dreamy song, while the second track "The Silence" is dissonant and dangerous. After that "Make No Mistake" is surprisingly straight-forward and direct. No longer surprising, the mood changes again and let's stop at that, the message should be clear now: this album is diverse.

For some it might be a little too diverse, I'm afraid. You're going to have to like or be open to a broad range of styles. Another thing that might put people off is that although it utilizes plenty of extreme vocals (check the horrifying wails in the title track) and distortion, it could have done with a bit more Black metal. A bit more of a bite would definitely increase the impact of both the aggressive and introvert parts. At the same time it would further estrange the listener. However, it is here and it is now and it is what it is and "Travel Now Journey Infinitely" is definitely worthy of occupying my here and now. Good album, good band and a bright prospect.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 8
Production: 7


 



Written on 07.01.2009 by
Lucas
If you're interested in extreme, often emotional and underground music, check out my reviews. I retired from reviewing, but I really used to be into that stuff.
More reviews by Lucas ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 10  
Users visited: 89  
Search this topic:  


ArcesseEum - 09.01.2009 at 02:27  
Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.
Lucas - 09.01.2009 at 14:27  
Written by ArcesseEum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.


That's quite a horrible typo right there.
ArcesseEum - 09.01.2009 at 18:48  
Written by Lucas on 09.01.2009 at 14:27

Written by ArcesseEum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.


That's quite a horrible typo right there.


Well, either way I listened to them and I like what I hear! Thanks!
Mr. Doctor - 10.01.2009 at 19:31  
Wow... really crazy sound. I really liked it. Gonna check them out.
Passenger - 10.01.2009 at 21:57  
Very good, different, I've been hearing since it came out and what can I say, it lingers.
son of sulphur - 13.01.2009 at 13:11  
I just got it today. pretty original.
Ascendant187 - 28.02.2009 at 11:17  
I've had the album for a few days now and have had the chance to listen to it maybe three times. The best so far was late at night, in my room on my iPod. It's a really nice album, plenty to wrap your head around. And it's interesting to hear the Enslaved singer try something a little different.
!J.O.O.E.! - 12.05.2012 at 19:25  
Written by ArcesseEum on 09.01.2009 at 02:27

Psychelic eh... is that like Psychadellic? Cuz it it is, I want in.

An old comment, I just wanted to pick up on Muphry's Law here, as it's "psychedelic" and you put "psychadelic"
Troy Killjoy - 13.05.2012 at 05:23  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 12.05.2012 at 19:25
An old comment, I just wanted to pick up on Muphry's Law here, as it's "psychedelic" and you put "psychadelic"

Technically he capitalized it and added another "l".
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.05.2012 at 13:13  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.05.2012 at 05:23

Technically he capitalized it and added another "l".

Damn, so he did... does that mean I'm also guilty of breaking that law?

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Trinacria - Travel Now Journey Infinitely 9 15.03.2014 by InnerSelf
Reviews Dodsferd - Death Set The Beginning Of My Journey 4.5 17.05.2009 by Italics
Reviews Beyond Black Void - Desolate 3 14.07.2008 by Marcel Hubregtse
Albums Journey - Eclipse 1.5 22.03.2011 by Death To Posers
Promotion and Ads Old Wands 'Nordraum' CD & LP available now! 1.5 19.04.2014 by NegEx



Hits total: 3503 | This month: 19